805 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

Edlois
post Apr 28 2016, 08:57 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(JIUHWEI @ Apr 28 2016, 06:43 PM)
Dear sifus, I'm trying to redo my polish and wax.

From around the internet, I read about "stripping it down" which basically means to get rid of the previous coat of polish & wax.

How do I "strip it down"?
Wash and clay the car as usual. Polishing can remove old wax from the car. Dispite the polish is a low abrasive chemical that strip off wax and smooth out the paint.
(Remember to apply the wax after polishing)

If you are not polishing the car. Use IPA to wipe the car or degreaser works well. Then only you apply a fresh layer of wax
JIUHWEI
post Apr 29 2016, 09:48 AM

1,309 posts

QUOTE(Edlois @ Apr 28 2016, 08:57 PM)
Wash and clay the car as usual. Polishing can remove old wax from the car. Dispite the polish is a low abrasive chemical that strip off wax and smooth out the paint.
(Remember to apply the wax after polishing)

If you are not polishing the car. Use IPA to wipe the car or degreaser works well. Then only you apply a fresh layer of wax
So what I should do is just to wash and clay as usual?
owenwong84
post Apr 30 2016, 06:37 AM

Zin zin
1,041 posts

Anybody use driller to polish car before?

Kaka23
post May 1 2016, 09:51 PM

8,259 posts

Is it worth while to invest in a RM200++ polisher / waxing machine?
Kaka23
post May 2 2016, 09:21 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(Edlois @ Apr 24 2016, 12:56 AM)
You should go to tesco to buy some microfiber clothes at only rm 10+ with 3 clothes. Also use car shampoo, because water won't do much cleaning off dirty and grime if your car is dirty or hasn't wash for weeks. Water only used when your car is very pristinely clean.

Step 1. Prepare two bucket one for the car shampoo and another with only water for rinsing your washing cloth

Step 2. Wash the hood then bonnet and boot. After that only wash the door panel and lastly the bumpers. Remember to frequently rinse your washing cloth. To clear off dusty and dirt.

Step 3 rinse your car thoroughly with the hose. And use a microfiber towel ( wet the cloths first ) to dry your car with the same procedure hood, bonnet, boot those....

Step 4 if your car is dirty. Go aeon or any automobile store to get a clay bar for car. And clay every surface of your car. Also remember to use the car soap for lubricatio while clay bar the car.

Finally, your car is super clean so you can apply a layer of wax or sealant. Apply by section and wait the wax or sealant to dry and buff it off.

After the you should maintain your car by washing it at least once per week and remember to top up the wax on your car around once per month it depends on where you park your car
Bro.. On step 4, using clay bar. What is it for? Is it like a soap bar?
linkin182
post May 3 2016, 11:12 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ May 1 2016, 09:51 PM)
Is it worth while to invest in a RM200++ polisher / waxing machine?
Most would recommend a Dual Action Polisher. Would make you save enormous chunk of time.

Kaka23
post May 3 2016, 04:45 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(linkin182 @ May 3 2016, 11:12 AM)
Most would recommend a Dual Action Polisher. Would make you save enormous chunk of time.
Where I get get this dual action polisher?
alxlimcg
post May 3 2016, 04:50 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ May 2 2016, 10:21 PM)
Bro..  On step 4, using clay bar. What is it for?  Is it like a soap bar?
Clay bar looks like a bar of soap. But its consistency is like moulding clay or plastercine. you should rip off a piece and flatten it then use it to scrub gently on car surface.
To use it you need to use the soapy solution when you wash your car to lubricate your car surface before you use the clay bar on the surface. If you dont lubricate the surface...will cause scratches to your paint.
Clay bars will remove more of the dirt(harder to removed dirt) on the surface of your car which ordinary car wash cant remove.
It can remove wax and sealant too....

douglas_tong
post May 3 2016, 05:43 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ May 3 2016, 04:45 PM)
Where I get get this dual action polisher?
you can get from :
aikka.com.my - 600++
antirain.com (ryobi) - ??
Osren.com (dap8/dap15) 750/950

aeiou228
post May 3 2016, 10:10 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Mar 30 2016, 05:47 PM)
After 2 months

[attachmentid=6270544]
[attachmentid=6270546]
Durability test after 3 months.
Turtle wax ice premium care paste wax (applied on the driver side of the car)

Vs

Sonax xtream brilliant shine detailer spray wax. (Applied on the passenger side of the car)
Kaka23
post May 5 2016, 09:07 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(alxlimcg @ May 3 2016, 04:50 PM)
Clay bar looks like a bar of soap. But its consistency is like moulding clay or plastercine. you should rip off a piece and flatten it then use it to scrub gently on car surface.
To use it you need to use the soapy solution when you wash your car to lubricate your car surface before you use the clay bar on the surface. If you dont lubricate the surface...will cause scratches to your paint.
Clay bars will remove more of the dirt(harder to removed dirt) on the surface of your car which ordinary car wash cant remove.
It can remove wax and sealant too....
oh.. thanks for the explanation! notworthy.gif
Kaka23
post May 5 2016, 09:07 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ May 3 2016, 05:43 PM)
you can get from :
aikka.com.my - 600++
thumbup.gif
Axile
post May 5 2016, 09:13 AM

85 posts

Hi sifus,

I messed up during polishing stage by using Soft99 and the sponge provided in the tin. I polished almost the whole car cry.gif

1) With this kind of result, will it be better for me to send it to professional detailer to help to polish the terrible swirls?

2) Shall never polish with Soft99 again. Or maybe is the sponge issue?

linkin182
post May 5 2016, 10:55 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(Axile @ May 5 2016, 09:13 AM)
Yeah, I think it was mentioned before in past threads that Soft99 (the blue tin I suppose?) is the most abrasive.
If you have a DA Polisher, you can correct this with other milder correctors like Megs SwirlX and/or Ultimate Compound (its still not as abrasive as Soft99).

Swirl X itself however is very mild and may require a few application. You can skip polishing after this if you like as I typically wax my car after this process.

Had a similar results with Soft99 in the past, didn't use it ever since (unless for small correction spots).
linkin182
post May 5 2016, 10:56 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ May 3 2016, 05:43 PM)
you can get from :
aikka.com.my - 600++
Aikka looks tempting yo sad.gif

This post has been edited by linkin182: May 5 2016, 10:57 AM
douglas_tong
post May 5 2016, 01:03 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(linkin182 @ May 5 2016, 10:56 AM)
Aikka looks tempting yo sad.gif
based on the design, it seems like a older model. Currently i'm using osren's dap15 da polisher. Love it.
it has a larger throw of 15mm and vibration is not as bad as others.
Plan to get a rupes bigfoot next year if permissible.
linkin182
post May 5 2016, 01:46 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ May 5 2016, 01:03 PM)
based on the design, it seems like a older model. Currently i'm using osren's dap15 da polisher. Love it.
it has a larger throw of 15mm and vibration is not as bad as others.
Plan to get a rupes bigfoot next year if permissible.
Saw one similar to Rupes Bigfoot called Clover from Ali Express.
Currently going for US $138.65 total price including shipping.

Anybody have a similar one?
Axile
post May 7 2016, 08:22 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(linkin182 @ May 5 2016, 10:55 AM)
Yeah, I think it was mentioned before in past threads that Soft99 (the blue tin I suppose?) is the most abrasive.
If you have a DA Polisher, you can correct this with other milder correctors like Megs SwirlX and/or Ultimate Compound (its still not as abrasive as Soft99).

Swirl X itself however is very mild and may require a few application. You can skip polishing after this if you like as I typically wax my car after this process.

Had a similar results with Soft99 in the past, didn't use it ever since (unless for small correction spots).
Thx for your advice! Meaning after clay you will normally proceed with waxing?
watabakiu
post May 8 2016, 06:16 PM

1,572 posts

My dog vomitted all over my interior, especially the hard to reach places. And now my car stunk of the smell. Feel like puking too!

My upholstery is the fabric type. How do I get it fixed?

Tried Febreze, but all it does was to mask the smell, haih.
douglas_tong
post May 8 2016, 08:49 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(watabakiu @ May 8 2016, 06:16 PM)
My dog vomitted all over my interior, especially the hard to reach places. And now my car stunk of the smell. Feel like puking too!

My upholstery is the fabric type. How do I get it fixed?

Tried Febreze, but all it does was to mask the smell, haih.
If you have a steamer it would help.
Else diluted degrease .
To play safe, can go for fabric cleaner.

Tools you need : vacuum(wet dry vacuum preferred), steamer(or hot pail of water), microfiber clothes, brush to agitate

1.Vacuum and remove as much Gunk's or vomit as possible
2. Choice of cleaner : APC/diluted degreaser/fabric cleaner
3. Steam or wipe with hot microfiber towel
4. More cleaner and agitate with brush
5. Remove as much soap from seat as much as possible with dry microfiber clothes
6. Repeat if necessary
7. Air dry/ or pet dryer if you have it

805 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0237sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:44 PM