Car Care & Detailing [V5], Caring for your car apprearance

g88
post May 8 2018, 03:42 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(lkoky @ May 8 2018, 02:06 PM)
anyone care to recommend a garden hose? with reel preferably.

there are so many options on Lazada or shop; kind of confuse and dont knw which one to get for my car wash regime
not sure how long have you been into this hobby, my advice is don't go EXTREME crazy about every single thing e.g water tap, hose....its about the MINDSET and the Technique of the detailer...

If you really So CRAZY about this, should also go into water (hard/soft) water..climate etc (end up must well buy a car, daily also polish (keep cutting the paint), apply wax (repeat and repeat and repeat)....+ don't drive the car...
g88
post May 8 2018, 03:44 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(lkoky @ May 8 2018, 02:25 PM)
gardena, karcher is very good but also very pricey...
g88
post May 14 2018, 11:59 AM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 13 2018, 07:35 PM)
Just noticed yellow spot about 3 mm x 3 mm on the roof area. Is this tree sap etch into clear coat? I tried restorer 51, PC20 and 46 using MF cloth cannot remove 🤦‍♂️. Angled view looks like the yellow spot is not level with my paint...

[attachmentid=9793273]

Side view, looks like it’s bulging instead.

[attachmentid=9793358]
wet sand if you really wanna 'remove' it
g88
post May 15 2018, 12:52 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(jyane @ May 14 2018, 05:30 PM)
Hi sifus, anyway i can get the effect of "snow" shampoo without using gun form ( i think that how u call?) cos i dont have that machine.
https://www.lazada.com.my/products/rimtroni...JwdXKN&search=1

Or IF CAN GET THIS, BETTER

http://www.11street.my/productdetail/press...eaning-64776325

Both work very well with garden hose.

If too 'expensive' for you then forget about it rclxs0.gif
g88
post May 18 2018, 10:32 AM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(syaaron @ May 17 2018, 10:24 PM)
Any tips on removing watermarks on white cars? Been trying to apply wax after washing and currently using WAXCO .

Learning more on car detailing here. Thanks
wax is for protection, water mark is contamination - u need polisher to remove it.
g88
post May 21 2018, 10:46 AM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(amdhunter @ May 15 2018, 10:10 AM)
anyone using microfiber cutting disc/foam wool pad for compounding?
always start with least abrasive product, your clear coat can't withstand too many time cutting..
g88
post May 21 2018, 10:47 AM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(syaaron @ May 18 2018, 05:01 PM)
Sorry its dark stains to be exact. Cleaner wax like the current one (WAXCO) I'm using will do ?
Any brand polisher you would recommend ?
I see thanks for the tips.
So i need to do polish first , then wax to protect it ?
you need to do scrubbing/cleanser of your face before apply moisturizer, etc right ? laugh.gif
g88
post May 21 2018, 01:32 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ May 21 2018, 11:14 AM)
U can try to touchup the paint, but I will be honest first that since rust has started to grow, it will only get worse over time even though the area has been covered with touchup paint. From personal experience, rust can still grow underneath paint once it starts forming. The best action u can do is to send for respray, as the respray shop usually will sand down the rust spots off first before respraying. Just my 2 sen.
don't scare him la...that dot of rust won't spread..you think 15 years ago paintwork and antirust paintwork meh..it just that someone the paint got chip off ..simple is wrap a very fine sandpaper e.g 1000-2000 gift (if you worry) to a cotton bud etc...slowly remove the rust and fill it back with some paint (just go to any car paintship ask bit for it, no one going to charge u...if can do few more layers after one another dried up....
g88
post May 21 2018, 05:18 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ May 21 2018, 04:22 PM)
I disagree.

Liked you said, paint doesn't rust. Pigments don't rust. clear coat doesn't rust, primer doesn't rust. These are not metal particles.

The fact that it is rusted means it has penetrated into bare metal. Basic science.

You have been very misleading in many of your posts. Rebuking without facts and backing. Please contribute responsibly and not based on your opinion.
everyone have their own opinion, you can choose to ignore if it doesn't suit your flavor, what i shared also based on experience and tried out. Ya you may refer alot to youtube or forum info but bear in mine different region, climate, detailer product and mentality is different. e.g hard water vs soft water...

So appreciate you don't act like a dictator where everyone must believe your info and with all the link posted me its the only solution. when you long enough in one hobby you would know what is best and more practical and economical way to maintain the hobby costing, undeniable 'newbie' that job would want to get their hands to the 'latest' or some premium product or solution.
g88
post May 21 2018, 05:27 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(blurcase @ May 21 2018, 02:33 PM)
Well, as I said, based on my personal experience. Probably I'm not aware that new technologies have developed for the antirust primer coats, but I've seen enough cars that grow rust veins underneath the paint due to rust from paint chips. Of course touchup paint is the budget way to try, and by all means if tried and the rust doesnt come back then good. However, if it does come back, then its still back to the body shop for repaint.
don't take my word 'don't scare him la' too heavy as in hammer you... what i meant is chill...small fix no need with big/multiple step...where 'scarify' the unnecessary

You can see here : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qEhbCgMMYj8 > just dip back the drop...instead of doing this https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1hZ8uDG4NGY thumbsup.gif

g88
post May 21 2018, 05:30 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(#Victor @ May 21 2018, 05:27 PM)
Anybody heard of Kleenson? How is their 2 in 1 car shampoo for regular car wash? Does their shampoo worth the price or any cheap alternative recommended for normal DIY car wash other than those expensive shampoo like Meguiars, Autoglym, etc.
a budget local brand widely use by low-mid cost car wash, maybe too some expensive car wash place (e.g Rm15 per wash)...

Maybe u can share what you trying to get out of the 'car wash', budget, time willing to spent and expectation...
g88
post May 21 2018, 05:47 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ May 21 2018, 05:36 PM)
Half of your sentence doesn't even make logical sense.

I do youtube a lot, but I probably have more experience and insights when it comes to fundamentals of basic science, especially detailing.
Also this is not about cost-effectiveness or hobby. It's about you misinforming and misleading people to believe nonsensical claims, this has happened many times. And then there is your demeanor when it comes to disapproving people's reasoning without providing facts or solid intelligence. So don't deviate from the core issue I'm highlighting.

the difference between you and others is that you instead of sharing useful information on this forum, you are disowning everyone else just for the sake of disagreeing.

Where should I start? from your days in autoworld forum? too long a list.

Nobody asked anyone to believe what i said. Feel free to think that paint pigments will rust and coating will not have watermarks issue in our tropical weather. That's just you. It's not about flavor, it's about mentality.

I will no longer give a shit about your statement from here.
Wow. autoworld.... laugh.gif no one ask for to take or respond everything. Chill and move on...umm still wanna prove only your statement more sensible because alot of study and fact.

Its ok la..lets continue to see your show here wink.gif
g88
post May 23 2018, 10:51 AM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(amdhunter @ May 22 2018, 06:35 PM)
do you guys have Carpet & Upholstery Vacuum Cleaner ?
any recommendation? thinking for karcher SE 4001  biggrin.gif
highly chance you will regret later coz investment is high but usage is low unless you are into business (ROI)

Typically ppl use this https://www.kaercher.com/int/professional/c...1-11001300.html

My suggestion is send to detailer that have this service or FB alot carpet/car seat cleaning service, if i am correct Rm120-250 per time or even some offer rental of equipment for DIY - charge per day.

I would prefer get a steam cleaner and usage is higher (but alot ppl also think usage is lower). IMHO
g88
post May 23 2018, 10:58 AM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(amdhunter @ May 22 2018, 07:53 PM)
thanks for the suggestion sifu  notworthy.gif
wanted to clean my cushion,  hmm.gif

karcher SC2?
if you are someone really keen in doing house cleaning e.g its kinda of worth invest but this again very subjective BUT BUT...there is always a cheaper way - start with a low budget and portal steam cleaner (try out your liking) e.g https://www.lazada.com.my/products/good-ele...Jl67Gd&search=1 OR https://www.lazada.com.my/products/karcher-...Jl67Gd&search=1 before you move to bigger investment.

Personally i tried steam cleaning my car seats - kinda of 'fun' and does remove SOME of the dirt...and next thing you find your car seat fabric like just being ironed - with the water vapour smell....overall pleasant experience / maybe get addicted

g88
post May 23 2018, 10:59 AM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(#Victor @ May 23 2018, 10:45 AM)
I'm not looking for premium car shampoo since the price will be costly, instead economic shampoo like Kleenson 2in1 shampoo will do.
Try Lazada search with car shampoo...alot variety
g88
post May 23 2018, 12:35 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(amdhunter @ May 23 2018, 11:09 AM)
this is why im thinking to get steam cleaner  laugh.gif
thanks for the suggestion. yea thinking to get steam cleaner,can use for home cleaning too  thumbup.gif
which steam cleaner you use?
https://www.kaercher.com/my/home-garden/steam-cleaners.html follow your budget. I am using basic model but not so portable... cool2.gif

This post has been edited by g88: May 23 2018, 12:35 PM
g88
post May 25 2018, 10:11 AM

1,631 posts

If any of you have chance come across this (video) product, my advice is Wait No More, GO FOR it.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h_4TIpvl7Wg

Ultra gloss, Super Slick, Durability (under testing now) but after 2 washes (in 2 weeks) with Sonax (hand, foam gun, mixed) still super slick thumbsup.gif

This post has been edited by g88: May 25 2018, 10:12 AM
g88
post May 28 2018, 03:34 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 28 2018, 01:17 PM)
Ok I'm getting tired of carrying my rolled up water hose whenever I use my PW... wanna look for those hose reel, any recommendations?
Bear in mind hose reel will take up space and make your roll of hose 'bigger' . Something like this https://www.lazada.com.my/products/pvc-gard...Xek7ub&search=1 will do the job. U won't want spent way lot more than your hose biggrin.gif
g88
post May 31 2018, 05:21 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(willemng @ May 31 2018, 03:18 PM)
Hey Guys, almost everyday rain. Sifu Sifu have any method to prevent the car to be dirty?

what other method besides methods below? LOL
method 1 - wash car everyday
method 2 - park your car in covered building
method 3 - ???
1. avoid drive out during rain
2. park indoor (even no rain)
3. Regular maintenance with good LSP
4. Wash when you feel dirt film built up too much or beading getting weaker (remember to top up protection after wash)
g88
post Jun 2 2018, 04:52 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(#Victor @ May 31 2018, 05:57 PM)
What is the point of buying car but avoid driving it when it's raining hmm.gif
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif Yea, get a life while keeping everything balance... Who knows ur superb good condition car one day might just end up like this when u are in the wrong place in wrong timing bye.gif
Trust me, there are people like that 😁 That's why weekend car exist..Take train, lrt to work but get a car at home eat dust or wait depreciation....No offence

11 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0343sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 12:58 PM