125 Pages « < 115 116 117 118 119 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V11!

xHj09
post Jul 27 2016, 02:16 AM

Your Friendly Neighborhood
1,614 posts

hi sifus, im thinking of getting gtx1060 or rx 480. gonna just listen to you all since i don't know anything about those technical terms. just wanna play games at 1080p with constant 60fps (if possible with either one of the gc)

here's my current rig. what else do i have to change if i change gpu to either one mentioned? been using for about 3.5 years already. i can hardly play battleborn at 720p with good fps sweat.gif

i5-3470
asrock h77 pro4/mvp
gskill sniper 2x4gb 1600
corsair vs550
sapphire hd7770 vapor-x
cm hyper 212 evo

if can get it done all in one shop would be nice so they can help me change biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by xHj09: Jul 27 2016, 02:41 AM
terence_nwb
post Jul 27 2016, 08:36 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(xHj09 @ Jul 27 2016, 02:16 AM)
hi sifus, im thinking of getting gtx1060 or rx 480. gonna just listen to you all since i don't know anything about those technical terms. just wanna play games at 1080p with constant 60fps (if possible with either one of the gc)

here's my current rig. what else do i have to change if i change gpu to either one mentioned? been using for about 3.5 years already. i can hardly play battleborn at 720p with good fps sweat.gif

i5-3470
asrock h77 pro4/mvp
gskill sniper 2x4gb 1600
corsair vs550
sapphire hd7770 vapor-x
cm hyper 212 evo

if can get it done all in one shop would be nice so they can help me change biggrin.gif
DX11 titles (most of the games currently) run better on GTX1060 while DX12/Vulkan (Doom 2016 only so far) titles run better on RX 480.

Battleborn is a DX11 title and runs better on Nvidia GPU so GTX1060 is a better pick here.

But of course you can pick the AMD card for more future proof though (when DX12/Vulkan become mainstream API).
chotalent
post Jul 27 2016, 11:49 AM

51 posts

Please suggest a complete rig mainly for gaming purpose. Game mostly play is Dota 2.

Budget : RM1200, without monitor.

Thanks! smile.gif
terence_nwb
post Jul 27 2016, 12:30 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(chotalent @ Jul 27 2016, 11:49 AM)

Please suggest a complete rig mainly for gaming purpose. Game mostly play is Dota 2.

Budget : RM1200, without monitor.

Thanks! smile.gif
Intel Core i3 6100 - RM 467
Asus H110M-K - RM 274
Corsair 8GB DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 130
Seagate Momentus Thin 500GB HDD - RM 182
CM Elite Power 350W - RM 126
Armageddon T1x - RM 95

Total: RM 1274 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

1.2k can barely build any gaming PC, you need to rely on the iGPU (HD 530) for Dota 2 with such budget, medium settings at ~50 FPS (1080p) is possible.
Mystauruk
post Jul 27 2016, 01:39 PM

Hi sifus.

Please suggest a rig for playing AAA games like Witcher 3 with 60+ FPS.

Budget - ~4.5k Without monitors
SUStlts
post Jul 27 2016, 02:35 PM

pee poo pee poo
1,891 posts

hi can recormand me the cheapest brand for 1060.
and where to buy....include online with cupon will be much better.ty veli much .lazy wait my gpu back from rma liao...alyiz tipu me say back liao from rma...
terence_nwb
post Jul 27 2016, 02:56 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Mystauruk @ Jul 27 2016, 01:39 PM)
Hi sifus.

Please suggest a rig for playing AAA games like Witcher 3 with 60+ FPS.

Budget - ~4.5k Without monitors
Intel Core i5 6500 - RM 824
Gigabyte B150M-D3H (D4) - RM 379
Kingston 16GB (8GB x 2) DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 290
Palit GTX1070 8GB GDDR5 Jetstream - RM 1999
Kingston SSDNow UV400 240GB SSD - RM 255
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 209
Superflower Leadex Silver 650W - RM 379
Tecware Alpha - RM 199

Total: RM 4538 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

Alternative build with i7 6700 + GTX1060 is also possible, but for better graphics settings (ultra), GTX1070 is more recommended even on 1080p only. Witcher 3 is not that CPU demanding, i5 can handle this game very well.

QUOTE(tlts @ Jul 27 2016, 02:35 PM)
hi can recormand me the cheapest brand for 1060.
and where to buy....include online with cupon will be much  better.ty veli much .lazy wait my gpu back from rma liao...alyiz tipu me say back liao from rma...
GemFive with coupon code can get 12% off but the only GTX1060 (MSI Gaming X) on GemFive is currently out of stock, RM 1284 after applying the discount.

Zotac GTX1060 Mini Edition is the cheapest GTX1060 now in local market, RM 1219, should be available within this week (some shops might have it already).

This post has been edited by terence_nwb: Jul 27 2016, 02:56 PM
mah0528
post Jul 27 2016, 03:14 PM

28 posts

If you guy have 6K budget on hand, what kind of build shall go for?

Any bottleneck on build B? [i5 + 1080]

Build A:
i5 6600K + Asus Z170 + Gigabyte GTX 1070 G1 + Superflower gold 650W + Fractal Design Define S

Build B:
i5 6500 + Gigabyte H170-HD3 + EVGA GTX 1080 Gaming ACX 3.0 + Superflower gold 750W + Fractal Design Define S
terence_nwb
post Jul 27 2016, 03:29 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(mah0528 @ Jul 27 2016, 03:14 PM)
If you guy have 6K budget on hand, what kind of build shall go for?

Any bottleneck on build B? [i5 + 1080]

Build A:
i5 6600K + Asus Z170 + Gigabyte GTX 1070 G1 + Superflower gold 650W + Fractal Design Define S
Build B:
i5 6500 + Gigabyte H170-HD3 + EVGA GTX 1080 Gaming ACX 3.0 + Superflower gold 750W + Fractal Design Define S
Neither one, I will go for i7 6700 + GTX1080 instead.

Intel Core i7 6700 - RM 1274
Gigabyte H170-HD3 (D4) - RM 446
Corsair 8GB DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 130
Palit GTX1080 8GB GDDR5X Jetstream - RM 2960
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 209
Superflower Leadex Gold 550W - RM 409
Fractal Design Define S - RM 389

Total: RM 6072

Bottleneck only happens when the game is very CPU demanding, otherwise the performance will be identical to an i7 rig, but for the sake of future proof, get an i7 (extra 4 threads and single core clock speed).

Price referenced from ETech.

This post has been edited by terence_nwb: Jul 27 2016, 03:30 PM
kcirdenk
post Jul 27 2016, 04:23 PM

179 posts

Can suggest a rig with the budget range of RM2.5K-RM2.6K. Mainly use for torrent & watching movies only. If can, the motherboard come with wifi connection 2.4/5ghz, monitor & casing.

TQ.
Mystauruk
post Jul 27 2016, 04:38 PM

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Jul 27 2016, 02:56 PM)
Intel Core i5 6500 - RM 824
Gigabyte B150M-D3H (D4) - RM 379
Kingston 16GB (8GB x 2) DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 290
Palit GTX1070 8GB GDDR5 Jetstream - RM 1999
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 209
Superflower Leadex Silver 650W - RM 379
Tecware Alpha - RM 199

Total: RM 4538 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

Alternative build with i7 6700 + GTX1060 is also possible, but for better graphics settings (ultra), GTX1070 is more recommended even on 1080p only. Witcher 3 is not that CPU demanding, i5 can handle this game very well.
GemFive with coupon code can get 12% off but the only GTX1060 (MSI Gaming X) on GemFive is currently out of stock, RM 1284 after applying the discount.
Thanks!

Actually, I got R9 290 hand me down from my brother. If I just use this card to save $$ what part can I upgrade?

Also, is there any downside with ITX build? I see this Fractal Design nano s casing quite gooding 😊

This post has been edited by Mystauruk: Jul 27 2016, 04:39 PM
terence_nwb
post Jul 27 2016, 04:58 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(kcirdenk @ Jul 27 2016, 04:23 PM)

Can suggest a rig with the budget range of RM2.5K-RM2.6K. Mainly use for torrent & watching movies only. If can, the motherboard come with wifi connection 2.4/5ghz, monitor & casing.

TQ.
2 ways to get WiFi connection on the PC.

First way is get a mITX mobo with on-board WiFi card, second way is get a normal mobo and USB/PCIe WiFi adapter. First solution is more expensive but you can build a small rig like console/mini PC (vital for space-saving), second solution is cheaper in overall bu can be bulky in size.

I prefer first solution since no gaming involved, thus no clearance issue on GPU (no need to get dedicated GPU) especially when building a SFF rig.

Gigabyte H170N-WiFi - RM 536
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 147
Kingston SSDNow UV400 120GB SSD - RM 153
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 209
FSP Hexa+ 400W - RM 145
CM Elite 110 - RM 159
Acer R241Y IPS - RM 622

Total: RM 2438 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

QUOTE(Mystauruk @ Jul 27 2016, 04:38 PM)
Thanks! 

Actually, I got R9 290 hand me down from my brother. If I just use this card to save $$ what part can I upgrade?

Also, is there any downside with ITX build? I see this Fractal Design nano s casing quite gooding 😊
Hmm not quite understand what you mean.

Do you mean you gonna reuse the R9 290 or sell the R9 290 and add the money into your budget?

mITX build is compact in size, meaning you are limited by future hardware extension, especially HDD/SSD expansion, no SLI/CF support, no extra PCIe slot for 3rd party PCIe expansion card (sound card/USB hub etc.), limited fan header (though can be solved by getting a fan hub), 2 RAM slots only etc.

What you get with mITX (SFF) build is portability/mobility and space saving.
kcirdenk
post Jul 27 2016, 05:23 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Jul 27 2016, 04:58 PM)
2 ways to get WiFi connection on the PC.

First way is get a mITX mobo with on-board WiFi card, second way is get a normal mobo and USB/PCIe WiFi adapter. First solution is more expensive but you can build a small rig like console/mini PC (vital for space-saving), second solution is cheaper in overall bu can be bulky in size.

I prefer first solution since no gaming involved, thus no clearance issue on GPU (no need to get dedicated GPU) especially when building a SFF rig.

Gigabyte H170N-WiFi - RM 536
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 147
Kingston SSDNow UV400 120GB SSD - RM 153
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 209
FSP Hexa+ 400W - RM 145
CM Elite 110 - RM 159
Acer R241Y IPS - RM 622

Total: RM 2438 (ETech price inclusive of GST)
thanks for the suggestion. will the i3 slow, maybe change to i5? hmm.gif hmm.gif
terence_nwb
post Jul 27 2016, 05:30 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(kcirdenk @ Jul 27 2016, 05:23 PM)
thanks for the suggestion. will the i3 slow, maybe change to i5?  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
Torrenting and watching movies on i3 is totally fine, Skylake i3 is very powerful and comparable to 2nd (or even 3rd gen) i5 flex.gif
kcirdenk
post Jul 27 2016, 05:33 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Jul 27 2016, 05:30 PM)
Torrenting and watching movies on i3 is totally fine, Skylake i3 is very powerful and comparable to 2nd (or even 3rd gen) i5  flex.gif
i see.. not very knowledgeable in hardware.. tq
Mystauruk
post Jul 27 2016, 05:41 PM

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Jul 27 2016, 04:58 PM)

Hmm not quite understand what you mean.

Do you mean you gonna reuse the R9 290 or sell the R9 290 and add the money into your budget?

mITX build is compact in size, meaning you are limited by future hardware extension, especially HDD/SSD expansion, no SLI/CF support, no extra PCIe slot for 3rd party PCIe expansion card (sound card/USB hub etc.), limited fan header (though can be solved by getting a fan hub), 2 RAM slots only etc.

What you get with mITX (SFF) build is portability/mobility and space saving.
I mean reuse the 290. I can get better mobo & psu right?

Also I prefer mITX build because of mobility.
cyclone9
post Jul 27 2016, 05:42 PM

War Kills Love , Love Save War
2,949 posts

gtx980 psu power required?

my spec below
i3 + cpu cooler
12gb ram ddr3
1 x ssd
2 x hdd
2 x monitor
2 x case fan
terence_nwb
post Jul 27 2016, 05:50 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Mystauruk @ Jul 27 2016, 05:41 PM)
I mean reuse the 290. I can get better mobo & psu right?

Also I prefer mITX build because of mobility.
Better mobo as in more features? If you mean quality then don't worry so much about Gigabyte mobo, no problem reported from forumers here so far and it is advertised as "ultra durable" somemore biggrin.gif

As for PSU, it is one of the best that you can get with RM 300+ budget (Seasonic M12II EVO is also a good PSU to consider within this price range), RM 450+ can get you a tier 1 Superflower Leadex Gold 650W PSU.

GTX1070 is packing with twice of the performance of R9 290, so you might need to run on med/high settings to get a stable 60+ FPS in Witcher 3 (1080p of course) with R9 290, if you are ok with this then I think it won't bother you too much.

And please let me know your exact model of R9 290 so I can choose the case appropriately (clearance issue).
terence_nwb
post Jul 27 2016, 05:52 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(cyclone9 @ Jul 27 2016, 05:42 PM)
gtx980 psu power required?

my spec below
i3 + cpu cooler
12gb ram ddr3
1 x ssd
2 x hdd
2 x monitor
2 x case fan
Which i3? Bottleneck is likely to happen when GTX980 is pairing with i3 in those CPU demanding games such as GTA V/BF4 multiplayer/Fallout 4 etc.

Any decent (or true power) 500W PSU is enough to power up your rig based on the system specs.
cyclone9
post Jul 27 2016, 05:55 PM

War Kills Love , Love Save War
2,949 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Jul 27 2016, 05:52 PM)
Which i3? Bottleneck is likely to happen when GTX980 is pairing with i3 in those CPU demanding games such as GTA V/BF4 multiplayer/Fallout 4 etc.

Any decent (or true power) 500W PSU is enough to power up your rig based on the system specs.
if upgrade i5 will require 500w too?

125 Pages « < 115 116 117 118 119 > » Top

0.0194sec    0.87    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 12:14 AM