Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

g88
post Jan 18 2018, 02:48 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(kyle_kl @ Jan 17 2018, 04:57 PM)
Hi guys, is CarPro product better than Meguiars? A shop quote me RM350 for wash, clay, compound, polish and wax using CarPro while another quote me RM280 using Meguiars. By the way, is the cost reasonable? Thank you.
what do u think about their skillset and how do u think you can maintain from thereon ?
g88
post Jan 22 2018, 10:46 AM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(kyle_kl @ Jan 22 2018, 10:17 AM)
Thanks for the suggestion, i will go and take a closer look on the car they have done.
I am a noob in car detailing. Never done detailing on my car before.
Is regular car wash enough for the wax last longer?
It will be good if you can share what maintenance should i take after the car is done with detailing (clay, compound, polish and wax).
Thank you.
there isn't a FIX way how detailing should 'be'. Of course tonnes of info out there where following the 'Ideal' steps/stages but thru my experience its NOT necessary do ALL.

If you ask me. skill play very important role.
g88
post Jan 25 2018, 08:52 AM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(zapdos9 @ Jan 24 2018, 03:39 PM)
Hi guys, I'm thinking of getting a polisher for compounding and polishing job but don't know any cheap and good polisher for starters like me. I feel that getting like makita or osren DA around RM1k is quite a lot to me. I'm looking for something maybe around 300-500 only. Any recommendation?
Was thinking of getting the meguiar DA power system converter to use on my drill but wondering if my drill rpm is good enough or not.
So many concern and confusion ? Like a gal biggrin.gif tongue.gif

remember, what you pay is what you get...Rm300-500 polisher will make u regret very soon....

I have long time never touch my Makita *bought before GST. If you interested offer me a good price via PM and it might be yours. - total usage also less than 10 times. dry.gif

g88
post Jan 29 2018, 03:57 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(Derekk @ Jan 29 2018, 01:34 PM)
Whr u bought the mjjc? I quoted rm380 for k2 including the free karcher foam gun too 😂
u will regret with karcher foam bottle biggrin.gif
g88
post Feb 12 2018, 11:34 AM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(G-CooL^_^ @ Feb 9 2018, 10:29 PM)
Any ideal where can i get the Osren product ?
Osren office.
g88
post Feb 13 2018, 10:22 AM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(hOnGhOnG @ Feb 12 2018, 11:38 PM)
Anyone staying in a condo with no facility for car wash but still manage to wash the car by ownself? Other than bucket what tools do you use especially to carry the water? Too bad malaysia doesnt have those self service car wash center..
you have the following choices :-

1. Feedback to management to setup a car wash area.
2. Do waterless car wash
3. Take buckets of water from your unit to your parking
4. Pay and send outside

g88
post Feb 14 2018, 10:12 AM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(Vinceyang @ Feb 14 2018, 12:29 AM)
[attachmentid=9594255][attachmentid=9594264]
Hi Sifus,
I have no idea what this stain is.
Cannot remove by polish, wax, i even try vinegar also cant remove.
It is on the surface of clear coat. Can feel roughness.

Any idea how to get rid of it?
try clay, else only way is compound but look like its clear coat breaking down. - my suggestion is leave it.
g88
post Feb 23 2018, 12:23 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Feb 23 2018, 12:47 AM)
From my experience and research, generally yellowish type lights (generally known as warm white) can show swirls better on lighter color cars (white, silver), and white lights (generally known as cool white) tend to show swirls better on dark/black cars. The difference in the light temperature (the yellowness or whiteness of light) will show swirls differently depending on your car color. Street lights are generally warm white category, and your phone torch light should be in the cool white category.

The overall ideal light for inspecting paint defects is neutral white color lights, which commonly is sunlight equivalent type of light. Sun guns are what some pro detailers like to use when doing such inspection because they use bulbs that somewhat emulate sun type of light temperature.

I have the same car color as u have, so I use a strong warm white torchlight (powered by 18650 battery) for defect inspection.
If its a daily use car, its mission impossible to be 100% swirl free. My advice is 'accept' the x amount of swirl created by sand and dust while travelling + improve your washing and drying skill to minimize the worsen of swirl...

My take is , if you really swirl free freak and keep wanna polish after wax etc....your cc will be gone few years or its WORST if you think you a 'great' in machine polishing, your CC is going to gone even faster.

Personally after so many years into this hobby (hope am still passionate about it), my take is keep the surface clean/shine based on your preference but most importantly there is PROTECTION ...beading and sheeting is the goal.

Want really gloss - cut the CC and remove all the orange peel. With our climate, you are gonna repaint your car very soon...

IMHO la...

PS : Do agreed, yellow light have better reflection on swirl ...make your life and ease of maintenance easier...
g88
post Feb 28 2018, 05:57 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(G-CooL^_^ @ Feb 28 2018, 05:06 PM)
Hi all

Where can i get this type of bucket ? hardware shop selling or not ? Osren one too expensive

go to construction side or people that about complete their house renovation, you likely get this free.
g88
post Mar 1 2018, 03:35 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Feb 28 2018, 11:40 PM)
cement and paint doesnt stick well on plastic, so I just soak it on water and then dry it on hot sun, an use a scrapper to clean it.

here are some...cleaned, in the process and some are yet to clean

[attachmentid=9624224]

for stubborn ones (cement), i have used water jet and/or vinegar / acid
so hardcore in cleaning them hahahaha...sound like going to boom them
g88
post Mar 5 2018, 10:42 AM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(AirKM @ Mar 3 2018, 11:01 AM)
Hi all, am considering buying this 14-step auto detailing package for RM88 from Fave, is it recommended?

https://myfave.com/kuala-lumpur/wax-perfect...d-claying-40088

Or should I get the 17-step package for RM128 instead? Difference being sealant, door panel protective treatment and body wax coating.

https://myfave.com/kuala-lumpur/wax-perfect...d-claying-40089
both are definitely big NO NO for detailing enthusiast BUT if you are someone that don't DIY and always sent outside, than its ok
g88
post Mar 5 2018, 02:26 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(b0rhui @ Mar 5 2018, 02:20 PM)
How to remove these? Megs gold class shampoo won't be able to remove it. Too lazy to prep the surface and polish it biggrin.gif

[attachmentid=9633478]
the usual. TRY clay else next is polish.
g88
post Mar 5 2018, 04:02 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(b0rhui @ Mar 5 2018, 02:37 PM)
Dishwasher liquid cannot? icon_idea.gif I recall it can remove some black residue right
your case is not 'residue'. look more like acidic etched to the paintwork
g88
post Mar 6 2018, 10:33 AM

1,631 posts

TT is back biggrin.gif
g88
post Mar 8 2018, 11:32 AM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(lkoky @ Mar 7 2018, 10:12 AM)
Guys,

how do you generally wash SUV? now am thinking getting a step ladder and maybe a broom stick style sponge. The roof is so damned high. hahaha
will be ruin your paintwork. U need a ladder which is higher than your roof
g88
post Mar 18 2018, 10:21 AM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(Jack234 @ Mar 18 2018, 09:14 AM)
When you're using your DA polisher, your neighbours will get annoyed by the loud drilling-like-noise?
Even I myself cannot tahan the noise for 5 minutes
sell the DA and sent to shop biggrin.gif

China brand DA tend to me noisier than branded one. Same goes to RB too.
g88
post Mar 19 2018, 10:39 AM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Mar 19 2018, 12:55 AM)
I use a similar solution, which is SuperClean Tough Task Cleaner-Degreaser. It is alkaline based instead of SuperClean All Wheel Cleaner which is acid based. It is somewhat milder than Cartec Wheel Cleaner that I have also used before, but it is truly fantastic in cleaning tyre walls. It cleans so good just like the video here:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ikggFvDGiD4

I used Meguiars Wheel Brightener before. The one reason I didnt like it in the end was because if it ever splash onto my spectacles for whatever reason, the etching is permanent, end up I have to change my spectacles lenses.

To your question on how to get a gallon of it, I have also asked a similar question, contacted some ppl and scouted around online and offline. Unfortunately I have found no answer as this product I only managed to find in ACE Hardware only so far. Importing is also impossible without a license as this product is corrosive.

If u can find a way to import, please share. Thanks.
I see this as 'problem' with detailer itself. When using strong chemical, we should always wear glove, facemask, and probably goggle. But how many ppl here to that ? 'leceh' right ? All want ease of use cleaning, good scent, good cleaning power and most importantly cheap .....

I have tried, MG WB, Valet Bilberry WB, BlueCoral, Sonax Full Effect, some other (cannot remember name) from ACE/Aeon...all has pros and con - generally all strong scent and ALL have to apply with EXTRA careful (do not inhale during application).

My other question is HOW frequent you going to use all this strong chemical to clean your rim and probably your entire wheel hub/disc etc....its very 'syok' to see the chemical in reaction but at the same time its kill all the surface grease, rubber, lubricant around your brake area...

I only use them once in a bluemoon and the rest just wash with car shampoo....so 1 Liter seriously can see darn long !! IMHO la.
g88
post Mar 19 2018, 04:51 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ Mar 19 2018, 04:20 PM)
Mmm, I heard of the fab serbuk and generally clothes powder detergents before as an option for cleaning. However, I am also generally not a fan of using clothes detergents because they are strong enough to literally strip your hands from all oils and moisture, leaving the hands very dry for an hour at least. I suspect prolonged use will cause eczema to flare up on my hands. But thanks for the idea anyways.

Yes, I discovered the power of Meguiars Wheel Brightener during my shop detailing days, we used it for regular quick cleaning of customer car rims. However, what I also noticed is that Wheel Brightener cant compare to Super Degreaser when it comes to cleaning those ultra-ultra-stubborn-and-old brake dust from rims. Wheel Brightener may not be able to break such grime up, but Super Degreaser definitely can.

what the dilution ratio we talking about 1:4 or 1:10 for WB against SD ?
g88
post Mar 20 2018, 05:31 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(vindroid @ Mar 20 2018, 03:04 PM)
Which sealent or coating which keep white car clean in rainy weather? Which can reduce the black streaks and easy to clean those black streaks mark.
do not leave watermark overnight/dry out - wash more frequent
g88
post Mar 21 2018, 03:25 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(vindroid @ Mar 20 2018, 07:45 PM)
Any wax, sealent or coating suitable cause after rain, there is like a dirty film layered that is visible when u wash ur car. Wax could not prevent those dirt embedded on paint and lessen the watermark.
Any experience on protection that kept the paint cleaner and less water mark prone.
No solution for your challenges due to contaminated rain water, the longer you leave the car in rain the more dirt film will build. Only way is void paintwork exposure to sunlight and acid rain...

11 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.3201sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 05:22 AM