125 Pages « < 117 118 119 120 121 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V11!

kane92
post Jul 28 2016, 07:05 PM

budget 2.5k

games- dota 2, csgo, CODs, probably moba for now but looking forward for better fps game.

addition- autodesk software, mostly civil software, and for watch good res movie (1080p)

if it is possible the budget include monitor

suggest anything can buy from second hand to have more budget for better monitor

This post has been edited by kane92: Jul 28 2016, 07:06 PM
wokies
post Jul 28 2016, 07:06 PM

298 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Jul 28 2016, 06:01 PM)
You mentioned "very restricted budget" twice but didn't state the actual amount of it though, may I know how restricted is your "very restricted budget"?  biggrin.gif
hahaha..okayy..for the processor, mobo and GC already fix.. left is for the ram/psu/casing etc.

For PSU, what budget psu that is reliable? the one that i mention (Hexa + 550w) okay or not? can suggest more? ( price not more than 200..haha but i guess that the only option based on survey.

Ram : this one im really confused, are there huge differences between performance ram and value ram..choice between kingston hyper x fury vs kingston value ram.

and casing. which fan setup is good. big small etc...rm 200 max also..haha

total budget around 1.8k only.

sad.gif
terence_nwb
post Jul 28 2016, 09:07 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(kane92 @ Jul 28 2016, 07:05 PM)
budget 2.5k

games- dota 2, csgo, CODs, probably moba for now but looking forward for better fps game.

addition- autodesk software, mostly civil software, and for watch good res movie (1080p)

if it is possible the budget include monitor

suggest anything can buy from second hand to have more budget for better monitor
Intel Core i5 6402P - RM 715
Asus H110M-K - RM 274
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 147
Zotac GTX750Ti 2GB GDDR5 Single Fan - RM 470
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 209
FSP Hexa+ 450W - RM 166
Tecware F3 - RM 119
BenQ GW2270 - RM 379

Total: RM 2479 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

Please browse Garage Sales section for used item if you prefer to get used item smile.gif

QUOTE(wokies @ Jul 28 2016, 07:06 PM)
hahaha..okayy..for the processor, mobo and GC already fix.. left is for the ram/psu/casing etc.

For PSU, what budget psu that is reliable? the one that i mention (Hexa + 550w) okay or not? can suggest more? ( price not more than 200..haha but i guess that the only option based on survey.

Ram : this one im really confused, are there huge differences between performance ram and value ram..choice between kingston hyper x fury vs kingston value ram.

and casing. which fan setup is good. big small etc...rm 200 max also..haha

total budget around 1.8k only.

sad.gif
PSU: FSP Hexa+ 550W is at the edge already, if budget is low then this is one of the best choices that you can make to pair with R9 280X.

Casing: Tecware Alpha (ATX) comes with 3 casing fans (2 intake 1 exhaust), design is quite nice too, save you the hassle to buy extra casing fan for better airflow.

RAM: Non-Z170 mobo is not able to utilize/take advantage of the extra speed due to chipset limitation, so spending the extra money for performance RAM is purely a waste, so just stick with value RAM for non-Z170 (or non-OC) build.

Some software use CUDA (as hardware acceleration), some support both CUDA and OpenCL, some don't. By going for AMD card, you lost out CUDA feature (Nvidia exclusive technology) but the card will be more powerful in terms of raw performance, I am not sure how much is that R9 280X, if it is around RM 650+, then it can beat the GTX950 easily.
wokies
post Jul 28 2016, 09:47 PM

298 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Jul 28 2016, 09:07 PM)
Asus H110M-K - RM 274
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 209
FSP Hexa+ 450W - RM 166
Tecware F3 - RM 119
BenQ GW2270 - RM 379

Please browse Garage Sales section for used item if you prefer to get used item  smile.gif
PSU: FSP Hexa+ 550W is at the edge already, if budget is low then this is one of the best choices that you can make to pair with R9 280X.

Casing: Tecware Alpha (ATX) comes with 3 casing fans (2 intake 1 exhaust), design is quite nice too, save you the hassle to buy extra casing fan for better airflow.

RAM: Non-Z170 mobo is not able to utilize/take advantage of the extra speed due to chipset limitation, so spending the extra money for performance RAM is purely a waste, so just stick with value RAM for non-Z170 (or non-OC) build.

Some software use CUDA (as hardware acceleration), some support both CUDA and OpenCL, some don't. By going for AMD card, you lost out CUDA feature (Nvidia exclusive technology) but the card will be more powerful in terms of raw performance, I am not sure how much is that R9 280X, if it is around RM 650+, then it can beat the GTX950 easily.
for the mobo...on the official page it said DDR4-2133mhz..does this mean it able to take advantage of the ram?

already bought the mobo msi H110- vh used (200) and r9280x ( 600). Both still have official waranty..now looking to get used i3 6100 for 400..haha..hope to found 1..

thanks for ur input..really helpfull notworthy.gif
Jet23sky
post Jul 28 2016, 10:45 PM

Love is Peace~~~~~
1,339 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Jul 28 2016, 05:00 PM)
520W is fine and it comes with 6/8 pin PCIe power cable.

You can refer here under "Cables" tab (PCIe).

As for the mouse and keyboard, normal non-gaming mouse and membrane keyboard will do?
Ya, as long the mouse is big for my palm, good for both gaming and typing. same as keyboard.
I have a cable. 6 pin to 8 pin, but from the 8 pin, there are two pin that doesn't have any metal in it, can it consider 8 pin??

This post has been edited by Jet23sky: Jul 28 2016, 10:46 PM
bxatio
post Jul 28 2016, 11:09 PM

28 posts

Hi Sifus,

Need some help for my new rig. Can help me to suggest rig + monitor.

Budget - RM1,800
Purpose - for work eg: Microsoft, movie, online.
Monitor - Maybe decent one just nice to compliment the rig.

kane92
post Jul 28 2016, 11:44 PM

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Jul 28 2016, 09:07 PM)
Asus H110M-K - RM 274
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 209
FSP Hexa+ 450W - RM 166
Tecware F3 - RM 119
BenQ GW2270 - RM 379

Please browse Garage Sales section for used item if you prefer to get used item  smile.gif

thanks bro, if i have a r9 380x, will this proc bottleneck? i believe i need a better psu if my gpu is r9 380x isn't it?
terence_nwb
post Jul 29 2016, 12:02 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(wokies @ Jul 28 2016, 09:47 PM)
for the mobo...on the official page it said DDR4-2133mhz..does this mean it able to take advantage of the ram?

already bought the mobo msi H110- vh used (200) and r9280x ( 600). Both still have official waranty..now looking to get used i3 6100 for 400..haha..hope to found 1..

thanks for ur input..really helpfull notworthy.gif
2133MHz is the base speed of DDR4 RAM, so nope. As mentioned earlier, only Z170 mobo can utilize RAM speed of > 2133MHz.

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Jul 28 2016, 10:45 PM)
Ya, as long the mouse is big for my palm, good for both gaming and typing. same as keyboard.
I have a cable. 6 pin to 8 pin, but from the 8 pin, there are two pin that doesn't have any metal in it, can it consider 8 pin??
Different people have different preferences especially when it comes to mouse and keyboard so the recommendations below are solely based on my preferences and liking, you can read more reviews online to determine the best mouse/keyboard that suits your style.

There are 2 types of mainstream keyboards in the local market, membrane and mechanical.

Since no budget stated, I assume you don't have a limit on these 2 items. I am eyeing on Corsair Vengeance M65 RGB and Logitech G700s for mouse and Corsair K70/Strafe RGB MX Blue (mechanical) for keyboard. Personally I think it is not worth to spend RM 300+ for a membrane keyboard, so try to avoid those "high-end" membrane gaming keyboard, it is still carrying membrane typing feel no matter how "high-end" or expensive it is to me, entry level of mechanical keyboard beats them easily.

MX Silent and Red switches are the switches that you need to look for if you are going for mechanical keyboard since you prefer a silent keyboard (Razer have their own switches, same goes to CM and some other vendors who don't have agreement to use Cherry MX Switches on their keyboard lineup), MX Blue is noisy while MX Brown is in between MX Blue and MX Red, there is also a new switch from Cherry which is currently under Corsair exclusive, MX Speed, specially made for gamers (Dota 2, CS:GO etc.)

No metal in it? Not sure what you mean laugh.gif

If the last 2 pin is detachable from the main 6 pin then yes, it is the correct PCIe power cable that you are looking for, that's why it is advertised as 6/8 pin PCIe power cable, some GPU use 6 pin only, like most of the GTX1070 and GTX1080, some use 8 pin, so users are able to detach or attach the last 2 pin according to their needs.
terence_nwb
post Jul 29 2016, 12:06 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(bxatio @ Jul 28 2016, 11:09 PM)
Hi Sifus,

Need some help for my new rig. Can help me to suggest rig + monitor.

Budget - RM1,800
Purpose - for work eg: Microsoft, movie, online.
Monitor - Maybe decent one just nice to compliment the rig.
Intel Core i3 6100 - RM 479
Asus H110M-K - RM 274
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 209
FSP Hexa+ 450W - RM 166
Tecware F3 - RM 119
BenQ GW2270H - RM 397

Total: RM 1791 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

QUOTE(kane92 @ Jul 28 2016, 11:44 PM)
thanks bro, if i have a r9 380x, will this proc bottleneck? i believe i need a better psu if my gpu is r9 380x isn't it?
Depends on games, but a Skylake i5 can hardly bottleneck any mainstream GPU.

And yes you need a better PSU for R9 380X.

Try to get Superflower Leadex Silver 650W or Seasonic M12II EVO 620W (around RM 400+/-).
Jet23sky
post Jul 29 2016, 01:17 AM

Love is Peace~~~~~
1,339 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Jul 29 2016, 12:02 AM)
2133MHz is the base speed of DDR4 RAM, so nope. As mentioned earlier, only Z170 mobo can utilize RAM speed of > 2133MHz.
Different people have different preferences especially when it comes to mouse and keyboard so the recommendations below are solely based on my preferences and liking, you can read more reviews online to determine the best mouse/keyboard that suits your style.

There are 2 types of mainstream keyboards in the local market, membrane and mechanical.

Since no budget stated, I assume you don't have a limit on these 2 items. I am eyeing on Corsair Vengeance M65 RGB and Logitech G700s for mouse and Corsair K70/Strafe RGB MX Blue (mechanical) for keyboard. Personally I think it is not worth to spend RM 300+ for a membrane keyboard, so try to avoid those "high-end" membrane gaming keyboard, it is still carrying membrane typing feel no matter how "high-end" or expensive it is to me, entry level of mechanical keyboard beats them easily.

MX Silent and Red switches are the switches that you need to look for if you are going for mechanical keyboard since you prefer a silent keyboard (Razer have their own switches, same goes to CM and some other vendors who don't have agreement to use Cherry MX Switches on their keyboard lineup), MX Blue is noisy while MX Brown is in between MX Blue and MX Red, there is also a new switch from Cherry which is currently under Corsair exclusive, MX Speed, specially made for gamers (Dota 2, CS:GO etc.)

No metal in it? Not sure what you mean  laugh.gif

If the last 2 pin is detachable from the main 6 pin then yes, it is the correct PCIe power cable that you are looking for, that's why it is advertised as 6/8 pin PCIe power cable, some GPU use 6 pin only, like most of the GTX1070 and GTX1080, some use 8 pin, so users are able to detach or attach the last 2 pin according to their needs.
For the PSU cable, maybe I will take a photo and let you confirm whether it is or not.

I most likely will go for Corsair Vengeance M65 RGB Pro for my mouse. For keyboard wise, the Corsair K70 is abit expensive for me end. I'm eyeing around Rm300+. Not sure whether we can get mechanical keyboard with this price range or not.

terence_nwb
post Jul 29 2016, 08:41 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Jul 29 2016, 01:17 AM)
For the PSU cable, maybe I will take a photo and let you confirm whether it is or not.

I most likely will go for Corsair Vengeance M65 RGB Pro for my mouse. For keyboard wise, the Corsair K70 is abit expensive for me end. I'm eyeing around Rm300+. Not sure whether we can get mechanical keyboard with this price range or not.
Ducky Tenkeyless is around RM 300+.
iguana_dude_619
post Jul 29 2016, 11:26 AM

Xbox GT, PSN & Steam ID: iguanadude626
1,141 posts

Asking on behalf of my friend

[Budget] RM5-6k? Starting based figure

[Purpose] Gaming & Twitch/youtube Streaming & some video editing

[Monitor resolution]FHD 16:9 1080p

[Games & softwares that use frequently]
1. Latest games OW, BF1 & etc. (maybe med-high setting @30-60fps is enough, doubt she graphic whore laugh.gif )
2. Usual editing software? hmm.gif I didn't ask.

[Location] Kuala Lumpur

Ext question.
1. Do you need video capture card to stream & edit videos? (ayam not streamerholic, ayam a gamer only, so ayam clueless icon_question.gif )
2. Is it better to render videos on SSD then on HDD? any pros or cons?
terence_nwb
post Jul 29 2016, 02:09 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(iguana_dude_619 @ Jul 29 2016, 11:26 AM)
Asking on behalf of my friend

[Budget] RM5-6k? Starting based figure

[Purpose] Gaming & Twitch/youtube Streaming & some video editing

[Monitor resolution]FHD 16:9 1080p

[Games & softwares that use frequently]
1. Latest games OW, BF1 & etc. (maybe med-high setting @30-60fps is enough, doubt she graphic whore  laugh.gif )
2. Usual editing software?  hmm.gif I didn't ask.

[Location] Kuala Lumpur

Ext question.
1. Do you need video capture card to stream & edit videos? (ayam not streamerholic, ayam a gamer only, so ayam clueless  icon_question.gif )
2. Is it better to render videos on SSD then on HDD? any pros or cons?
Monitor needs to be included or not?
khuen72
post Jul 29 2016, 02:51 PM

236 posts

Hi there, not sure if this is the right place to ask , I would like some suggestion on what I should upgrade, I am planning to get a GTX1070 for my pc. my requirement were to be able to run most triple-A title in full setting with my current monitor. do advise me if my upgrade would be sufficient for my requirement. another thing would be that i hope to get a vr headset in the near future. my budget should be around Rm3k

my current set up is as below :
PC:
AMD FX8350 (Running single fan all in one water cooler should be 120mm fan)
Asus Sabretooth 990fx (either a R2 or R3)
G-Skill 2133mhz 8gb (2 x 4gb )
MSI 290 4gb Twin Frozr Edition
512gb Crucial SSD
1tb random HDD
Gigabyte 720w power supply (non modular)
Cooler Master CM690 case

Monitor:
Dell Monitor 27" / 29" could not recall ( 2560 x1080 this is for sure)

Thanks in advance

This post has been edited by khuen72: Jul 29 2016, 02:52 PM
terence_nwb
post Jul 29 2016, 03:39 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(khuen72 @ Jul 29 2016, 02:51 PM)
Hi there, not sure if this is the right place to ask , I would like some suggestion on what I should upgrade, I am planning to get a GTX1070 for my pc. my requirement were to be able to run most triple-A title in full setting with my current monitor. do advise me if my upgrade would be sufficient for my requirement. another thing would be that i hope to get a vr headset in the near future. my budget should be around Rm3k

my current set up is as below :
PC:
AMD FX8350 (Running single fan all in one water cooler should be 120mm fan)
Asus Sabretooth 990fx (either a R2 or R3)
G-Skill 2133mhz 8gb (2 x 4gb )
MSI 290 4gb Twin Frozr Edition
512gb Crucial SSD
1tb random HDD
Gigabyte 720w power supply (non modular)
Cooler Master CM690 case

Monitor:
Dell Monitor 27" / 29" could not recall ( 2560 x1080 this is for sure)

Thanks in advance
GTX1070 is pretty much in the bag already rclxms.gif

Add another 4GB/8GB RAM if needed.

Depends on which GTX1070 you gonna get, if you choose to get the cheapest one then you can save 1k (2k for Palit card only), if you pick Asus/EVGA/MSI then you need to spend extra 400 - 600 for it, it is not so worth to me considering the differences are just the card design and warranty terms, performance is likely the same (within 1 - 10%) which you can manually overclock the card to match what other brand is offering.
iguana_dude_619
post Jul 29 2016, 03:43 PM

1,141 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Jul 29 2016, 02:09 PM)
Monitor needs to be included or not?
no need.
terence_nwb
post Jul 29 2016, 04:10 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(iguana_dude_619 @ Jul 29 2016, 03:43 PM)
no need.
No need to get any capture card nowadays, just install GeForce Experience (for Nvidia, more stable) or Gaming Evolved (for AMD) for games recording and streaming/broadcasting. 3rd party video editing software is still needed if you want to trim or edit the footage manually.

SSD has read/write limitation or we call lifetime on its NAND, it is not recommended to use SSD if you want to have maximum lifespan as read/write activity is quite heavy in this context, same goes to file downloading, never use it as default file download location. If you only render 1080p/1440p video, then HDD is fine, it is fast enough to feed the requested resources to other components. If it involves 4K footage, then SSD is more recommended due to its faster read and write speed (parallel).

Intel Core i7 6700 - RM 1305
Gigabyte H170-HD3 (D4) - RM 446
Kingston 16GB (8GB x 2) DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 290
Zotac GTX1070 8GB GDDR5 AMP! - RM 2219
Kingston SSDNow UV400 240GB SSD - RM 255
Seagate Barracuda 1TB HDD - RM 209
Superflower Leadex Gold 550W - RM 409
Tecware Alpha - RM 199

Total: RM 5332 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

Optional upgrade:
1. GTX1080 (cheapest one costs RM 2960 and carries extra 30% performance over GTX1070)
2. Larger HDD if you need to store a lot of video/gaming footage, 1 minute of 1080p gaming footage will take roughly 200 - 300 MB (depends on game and settings).
iguana_dude_619
post Jul 29 2016, 04:54 PM

1,141 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Jul 29 2016, 04:10 PM)
No need to get any capture card nowadays, just install GeForce Experience (for Nvidia, more stable) or Gaming Evolved (for AMD) for games recording and streaming/broadcasting. 3rd party video editing software is still needed if you want to trim or edit the footage manually.

SSD has read/write limitation or we call lifetime on its NAND, it is not recommended to use SSD if you want to have maximum lifespan as read/write activity is quite heavy in this context, same goes to file downloading, never use it as default file download location. If you only render 1080p/1440p video, then HDD is fine, it is fast enough to feed the requested resources to other components. If it involves 4K footage, then SSD is more recommended due to its faster read and write speed (parallel).

Intel Core i7 6700 - RM 1305
Gigabyte H170-HD3 (D4) - RM 446
Kingston 16GB (8GB x 2) DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 290
Zotac GTX1070 8GB GDDR5 AMP! - RM 2219
Kingston SSDNow UV400 240GB SSD - RM 255
Seagate Barracuda 1TB HDD - RM 209
Superflower Leadex Gold 550W - RM 409
Tecware Alpha - RM 199

Total: RM 5332 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

Optional upgrade:
1. GTX1080 (cheapest one costs RM 2960 and carries extra 30% performance over GTX1070)
2. Larger HDD if you need to store a lot of video/gaming footage, 1 minute of 1080p gaming footage will take roughly 200 - 300 MB (depends on game and settings).
Cool thank you. thumbup.gif
bxatio
post Jul 29 2016, 10:22 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Jul 29 2016, 12:06 AM)
Intel Core i3 6100 - RM 479
Asus H110M-K - RM 274
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 209
FSP Hexa+ 450W - RM 166
Tecware F3 - RM 119
BenQ GW2270H - RM 397

Total: RM 1791 (ETech price inclusive of GST)
Depends on games, but a Skylake i5 can hardly bottleneck any mainstream GPU.

And yes you need a better PSU for R9 380X.

Try to get Superflower Leadex Silver 650W or Seasonic M12II EVO 620W (around RM 400+/-).
Thanks bro!
Jet23sky
post Jul 30 2016, 02:50 AM

Love is Peace~~~~~
1,339 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Jul 29 2016, 08:41 AM)
Ducky Tenkeyless is around RM 300+.
Tenkeyless is the keyboard without the numpad right? If I need the numpad keyboard type. Any keyboard recommendation? I am fine with RM400+ if necessary. Thanks!

125 Pages « < 117 118 119 120 121 > » Top

0.0330sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:31 AM