Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

Edlois
post Mar 12 2016, 03:27 PM

28 posts

Hi guys I been using turtle was super hard shell for a week the finish was quite good. I have one question does it lasting as their advertise on the label ? Any one has use this ? I know others like meguirs is good but it's too pricy for me
Edlois
post Mar 15 2016, 12:01 AM

28 posts

Hi gus/sifus!!! i just wash clay and wax my car the other day, i found out that on my roof and bonnet i saw alot of swirls marks. i was terrifies of polishing my car because:

1. im not a experience detailer, polishing will only create more swirl mark.
2. i dont have any polishing machine.

i know there's some type called polish and some called compound. i know polish is removing a thin layer of dirt/defected clear coat to review the fresh under layer. Do regular polish will affect the clear coat alot ?

im having a 2011 vios E

any suggestions ? advice for any product that affordable lah~ haha College guy here.

currently having a fresh layer of Wax.

Edlois
post Apr 24 2016, 12:56 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(da drummer @ Apr 23 2016, 11:32 PM)
hye,I'm new here...can some one share step by step how to do basic car wash?
my car both are black..

so far what i do is

1.use water n spray all over the car
2.use sponge so wipe
3.use water to rinse
4.use old cloth to wipe tyre n wax tyre

looks like the result is...hurmmmm..

You should go to tesco to buy some microfiber clothes at only rm 10+ with 3 clothes. Also use car shampoo, because water won't do much cleaning off dirty and grime if your car is dirty or hasn't wash for weeks. Water only used when your car is very pristinely clean.

Step 1. Prepare two bucket one for the car shampoo and another with only water for rinsing your washing cloth

Step 2. Wash the hood then bonnet and boot. After that only wash the door panel and lastly the bumpers. Remember to frequently rinse your washing cloth. To clear off dusty and dirt.

Step 3 rinse your car thoroughly with the hose. And use a microfiber towel ( wet the cloths first ) to dry your car with the same procedure hood, bonnet, boot those....

Step 4 if your car is dirty. Go aeon or any automobile store to get a clay bar for car. And clay every surface of your car. Also remember to use the car soap for lubricatio while clay bar the car.

Finally, your car is super clean so you can apply a layer of wax or sealant. Apply by section and wait the wax or sealant to dry and buff it off.

After the you should maintain your car by washing it at least once per week and remember to top up the wax on your car around once per month it depends on where you park your car
Edlois
post Apr 24 2016, 10:23 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(da drummer @ Apr 24 2016, 01:45 AM)
tq for fast and detail reply.got some question:

1.should i dry my car like very dry?if u get what i means rclxub.gif ...if i wet the cloth first..how to dry the car?
2.yep..i use microfiber towel and sponge..sponge for wash with soup n towel for dry the car..is it correct?
3.how about rim n tyre?i like my rim shine n tyre too..any good brand to wax tyre?
4.let say got dirty after little rain...got any other way to clean those small@little dirt?

i hope u understand because my english is bad.tq so much sir  notworthy.gif
Well of course you don't really need to dry your car until it's like very dry. Wrong washing method can induced swirls mean micro scratches on your car. Same as goes to drying your car.

Make sure you don't wipe the car rigorously just to dry the surface, this will scratch the paint even though you are using microfiber towel. After washing the car, fold the microfiber in half and start wiping the car surface in straight line. If you left little water streak it okay. Eventually the water will dry itself.

For tyre, also go tesco there a cheap brush with soft bristle. Use car soap again if you want to save money. If not go get a chemical for tyre. Use the brush to brush the rim first the side wall of the tyre then you are done.

When washing the car, remember to wash the tyre first then only you move on to washing the car. After everything is dry. Use wax on your car and tyre you can get the tyre shine on. Most tyre shine come with a sponge in the package. Squeeze around two drops of tyre shine on the sponge and apply it on the tyre.

Always remember, the key of getting good wax and tyre shine protection to last long is to get the car paint and the tyre to be clean enough to let the wax or the tyre to stick onto the surface.
Edlois
post Apr 24 2016, 11:23 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(kennethkee93 @ Apr 22 2016, 11:22 PM)
Hi guys, I got my first new car that is white.

Planning to buy and apply sealant on my car so that I don't need to wax it so frequently.

What are the average to good brand sealant and the cost? Also, can I apply it after I wash my car with Turtle Wax's car shampoo, without any polishing and so on?
Get turtle wax Ice premium sealant that will last you a long time. I applied mine on my Vios it held up good until one month before I topup more wax. I park my car outside during the day. Get it at ace hardware or any mall like aeon.

Price around 130 bucks. Trust me it last a long time. Coz I'm using it right now not even reach half of the can. It's about half year now.
Edlois
post Apr 25 2016, 06:38 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(kennethkee93 @ Apr 25 2016, 05:30 PM)
Yes, already bought TW ICE wax, rm120++.  Still no time to apply it yet. laugh.gif
Make sure you clean the paint surface to bare naked. After washing, clay the surface if it has swirl polish it. Then only the wax will stick well on the surface. Indeed very nice wax, plus now my car water beading is very good it's been a month since i waxed it.

You will know when you need to topup the wax. When you wash your car you will notice the water beading is not so effective. And also use good quality car shampoo I know you own the turtle wax shampoo. Happy detailing ya
Edlois
post Apr 28 2016, 08:57 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(JIUHWEI @ Apr 28 2016, 06:43 PM)
Dear sifus, I'm trying to redo my polish and wax.

From around the internet, I read about "stripping it down" which basically means to get rid of the previous coat of polish & wax.

How do I "strip it down"?
Wash and clay the car as usual. Polishing can remove old wax from the car. Dispite the polish is a low abrasive chemical that strip off wax and smooth out the paint.
(Remember to apply the wax after polishing)

If you are not polishing the car. Use IPA to wipe the car or degreaser works well. Then only you apply a fresh layer of wax
Edlois
post May 14 2016, 09:04 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(owenwong84 @ Apr 30 2016, 06:37 AM)
Anybody use driller to polish car before?
You only use driller as polisher when you're an experience. Driller is similar to rotary polisher it apply more pressure to the surface. If you're not use to polishing you will likely to do more paint damage then good. To start off, I suggest you get a dual action polisher. Gentle and yield better result.

0.0406sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:06 PM