AV Receivers/ Speakers/ Subwoofers, Discussion & Opinion

kevinlim001
post Jan 2 2021, 02:30 PM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

QUOTE(mtgh @ Jan 1 2021, 09:21 AM)
I am a getting  very good price for dali ef12 . What is this sub stack again svs sb1000
the amplifier of svs sb1000 is more powerful than dali's (300w vs 170w) and the frequency range also wider as compare to dali (24-260 vs 28-190 hz).. svs also having a smaller cabinet size even with the same driver size.
also comparing the frequency response graph (in dali whitepaper - i dont understand the purpose of the graph with no frequency marking on X axis doh.gif ).. Dali can play louder and at a unknown frequency peaked (could be 80hz/100hz - i m not sure) and start rolling off after that.. meanwhile svs still able to maintain its high frequency response at wider range before roll off observed after 200hz.
kevinlim001
post Jan 4 2021, 08:37 AM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jan 2 2021, 07:36 PM)
Dali is louder so 170w is plenty...

anyways the upper hf is not so important since we'd be trying to cut off around 50-60hz, at most 80hz...

what is important is the smooth freq response, and the slower low freq roll off for sb1000...where it can probably go down to 21~22 hz in room, whereas the Dali maybe only 27 hz because of the steep 4th order slope

however what is not apparent is sealed boxes have better rhythm n pace which is very important not only for music, but transients too in movies although people usually are ignorant or ill-informed..so long as bass shakes their butts they are happy
plenty or not i m not sure.. you gonna try and let us know laugh.gif like i said the frequency response vs spl provided by the manufacturer doesn't even have proper indicator for us to judge.

hf cut off depends on fronts and avr.. i said 80hz-120hz is fair unless u got a very capable front and strong avr... the lower frequency you send to your front the more power needs to delivered from AVR.

i agree the smooth freq response is important
Dali:
SVS:
read from the page will be easier due to the background color: https://www.svsound.com/products/sb-1000
Maybe you can tell which 1 is smoother..

No offence to hardcode Dali supporter, i do not own both svs sb1000 nor dali ef12. i m just picking up the mentioned spec from the website and compare to my knowledge without bias. Of cos, mtgh has some time and money he can always buy and try where if he is not happy he can sell it off like what you said..

This post has been edited by kevinlim001: Jan 4 2021, 08:39 AM
kevinlim001
post Jan 4 2021, 02:10 PM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jan 4 2021, 11:32 AM)
currently 4 subs in the house... wifey will divorce if i try more laugh.gif  eons ago my old rel strata only 60w and was enough... but nowadays watts is cheap and ht more demanding... go demo to find out lor, no need to guess enough or not...

the dali chart, what i can see it starts at 20hz, it has a peak bump just before 40hz that's the port tuning... it doesn't look like it has any dsp and if such, the freq resp is actually ok... svs uses dsp so obviously flatter and more extended...

imho main issue is below 40hz, dali output drops quite a lot... svs output remains flat to around 28hz... mtgh's 14ft room needs as much output he can get below 40hz
front speakers with a small 4.5" driver is flat to ~85hz in a tiny seal box, and ~70hz in a tiny ported box...a normal bookshelf goes down to ~50 hz easy... that's why i say sub with wide freq resp as shown by svs up to 260hz, this spec is not important because we'd be rolling that off way early already......the wide range looks good on paper and good for marketing
he did says he's got a very good deal... wink.gif like i said, dali will shake butts, svs will have more quality bass and shake butts too... biggrin.gif
you own 4 dali subs? on the chart, how you can tell it actually starts from 20hz? confused.gif i read nothing..i do guessing over the graph rclxub.gif

my front can do 40hz but when i drop the crossover to 60hz i m losing the details also.. so i prefer my sub to do the hard work instead.. maybe mtgh is having excellence front like you do he can put the cross over as low as you did laugh.gif
kevinlim001
post Jan 4 2021, 03:18 PM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jan 4 2021, 03:07 PM)
pb1000, sb2000...and 2 others wink.gif no dali... lol

assume they follow the normal log scale, then the peak ~40hz line, and 100hz line, lined up...so going left you get 20hz... spacing looks right too so I'm quite confident

I'm old school so no cutoff to speakers, only tweak subs... but hey, whatever works man...
for me its merely our assumption.. how difficult for them to mark the axis? confused.gif

yea whatever works for the ear.. there's no single rule that can be applied for all.. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by kevinlim001: Jan 4 2021, 04:00 PM
kevinlim001
post Jan 9 2021, 03:10 PM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

QUOTE(aressandro10 @ Jan 9 2021, 01:40 PM)
I have a question....at price of RM3800, is there any amp+speaker package that provide dolby atmos function and quality at par or better than Samsung Q950T 9.1.4 soundbar ?

or is not just as simple as that ?
if you are happy with Samsung Q950T then you should stick to it.. investing on separate component is different at whole level not to mention if you want to have a atmos setup.. 3800 is even difficult for a second setup (AVR+Speaker)..but if you have tried AVR+Speaker setup you will never go back to sound bar..

kevinlim001
post Feb 4 2021, 01:52 PM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

QUOTE(ashahir92 @ Feb 3 2021, 11:10 PM)
Hi..i want to connect my laptop to speaker...the only input to speaker is using audio optical ..so 3.5mm audio jack to optical converter to convert my laptops 3.5mm jack to optical audio? Does it work?

dont think you are asking in the correct thread.. but anyway..

does your laptop support optical output? if not, i dont recommend this type of conversion.. your laptop soundcard change the audio from digital to analog to output to 3.5mm jack.. then you need to do a conversion to digital back using ur cable then ur speaker will again change from digital to analog doh.gif

does it worth the trouble?

if you are serious about audio and willing to invest, you can consider DAC/Headphone Amp like Fiio K3.
connect it thru usb to your laptop and the digital audio out from k3 to your speaker. the good thing about this is you can still keep this unit even after you upgrade your laptop or you want to use it on your desktop. Fiio that i m using can be considered as upgrade over most of the build in sound card that laptop/desktop offer. The best of it, you wont go thru the conversion over conversion where you will lost audio signal every time it get converted.

kevinlim001
post Feb 4 2021, 02:25 PM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

QUOTE(doi0728 @ Feb 4 2021, 01:43 PM)
Currently looking at Q Acoustic 3070s, not sure it is a good buy or not and I kinda agree with u, I dun need a sub tat can shake my neighbours house down 😀
option are quite limited actually..
Waderfale
Elac
Polk
Pioneer
Yamaha

Why do you need a sub?
1) if you want to have louder low mid freq then yes you can invest on 3070s
2) If you want to have more complete freq range (20hz to 20khz) then 3070 is not suitable.

your 3050i can cover the freq between 44hz - 30khz
3070s freq range 50Hz - 150Hz

meaning to say your 3070s actually falls in the range of where your 3050 is covering.. does it that means it wont make a different if you add 3070s into your existing system.. the answer is no.. depends on how you set the cross over.. you still might get double bass or stronger bass as compare to 3050i working alone.

If we are talking about music, we often want to hear all the frequency between 20hz to 20khz.. you existing setup will miss out 20-44hz freq range.. this is where we want sub to do the job to fill up the gap. ideally the sub need to cover at least from 20-150hz or even lower.

If we are talking about movies, the requirement is even higher as we want it goes lower than 20hz to bring us lfe impact.

All these are ideal case which i haven talk about the drop in certain freq at certain vol which varies from speakers to speakers.

for sub i will recommend at least get 10 inch. 8 inch min if you are using it for music only... the bigger the driver it can dives into lower frequency.. that's the general rule of thumb like bigger hp car = faster

if you can top up ur budget <2000, maybe klipsch sub is something that you can consider but it wont match well with the look of your 3050 laugh.gif
if you desperately and need to have a subwoofer, you can consider yamaha/pioneer which cost less than 1k. it can give you some lfe but you cant expect good audio quality from it..
if you have budget > 3k you can look for svs

kevinlim001
post Feb 4 2021, 02:46 PM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

QUOTE(doi0728 @ Feb 4 2021, 02:33 PM)
thx for explanation bro, my setup intention was 50/50 (music & movie) build, which mean i have to look for 20hz freq range sub right ?
ideally la if you dont care then ignore.. if not 25hz to 30hz is also good enough.. most of the floor stander can do around 40hz d, you will feel it.. but find something 10inch min you cant defy the rule of physics.. u cannot bawak kancil and try to challenge 200kmh
ur 3070 is dual 6.5" it certainly will play louder at certain freq but you are missing some freq in the other hand.. by right your crossover setup should be 80hz at ur 3050i and below 80hz is sub realm.. u bought a 1.5k sub that give u 50-80hz.. might as well i pay yamaha which able to give me 25hz - 80hz that cost <1000.. of cos audio quality between the two sub is another topic to cover

unless u r really pro and you figure out you dont need the extra low frequency and you found your 3050i setup you try out all d but missing out the chunk of 50 - 100hz range then 3070i is something you can consider.

This post has been edited by kevinlim001: Feb 4 2021, 02:48 PM
kevinlim001
post Feb 4 2021, 03:04 PM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Feb 4 2021, 03:01 PM)
if i have a good floor-stander... i'll let it play full range 40hz-20khz, and just tune my sub to fill in below 40hz... no reason to crossover at 80hz and constrain my floor-stander...

with this approach you can have a more budget friendly sub, and your system will sound more coherent... as any flaws from the sub is kept in check as its only heard less frequently below 40hz... wink.gif
very much agree bro.. but that will required good floor stander and amp.. low freq need a lot of juice from amp.. i dun have both so i rather my sub take the punishment and relief it from my amp + not so great fronts mega_shok.gif
kevinlim001
post Feb 4 2021, 03:27 PM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

QUOTE(doi0728 @ Feb 4 2021, 02:56 PM)
how about Yamaha SW300 sub ? for the spec it state 20-160 Hz, well i dont expect it can have good sound quality , but at least it can cover the freq that my setup lacking now.
i m using a svs sub my dad i bought him a yamaha sub.. later i find the model... he have very minimal requirement for sub so i bought him yamaha... my comment is.. it will do the job but not impressive way.. brows.gif

short list a few model and see if any shifu here can help you icon_rolleyes.gif sw300 how much? 1.3k?
kevinlim001
post Feb 4 2021, 05:36 PM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Feb 4 2021, 03:41 PM)
ah.. this is getting into room tuning... and you're also right...

sometimes you have to crossover at higher frequency to tune down the fronts so that it goes better with the subs... i can fully support this... my last line to Kevin "...but as always trial and error to find the best match"

you have the benefit of good towers and good twin subs...this offers you so much more flexibility... whilst i was making a point that if i have good towers but a crappy sub, then perhaps my strategy is not make the crappy sub front and centre (pun intended) by crossing it high at 80hz...
dont say your last line la doh.gif sound like u sudah tak boleh... i am always here we can always share...
i forgot if i have share to you or somebody else...
i had tested... i drop my crossover 60 i lost the dynamic and detail from the fronts.. my floor standing can do 40hz.. the bass is better but i lost the dynamic so i reverted to the setting and let the sub do the job instead.
even for thx they recommend 80hz crossover thats why i always recommend ppl who new in HT to start with 80-120hz.. one day they will become pro like u they will know how to play with.. innocent.gif
kevinlim001
post Feb 4 2021, 05:39 PM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

QUOTE(doi0728 @ Feb 4 2021, 03:35 PM)
yup 1.3k , another option is Q Acoustic 3060s but it is a 35hz sub
any reason beside pricing that you like q accoustic sub? is it because of the look?
if you want sometime that look rounded edge with some glossy finishing KEF can be a good option also keke.. looks good but exp la.. more exp than svs entry level sub
kevinlim001
post Feb 4 2021, 09:02 PM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Feb 4 2021, 08:28 PM)
x2000 can one. dont affraid
innocent.gif u spoil my mood to upgrade d keke
kevinlim001
post Feb 5 2021, 09:58 AM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

QUOTE(doi0728 @ Feb 5 2021, 08:56 AM)
u got any sub price range between 1k-2k tat can hit 20-30hz recommend ? and im thinking to upgrade my AVR as well, between Denon X1600H & Yamaha V4A , any comment for these 2 model ?
you got extra budget to upgrade avr?
ur sub says 1.5k budget u have another 2k in hand to upgrade avr?
my suggestion is to do it one by one.. because you buy all entry level stuff.. i dunno where is your destination.. maybe you can share with us how you want your future setup to be

my questions for you
1) What AVR you are using now?
2) Do you play games PS5/XBOX? or you want your equipment to support for it?
3) What is your future upgrades? 5.1? 7.1? Atmos - 5.1.2?
4) Does your tv support high refresh rate like 120hz or HDR10+ or Dolby Vision?
5) What kind of media you often play for movies? Bluray? Netflix? Or Jack Sparrow?
6) How big is your room?

kevinlim001
post Feb 5 2021, 10:27 AM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

QUOTE(doi0728 @ Feb 5 2021, 10:07 AM)
1) im using denon avr-1911 which 10 years old model
2) yup with PS5
3)for now, just 5.1 setup
4) yup my tv support 4k 120hz & dolby vision
5)netflix and jack sparrow
6) about 10ft x 15ft
1911 you bought second hand? u been using it for more than 10 years but without a subwoofer?

audio wise i dont see any upgrade for you to change from 1911 to x1600h / v4a (v4a is even downgrade in terms of amplification power / number of supported channels).. the only reason you could benefits is over the picture that support 4k (which your 1911 doesnt) and high refresh rate with HDR that your PS5 / TV can support..

if you are not planning to upgrade further from 5.1 i will suggest the below:
1) focus your budget a get a proper subwoofer... at least for now i dont see technology that will make subwoofer phase out.. meaning a good subwoofer can live with you for a long time..even u change AVR/TV/PS6 later your subwoofer may still work perfect.. aim for SVS PB2000/SB2000 min
2) You got a ps5 compatible tv.. i will run my direct connection of PS5 to TV to gain the advantage over video then use ARC channel back to AVR for 5.1 audio.. ps5 is not so demanding when it comes to audio..

once you have your subwoofer d then you can plan to upgrade your AVR.. look for x3000+ series from denon.. that will give you more amplification and more channels support with preout in case you need to do future upgrade + MultEQ XT32 audyssey

plan our your journey i think most of us upgrade step by step.. learn along the way and appreciate the result from the upgrade..
kevinlim001
post Feb 5 2021, 10:43 AM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

QUOTE(doi0728 @ Feb 5 2021, 10:38 AM)
yup tat avr is used, but it start having problem on the right sound channel, so i got no choice but change avr 1st and put sub in 2nd  cry.gif
if budget is your constraint i will go for x1600h instead of v4a
kevinlim001
post Feb 5 2021, 11:30 AM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ Feb 5 2021, 11:11 AM)
x2000 damping factor so bad kah?  cool2.gif
not sure bro but i m playing over my living room... 26ft x 16ft + joined dining area.. normally i will play around -15db to -0 db over movies.. i replaced my svs pb1000 driver before.. as there are cracking noise as i tend to drive them hot mega_shok.gif
kevinlim001
post Feb 18 2021, 09:01 AM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

QUOTE(marky @ Feb 17 2021, 08:39 PM)
Curious, what did you change to?
- HT Setup -
LG OLED C9 77"
SVS Ultra Bookshelf (L/R) | SVS Ultra Center
SVS Prime Bookshelf (Surrounds) | SVS Prime Elevation (Atmos) | Dual SVS SB3000
Emotiva A500 | Yamaha RX-A3080 | Parasound A52+

- HiFi Setup -
STAX SRL700 | Wharfedale Evo 4.2
STAX SRM353X| JDS Labs EL DAC | Parasound Hint 6

kekeke brows.gif
kevinlim001
post Feb 18 2021, 09:07 AM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

QUOTE(chilskater @ Feb 17 2021, 07:14 PM)
can i ask here:
i have new Philips TV connect tok TX6 via HDMI & Edifier speaker to TV via optical cable...is this ngam
OR should the speaker connect to android box...
OR audio cable from android box to TV

i watch Netflix using TV apps and streaming using android box apps..
if i m not wrong 90% of chances ur edifier doesnt support hdmi in..
what you are doing is correct and simple.. you can also connect your tv box to speaker directly using RCA but it doesnt makes a lot of different from what i see
audio cable if you mean is RCA cable then i dont think is possible.. your TV most likely doesnt provide RCA in / Digital In
kevinlim001
post Feb 18 2021, 09:08 AM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Feb 17 2021, 12:47 AM)
i curious. expensive avr use 0db not same with regular avr 0db meh ?
compare between same brand same gen after calibrate
boss ur ref level not ref ka? ohmy.gif

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0841sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 02:35 PM