125 Pages « < 114 115 116 117 118 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V11!

r47z
post Jul 26 2016, 11:59 AM

686 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Jul 26 2016, 11:46 AM)
OC - Yes?

Case model?
Yup OC. Im currently using corsair 200R case.
terence_nwb
post Jul 26 2016, 12:18 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(r47z @ Jul 26 2016, 11:59 AM)
Yup OC. Im currently using corsair 200R case.
200R is an ATX case, I have no idea why you picked a mITX mobo initially biggrin.gif

Intel Core i7 6700K - RM 1461
Asus Z170 Pro Gaming - RM 735
Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (8GB x 2) DDR4 3000MHz RAM - RM 385

Total: RM 2581 (Techview price inclusive of GST)
SHOfrE3zE
post Jul 26 2016, 12:19 PM

Drop It Like It's Hot
1,895 posts

need help suggesting an ATX sized motherboard with the budget of RM450.

please do not quote me an M-ATX (to be precise, the Gigabyte B150M-D3H).

i need a bigger board and ATX is the ideal size for me. preferably with bluetooth on board.

This post has been edited by SHOfrE3zE: Jul 26 2016, 12:19 PM
r47z
post Jul 26 2016, 12:40 PM

686 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Jul 26 2016, 12:18 PM)
200R is an ATX case, I have no idea why you picked a mITX mobo initially  biggrin.gif

Intel Core i7 6700K - RM 1461
Asus Z170 Pro Gaming - RM 735
Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (8GB x 2) DDR4 3000MHz RAM - RM 385

Total: RM 2581 (Techview price inclusive of GST)
I have no idea too. Should i get after market coolers too?
terence_nwb
post Jul 26 2016, 01:33 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(r47z @ Jul 26 2016, 12:40 PM)
I have no idea too. Should i get after market coolers too?
Yes, either air or liquid cooler.

If willing to take the risk of liquid leak (low chance though), you can consider going for liquid cooler (for aesthetic and clean nice looking purpose), if want to play safe, a decent RM 300+ air CPU cooler will do the job fine as well.

Your case can only fit selected 240mm radiator on top, mod is needed for those unsupported radiators like Corsair Hydro H100i.

Max clearance for CPU air cooler is 165mm, you need to ensure the height of the air cooler if you are going for air cooling path.

Some example of CPU coolers that can fit in 200R:

Cryorig H5 Ultimate, Noctua NH-D14, CM Hyper 212X (air cooler)

Corsair Hydro H80i V2, NZXT Kraken X31 (liquid cooler)
terence_nwb
post Jul 26 2016, 01:35 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(SHOfrE3zE @ Jul 26 2016, 12:19 PM)
need help suggesting an ATX sized motherboard with the budget of RM450.

please do not quote me an M-ATX (to be precise, the Gigabyte B150M-D3H).

i need a bigger board and ATX is the ideal size for me. preferably with bluetooth on board.
Gigabyte H170-HD3
firefake
post Jul 26 2016, 01:43 PM

42 posts

hello sifus can help me built a new rig for my brother birthday? biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

BUDGET : 5-6K

PURPOse : graphically intensive games like Far cry 4, Witcher 3, GTA 5, Metro redux, Crysis 3 etc. and some editting software like Maya or photoshop.

resolution : 1920x1080

Personal preferences : the best cooling system would be better

if my budget wont fit i would like to know how much to add for the best rig i could have for my bro...
r47z
post Jul 26 2016, 01:49 PM

686 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Jul 26 2016, 01:33 PM)
Yes, either air or liquid cooler.

If willing to take the risk of liquid leak (low chance though), you can consider going for liquid cooler (for aesthetic and clean nice looking purpose), if want to play safe, a decent RM 300+ air CPU cooler will do the job fine as well.

Your case can only fit selected 240mm radiator on top, mod is needed for those unsupported radiators like Corsair Hydro H100i.

Max clearance for CPU air cooler is 165mm, you need to ensure the height of the air cooler if you are going for air cooling path.

Some example of CPU coolers that can fit in 200R:

Cryorig H5 Ultimate, Noctua NH-D14, CM Hyper 212X (air cooler)

Corsair Hydro H80i V2, NZXT Kraken X31 (liquid cooler)
This is very helpful. Thanks for your help. If I need to do the actual installation and purchase I can just walk-in to the shop?
terence_nwb
post Jul 26 2016, 02:07 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(firefake @ Jul 26 2016, 01:43 PM)
hello sifus can help me built a new rig for my brother birthday?  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif

BUDGET : 5-6K

PURPOse : graphically intensive games like Far cry 4, Witcher 3, GTA 5, Metro redux, Crysis 3 etc. and some editting software like Maya or photoshop.

resolution : 1920x1080

Personal preferences : the best cooling system would be better

if my budget wont fit i would like to know how much to add for the best rig i could have for my bro...
Intel Core i7 6700 - RM 1284
Gigabyte H170-HD3 (D4) - RM 446
Kingston 16GB (8GB x 2) DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 290
Zotac GTX1070 8GB GDDR5 AMP! - RM 2219
Kingston SSDNow UV400 240GB SSD - RM 255
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 209
Superflower Leadex Gold 650W - RM 449
Corsair Carbide 400C - RM 475

Total: RM 5507 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

QUOTE(r47z @ Jul 26 2016, 01:49 PM)
This is very helpful. Thanks for your help. If I need to do the actual installation and purchase I can just walk-in to the shop?
Ask them first to confirm about stock availability before walk into the shop (cannot fully say it is a shop, more like an office though sweat.gif )

http://www.lelong.com.my/Merchant/techview.htm

Other shop is also fine as long as you pick the one which suits you the most (or more preferred).
SUSAmeiN
post Jul 26 2016, 02:28 PM

★★★★★★★
4,735 posts

Hello can ask for PSU recommendation here?

I need semi modular or full modular for better cable management biggrin.gif

Search few online shop for PSU as below

corsair-cx600m
http://www.lelong.com.my/corsair-cx600m-80...7-02-Sale-P.htm

silverstone-st50f
http://www.lelong.com.my/silverstone-st50f...7-01-Sale-I.htm

super-flower-leadex-silver-550w
http://www.lazada.com.my/super-flower-lead...y-11169778.html

fractal-design-integra-m-bronze-550w
http://www.lazada.com.my/fractal-design-in...u-10454714.html

any others suggestion for 300 +- budget? smile.gif

Note: Currently no GPU, but will add in future. Eyeing for Gigabyte R7 360 because this is the shortest gpu i can find. sweat.gif

i3-4160, asrock b85 itx, fractal design node 304
terence_nwb
post Jul 26 2016, 02:40 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(AmeiN @ Jul 26 2016, 02:28 PM)
Hello can ask for PSU recommendation here?

I need semi modular or full modular for better cable management biggrin.gif

Search few online shop for PSU as below

corsair-cx600m
http://www.lelong.com.my/corsair-cx600m-80...7-02-Sale-P.htm

silverstone-st50f
http://www.lelong.com.my/silverstone-st50f...7-01-Sale-I.htm

super-flower-leadex-silver-550w
http://www.lazada.com.my/super-flower-lead...y-11169778.html

fractal-design-integra-m-bronze-550w
http://www.lazada.com.my/fractal-design-in...u-10454714.html

any others suggestion for 300 +- budget?  smile.gif

Note: Currently no GPU, but will add in future. Eyeing for Gigabyte R7 360 because this is the shortest gpu i can find. sweat.gif

i3-4160, asrock b85 itx, fractal design node 304
Superflower Leadex Silver will be my pick.

Seasonic M12II EVO 520W can be considered as well.

FD Node 304 can fit dual fan card without any major clearance issue, you don't need to get a super short card TBH.
firefake
post Jul 26 2016, 02:51 PM

42 posts

which is the best Zotac GTX 1070 Amp OR MSI GTX 1070? coz someone are suggesting i pick msi instead..

terence_nwb
post Jul 26 2016, 03:03 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(firefake @ Jul 26 2016, 02:51 PM)
which is the best Zotac GTX 1070 Amp OR MSI GTX 1070? coz someone are suggesting i pick msi instead..
Well they perform almost the same but with huge price difference (from the cheapest Palit to the most expensive Asus).

Either one is ok for me, but I always pick something which gives me longer warranty and better after sales services.

MSI Gaming X requires a top up of nearly RM 200, frame rate in game difference is likely to be the same (within 1 - 3 FPS difference).

So the question is back to you, is it worth to top up RM 200 for 1 to 3 FPS difference? Most likely no difference at all since both cards come with same factory overclocked speed of 1797MHz smile.gif
SUSAmeiN
post Jul 26 2016, 05:14 PM

★★★★★★★
4,735 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Jul 26 2016, 02:40 PM)
Superflower Leadex Silver will be my pick.

Seasonic M12II EVO 520W can be considered as well.

FD Node 304 can fit dual fan card without any major clearance issue, you don't need to get a super short card TBH.
thank you for your suggestion icon_rolleyes.gif

thinking to use all hdd bay biggrin.gif
firefake
post Jul 26 2016, 09:26 PM

42 posts

if i change Superflower Leadex Gold 650W to liquid coolant will it be worth it? if it is..... what are u suggesting and what is the price ? smile.gif

btw one more thing before i forgot. GTX1070 or GTX980ti better.. n y?

This post has been edited by firefake: Jul 26 2016, 09:40 PM
kelvintwk
post Jul 26 2016, 09:45 PM

18 posts

Hi, I have a question about display connectors:

1. Is there a quality difference between using VGA and HDMI? I think so, but is it noticeable?

2. If the motherboard that I have does not have HDMI connector, how do I connect to a HDMI monitor?

Thank you happy.gif
terence_nwb
post Jul 26 2016, 10:13 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(firefake @ Jul 26 2016, 09:26 PM)
if i change Superflower Leadex Gold 650W to liquid coolant will it be worth it? if it is..... what are u suggesting and what is the price ? smile.gif

btw one more thing before i forgot. GTX1070 or GTX980ti better.. n y?
One is PSU and one is cooler, I am not sure how they are related laugh.gif

GTX1070 is slightly faster than GTX980Ti overall, it comes with more VRAM as well as running on 16nm Pascal architecture (consumes less power and more efficient than Maswell).

The advantage of GTX980Ti is larger memory interface and more CUDA cores.

QUOTE(kelvintwk @ Jul 26 2016, 09:45 PM)
Hi, I have a question about display connectors:

1. Is there a quality difference between using VGA and HDMI? I think so, but is it noticeable?

2. If the motherboard that I have does not have HDMI connector, how do I connect to a HDMI monitor?

Thank you happy.gif
Yes, HDMI produces better image quality in overall (digital signal), VGA is using old school analog signal which can be affected by the quality of the cable that you use to connect the monitor and the GPU.

You can use adapter/converter like VGA-to-HDMI or DVI-to-HDMI adapter.
kelvintwk
post Jul 26 2016, 10:20 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Jul 26 2016, 10:13 PM)
You can use adapter/converter like VGA-to-HDMI or DVI-to-HDMI adapter.
By using the adapter, there is no change in video quality?
terence_nwb
post Jul 26 2016, 10:25 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(kelvintwk @ Jul 26 2016, 10:20 PM)
By using the adapter, there is no change in video quality?
VGA analog signal needs to be converted to digital signal before reaching the adapter so basically it carries the same quality as VGA when you use VGA-to-HDMI adapter, the origin of the signal is the main factor here.

While DVI-D and HDMI both are using digital signal, so quality loss is almost negligible.
kelvintwk
post Jul 26 2016, 10:32 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Jul 26 2016, 10:25 PM)
VGA analog signal needs to be converted to digital signal before reaching the adapter so basically it carries the same quality as VGA when you use VGA-to-HDMI adapter, the origin of the signal is the main factor here.

While DVI-D and HDMI both are using digital signal, so quality loss is almost negligible.
Alright, I understand, thanks for your replies! thumbsup.gif

125 Pages « < 114 115 116 117 118 > » Top

0.0343sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 02:50 PM