most of silver based thermal interface perform as the same level...just arctic silver 5 that managed to point out from the crowd there popular to it's current level today
Thermal interface material, Discussions on thermal pad/paste/grease
Jul 14 2006, 03:40 AM
1,924 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Subang Jaya |
u can search for reviws comparing all the thermal interface available in the market...i got stumble it last time but forgot the link oledi..
most of silver based thermal interface perform as the same level...just arctic silver 5 that managed to point out from the crowd there popular to it's current level today |
Nov 11 2006, 02:24 AM
collection of reviews i gathered from the net
http://www.bigbruin.com/2006/supergrease_1 http://www.tweaknews.net/reviews/zalmanthermalgrease/ http://www.obengware.com/uji/zalmanzm-stg1.htm --> Indonesian Site http://hardwarelogic.com/news/62/ARTICLE/1...2006-08-28.html i'll try to arrange to send 1 samples unit for pcmoddingmy.com for reviews...see how's thing thing perform on papers with our own local climate |
Nov 11 2006, 12:45 PM
Nov 12 2006, 03:39 PM
but if buy the CNPS9700-LED cpu cooler...the STG-1 is supplied together with the packaging..
pretty good bargain eh... |
Nov 14 2006, 07:27 PM
QUOTE(sHawTY @ Nov 13 2006, 09:10 PM) Can't find any review for this thermal paste yet... still searching for reviews.. and its good to have another good thermal paste But, as a die hard fan of Thermalright Products, i am sure that it is quite good also... Anyone found any review on this thermal paste? but i think the thermal paste still not arrived in Malaysia yet.. |
Nov 27 2006, 06:01 PM
QUOTE(id86 @ Nov 27 2006, 01:37 PM) in other words,the paste also a fluid.but we have to apply some force to it like stir or shake before it form to the real form. i can say that the composition of this thermal paste is quite the same as AS5 / CM Nano fusion, just i think it has lower moisture content than others...furthermore it was sealed in glass containers unlike the tubing sealant in AS5 / CM Nano Fusion.get what i mean?or pening2? the drying look of this STG-1 could possible happen if it was exposed towards air for sometime...maybe during packaging / production back in zalman factory or low temperature stored... if u've found this STG-1 with zero moisture content or 'keras macam batu" inside..then probably it is a faulty one... just search for reviews of this STG-1 and u can see how actually this thing in it's original semi solid - semi liquid manner |
Nov 27 2006, 11:31 PM
QUOTE(yehlai @ Nov 27 2006, 06:39 PM) i think most of silver based thermal paste do need some sink in / blended / cured time as heats will tend to break the thermal paste particles slowly and thus will provide better heat absorption between the contact area..to this statement just the arctic silver do make it as an official info from their website.. but in some cases...there's no significant changes in futher / additional dropping of temperature after the cured times here....just have the normal dropping of 2c-5c there only i'f i'm not mistaken it's 200 hours of usage then the thermal paste will make the breaktrough of optimum performance.. QUOTE(id86 @ Nov 27 2006, 10:51 PM) abg moderno,if the paste become "keras",is it any solvent (pelarut) that can bring it back to the exact form likeu said semi solid-semi liquid? QUOTE(sHawTY @ Nov 27 2006, 10:54 PM) Now this is what we call "Good Question"... if the paste become 'keras' @ 'kotoron degil' then the best way is by exchange it with another one if u bought if 1st time become lidat...as i dun know any right solvent that can disintegrate the thermal paste molecules without effecting the performance of it later..I was about to ask the same question oso... So, moderno, can you answer this question? How to make it not hard again if it's hard? best way is...after u used the STG-1...please do close the bottle lid tightly to avoid it being exposed to air that tend to give the keras effect later after some time.. guys...if u still remember the old days liquid paper do comes with similar bottle and brush like being used in STG-1...u'll know what happen if u dun close the bottle lid for some time..then the liquid paper will become like jelly a like and then will keras if exposed for longer period.. i believe this is just pretty the same to STG-1 handling...close it after u used it |
Nov 27 2006, 11:52 PM
normal ceramique based thermal paste (white one) is not purely conductive as silver based materials (AS5, STG-1)
so dun worry much lah bro...just clean it off...then wait a bit..put it back on! |
Nov 28 2006, 11:14 AM
QUOTE(id86 @ Nov 27 2006, 11:59 PM) thanx for the informations... it'll not simply will keras if leave it for few minutes...bro,how long do u think that the paste will become keras? as we see that liquid paper will turn keras just short period of time. one situation,im busy applying new paste.my hand was full and unable to put the cap of the bottle back.is it the paste will suddenly keras? just curious if this situation happen if u leave it for longer period like half / full day then the keras'ness' will possibly happen.. please do use some common sense and ur nature observation bro... |
Dec 5 2006, 12:23 AM
QUOTE(YammieR6 @ Dec 5 2006, 12:05 AM) yeah ZM-STG-1 comes together with the cnps9700led packaging here ermm.....lately got some un-natural readings on these zalman's STG-1 based on my fellow frens here... some of my customers here are using it with some significant temp drop after 1st application...but some seems to have higher temp reading that stocks thermal paste.. i try to liase with zalman korea as i've some contact with them before...see wheather they have any latest issues regarding this newly zalman stg-1 here |
Dec 12 2006, 10:39 AM
sure got the mint sensation on the procs there
This post has been edited by moderno: Dec 12 2006, 10:39 AM |
Jun 26 2007, 11:51 PM
just remember that silver based thermal interface is quite conductive...so be careful not to leave it spilled on any circuit board
Jun 29 2007, 06:09 PM
QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jun 29 2007, 04:09 PM) Arctic Cooling MX-1 seems better than AS5. i believe the results is quite subjective in different setup, applications & the way of both thermal interface is being applied to the heat subject...On monday, i bought myself a tube of MX-1 for myself. Then applied it on the same way i apply AS5 on my CPU IHS. After 4 days, MX-1 performs at 26 degrees [Yes, i'm on watercooling] While AS5 performs at 28 degrees. Wow, this does proves that MX-1 is much much better than AS5. i oso dare not to tell which one perform better as there's plenty of results that show these 2 interface pawned each other.. even arctic cooling dare not to include the comparable result with AS5 in the packaging (only AS2, AS3) which i believe it's vary in each independent case... to keep it simple...i always tell it perform almost the same between those 2...hohoho |
Jun 30 2007, 03:26 PM
QUOTE(Doom @ Jun 30 2007, 10:20 AM) The variance pretty much depend on the mounting if other condition remains the same ... hurm..great result there....i'll better try applying this MX-1 to my Opty's here...see how's the result will be an it'll be easier for me to tell my customer if they're asking me which one is better I have been using AS5 until recently shifted to MX-1.. both are good in their own way, but I got results that really shown MX-1 is 2 to 3 degrees better than AS5 ... even sHawTY agree with it ... we are not bias to any brand just performance is the most important. Anyway AS5 is easier to apply if u prefer to even the TIM across the cpu die before installing the cooler. While MX-1 is easier if u prefer just spread some in the center of the core and then install the heatsink directly. It's all up to preference .. besides MX-1 is easier to clean ... |
Jul 28 2008, 12:51 PM
u can use the pure alcohol that's come with the CD / VHS Cleaning that's sold in electrical shop
Jan 23 2009, 11:28 AM
MX-2 i i have
Arcticleaners try ask " bata " last time he kept some stocks |
| Change to: | 0.0337sec