LG OLED TV Discussion Thread, OLED TV

ben3003
post Mar 20 2020, 01:17 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(Dickong @ Mar 20 2020, 07:24 AM)
For me sdr i set expert mode ( dark room ) n DV & HDR i set cinema home user been using for 4 months aldy n think this setting really suit me best
I see.. ok thanks.. i also using expert dark room.. hdr i tried cinema home macam abit too bright the black background macam got abit light when i watch kingdom.

QUOTE(madballs @ Mar 20 2020, 10:07 AM)
Sdr use isf expert
Hdr10 use either technicolor or cinema
Dobly use cinema (if room is brightly lit then use cinema home)

If game use game mode for sdr
For hdr game use game mode with hgig tone mapping if the game support hdr control
If no hdr control, use dynamic tone mapping.

That's the closes to purist view
Okies.. thanks for the feedback. Hgig tone mapping is on for PC? Macam ps4 dont have..

ben3003
post Mar 20 2020, 05:42 PM

10,859 posts

[quote=Dickong,Mar 20 2020, 01:42 PM]
[quote=ben3003,Mar 20 2020, 01:17 PM]
I see.. ok thanks.. i also using expert dark room.. hdr i tried cinema home macam abit too bright the black background macam got abit light when i watch kingdom.
Then for hdr what setting u set

[/quote]

now trying cinema only for dolby vision. but it is less pop compared to cinema home. and cinema home default open trumotion, i off it. now i use cinema home at day if i open my window, at night will use cinema then i change my lighting to movie mode which is dim blue color.
ben3003
post Mar 20 2020, 05:47 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(madballs @ Mar 20 2020, 01:54 PM)
for HDR, the closest to D65 is Cinema, cinema home is memang too bright, but if your room is brightly lit, the its ok to use it to counter the light in the room. else it will be too dark for some ppl. most of the settings that is closest to D65 is meant to be used in dark room/ or at least minimal light.

For kingdom, it should be using DV, if you use cinema and watch in dark room, you may notice elevated black. DV greyscale is less accurate compare to SDR greyscale.
to counter this, usually we drop to 49 brightness instead of 50.
It's still not accurate, you will need pro calibration for it. for me right now i think using 49 brightness is good enough.

for PS4, you will get HGIG in dynamic tone (HGIG is not a mode, it's tone mapping, you can find it on dynamic tone and only if you enable GAME HDR mode). You can only get it if you have update your firmware to the latest available (i believe now its 4.175?)
Make sure you have use the PS4 HDR calibration also with HGIG enable.
Not all games support HGIG (you will notice it if those games doesn't have HDR control in the game, they only have brightness like HZD or GOW)
If games don't have HDR calibration/control, just use DTM.
ya kingdom is in DV> u mean is cinema or cinema home? i think cinema in dark room still okay.. not too bright and background is black for me. if cinema home definitely can feel background abit "white-ish" but more details. will try drop to 49 brightness.

i found the HGIG already. if i open hgig, should i switch off dynamic tone mapping? i tried division 2, the first thing i notice is it is not super bright which my eyes less tired lol. and i tried to open AI brightness, should i switch it off? i saw rtings say is switch off ai picture but not ai brightness.
ben3003
post Mar 24 2020, 09:22 PM

10,859 posts

https://www.flatpanelshd.com/review.php?sub...l&id=1585020920

Dolby Vision IQ was btw. supported in LG 2019 OLED TVs - now it just has an official name)

does it means our c9 has dolby vision IQ?
ben3003
post Mar 25 2020, 06:28 AM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Mar 24 2020, 11:40 PM)
That Dolby Vision IQ is announced together with LG CX.

Come to LG C9 or not, not sure, maybe as upgrade in future. smile.gif
yeah.. but the flatspanelhd say so should be ada eh lol.. hopefully in the future ada. but c9 dont have ambient light sensor i think?
ben3003
post Mar 26 2020, 07:10 AM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(kskoay @ Mar 25 2020, 10:52 PM)
Where to turn on/off the ai brightness? I only saw ai picture.... blink.gif

Thank you
inside additional control there where u can turn on dynamic tone mapping dynamic contrast if not mistaken.
ben3003
post Mar 26 2020, 10:25 AM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(Convael @ Mar 26 2020, 10:01 AM)
C9 has ambient light sensor , theoretically it can run Dolby Vision IQ as well .
However , what's different now is that the CX is running the newest Dolby Vision 4.0 ( not without its own issues ) while all previous LG TVs are using the older Dolby Vision 2.9 .

Therefore even if C9 or older TVS are updated to support DVIQ,  it will not have the exact same effects as CX .
For typical hdr yes  .

Dolby Vision doesn't has DTM because it is already running on dynamic metadata .
They have made mistakes before , so I wouldn't take whatever they say like a holy bible .

It is nice they've got a unit for review before many of us do . Especially under the circumstances where a lot of TV shipping have been delayed .
But they are such a big fan of Sony , they continue to ignore many flaws which came from Sony's TV .
They actually prefer Sony's Android UI more than webOS and tizen , that harmed their credibility by quite a bit.
the version diff so big? 2.9 vs 4.0. How can u check the DV version? i saw 4.0 was release like 2years ago
ben3003
post Mar 26 2020, 11:05 AM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(Convael @ Mar 26 2020, 10:38 AM)
The difference is more crucial for movie / shows creator who plan to master their content on Dolby Vision as DV 4 supports Integrated CMU via some apps , so you don't have to purchase an external CMU from Dolby.
As for how big the difference is , I cannot tell you right now as I have not seen an LG CX irl atm. 

Probably won't be for quite a while as well for the same reason why many TV shippings are delayed .
ohh okok.. so for end user is less important. I think in US LG oled already released, so as samsung 2020 series. maybe malaysia will be abit later, and i saw ppl saying that C9 price is actually increased by 100 in US lol.
ben3003
post Mar 31 2020, 12:18 PM

10,859 posts

just got c9 for like 1 month, definitely wont go for projector because don have room for that lol.. unless u have really proper HT room.
ben3003
post Mar 31 2020, 06:33 PM

10,859 posts

"LG's engineers talked about the implementation back in the spring of 2019. Like the 2020 models, the 2019 models use an LG-developed system for SDR, PQ and HLG whereas Dolby Vision relies on Dolby's system. So I asked them about what has changed in the 2020 models and they confirmed that it's the same implementation - now with an official name."

got this reply from the reviewer. so it is AI brightness
ben3003
post Apr 3 2020, 11:32 AM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(latios507 @ Apr 3 2020, 11:14 AM)
Any idea how much will they price the LG CX 48" when it comes out?

I'm currently using QLED 49" TV as my monitor, but i'm excited to join the OLED hype
at least 7k
ben3003
post Apr 3 2020, 08:18 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(latios507 @ Apr 3 2020, 05:56 PM)
Eh, US pricing for 48" is $1,500 and Eur is 1,800 wut.

So much for OLED finally being cheaper this year hype
impossible will be really cheap la.. else how other lcd sell lol.
ben3003
post Apr 3 2020, 09:01 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(latios507 @ Apr 3 2020, 08:46 PM)
Riiiight. Maybe someday xD
I hope CX 48" debuts somewhere around RM7k - RM8.5k
someday when lcd become cheap. but oled is still considered premium because their spec is better than led counterpart.

ok la, u wan cheap oled can find skyworth one.
ben3003
post Apr 5 2020, 07:50 AM

10,859 posts

if very bad burn-in or banding occured during warranty period, will the panel be replaced? anyone tried before?
ben3003
post Apr 5 2020, 03:33 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(xAmdx @ Apr 5 2020, 03:28 PM)
I check with HVM before I purchase and they mention they will repair or replace with no question ask. Not sure how true as I bought mine in dec2019
okies..i bought from senq.. they give 3 yrs warranty, i didnt ask about this.. anyone bought from senq ask on this before?
ben3003
post Apr 6 2020, 07:35 AM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Apr 6 2020, 04:11 AM)
The HVM I buy show me the warranty booklet and it never mentioned cover burn in, so I give up to buy the extended warranty.

Few days later I actually ask another HVM, another told me cover but the one I buy said not, I assume not as the one said not cover show me the entire booklet and inside never mentioned of burn in.
but inside LG warranty is got cover?
ben3003
post Apr 7 2020, 07:45 AM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Apr 6 2020, 11:46 PM)
The term pixel "refresh" is so misleading and it has led so many people to prematurely lower the life of their panel. What it actually does is age all the pixels in order for them to have a similar ballpark luminance. You're not "refreshing" your pixels, you're making them older actually.

Should refrain from doing manual "pixel refresh" unless you're facing severe banding issues (which is arguable where aging all the pixels may or may not help clean up the screen), have a persistent temporary image retention or may have a stuck (not dead!) pixel.

Let the TV do its own auto pixel aging, which is automatically done after every 4 hours+ (accumulated) of usage.
the automatic is that i need to leave my tv on standby mode right? may i know how it will look like when it automatic activate the function?
ben3003
post Apr 16 2020, 12:33 PM

10,859 posts

Tried watching netflix DV content using cinema 12am with all lights off and probably some lightning from balcony light(no direct). The effect is really great and i believe DV cinema really meant for cinema where u will watch it at cinema condition. Just need to give eyes a few moments to adjust from got lighting to no lighting.

I believe AI brightness is quite useful, with windows curtain open(not direct shine on screen), then i can see the AI brightness in work, where if it is off the brightness is quite low then enable it then u will see gradually the brightness tune up but constrast all maintain. I believe AI picture is the one need to turn off, but AI brightness is what Dolby Vision IQ is about.

also i noticed there is some judder while watching avengers endgame when the screen is panning, tried enable true-motion user mode de-judder at 2 and de-blur 10, i dont feel any soap opera effect also. Much better than the standard punya soap opera effect which is like watching 144hz monitor kind of smooth lol. my 2 cents only.

still tweaking and playing around with the TV. i realized that this TV PCM output only limited to 2ch. Tried to run Plex with 4k remux HDR file, then i try to run the movie using internal player, i dont see any differences in PQ wise. Anyone tried to watch disney plus using this TV? I tried using VPN but not sure is the app or the VPN, the quality is not until 4k most the time.

Btw, the super resolution thingy is for upscaling 1080p content?
ben3003
post Apr 16 2020, 05:24 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Apr 16 2020, 04:36 PM)
@bolded
Are you using eARC for the HDMI? Because if so, PCM is indeed limited to 2ch only. A fix for this bug (lmao) will come in June. If you're watching native 4k resolution content, of course you won't see a difference between Plex or the internal player. Neither Plex nor the internal player applies chroma upsampling anyways and even if they do in the future, you'll still see next to no difference because chroma sampling because human eyes sucks. Put a low res content and that's where the differences will kick in.

What Super Resolution really does is apply a very low level temporal AA to the image, this can help to mask jaggies to some extent in movies with 3D objects (or games basically). It's not used just for 1080p, it works for all resolutions but does tend to show more obvious results with lower res content. However if you put the setting too high, you may see ringing on edges too. Because there is no anti-ringing filter along with the Super Resolution option, I'd rather have it off. Ringing is far more of an eye sore than some jaggies which would be almost unnoticeable in fast panning shots anyway.
Ohh okies.. ya i am using ARC, not eARC yet lol, hopefully can update to get full channel LPCM. Not sure what is the chroma upsampling is haha.. gonna read up more.

I set to low only.. might as well turn off? My ps4 only fat version which only have 1080p. But i put high also macam see not much diff. I remember i use sony old tv native 1080p x-reality on and off can see differences, this one cannot. Maybe upscale vs native 4k is diff.
ben3003
post Apr 20 2020, 03:42 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(ginodave @ Apr 20 2020, 03:07 PM)
currently, I am using SL7Y. It will not block the visible area of the TV, however it blocks the IR sensor. need to raise the remote controller in some position to turn ON/OFF. but will get used to it after some time.
From the bottom surface, the soundbar measures 60mm height.
i tot the TV remote use RF which i normally no point to the tv also can use remote to on.

9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0226sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 08:11 AM