Thermal interface material, Discussions on thermal pad/paste/grease

akachester
post Feb 4 2007, 02:46 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(kingsthii @ Feb 4 2007, 12:44 PM)
yearly? -__' no apply yearly can? lazy oh biggrin.gif
Well, it is best to apply it once a while but i dont think there will be much damage if you dont do that.My previous P4 is still running on its stock TIM since i bought it years ago and i dont think there is much trouble in it.IIRC, its not reapplying it yearly.Something like quarterly (every 3months) or monthly..I kinda forgot.Maybe other experts can help..
pengster
post Feb 5 2007, 08:07 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

finally after 100+ hours i managed to get 33c idle for my proc laugh.gif still not very happy with it cuz my previous generic TIM can reach those temps as well sad.gif
Kataro
post Feb 5 2007, 08:17 PM

Super Saiya Jin 4
775 posts

QUOTE(pengster @ Feb 5 2007, 08:07 PM)
finally after 100+ hours i managed to get 33c idle for my proc laugh.gif still not very happy with it cuz my previous generic TIM can reach those temps as well sad.gif
now just half way, still got another half way to go...anyway, it shouldn't go lower than your casing ambient temp unless you are in air cond room where the ambient is very low... hmm.gif 33C for me consider very low liao...hope I can get that temp too... drool.gif
pengster
post Feb 5 2007, 09:02 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

wah.200hours. sweat.gif my casing ambient temp according to speedfan is around 32-33c.

im just waiting to see how good this ceramique is when i OC my cpu laugh.gif im on northwood unlike your prescott,how to compare? laugh.gif somemore D820 is one of the hottest cpu isint it wink.gif
Kataro
post Feb 5 2007, 11:32 PM

Super Saiya Jin 4
775 posts

QUOTE(pengster @ Feb 5 2007, 09:02 PM)
wah.200hours. sweat.gif my casing ambient temp according to speedfan is around 32-33c.

im just waiting to see how good this ceramique is when i OC my cpu laugh.gif im on northwood unlike your prescott,how to compare? laugh.gif somemore D820 is one of the hottest cpu isint it wink.gif
I think normally idle temp won't differ much, but load temp will (correct me if I am wrong.. tongue.gif )

Yalor, can't compare...I am just saying that if my Pentium D 820 also can get that kind of temp...then you know how well is the HSF lar...right? brows.gif
pengster
post Feb 7 2007, 06:25 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(Kataro @ Feb 5 2007, 11:32 PM)
I think normally idle temp won't differ much, but load temp will (correct me if I am wrong.. tongue.gif )

Yalor, can't compare...I am just saying that if my Pentium D 820 also can get that kind of temp...then you know how well is the HSF lar...right? brows.gif
so far now the full load temp after applyin ceramique has dropped by 2c laugh.gif now full load is 43c laugh.gif

i think only very good WC can reach that kind of temps with a D820 lah tongue.gif
Kataro
post Feb 8 2007, 12:40 AM

Super Saiya Jin 4
775 posts

QUOTE(pengster @ Feb 7 2007, 06:25 PM)
so far now the full load temp after applyin ceramique has dropped by 2c  laugh.gif now full load is 43c  laugh.gif

i think only very good WC can reach that kind of temps with a D820 lah  tongue.gif
maybe lor, but I will not opt for WC as it is too hassle and not cheap too... sad.gif

my AS5 already about 120++ hours, but the temp is around the same...even after change to CM Centurion tonite...anyway, will wait for it to totally sink in and see how...my Pentium D just too hot... cry.gif
id86
post Feb 16 2007, 05:05 PM

GG
1,052 posts

usually how long TIM in the tube or bottle like AS5 can be use until expired?
can use ka old TIM which long time no use?
akachester
post Feb 22 2007, 03:30 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Just wondering, had anyone tried the OCZ TIM before? Wondering how good are they..wanted to test it out though..

OCZ Ultra 5+ Silver Thermal Compound
saoirse
post Feb 26 2007, 05:57 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(id86 @ Feb 16 2007, 05:05 PM)
usually how long TIM in the tube or bottle like AS5 can be use until expired?
can use ka old TIM which long time no use?
actually, AS5 has no expiry date.Just need to store at cool dry place without contact to sunlight then you can treasure it forever. laugh.gif
vey99
post Feb 26 2007, 06:03 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

QUOTE(saoirse @ Feb 26 2007, 05:57 PM)
actually, AS5 has no expiry date.Just need to store at cool dry place without contact to sunlight then you can treasure it forever. laugh.gif
I bought a tube of Coolermaster nanoFusion, used it couple of times when setting up 2 rigs, then left it for like 4 months (roughly) in my toolbox. Last month I try to use, it harden oredi. Just to share...

My tube of AS5 bought earlier also no problem thumbup.gif
id86
post Feb 26 2007, 09:51 PM

GG
1,052 posts

glad to hear that biggrin.gif

i have AS5.but had bought it along time ago...just keep it safely in drawer...

im afraid if too old,the material in it will lost some function and become uneffecient sweat.gif sweat.gif
E-J@1
post Mar 3 2007, 09:14 PM

Capital E™
2,603 posts

ai, ai. ai, i need some help here, really quick one, one transaction is on the line here biggrin.gif here goes:

my fren got his TIM a bit under his proc, he's using P4, LGA775, so pinless of course, already clean the TIM using tissue, but leave a mark a bit, like dark mark, not black mark la, a dark yellow mark, can notice it cause the uninfected part a so yellowish, except the infected part laugh.gif

any u guys know how to clean it??? making the dark mark to be shiny again??? will Arctic Cleaner @ any other item alike do the job???

he wanna sell it to another friend of mine, then the buyer takut nak beli cause of the mark under the proc will void the warranty sweat.gif but the proc is usable, already test it... just wanna get the mark off, shiny like the rest of the part that is not infected whistling.gif

one more thing, if using the Arctic Cleaner @ any other item alike, will it damaged the proc??? blink.gif

need a really quick answer here:
1. will the Arctic Cleaner @ any other item alike damaged the proc??? (base of the proc, the pinless area, yup, under the proc)
2. will the Arctic Cleaner @ any other item alike clean the proc??? (base of the proc, the pinless area, yup, under the proc)

This post has been edited by E-J@1: Mar 3 2007, 09:18 PM
Kataro
post Mar 3 2007, 11:06 PM

Super Saiya Jin 4
775 posts

QUOTE(E-J@1 @ Mar 3 2007, 09:14 PM)
ai, ai. ai, i need some help here, really quick one, one transaction is on the line here biggrin.gif here goes:

my fren got his TIM a bit under his proc, he's using P4, LGA775, so pinless of course, already clean the TIM using tissue, but leave a mark a bit, like dark mark, not black mark la, a dark yellow mark, can notice it cause the uninfected part a so yellowish, except the infected part laugh.gif

any u guys know how to clean it??? making the dark mark to be shiny again??? will Arctic Cleaner @ any other item alike do the job???

he wanna sell it to another friend of mine, then the buyer takut nak beli cause of the mark under the proc will void the warranty sweat.gif  but the proc is usable, already test it... just wanna get the mark off, shiny like the rest of the part that is not infected whistling.gif

one more thing, if using the Arctic Cleaner @ any other item alike, will it damaged the proc??? blink.gif

need a really quick answer here:
1. will the Arctic Cleaner @ any other item alike damaged the proc??? (base of the proc, the pinless area, yup, under the proc)
2. will the Arctic Cleaner @ any other item alike clean the proc??? (base of the proc, the pinless area, yup, under the proc)
1. should be ok if you use arctic cleaner, just wait for it to dry before plug in back to the socket..
2. I think arctic cleaner can do the job...

anyway, I take no responsible for my above statement... tongue.gif better wait for others like lolhalol or sHawTY or other expert to answer you... thumbup.gif
pengster
post Mar 4 2007, 07:36 PM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

@E-J@1

well i've used the ArctiClean to clean of those marks on my old school p4 proc and managed to get it all clean and nice.i guess you could use that. smile.gif
E-J@1
post Mar 4 2007, 07:58 PM

Capital E™
2,603 posts

QUOTE(pengster @ Mar 4 2007, 07:36 PM)
@E-J@1

well i've used the ArctiClean to clean of those marks on my old school p4 proc and managed to get it all clean and nice.i guess you could use that. smile.gif
thanx for the info dude icon_rolleyes.gif

just wonder if the proc was not pinless cool.gif sure pain in the ass to get those TIM off laugh.gif

ur "old skool proc P4 is pinless" rite? sweat.gif cause u state "i guess you could use that", making me wonder, if ur proc were a pinless proc, no need that "i guess" word cool2.gif

This post has been edited by E-J@1: Mar 4 2007, 07:59 PM
Kataro
post Mar 4 2007, 10:00 PM

Super Saiya Jin 4
775 posts

QUOTE(E-J@1 @ Mar 4 2007, 07:58 PM)
thanx for the info dude icon_rolleyes.gif

just wonder if the proc was not pinless cool.gif sure pain in the ass to get those TIM off laugh.gif

ur "old skool proc P4 is pinless" rite? sweat.gif cause u state "i guess you could use that", making me wonder, if ur proc were a pinless proc, no need that "i guess" word cool2.gif
if he using LGA775 then sure is pinless, else... icon_rolleyes.gif
HaHaNoCluE
post Mar 13 2007, 02:10 PM

628 posts

has any1 tried or sell this TIM?? it seems to be replacing the AS5 now... correct me if i'm wrong.. i'm using artic freezer 7 pro which came with this coumpoung n i nearly wipe it off n apply AS5, but after read some comment, i leave it on.. i looks like wet cement (those uses for contrurction, grey color).. i never have the chance to compare between the 2 TIM.. any1 had any idea if the mx-1 is better or AS5..?? btw, is ther any1 selling artic fans too..?? i like the design (not a bling guy, at least not when i'm having my pc switch on in my room while i'm trying to sleep), it looks like those old sucking fan at restaurant... hahaha... with the 120mm pwm fan, i guess it's best choice for the new giant cooler master gemini hsf huh..!!

This post has been edited by HaHaNoCluE: Mar 13 2007, 02:20 PM
akachester
post Mar 27 2007, 08:26 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Just wondering, should TIM paste such as the Chill Factor feels watery?And does the chill factor need any sink in time?

My cousin had personally tested both the AS5 and chill factor at his Opteron. A fully sinked in AS5 is only about 1 - 2c cooler than a newly applied Chill Factor now.
Kyl3
post May 24 2007, 03:37 PM

1,221 posts

*noob alert*
getting my new proc wif stock hsf soon, I have some questions need to be cleared up 1st

1. If I use the Intel HSF stock thermal pad (or something else), will I rip my processor when I remove the hsf coz I read some article that says the thermal pad will stick with the proc.

2. If i want to clean the thermal pad, what kind of material I need? nail cleaner? xD

edited: found out minyak angin or tape cleaning liquid will do the cleaning tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Kyl3: May 24 2007, 04:13 PM

51 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Top

0.0188sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 08:24 PM