125 Pages « < 108 109 110 111 112 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V11!

radenoactive
post Jul 20 2016, 02:40 PM

51 posts

Any opinion on buying used cpu+mobo? What important aspect should I look into?

Found a seller selling an i7 4790k + z97 mobo for rm14xx
terence_nwb
post Jul 20 2016, 03:00 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(radenoactive @ Jul 20 2016, 02:40 PM)
Any opinion on buying used cpu+mobo? What important aspect should I look into?

Found a seller selling an i7 4790k + z97 mobo for rm14xx
Receipt, warranty left, item status, package included (box, accessories or none at all) etc.

If possible, please test the items on the spot or at least request for personal warranty from the seller like 3 or 5 days so you can revert back to him/her if there is a problem with the items instead of dealing with warranty/RMA/service center directly.

SnoopyDevil
post Jul 20 2016, 03:43 PM

383 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Jul 20 2016, 12:22 PM)
The problem is that 1440p monitor is still very expensive, Dell 25" U2515H costs roughly RM 1400 currently  mega_shok.gif

If you already have a 1440p monitor then it will be a different story.

Intel Core i5 6500 - RM 835
Gigabyte B150M-D3H (D4) - RM 379
Corsair 8GB DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 130
Zotac GTX1060 6GB GDDR5 AMP! - RM 1399
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 209
Seasonic M12II EVO 520W - RM 335
Tecware Alpha - RM 199
BenQ GW2470H - RM 536

Total: RM 4022 (ETech price inclusive of GST)
+1 to this, identical to what i've planned too

reusing my dell u23 so will spend on 2tb hdd and a 240g ssd instead

Darksorrow3010
post Jul 20 2016, 03:46 PM

147 posts

[Budget] RM4k / RM5k

[Purpose] Pure gaming

[Hardwares that will be re-use] my old case Lianli LanCool k62, 1tb WD green, 3rdparty CPU cooler megahalems. was used on LGA775

[Monitor resolution] 1080p

[Games & softwares that use frequently] AAA games, online

[Personal preferences]
- not planning on OC as im noob about it. at least h170 chipset maybe?
- 240gb ssd. dunno which brand to go. i have samsung 850 EVO in mind, but might go something cheaper
- single GPU
- monitor: might go for acer r221q

[Location] KL. prolly going to lowyat plaza to buy hardwares.

help me suggest Rig A with 4k budget and Rig B with 5k budget pls? (no im not buying 2 rigs, but just want to see what can i get for 2 diff budget tongue.gif )

notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by Darksorrow3010: Jul 20 2016, 04:01 PM
terence_nwb
post Jul 20 2016, 04:10 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Darksorrow3010 @ Jul 20 2016, 03:46 PM)
[Budget] RM4k / RM5k

[Purpose] Pure gaming

[Hardwares that will be re-use] my old case Lianli LanCool k62, 1tb WD green

[Monitor resolution] 1080p

[Games & softwares that use frequently] AAA games, online

[Personal preferences]
- not planning on OC as im noob about it. at least h170 chipset maybe?
- 240gb ssd. dunno which brand to go. i have samsung 850 EVO in mind, but might go something cheaper
- single GPU
- monitor: might go for acer r221q

[Location] KL. prolly going to lowyat plaza to buy hardwares.
help me suggest Rig A with 4k budget and Rig B with 5k budget pls? (no im not buying 2 rigs, but just want to see what can i get for 2 diff budget  tongue.gif )
notworthy.gif
Gigabyte H170-HD3 (D4) - RM 446
Zotac GTX1060 6GB GDDR5 AMP! - RM 1399
Kingston SSDNow UV400 240GB SSD - RM 255
Seasonic M12II EVO 620W - RM 363
BenQ GW2470H - RM 536

Total: RM 3964 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

Intel Core i7 6700 - RM 1284
Palit GTX1070 8GB GDDR5 Jetstream - RM 1999
Kingston SSDNow UV400 240GB SSD - RM 255
BenQ GW2470H - RM 536

Total: RM 5013 (ETech price inclusive of GST)
Darksorrow3010
post Jul 20 2016, 04:23 PM

147 posts

thank you for the fast reply! its really helpful as it provide some insight what to buy. i'll make some adjustment based on the ideas given.

notworthy.gif
unidentify91
post Jul 20 2016, 06:24 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Jul 20 2016, 09:46 AM)
Asus H110M-K - RM 274
Gigabyte GTX960 2GB GDDR5 OC - RM 869
Kingston SSDNow UV400 120GB SSD - RM 153
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 209
TP-LINK TL-WN881ND PCIe WiFi - RM 65
Tecware Alpha - RM 199
BenQ GW2270 - RM 379
Edifier R12U - RM 56

So you need a new KB (Razer DeathStalker?), how about mouse (you didn't mention it in your long story though)?

Razer DeathStalker - RM 182

Total: RM 3351 (ETech price inclusive of GST)
Thx for suggestion sifu notworthy.gif. Forgot to list that I'll reuse my mouse, sry, my bad. I want a chiclet keyboard, so if there's no other model that came into suggestion, I'll go with DeathStalker.
Hope it's not hard to assemble the machine. Plan to visit ETech next month, sekali jalan2 with friend. Thx again biggrin.gif

[EDIT]
Friend asked me where's the PSU, do I need to pick that as well?

This post has been edited by unidentify91: Jul 20 2016, 06:56 PM
Leon be here now
post Jul 20 2016, 06:47 PM

466 posts

GTX 1060 vs RX 480
One of the best reviews I found so far,

http://www.techspot.com/review/1209-nvidia...060/page10.html

its very balanced review, has direct x 11 and 12, some Vulkan test too.
eg tomshardware is soo nividia paid, majority direct x 11 tittles etc....

too bad the prices in Malaysia of the 2 are soo similar

This post has been edited by Leon be here now: Jul 21 2016, 12:09 AM
terence_nwb
post Jul 20 2016, 07:13 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(unidentify91 @ Jul 20 2016, 06:24 PM)
Thx for suggestion sifu  notworthy.gif. Forgot to list that I'll reuse my mouse, sry, my bad. I want a chiclet keyboard, so if there's no other model that came into suggestion, I'll go with DeathStalker.
Hope it's not hard to assemble the machine. Plan to visit ETech next month, sekali jalan2 with friend. Thx again biggrin.gif

[EDIT]
Friend asked me where's the PSU, do I need to pick that as well?
Sorry, PSU is indeed missing from the build list.

For non-modular PSU, you can get FSP Hexa+ 550W (RM 188, lower quality) or Seasonic S12II 620W (RM 303).

For fully-modular PSU, you can get Seasonic M12II EVO 520W/620W (RM 335/RM 363).

QUOTE(Leon be here now @ Jul 20 2016, 06:47 PM)
GTX 1060 vs RX 480

http://www.techspot.com/news/65630-nvidia-...1060-review.htm

Page not found.

FTFY.

http://www.techspot.com/review/1209-nvidia-geforce-gtx-1060/
Darksorrow3010
post Jul 20 2016, 08:49 PM

147 posts

looking at i5 6600k and MSI z170A Krait Gaming R6, it is really tempting! drool.gif

but then again im not familiar with OC bye.gif
Mr.Beanster
post Jul 20 2016, 10:13 PM

1,267 posts

Looking for pure gaming rig, will be getting one next week or end of month.

Budget: RM2k-2.5k
Hardware reused: Dell U2414H, Palit GTX1070, HDD 1TB

Exclude monitor, graphic card, harddisk and every other accessories from the budget. Only rig needed and prefer casing that can fit the big ass Palit card. I don't plan to OC right now and budget can be slightly strecth out from 2.5k zone if the top-up brings significant performance. Thanks smile.gif

This post has been edited by Mr.Beanster: Jul 20 2016, 10:15 PM
lace
post Jul 20 2016, 11:02 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Jul 20 2016, 09:46 AM)
Overuse of same smilies may cause confusion to reader(s) as it reduces readability.

Asus H110M-K - RM 274
Gigabyte GTX960 2GB GDDR5 OC - RM 869
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 209
TP-LINK TL-WN881ND PCIe WiFi - RM 65
Tecware Alpha - RM 199
BenQ GW2270 - RM 379
Edifier R12U - RM 56

So you need a new KB (Razer DeathStalker?), how about mouse (you didn't mention it in your long story though)?

Razer DeathStalker - RM 182

Total: RM 3351 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

Keep it short and simple next time or provide a tl;dr version for a quick through  notworthy.gif
I assume it is for gaming purposes.

Gigabyte B150M-D3H (D4) - RM 379
Palit GTX1070 8GB GDDR5 Jetstream - RM 1999 (*)
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 209
CM N200 - RM 183

Total: RM 4251 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

* - There is a Palit GPU discount by using coupon code on GemFive, can save up to RM 240 if I am not mistaken, so the Palit GTX1070 Jetstream card will cost only RM 1760 if you get the deal, please check GemFive regularly, the seller of the card is Occasin, the seller will restock from time to time, so the status of the item might either be sold out or on limited unit most of the time.

If you get the above deal, you will have enough budget for i7 6700 (RM 1284).

Good luck.
perfect tq bro

terence_nwb
post Jul 20 2016, 11:15 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Darksorrow3010 @ Jul 20 2016, 08:49 PM)
looking at i5 6600k and MSI z170A Krait Gaming R6, it is really tempting!  drool.gif

but then again im not familiar with OC  bye.gif
Well everyone here starts from zero initially, if you have extra budget and keen to learn, go ahead, there must be a start, if not we never learn new things biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Mr.Beanster @ Jul 20 2016, 10:13 PM)
Looking for pure gaming rig, will be getting one next week or end of month.

Budget: RM2k-2.5k
Hardware reused: Dell U2414H, Palit GTX1070, HDD 1TB

Exclude monitor, graphic card, harddisk and every other accessories from the budget. Only rig needed and prefer casing that can fit the big ass Palit card. I don't plan to OC right now and budget can be slightly strecth out from 2.5k zone if the top-up brings significant performance. Thanks smile.gif
Corsair 16GB (8GB x 2) DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 250
Tecware Alpha - RM 199

Total: RM 2542 (ETech price inclusive of GST)
Mr.Beanster
post Jul 20 2016, 11:54 PM

1,267 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Jul 20 2016, 11:15 PM)
Well everyone here starts from zero initially, if you have extra budget and keen to learn, go ahead, there must be a start, if not we never learn new thingsĀ  biggrin.gif
Corsair 16GB (8GB x 2) DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 250
Tecware Alpha - RM 199

Total: RM 2542 (ETech price inclusive of GST)
Thanks for the recommendation. I might add Kingston HyperX 240GB SSD on top of this. Is Zotac/PNY SSD a good choice as well?. Any room to improve more if i increase the budget to 3k?

This post has been edited by Mr.Beanster: Jul 20 2016, 11:56 PM
terence_nwb
post Jul 20 2016, 11:59 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Beanster @ Jul 20 2016, 11:54 PM)
Thanks for the recommendation. I might add Kingston HyperX 240GB SSD on top of this. Is Zotac/PNY SSD a good choice as well?
Pretty solid choice for mid end SSD, the acceptable price range for mid end 240GB SSD is around RM 280 - RM 380 currently.

Anything beyond that price range is considered as premium and we have to dig into the reviews deeply to find out if it worth our money or not.

Edit: Adding RM 500 extra into your budget can grant you a 240GB SSD and a better casing. The chosen CPU platform is the top notch one already for non-OC build so no more upgrade room for it.

This post has been edited by terence_nwb: Jul 21 2016, 12:01 AM
Mr.Beanster
post Jul 21 2016, 12:03 AM

1,267 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Jul 20 2016, 11:59 PM)
Pretty solid choice for mid end SSD, the acceptable price range for mid end 240GB SSD is around RM 280 - RM 380 currently.

Anything beyond that price range is considered as premium and we have to dig into the reviews deeply to find out if it worth our money or not.

Edit: Adding RM 500 extra into your budget can grant you a 240GB SSD and a better casing. The chosen CPU platform is the top notch one already for non-OC build so no more upgrade room for it.
Alright thanks! I'll settle with the recommendation list above and head over to E-Tech probably by next week brows.gif
hieroplant
post Jul 21 2016, 12:15 AM

203 posts

Guys. Need recommendation for graphic card. My old 6950 went kaput this morning. Max budget RM500. Be it red or green clan. Need to buy ASAP due to work requirement.

Too many numeral in latest graphic card nowadays. Last time it is so easy to know which is which.
adilz
post Jul 21 2016, 12:24 AM

267 posts

QUOTE(Leon be here now @ Jul 20 2016, 06:47 PM)
GTX 1060 vs RX 480

http://www.techspot.com/review/1209-nvidia...060/page10.html

One of the comment on G-Sync vs Freesync Monitors

"Except these days you have to consider the screen situation too. The price premium on G-sync monitors means the GTX 1060 either gets pushed out of mainstream territory price-wise or you get a nicer screen with the RX 480.
Either way, nVidia's refusal to support DisplayPort Adaptive Sync or make G-sync cheaper means that the only people this card is best for are those not likely to change their screen or who will be gaming on a type of screen that doesn't support variable refresh rates (projector etc.)."

Which i true because those going for AMD will have to fork out less to get adaptive refresh rate monitors because freesync monitor cost way less than G-sync monitor.
terence_nwb
post Jul 21 2016, 08:35 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(hieroplant @ Jul 21 2016, 12:15 AM)
Guys. Need recommendation for graphic card. My old 6950 went kaput this morning. Max budget RM500. Be it red or green clan. Need to buy ASAP due to work requirement.

Too many numeral in latest graphic card nowadays. Last time it is so easy to know which is which.
GTX750Ti, Zotac or Palit one is below RM 500.
Darksorrow3010
post Jul 21 2016, 08:45 AM

147 posts

whats the most affordable freesync and gsync monitor out there? for 1080p

is it even worth it ?

125 Pages « < 108 109 110 111 112 > » Top

0.0351sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 02:09 PM