AV Receivers/ Speakers/ Subwoofers, Discussion & Opinion

cyclone2
post Jul 16 2021, 03:27 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jul 16 2021, 02:54 PM)
You have to account for the entire space, whatever your living room is open up to (dining area for example). Bass lengths are very long, so you can't just calculate based on the area where the sub is at. 22x10 is on the average side, you may want ported subs instead (PB1000 Pro).
Ok noted, if including entire space until dining room area, then the size would be 22 x 26....Will try look into ported sub.

Thanks for advice.
SSJBen
post Jul 16 2021, 03:36 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(cyclone2 @ Jul 16 2021, 03:27 PM)
Ok noted, if including entire space until dining room area, then the size would be 22 x 26....Will try look into ported sub.

Thanks for advice.
Will recommend ported subs then for sure.

Depends on your budget though, a pair of PB3000 will be very nice for that space and if you don't mind disturbing the neighbors. But if you can't stomach that budget, even a pair of PB1000 Pros or used PB2000s is a good choice.
cyclone2
post Jul 16 2021, 11:25 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jul 16 2021, 03:36 PM)
Will recommend ported subs then for sure.

Depends on your budget though, a pair of PB3000 will be very nice for that space and if you don't mind disturbing the neighbors. But if you can't stomach that budget, even a pair of PB1000 Pros or used PB2000s is a good choice.
haha think will try 1 sub 1st..... then will plan to change LCR
AstonCheah
post Jul 19 2021, 04:07 PM

383 posts

hi All, my samsung F6550w died recently, the speakers are all working, can i just buy a new av receiver without speakers? any recommendation is appreciated.
kevinlim001
post Jul 19 2021, 09:45 PM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

QUOTE(AstonCheah @ Jul 19 2021, 04:07 PM)
hi All, my samsung F6550w died recently, the speakers are all working, can i just buy a new av receiver without speakers? any recommendation is appreciated.
yes avr normally doesnt comes with speakers. Speakers are sold seperately. Looks like you wanted to reused the samsung speakers. Basically you need to check your cables as these home theater set normally comes with the fool proof connector. Those might not work with your avr. But as long as your samsung speakers are passive ones and has only red black connect.. it may work. Also you cannot use back the subwoofer. So you may need to invest on an avr and a subwoofer. As long as you dont crank those speaker too loud i guess it can work for the time being.
Skylinestar
post Jul 20 2021, 05:22 PM

Mega Duck
10,472 posts

QUOTE(kevinlim001 @ Jul 19 2021, 09:45 PM)
yes avr normally doesnt comes with speakers. Speakers are sold seperately. Looks like you wanted to reused the samsung speakers. Basically you need to check your cables as these home theater set normally comes with the fool proof connector. Those might not work with your avr. But as long as your samsung speakers are passive ones and has only red black connect.. it may work. Also you cannot use back the subwoofer. So you may need to invest on an avr and a subwoofer. As long as you dont crank those speaker too loud i guess it can work for the time being.
AstonCheah
every speaker uses a standard power and ground set of wires. just cut the connector if you have no use for that. definitely will work on any avr or audio amplifier.

This post has been edited by Skylinestar: Jul 20 2021, 05:22 PM
cyclone2
post Jul 22 2021, 10:21 AM

427 posts

Just placed order for PB-1000 pro...... hopefully can receive by tomorrow or Sat.... biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
kevinlim001
post Jul 22 2021, 11:51 AM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

QUOTE(cyclone2 @ Jul 22 2021, 10:21 AM)
Just placed order for PB-1000 pro...... hopefully can receive by tomorrow or Sat.... biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
rclxms.gif enjoy bro
thales.of.miletus
post Jul 22 2021, 04:08 PM

94 posts

QUOTE(kevinlim001 @ Jul 19 2021, 09:45 PM)
If i already have 2 pairs of active speakers (total of 4 speakers), what features should be my consideration when buying an av receiver if I wanna use those speakers instead of spending more?
kevinlim001
post Jul 22 2021, 05:05 PM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

QUOTE(thales.of.miletus @ Jul 22 2021, 04:08 PM)
If i already have 2 pairs of active speakers (total of 4 speakers), what features should be my consideration when buying an av receiver if I wanna use those speakers instead of spending more?
sweat.gif i dun recommend active speaker + avr as combo

u can look for avr with multichannel preout.. if denon look for 3000 series and above.. hook your speaker using rca to amp.. so it can work normally like how the signal with go thru power amp. *might work this way but i never try before or never come across anyone doing this..

Unless you plan to place your speaker (all 4 of them) very close to the avr.. if that's the case you only need 2 no need 4.
If you plan to place your 1 pair of speaker as surround speaker, you need to consider if your power point and ur rca cable.. 1 thing bad about rca (unbalance) connection is they tends to be noisy if you run them for too long. You need to then invest on shielded RCA cable for longer run.. those cables can be expensive..

unless your speaker allows balance input (like mic connector also called XLR) else try to prevent from running long rca cables. Having said.. if you want to have balanced connectivity then its going to another level in HT. Only those high end AVR provides balance out.

Not to mention later point that you need to do audio leveling when you run your AVR calibration.

What active speakers you are using?

If you are serious about having an AVR might as well start investing passive speaker as well.. you need a center speaker also.. center is considered as the most important speaker for HT

thales.of.miletus
post Jul 23 2021, 09:52 AM

94 posts

QUOTE(kevinlim001 @ Jul 22 2021, 05:05 PM)
sweat.gif i dun recommend active speaker + avr as combo

u can look for avr with multichannel preout.. if denon look for 3000 series and above.. hook your speaker using rca to amp.. so it can work normally like how the signal with go thru power amp. *might work this way but i never try before or never come across anyone doing this..

Unless you plan to place your speaker (all 4 of them) very close to the avr.. if that's the case you only need 2 no need 4.
If you plan to place your 1 pair of speaker as surround speaker, you need to consider if your power point and ur rca cable.. 1 thing bad about rca (unbalance) connection is they tends to be noisy if you run them for too long. You need to then invest on shielded RCA cable for longer run.. those cables can be expensive..

unless your speaker allows balance input (like mic connector also called XLR) else try to prevent from running long rca cables. Having said.. if you want to have balanced connectivity then its going to another level in HT. Only those high end AVR provides balance out.

Not to mention later point that you need to do audio leveling when you run your AVR calibration.

What active speakers you are using?

If you are serious about having an AVR might as well start investing passive speaker as well.. you need a center speaker also.. center is considered as the most important speaker for HT
Just some cheap-ass Edifier speakers. R1855 and R1280DBs.

Initially I thought that instead of buying the entire 5.1 or 7.1 setup at once, it's better to buy 2.0 for now for the pc and expand from there, especially since I'm planning to move house soon-ish. Don't fancy the unpacking & repacking.

Upon reading what you've said, I guess I still have much to learn, and more finer details and nuances of the AV scene to consider sweat.gif

kevinlim001
post Jul 23 2021, 10:53 AM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

QUOTE(thales.of.miletus @ Jul 23 2021, 09:52 AM)
Just some cheap-ass Edifier speakers. R1855 and R1280DBs.

Initially I thought that instead of buying the entire 5.1 or 7.1 setup at once, it's better to buy 2.0 for now for the pc and expand from there, especially since I'm planning to move house soon-ish. Don't fancy the unpacking & repacking.

Upon reading what you've said, I guess I still have much to learn, and more finer details and nuances of the AV scene to consider sweat.gif
your 5.1 or 7.1 for pc desk usage? or Home theater usage? if you are planning for pc surround better get those logitech or edifier 5.1 / 7.1 those more suitable for near field listening.. and you dont need to invest on AVR and bunch of speakers..
come back here once u have decided after you moved your house in case you need more help.. many shifu here can help you out.
thales.of.miletus
post Jul 23 2021, 10:59 AM

94 posts

QUOTE(kevinlim001 @ Jul 23 2021, 10:53 AM)
your 5.1 or 7.1 for pc desk usage? or Home theater usage? if you are planning for pc surround better get those logitech or edifier 5.1 / 7.1 those more suitable for near field listening.. and you dont need to invest on AVR and bunch of speakers..
come back here once u have decided after you moved your house in case you need more help.. many shifu here can help you out.
For now, the 2.0s are just for pc. But eventually planning to have a dedicated av room with at least proper 5.1 setup when I move to the new home. Thus the initial plan to repurpose those Edifiers as satellite, which I reckon now would be a suboptimal setup.

But yea, maybe will need to learn more & return here probably after 1-2 years.
Ang3237
post Jul 23 2021, 03:05 PM

90 posts

guys im selling Aiwa full set home theatre speaker, 2 speaker with 1 subwoofer can pm i send u my shopee link

quality superb

This post has been edited by Ang3237: Jul 23 2021, 03:06 PM
cyclone2
post Jul 23 2021, 03:41 PM

427 posts

Unboxing the beast.... Damn... it is really big....

Comparison old and new... .haha brows.gif brows.gif

Luckily can still fit in...

Old sub... so small....

Do a quick calibration and tested some movie, the bass more solid and can feel the vibration on the sofa....

Nice... no regret at all

This post has been edited by cyclone2: Jul 23 2021, 03:43 PM
miyeonevermioff
post Jul 23 2021, 03:42 PM

295 posts

guys this got any value in 2021? or i can just trash em
cstan61
post Jul 23 2021, 04:32 PM

33 posts

Probably can sell for around RM400.

QUOTE(miyeonevermioff @ Jul 23 2021, 03:42 PM)
kevinlim001
post Jul 23 2021, 04:52 PM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

QUOTE(cyclone2 @ Jul 23 2021, 03:41 PM)
Unboxing the beast.... Damn... it is really big....

Comparison old and new... .haha brows.gif  brows.gif

Luckily can still fit in...
Old sub... so small....

Do a quick calibration and tested some movie, the bass more solid and can feel the vibration on the sofa....

Nice... no regret at all
ok.. now we have another happy owner.. another 2 annoyed neighbours laugh.gif
kevinlim001
post Jul 23 2021, 04:55 PM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

QUOTE(miyeonevermioff @ Jul 23 2021, 03:42 PM)
https://www.carousell.com.my/p/proton-am452-usa-165180828/

if u r into 2 channels.. get some not too demanding bookshelf.. you still can enjoy some audio nod.gif
cyclone2
post Jul 23 2021, 05:14 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(kevinlim001 @ Jul 23 2021, 04:52 PM)
ok.. now we have another happy owner.. another 2 annoyed neighbours  laugh.gif
haha..... my next door neighbour stuck in sg now.... so no ppl rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif

I bought from Max from Seremban, after get some guide to tweak the system, now the bass more solid and overall sound nature now.....

Can feel more shaking n vibration on my sofa.... haha rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

119 Pages « < 103 104 105 106 107 > » Top

0.0287sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 12:01 PM