Thermal interface material, Discussions on thermal pad/paste/grease

irangan
post Nov 2 2006, 02:25 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(yeewensmc @ Nov 2 2006, 02:11 PM)
I bought a Arctic Silver 5 yesterday. I applied it but still da same temp with da previous readings.  My processor is P4 3.0 LGA630 with a cooler master HyperL3. Last time ddint put any paste. Using the CM HyperL3 wax itself.
I need 2 wait for the break in period for the real results ??
My temp currently IDLE  = 56C
FULL LOAD with PRIME95 = 63C

I clean the HS and IHS with alcohol. Using the cotton bud.
Why still no different ? ANYBODY ?
i think you need to wait for the arctic silver 5 to 'sink in' first before you can see any difference in temp. normally take 3 weeks+
irangan
post Nov 28 2006, 05:45 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

tumpang post, the alcohol that u guys mean is the one that used for cleaning the old cassete player (brown bottle and yellow labeling) right? or those used for cleaning off paint from the floor and so on.
irangan
post Dec 2 2006, 05:23 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(pcmoddingmy @ Dec 2 2006, 05:17 PM)
Yup... I will retest the STG1 in a the next few days.
As for AS5, I will have to reapply it and wait another 1 week... darn time consuming... LOL. Arctic Silver said it needs 200 hrs (about 8 days) to properly cure in.  doh.gif
i read in alot of western review that if OC your processor to produce more heat, then the paste will sink in faster. how true is that?
irangan
post Dec 2 2006, 05:54 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

thx for the info smile.gif
irangan
post Dec 4 2006, 04:30 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

overclocker paradise is selling AS5

edited (Off Topic): is there any special method to apply zalman ZM-STG1? i just got that from moderno and after i applied it, my processor temp is higher (4-5c) than previously. before this, i used stock grease from intel. is it i need wait it to sink in before i can see the difference?

1. i used artic cleaner to clean my processor.
2. i put the grease on all the surface of the processor.

any problem with my application? i already checked the processor heatsink, it is properly intact.

This post has been edited by irangan: Dec 4 2006, 04:37 PM
irangan
post Dec 4 2006, 11:31 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Dec 4 2006, 11:25 PM)
I never applied any thermal paste on both part...
Only applied the thermal paste on the processor's IHS...

Don't know about zalman thermal paste though, if i were to use the STG-1, do i need to apply on both surfaces? blink.gif
i applied both side too... it is written at the bottle itself and on the official website. hopefully it will bring down my temp after seven days else i think i just threw my RM32 into the drain. haha..
irangan
post Dec 5 2006, 01:03 AM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Dec 4 2006, 11:45 PM)
Hey, if it fails you, dont threw it away, give it to me liao...
I'm in need of thermal paste now, finished my AS5 aedi... laugh.gif
probably i can sell to you cheap cheap since i only used once smile.gif
irangan
post Dec 6 2006, 09:31 AM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

with that temp, it is better for you to put some new grease.. 100% your processor got contact problem or thermal grease really 'gone' already. you can get it from Moderno shop at SS19 behind Hong Leong Bank.
irangan
post Dec 6 2006, 11:02 AM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Dec 5 2006, 04:31 AM)
Now that's weird...
After two years and there's no increase in temps? blink.gif

Two years you didn't take out the heatsink?
There must be a lot of dust accumulated there... sweat.gif
No problem one, can always discuss it through pm right... brows.gif

Wait a couple more days la, see how it goes... smile.gif
actually i am joking about selling off my zalman thermal paste. RM30+ item also need to sell meh.. haha... if u want to try, i can borrow you for single application. let's you try it smile.gif
irangan
post Dec 6 2006, 11:38 AM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(unamed @ Dec 6 2006, 11:18 AM)
Where is Ho Leong bank in SS19?  I only remembered the bank in SS15.
Got... a small one... nearby there got a shop called BACFREE or something like that. if you go to SS19, you will see it right away.
irangan
post Dec 6 2006, 11:38 AM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Dec 6 2006, 11:35 AM)
Owh good then, i really need some thermal paste right now...
My AS5 is finished already... cry.gif
when u need it and where want to meet?
irangan
post Dec 6 2006, 03:43 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(yehlai @ Dec 6 2006, 03:33 PM)
I also wanna try.. pay u Lima ringgit can? brows.gif laugh.gif
I seldom take out the HSF, buy one small tube i think can use >2 years.
neway.. where should we keep our Ac5??
errr... i dont think that is a good idea. sry ya.. i let sHawTY tried because he fed me with ton of knowledge. hehe..
irangan
post Dec 6 2006, 03:45 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(unamed @ Dec 6 2006, 02:42 PM)
Woo thanks all...now my CPU temperature is at 45 dgrees idle.  Anyway i taken the advise and got the Zalman ZM-STG1 thermal grease from modernopc.  It works fine.  Did some lapping too but too bad was to impatient and only had 1000 grit sand paper.
wah... from 80 C drop till 45 C ar.. got so keng or not the zalman paste.. i think previously your processor didnt touch or minimum touch with the heatsink la. impossible so big difference.
irangan
post Dec 6 2006, 04:19 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

oh i see... my bad, didnt see that post.

stuck till cant even see through ar... that is serious.. work in construction area ar?
irangan
post Dec 6 2006, 05:11 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

yeah.. a very small bottle..
irangan
post Dec 7 2006, 12:58 AM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

not much inside, dont know really will last me 10 application or not as advertised.
irangan
post Dec 7 2006, 02:59 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Dec 7 2006, 09:03 AM)
I agree on this issue.I went to ALL IT the other day just to get this Zalman paste from them and i saw they only have 2 tubes.When i take a look at it, the bottle seems kinda small to me.Out of my expectation that it was so small.Anyway, when i take it out and was on my way to pay, i turn the bottle upside down and it doesnt seem to contain anything..lol..It was really like an empty bottle.Not even a slight drop of thermal paste inside.I know its those hard type but man, it scares the hell out of me as if i am buying a broken product.So i decided to put it back and maybe order from a trusted forummer here..lol..
boss, need to shake the bottle then you will see the liquid. else all of it will stick on the bottle.
irangan
post Dec 7 2006, 04:24 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

i bought one from Moderno.. still waiting for its to sink in. from what i see now, temp is higher than before.
irangan
post Dec 7 2006, 05:46 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(Doom @ Dec 7 2006, 05:19 PM)
I still prefer AS5 as the promising result compared to Zalman ...

some report better while some report otherwise ....
dont jump to conclusion. wait the stuff to sink in then only decide lo. mana tahu, zalman stg1 need to fully sink in then only can see the difference. i am having my finger cross on that smile.gif
irangan
post Dec 7 2006, 09:57 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

So far, zalman STG1 prove as a failure lo (probably i using Stock Cooler), not good enough in spreading the heat. Before this, my idle is around 34-35 then Full load around at 55-57. after applying Zalman STG1, idle 40'C Full Load 65-67. that's why i said probably zalman thermal paste need time to sink in only can see the difference.

anyone using Zalman STG1 and used it on other cpu cooler?

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.8061sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:13 AM