Thermal interface material, Discussions on thermal pad/paste/grease
kmarc
May 24 2007, 05:36 PM
The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
QUOTE(Kyl3 @ May 24 2007, 03:37 PM) *noob alert* getting my new proc wif stock hsf soon, I have some questions need to be cleared up 1st 1. If I use the Intel HSF stock thermal pad (or something else), will I rip my processor when I remove the hsf coz I read some article that says the thermal pad will stick with the proc. 2. If i want to clean the thermal pad, what kind of material I need? nail cleaner? xD edited: found out minyak angin or tape cleaning liquid will do the cleaning  The way you remove the hsf is important. Look at the guide here: http://www.amd.com/us-en/Processors/Techni...%5E6678,00.htmlTo clean the TIM, it is better to use a thermal paste remover e.g. Arcticleaner. I bought one for rm 25 in garage sales.....
nazril
Jun 8 2007, 03:53 PM
wassap forumers,
how to use thermal paste in the right way?? do we should apply the thermal just a tiny small on the surface?? do we should apply it on the entire contact area using finger only?? i actually dont know how to apply in the right way la..
serez
Jun 26 2007, 11:46 PM
depends on type of TIM. for example TIM made of silver or ceramique based like as5, just put a little amount on the core. http://www.arcticsilver.com/ins_route_step2amdas5.htmlor if u using TIM made of silicon-based like chill factor, u should put it like this pulak http://www.thermalright.com/product_default.htm
moderno
Jun 26 2007, 11:51 PM
just remember that silver based thermal interface is quite conductive...so be careful not to leave it spilled on any circuit board
akachester
Jun 27 2007, 08:28 AM
QUOTE(moderno @ Jun 26 2007, 11:51 PM) just remember that silver based thermal interface is quite conductive...so be careful not to leave it spilled on any circuit board  Heard that the MX-1 which is also silver are not conductive though..Anyone can clarify this? I am pretty sure AS5 is conductive though..
Doom
Jun 27 2007, 12:41 PM
It's written on their product specification, u could read it out from their site...
The performance is really good but just a 2 to 3 degree lower than AS5 can cool off...
however cleaning and applying it is much more easier ...
MetalZone
Jun 27 2007, 01:05 PM
MX-1 has la little dry like texture. Its more viscous than AS5 and Ceramique. My current tests have shown that the MX-1 has a slight advantage over AS5. But less than 2C though.
sup3rfly
Jun 27 2007, 02:07 PM
QUOTE(MetalZone @ Jun 27 2007, 01:05 PM) MX-1 has la little dry like texture. Its more viscous than AS5 and Ceramique. My current tests have shown that the MX-1 has a slight advantage over AS5. But less than 2C though. yeah i tested it as well...a cured (200 hrs) as5 losing to my newly applied mx1  .... about 2 - 3 degrees diff
serez
Jun 27 2007, 08:56 PM
owh then where can i get mx-1? moderno didn`t sell that stuff.. by the way i`m using both as5 and chillfactor. the result is.. as5 better than chillfactor.
irangan
Jun 27 2007, 10:13 PM
Contact Storm88
sHawTY
Jun 29 2007, 04:09 PM
Arctic Cooling MX-1 seems better than AS5. On monday, i bought myself a tube of MX-1 for myself. Then applied it on the same way i apply AS5 on my CPU IHS. After 4 days, MX-1 performs at 26 degrees [Yes, i'm on watercooling] While AS5 performs at 28 degrees. Wow, this does proves that MX-1 is much much better than AS5.
moderno
Jun 29 2007, 06:09 PM
QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jun 29 2007, 04:09 PM) Arctic Cooling MX-1 seems better than AS5. On monday, i bought myself a tube of MX-1 for myself. Then applied it on the same way i apply AS5 on my CPU IHS. After 4 days, MX-1 performs at 26 degrees [Yes, i'm on watercooling] While AS5 performs at 28 degrees. Wow, this does proves that MX-1 is much much better than AS5.  i believe the results is quite subjective in different setup, applications & the way of both thermal interface is being applied to the heat subject... i oso dare not to tell which one perform better as there's plenty of results that show these 2 interface pawned each other.. even arctic cooling dare not to include the comparable result with AS5 in the packaging (only AS2, AS3) which i believe it's vary in each independent case... to keep it simple...i always tell it perform almost the same between those 2...hohoho
Doom
Jun 30 2007, 10:20 AM
moderno
Jun 30 2007, 03:26 PM
QUOTE(Doom @ Jun 30 2007, 10:20 AM) The variance pretty much depend on the mounting if other condition remains the same ... I have been using AS5 until recently shifted to MX-1.. both are good in their own way, but I got results that really shown MX-1 is 2 to 3 degrees better than AS5 ... even sHawTY agree with it ... we are not bias to any brand just performance is the most important. Anyway AS5 is easier to apply if u prefer to even the TIM across the cpu die before installing the cooler. While MX-1 is easier if u prefer just spread some in the center of the core and then install the heatsink directly. It's all up to preference .. besides MX-1 is easier to clean ... hurm..great result there....i'll better try applying this MX-1 to my Opty's here...see how's the result will be an it'll be easier for me to tell my customer if they're asking me which one is better
akkmutd0711
Jun 30 2007, 10:08 PM

QUOTE(HaHaNoCluE @ Mar 13 2007, 02:10 PM) has any1 tried or sell this TIM?? it seems to be replacing the AS5 now... correct me if i'm wrong.. i'm using artic freezer 7 pro which came with this coumpoung n i nearly wipe it off n apply AS5, but after read some comment, i leave it on.. i looks like wet cement (those uses for contrurction, grey color).. i never have the chance to compare between the 2 TIM.. any1 had any idea if the mx-1 is better or AS5..?? btw, is ther any1 selling artic fans too..?? i like the design (not a bling guy, at least not when i'm having my pc switch on in my room while i'm trying to sleep), it looks like those old sucking fan at restaurant... hahaha... with the 120mm pwm fan, i guess it's best choice for the new giant cooler master gemini hsf huh..!! QUOTE(serez @ Jun 27 2007, 08:56 PM) owh then where can i get mx-1? moderno didn`t sell that stuff.. by the way i`m using both as5 and chillfactor. the result is.. as5 better than chillfactor.  it's available in local store like czone or mypc (both lyp), else lookout for arctic cooling sales thread in this forum.. anyway i bought mine at czone..  Added on June 30, 2007, 10:09 pmmoderno got sell mx-1 la... look at his siggy.. This post has been edited by akkmutd0711: Jun 30 2007, 10:09 PM
fuzagi
Jul 9 2007, 05:15 PM
may i ask how long b4 i should reapply new paste on proc and gc ?
mruzian
Jul 10 2007, 01:43 AM
juz went thru a review on mx-2 and the performance is much better reviewwonder when this TIM will be avail here
MakNok
Jul 10 2007, 09:24 AM
Akasa Pro-Grade+ 5022 not bad as well!!!
PowerSlide
Jul 12 2007, 10:09 PM
storm88
Jul 12 2007, 10:29 PM
QUOTE(MakNok @ Jul 10 2007, 10:24 AM) Akasa Pro-Grade+ 5022 not bad as well!!! FYI they are same compound compare to MX1 Added on July 12, 2007, 10:30 pmQUOTE(MakNok @ Jul 10 2007, 10:24 AM) Akasa Pro-Grade+ 5022 not bad as well!!! FYI they are same compound compare to MX1 This post has been edited by storm88: Jul 12 2007, 10:30 PM