125 Pages « < 104 105 106 107 108 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V11!

zhen^wei
post Jul 16 2016, 10:46 PM

4,057 posts

QUOTE(mah0528 @ Jul 16 2016, 06:07 PM)
If i opt for ASUS Z170 PRO GAMING - RM779 and not to buy the RAM frm idealtech, change the cpu cooler to corsair h80i v2 as well, is it good now?

But i believe i sacrifice their service for full rig build, somehow i realize their price is consider expensive if compare to other...
ASUS Z170 Pro Gaming RM779-RM110 rebates = RM669. i believe this is the cheapest price u never saw at other shops laugh.gif

QUOTE(mah0528 @ Jul 16 2016, 06:09 PM)
Will corsair h80i v2 able fit s340? Or do u have any good recommend cooler for overclock?
6700k and 6600K i use Cryorig H7 can get 4.5ghz with temperature around 80C load (5 hours prime95)

basSist
post Jul 16 2016, 11:54 PM

Don't look at my stars
3,567 posts

Would like to build a rig for below:

[Budget] RM2000

[Purpose] Photoshop/illustrator and light gaming eg L4D2

[Hardwares that will be re-use] monitor, kb, mouse, speaker

[Monitor resolution] 1680x1050

[Games & softwares that use frequently] photoshop,illustrator

[Personal preferences] without OS

Thank you. smile.gif

This post has been edited by basSist: Jul 16 2016, 11:54 PM
terence_nwb
post Jul 17 2016, 01:37 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(DeathWing @ Jul 16 2016, 10:32 PM)
Hi looking for recommendation for LGA1151 mobo.
Just gonna pair it with gtx 1080 and 6500.

Looking for stability more than OC.

Thanks!
Budget range?

QUOTE(basSist @ Jul 16 2016, 11:54 PM)
Would like to build a rig for below:

[Budget] RM2000

[Purpose] Photoshop/illustrator and light gaming eg L4D2

[Hardwares that will be re-use] monitor, kb, mouse, speaker

[Monitor resolution] 1680x1050

[Games & softwares that use frequently] photoshop,illustrator

[Personal preferences] without OS

Thank you.  smile.gif
Top up RM 100 so you can get i5 + GTX750Ti, if really light on gaming and don't mind playing games on low settings then you can drop the dedicated GPU completely, use the money to add another 8GB RAM or SSD to improve the system responsiveness.

Intel Core i5 6402P - RM 750
Gigabyte H110M-DS2 (D4) - RM 249
Corsair 8GB DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 131
Zotac GTX750Ti 2GB GDDR5 Single Fan - RM 475
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 225
Corsair VS450 - RM 162
Tecware F3 - RM 129

Total: RM 2121 (Techview price inclusive of GST)
Leon be here now
post Jul 17 2016, 10:04 AM

466 posts

QUOTE(zhen^wei @ Jul 16 2016, 10:46 PM)
ASUS Z170 Pro Gaming RM779-RM110 rebates = RM669. i believe this is the cheapest price u never saw at other shops  laugh.gif 
6700k and 6600K i use Cryorig H7 can get 4.5ghz with temperature around 80C load (5 hours prime95)
80c load
what is the ambient temp?
normal malaysian 32-34c indoor when doing your stress test?
or in an aircon room at around 26c?
zhen^wei
post Jul 17 2016, 11:17 AM

4,057 posts

QUOTE(Leon be here now @ Jul 17 2016, 10:04 AM)
80c load
what is the ambient temp?
normal malaysian 32-34c indoor when doing your stress test?
or in an aircon room at around 26c?
30C smthing la

Jet23sky
post Jul 17 2016, 11:32 AM

Love is Peace~~~~~
1,339 posts

Hi Terence,

Mind helping to reverify my final spec before I place the order. I plan to change to ATX instead of MATX as I think there is not much difference between both type of cases. ( Unless I change to ITX which I'm not a fan for those mobo which only have one PCIE slot )

PROCESSOR - INTEL CORE I7 6600
CPU COOLER - ???
MOBO - ASUS H170-D3H
RAM - G Skill PC2400 8GB x2
GRAPHIC CARD - Palit GTX 1070 Super Jetstream
PSU - Seasonic Mii 520W Modular
CASE - Corsair 400C
No HDD
Monitor - Dell U2515H

Few question that needed your guidance.

1) I heard that this Palit Graphic card is very long. Will it fit on corsair 400C?
2) Does 1070 really capable of handling those new games under 2k Resolution? I mean I saw the lowest fps running this resolution can be around 40fps only. ( worry the screen may lag/jerky ) If not I can change to 1080p anytime.
3) Any recommendation for CPU cooler? I personally hate to clean the heatsink part with all the dust stuck in it. Possible to get a hydro cooler so that I just clean the fan easy?
4) Does this Mobo come with USB-Type C or WIFI capability? I would love to have one just in case as my PC usually will last me at least 10 years without change. ( except graphic card )

Thanks soooooo much for your help!

This post has been edited by Jet23sky: Jul 17 2016, 12:01 PM
maadamk
post Jul 17 2016, 12:42 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Jul 6 2016, 10:43 AM)
"Maxed out" as in highest settings? Quite hard to fulfill with 3.5k, just try to lower down the settings accordingly to achieve stable 60 FPS.

Rig only or full set (including monitor and other peripherals)?
Rig only, and i dont mind playing in 1080 resolution.Sorry for the very late reply
terence_nwb
post Jul 17 2016, 03:44 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Jul 17 2016, 11:32 AM)
Hi Terence,

Mind helping to reverify my final spec before I place the order. I plan to change to ATX instead of MATX as I think there is not much difference between both type of cases. ( Unless I change to ITX which I'm not a fan for those mobo which only have one PCIE slot )

PROCESSOR - INTEL CORE I7 6600
CPU COOLER - ???
MOBO - ASUS H170-D3H
RAM - G Skill PC2400 8GB x2
GRAPHIC CARD - Palit GTX 1070 Super Jetstream
PSU - Seasonic Mii 520W Modular
CASE - Corsair 400C
No HDD
Monitor - Dell U2515H

Few question that needed your guidance.

1) I heard that this Palit Graphic card is very long. Will it fit on corsair 400C?
2) Does 1070 really capable of handling those new games under 2k Resolution? I mean I saw the lowest fps running this resolution can be around 40fps only. ( worry the screen may lag/jerky ) If not I can change to 1080p anytime.
3) Any recommendation for CPU cooler? I personally hate to clean the heatsink part with all the dust stuck in it. Possible to get a hydro cooler so that I just clean the fan easy?
4) Does this Mobo come with USB-Type C or WIFI capability? I would love to have one just in case as my PC usually will last me at least 10 years without change. ( except graphic card )

Thanks soooooo much for your help!
Palit 10 series card is short compared to other brand with triple fan but it is very "fat" because it takes 2.5 slot instead of 2 slot, it can fit in 400C.

Depends on games, average FPS on 1440p is > 60 FPS according to most of the benchmarks posted online but min FPS is not always guaranteed will be 60 as it ties to many factors, games optimization, things/stuffs to be processed during a certain scene etc. Player is expected to experience some input lags from non-GSync/FreeSync monitor when VSync is turned on, those lags/screen tearing are hard to avoid with normal 60Hz monitor. FPS drop is acceptable to me if it is just for 1 or 2 seconds as long as I am not playing the whole games at 40 FPS, different people have different acceptance level though, lower down the graphics settings if you want stable 60 FPS.

Liquid cooler isn't easy to clean as well, the dust trapped on the fins of the radiator can be PITA to clean, you need to get a compressed air can to eliminate them to reduce the risk of damaging the fins when you do the cleaning, air cooler is easier to clean in my opinion but their size is very big which doesn't help in aesthetic purpose biggrin.gif

The mobo model you listed doesn't exist. Nobody can guarantee it can last for 10 years, maybe you need to ask yourself, can I stick with Skylake for 10 years? Core 2 Duo is a 10 years old CPU as of this year and it can barely handle any latest GPU (except low end one) for latest games, I would say 5 years is the max limit for me.

WiFi can be added separately, either by USB or PCIe. Same goes to USB Type C, if you want native Type C support, you need to get something like Gigabyte H170-D3HP.
terence_nwb
post Jul 17 2016, 03:53 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(maadamk @ Jul 17 2016, 12:42 PM)
Rig only, and i dont mind playing in 1080 resolution.Sorry for the very late reply
It is not about resolution, it is about the settings, 1080p is common but still hard to be maxed out due to many different factors, games optimizations, graphics API used etc.

Intel Core i5 6500 - RM 835
ASRock H110M-ITX - RM 315
Corsair 8GB DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 130
Sapphire RX 480 8GB GDDR5 Reference - RM 1299
Kingston SSDNow UV400 120GB SSD - RM 153
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 209
Seasonic M12II EVO 620W - RM 363
CM Elite 130 - RM 178

Total: RM 3482 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

If you can wait, please wait for GTX1060 to be released in next few days before making the final decision, the performance and price of GTX1060 could be the main factors to the GPU choice.
Sharkspirit91
post Jul 17 2016, 07:11 PM

I'm looking spec for
Dota2 ultra setting
Budget around 2k++ any idea ?
Jet23sky
post Jul 17 2016, 07:31 PM

Love is Peace~~~~~
1,339 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Jul 17 2016, 03:44 PM)
Palit 10 series card is short compared to other brand with triple fan but it is very "fat" because it takes 2.5 slot instead of 2 slot, it can fit in 400C.

Depends on games, average FPS on 1440p is > 60 FPS according to most of the benchmarks posted online but min FPS is not always guaranteed will be 60 as it ties to many factors, games optimization, things/stuffs to be processed during a certain scene etc. Player is expected to experience some input lags from non-GSync/FreeSync monitor when VSync is turned on, those lags/screen tearing are hard to avoid with normal 60Hz monitor. FPS drop is acceptable to me if it is just for 1 or 2 seconds as long as I am not playing the whole games at 40 FPS, different people have different acceptance level though, lower down the graphics settings if you want stable 60 FPS.

Liquid cooler isn't easy to clean as well, the dust trapped on the fins of the radiator can be PITA to clean, you need to get a compressed air can to eliminate them to reduce the risk of damaging the fins when you do the cleaning, air cooler is easier to clean in my opinion but their size is very big which doesn't help in aesthetic purpose  biggrin.gif

The mobo model you listed doesn't exist. Nobody can guarantee it can last for 10 years, maybe you need to ask yourself, can I stick with Skylake for 10 years? Core 2 Duo is a 10 years old CPU as of this year and it can barely handle any latest GPU (except low end one) for latest games, I would say 5 years is the max limit for me.

WiFi can be added separately, either by USB or PCIe. Same goes to USB Type C, if you want native Type C support, you need to get something like Gigabyte H170-D3HP.
Thanks, Terence. I just placed an order for this just now. I end up getting air cooler instead. For mobo wise I will get the one without any additional like Type C or Wifi as if I need it, I will just get the card itself. biggrin.gif
terence_nwb
post Jul 17 2016, 07:50 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Sharkspirit91 @ Jul 17 2016, 07:11 PM)
I'm looking spec  for
Dota2 ultra setting
Budget around 2k++ any idea ?
Monitor needed?
maadamk
post Jul 17 2016, 07:55 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Jul 17 2016, 03:53 PM)
It is not about resolution, it is about the settings, 1080p is common but still hard to be maxed out due to many different factors, games optimizations, graphics API used etc.

Intel Core i5 6500 - RM 835
ASRock H110M-ITX - RM 315
Corsair 8GB DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 130
Sapphire RX 480 8GB GDDR5 Reference - RM 1299
Kingston SSDNow UV400 120GB SSD - RM 153
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 209
CM Elite 130 - RM 178

Total: RM 3482 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

If you can wait, please wait for GTX1060 to be released in next few days before making the final decision, the performance and price of GTX1060 could be the main factors to the GPU choice.
thanks alot ! rclxm9.gif
terence_nwb
post Jul 17 2016, 10:41 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Slick69 @ Jul 17 2016, 09:57 PM)
Core i3 6100  rm549
Asus b150m ad3  rm419
Corsair v5450 450W  rm189
Armageddon microtron t2x  rm109 or any cheap casing
Intel ssd 535 series 120gb  rm259
Adata ddr4 2133mhz  rm80 (or similar ram)
R7 360  rm409 or 750 ti  rm549

Total;

RM2014 (r7 360).
RM 2164 (750 ti)

Can definitely 60fps dota2 but probably not all the time. If it's laggy,add another 4gb more ram.

There's an amd build too if you want to see it.

Fx 4350  rm500
Msi 970 gaming  rm514
Corsair v5450 450W  rm189
Armageddon microtron t2x  rm109 or any cheap casing
Intel ssd 535 series 120gb  rm259
Adata ddr4 2133mhz  rm80 (or similar ram)
R7 360  rm409 or 750 ti  rm549

Total;
RM2049 (r7 360)
RM2205 (rm750 ti)

You get a better motherboard for dota2 with this build.The quad core will ensure compatabilty with other games too. Same performance in dota2.

Exactly how much is 2k++?
Both mobo models are DDR3 based but you listed DDR4 RAM doh.gif

The "core" of Intel and the so-called "core" of AMD FX CPU work differently, FX 4350 has 2 modules with 2 cores in each module and they (cores) share the resources in each module, so you cannot literally say it is a real quad core though.
terence_nwb
post Jul 18 2016, 12:13 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Slick69 @ Jul 17 2016, 11:21 PM)
Whoops😅

Can't believe i miss THAT. Really sorry and thanks for correcting. I blame my just-paste-everything habit. Fixed.

About the core thingy. It's a really long rabbit hole to go into and a ton of debates had been said before.

AMD basically made a hardware-based-hyperthreading while sacrifing die-space thus reducing ipc and then they tried to compesate it with high frequency (their targeted 5GHz internally) but it failed as we all know.

While intel made is software-based.

Personally though, the AMD is a "pseudo-quad-core" to me. Half a quad-core,but still a quad core. The important part is that games reconized it as a quad-core and use it accordingly as a quad-core, not a hyperthreading dual core.
But the efficiency is very bad in single threaded apps/games, I am not praising how good Intel is or how bad AMD is, it is just the fact that every consumer should understand and choose accordingly according to their usage pattern.

If the apps/games are well made to utilize the full potential of AMD FX CPU then surely it will beat the Intel by a big margin, and yes I am comparing it with same priced Intel CPU, not a FX 9590 (one of the worst CPU made in the history) vs an i5 nor FX 8350 vs an i7.

I don't see any reason to pick a dead platform over Skylake i5 nowadays (if both builds at same price), even if the apps/software do utilize the full potential of AMD FX CPU, the rate of flexibility is just too inconsistent, we cannot ensure it will work well with other games/apps.
lace
post Jul 18 2016, 12:22 AM

623 posts

Intel Core i5 6400 - RM 796
mobo ??
Corsair 8GB DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 168
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 215
cm n200

which mobo shud i use for the cm n200?
Hezegroth
post Jul 18 2016, 12:24 AM

Miqo'te
570 posts

dunno the corrected place or not but can anyone suggest me a usb dongle that support lte and compatible with celcom.
terence_nwb
post Jul 18 2016, 08:54 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(lace @ Jul 18 2016, 12:22 AM)
Intel Core i5 6400 - RM 796
mobo ??
Corsair 8GB DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 168
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 215
cm n200

which mobo shud i use for the cm n200?
CM N200 is a mATX case, you need to look for mATX mobo (or mITX).

May I know your budget for the mobo (or whole rig)?

QUOTE(Hezegroth @ Jul 18 2016, 12:24 AM)
dunno the corrected place or not but can anyone suggest me a usb dongle that support lte and compatible with celcom.
LTE USB Adapter is expensive.

D-Link DWM-221, around RM 300.

Or just get a cheap Lenovo LTE enabled phone like A606 (around RM 220), you can use it like a normal phone or portable hotspot which is more preferred to most of the people I believe.

QUOTE(Slick69 @ Jul 18 2016, 02:01 AM)
Yes,but we are talking about dota2. A game so easy to run that even a toaster can run it well (exagerrated but you get the point)?

Single threaded is okay (not "bad")but none of the games are actually unplayable right? Plus it fits the usage pattern nicely. A 2k pc can only go so far. If the budget is higher then it will be a different story.

Some games are just flat-out won't run with a dual core at all except with some tweaks but not all of us know how to do that.Having a quad core solves the problem easily thus more gaming and less tweaking.

It does has advantages in multitasking which we are bound to do (a virus scan in the background when gaming will wreck the i3 but wont effect the fx too much for example)

The 5GHz cpu isn't referring to the fx9590. It's actually amd's own goal GHz to achieve back in the bulldozer days. Yes,bulldozer was supposed to had a frequency at 5GHz. They failed miserably but we all know that now (fx 9590)

And usually people upgrade their whole rig not just parts (that's only us the enthusiast) so it doesn't matter because when they both lagging behind (with dx12 coming the fx 4350 will not be obsolete any time soon) in about 2 years(?) later,the owner's are just gonna buy the latest cpu they can find. That's what always happen in my experience.

Good talk by the way. This is fun.  XD
Nope, you didn't get my points, when a Skylake i5 and your FX 4350 rig can be built with 2k budget, I don't see any reason to pick the latter build anymore unless fanboy-ism or brand loyalty is involved. This is clearly not i3 dual core case vs the quad module on FX 4350.

FX 4350 is fine in Dota 2, I never disagree on this, in fact the new Source 2 based Dota 2 is more heavy on CPU part now. I am talking on the single threaded performance on other games/apps, some perform well (on par with Intel), some don't, why we need to take risk on this when we clearly have a better choice to make?

And I will stop discussion on this due to heavy fanboy-ism detected, no point taking it further which doesn't bring benefit to anyone here, we have to focus and strike for the best buck for the bang build instead of dragging in something that isn't related.
Hezegroth
post Jul 18 2016, 10:18 AM

Miqo'te
570 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Jul 18 2016, 08:54 AM)

D-Link DWM-221, around RM 300.

Or just get a cheap Lenovo LTE enabled phone like A606 (around RM 220), you can use it like a normal phone or portable hotspot which is more preferred to most of the people I believe.
yeah im using note 4 now for lte, but my hometown area phone coverage very unstable(packet loss even ping google.com) dunno what is the problem. i try swap with my dad 3g dongle , i got quite stable.

thiking huawei wingle e8372.
terence_nwb
post Jul 18 2016, 10:34 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Hezegroth @ Jul 18 2016, 10:18 AM)
yeah im using note 4 now for lte, but my hometown area phone coverage very unstable(packet loss even ping google.com) dunno what is the problem.  i try swap with my dad 3g dongle  , i got quite stable.

thiking huawei wingle e8372.
So you are saying Note 4 on LTE network is facing packet lost while 3G USB dongle on 3G network is stable?

It seems like the LTE network isn't stable in your area and 3G is more stable, try to activate 3G mode only on your Note 4 and see if you can get the same result as the USB dongle or not.

125 Pages « < 104 105 106 107 108 > » Top

0.0349sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 08:54 PM