Coffee Lover v.2 Thread, Let's Share!

tishaban
post Sep 27 2016, 02:22 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(Shzngi @ Sep 27 2016, 01:59 PM)
Discovered this thread so late. had lot of fun reading through all your post of coffee related stuff.
I love coffee. specially coffee with a more chocolaty aroma mix in with half and half.
Welcome! Your setup looks awesome!

With some help from @lowkl I've experimented with home roasting as well, but have not been very successful so I've switched back to beanshipper/mistercoffee/lebistro biggrin.gif
ycs
post Sep 27 2016, 02:24 PM

4,232 posts

can share more info on how and what equipment for roasting? where to get the beans?
lowkl
post Sep 27 2016, 02:30 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(Shzngi @ Sep 27 2016, 01:59 PM)
Lately have gone into home roasting and the coffee experience jumped immensely.
Welcome Shzngi! Your setup is indeed impressive & well organised!

There are quite a number of forum members here to discuss all things pertaining to coffee making & enjoying. However noticed you home roast as well (which is less common). Care to share your roasting method & experiences?
d33pbluez
post Sep 27 2016, 03:29 PM

559 posts

QUOTE(zeonczk @ Sep 27 2016, 02:32 PM)
If i am not wrong, the white "cocaine powder" is Creamer..
Thanks for the esponse. I hope it is creamer.... got to buy and try out...or maybe get some free from MCD rclxms.gif

QUOTE(Shzngi @ Sep 27 2016, 02:59 PM)
Discovered this thread so late. had lot of fun reading through all your post of coffee related stuff.
I love coffee. specially coffee with a more chocolaty aroma mix in with half and half.

this is my humble set up.

Lately have gone into home roasting and the coffee experience jumped immensely.
Woah, that is a killer dedicated set up space you have there... so much well organize.... i like it thumbup.gif
meanwhile mind is all over the place including my srewdrivers, spannar, wrench sweat.gif

Man My first time ordering beans out of my state had gone wrong , sometime i just hate poslaju. Ordering bean from other state that uses poslaju is a no go. Got stuck in pos laju office for 3 days while my beans are getting more and more close to stale dateline.... vmad.gif
zeonczk
post Sep 27 2016, 04:11 PM

276 posts

QUOTE(d33pbluez @ Sep 27 2016, 03:29 PM)
Thanks for the esponse.  I hope it is creamer.... got to buy and try out...or maybe get some free from MCD  rclxms.gif

you can try it out, but i heard the creamer from Thai and M'sia have very big difference.. i am not sure though as i am sensitive to creamer..
d33pbluez
post Sep 27 2016, 04:18 PM

559 posts

QUOTE(zeonczk @ Sep 27 2016, 05:11 PM)
you can try it out, but i heard the creamer from Thai and M'sia have very big difference.. i am not sure though as i am sensitive to creamer..
Really ? hmm.gif i tried first then only change my recipe biggrin.gif
Shzngi
post Sep 27 2016, 05:58 PM

QUOTE(ycs @ Sep 27 2016, 02:24 PM)

can share more info on how and what equipment for roasting? where to get the beans?
Hi i do not use any high tech roaster to roast my coffee. In any hobby/interest i always start with the basics.
I started roasting using pan/saucepan with a lid method over the gas top. it was quite good after using a heavy cast iron with a glass covered top i could get the bean roasted around 15-16 mins second crack. i drank pan roasted coffee for 1 year now. I'm also not a coffee snob and just enjoy the freshness of the roast and notice that flavours develop each passing day. I know what people say that coffee is just right for espresso after 3-4 days but i don't see it. i drink it an hour after its roasted and its lovely. Each batch lasts me a week never longer as i find week old coffee not pleasant.

then i tried moving into a diy drum roaster (LOL) which i made out of a stainless steel bottle and some hardware parts with a hand drill.
it worked but the roasting time was far too long. as the canister was very low in mass and could not retain heat so the total roasting time too 20 mins pass and it wasn't pleasant to drink kinda like baked coffee beans. Might work if you had higher heat source. say turbo stove or maybe heat gun.

the current project I'm trying to use a fat free fryer. basically it looks like this
Decent roast it tumbles to keep the bean moving. but the roast is still quite uneven. still need to move the beans more. adding vanes to move it more and removing the thermostat is my next project hack. Temperature cuts off at 210 C. but this is all automated so my arms are not tired. pan roasting very tiring on the arms as i have to keep moving it for 15 mins. /of course can buy a real coffee roaster but where the fun in that. Plus I'm a cheapskate!!

as for the beans i buy them local. i don't order in from overseas its more expensive to buy them local but at least i get to inspect the beans before i buy them. in KL i buy them from bon cafe sri hartamas. if you need the number and address let me know. they have most basic selections there. Brazilian,sumatra,indian monsoon . if I'm up north i buy them from a coffee distributor in penang. Christopher Coffee Food & Beverage Service & Distribution Penang (you can try search online) they have more exotic beans like blue mountain /luwak.

happy roasting and drinking coffee.

This post has been edited by Shzngi: Sep 27 2016, 06:00 PM
kuluuluk
post Sep 27 2016, 08:26 PM

K u l u u l u K
2,178 posts

QUOTE(Shzngi @ Sep 27 2016, 05:58 PM)
Hi i do not use any high tech roaster to roast my coffee. In any hobby/interest i always start with the basics.
I started roasting using pan/saucepan with a lid method over the gas top. it was quite good after using a heavy cast iron with a glass covered top i could get the bean roasted around 15-16 mins second crack. i drank pan roasted coffee for 1 year now. I'm also not a coffee snob and just enjoy the freshness of the roast and notice that flavours develop each passing day. I know what people say that coffee is just right for espresso after 3-4 days but i don't see it. i drink it an hour after its roasted and its lovely. Each batch lasts me a week never longer as i find week old coffee not pleasant.

then i tried moving into a diy drum roaster (LOL) which i made out of a stainless steel bottle and some hardware parts with a hand drill.
it worked but the roasting time was far too long. as the canister was very low in mass and could not retain heat so the total roasting time too 20 mins pass and it wasn't pleasant to drink kinda like baked coffee beans. Might work if you had higher heat source. say turbo stove or maybe heat gun.

the current project I'm trying to use a fat free fryer. basically it looks like this
Decent roast it tumbles to keep the bean moving. but the roast is still quite uneven. still need to move the beans more.  adding vanes to move it more and removing the thermostat is my next project hack. Temperature cuts off at 210 C.  but this is all automated so my arms are not tired. pan roasting very tiring on the arms as i have to keep moving it for 15 mins. /of course can buy a real coffee roaster but where the fun in that. Plus I'm a cheapskate!!

as for the beans i buy them local. i don't order in from overseas its more expensive to buy them local but at least i get to inspect the beans before i buy them. in KL i buy them from bon cafe sri hartamas. if you need the number and address let me know. they have most basic selections there. Brazilian,sumatra,indian monsoon . if I'm up north i buy them from a coffee distributor in penang. Christopher Coffee Food & Beverage Service & Distribution Penang (you can try search online) they have more exotic beans like blue mountain /luwak.

happy roasting and drinking coffee.
rclxms.gif Indoma (P.P) Sdn Bhd  = Christopher Coffee Food & Beverage Service & Distribution Penang = Modern Art Furniture Sdn Bhd . That's where I got all my green beans from. icon_rolleyes.gif

Maybe can get bulk purchase for better price ... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by kuluuluk: Sep 27 2016, 08:27 PM
d33pbluez
post Sep 29 2016, 08:46 AM

559 posts

i cant believe it ....
Post Laju how can you lost my parcel contain coffee beans, coffee beans also want to curi..... vmad.gif at least beanshipper still honor my deal and replacement me with new set of beans.... thumbup.gif
lowkl
post Sep 29 2016, 10:42 AM

88 posts

Shzngi! You are definitely someone after my own heart!

I have not tried pan roasting, but based on how much agitation required to get an even roast using a heat gun, I would expect you would really have zero rest during the entire 15 minutes.

The "drum roaster" is quite a contraption! But given the fully enclosed nature of your "drum" and the use of a non-air driven heat source, it could be that the "baked" taste is from the lack of airflow.

Your rotisserie turbo oven project looks like a winner! If you are looking to put in vanes, I saw a project on homeroasters.org which used the "petals" off a steamer insert, like the one below:

As for the beans, I will PM you the stock I'm holding, in case you are interested

Happy roasting & enjoying a great cuppa!!
Dan430
post Sep 29 2016, 01:11 PM

QUOTE(d33pbluez @ Sep 29 2016, 08:46 AM)
i cant believe it ....
Post Laju how can you lost my parcel contain coffee beans, coffee beans also want to curi.....  vmad.gif at least beanshipper still honor my deal and replacement me with new set of beans.... thumbup.gif
Haha Malaysia boleh la!! thumbup.gif but atleast bean shipper honour your deal, and am sure they will...
kuluuluk
post Sep 29 2016, 03:38 PM

K u l u u l u K
2,178 posts

QUOTE(d33pbluez @ Sep 29 2016, 08:46 AM)
i cant believe it ....
Post Laju how can you lost my parcel contain coffee beans, coffee beans also want to curi.....  vmad.gif at least beanshipper still honor my deal and replacement me with new set of beans.... thumbup.gif
laugh.gif maybe the postguy likes coffee too? mega_shok.gif
d33pbluez
post Sep 30 2016, 08:03 AM

559 posts

QUOTE(Dan430 @ Sep 29 2016, 02:11 PM)
Haha Malaysia boleh la!!  thumbup.gif  but atleast bean shipper honour your deal, and am sure they will...
Yeah, Great service. But that was like after they investigated and confirm by pos laju that it is missing, I'm now absent of 2 week without my homemade caffeine fix.... hopefully they can deliver it today which i doubt they would do because most of the time they will postpone to monday or tuesday delivery.... *sigh*

QUOTE(kuluuluk @ Sep 29 2016, 04:38 PM)
laugh.gif  maybe the postguy likes coffee too?  mega_shok.gif
Haha, I doubt they are...Well i guess most they can do was kopi O with high price beans if they ever happen to really stole my package and do coffee rolleyes.gif
luvox
post Oct 1 2016, 03:55 PM

626 posts

Bought this from supplier rm 7.1
More expensive than yellow package magnolia fresh milk
Dan430
post Oct 1 2016, 09:46 PM

QUOTE(luvox @ Oct 1 2016, 03:55 PM)

Wow interesting!! where you buy from? btw haven't tried magnolia milk....maybe should give it a go and see.. so far my best and favourite milk is still 1. farm house, 2. farm fresh, 3. pura.
Castreal
post Oct 1 2016, 11:17 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(luvox @ Oct 1 2016, 03:55 PM)

I'm used to buying magnolia fresh milk twin pack at RM 15. You mean there are cheaper options? Where do buy yours? Mine is from village grocer because they are always out of stock at Aeon.
Have you tried the Batista milk? Are these "Fresh" fresh milk?
I recall seeing this in Singapore, also from Magnolia, haven't tried them though. Let us know how it fares against the regular Magnolia fresh milk, cheers!

This post has been edited by Castreal: Oct 1 2016, 11:24 PM
tishaban
post Oct 2 2016, 08:33 AM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(Castreal @ Oct 1 2016, 11:17 PM)
I'm used to buying magnolia fresh milk twin pack at RM 15. You mean there are cheaper options? Where do buy yours? Mine is from village grocer because they are always out of stock at Aeon.
Have you tried the Batista milk? Are these "Fresh" fresh milk?
I recall seeing this in Singapore, also from Magnolia, haven't tried them though. Let us know how it fares against the regular Magnolia fresh milk, cheers!
Post your milk review biggrin.gif My personal favorite is Farm Fresh Dairy, the milk is fresh & local (meaning less time in transit) and the company is very responsive to customer feedback. Good Day milk is also pretty good. The rest are far too sweet for my liking, feels like I'm drinking latte with sugar when I add it to my espresso.

ycs
post Oct 2 2016, 11:26 AM

4,232 posts

i always get the farm fresh 2L bottle, and can re-use the bottle smile.gif
luvox
post Oct 2 2016, 04:19 PM

626 posts

QUOTE(Dan430 @ Oct 1 2016, 09:46 PM)
Wow interesting!! where you buy from? btw haven't tried magnolia milk....maybe should give it a go and see.. so far my best and favourite milk is still 1. farm house, 2. farm fresh, 3. pura.
I regularly source my milk from local F&N supplier past 1 year, coz it is nearby my house & slight cheaper & definitely taste more fresh coz less cold chain breaking in transport & fluctuating shelf temperature. I initial emailed F&N asking for source, this supplier replied me.

This barista milk is good, froth nicely & taste better than magnolia yellow fresh milk. Was told it is near farmhouse grade.
It doesnt hv those strong taste of farmhouse.
Everyone expection is different for latte, hard to give proper review

Castreal
post Oct 2 2016, 04:20 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Oct 2 2016, 08:33 AM)
Post your milk review  biggrin.gif  My personal favorite is Farm Fresh Dairy, the milk is fresh & local (meaning less time in transit) and the company is very responsive to customer feedback. Good Day milk is also pretty good. The rest are far too sweet for my liking, feels like I'm drinking latte with sugar when I add it to my espresso.
We used to drink Farm Fresh, but occasionally found them to contain "yogurt" as what Farm Fresh declares.
We've exchanged it a few times, but later on find it a hassle to have to go back to the mall to exchange.
Since I'm fine with the Magnolia Fresh Milk a lot of Cafe's are using these days, so I stick with that. Never had any sour experience so far.

366 Pages « < 57 58 59 60 61 > » Top

0.0247sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 04:44 PM