> MacBook Pro Retina User Thread V2, All you can feedback here as well

Mavik
post Aug 9 2016, 07:15 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(silverwave @ Aug 2 2016, 11:23 PM)
Hello, anyone knows where I can get a non branded model of this? Most places are selling the original Apple model at Rm100+ but i was told that some shops sell normal brands for Rm20-RM30.

Cable
I initially bought a third party one from Lowyat but it constantly gave me headaches (signal lost) especially when I was giving presentations at work and the signal kept disappearing and I had to plug and unplug the connector again. I bought an original one and never had to look for 3rd party accessories again.
post Aug 10 2016, 12:18 AM

346 posts

hi guys im not sure where I can post this. ill try here.

my sisters macbook pro dropped and damaged the screen

its a 13" retina display macbook pro and apple shop quoted about 1-2k to replace. (only will tell real price upon confirming repair -.-)

any other suggestion ? I was thinking, are there scrapyards where for example i can find a working screen with broken MB etc ...?

Or any sifu here that know how to fix this without charging a bomb? hehe
jumpstat
post Aug 10 2016, 08:08 AM

1,352 posts

QUOTE(0501024 @ Aug 10 2016, 12:18 AM)

hi guys im not sure where I can post this. ill try here.

my sisters macbook pro dropped and damaged the screen

its a 13" retina display macbook pro and apple shop quoted about 1-2k to replace. (only will tell real price upon confirming repair -.-)

any other suggestion ? I was thinking, are there scrapyards where for example i can find a working screen with broken MB etc ...?

Or any sifu here that know how to fix this without charging a bomb? hehe
Bro, do try at Imbi plaza there, there are 2nd hand shops. Those non retina i know can find but retina displays are still new in a sense. BTW, you don't have the 'apple care'?
post Aug 10 2016, 09:12 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(jumpstat @ Aug 10 2016, 08:08 AM)
Bro, do try at Imbi plaza there, there are 2nd hand shops. Those non retina i know can find but retina displays are still new in a sense. BTW, you don't have the 'apple care'?
Hi bro thanks for reply.
I think my sis told me it's expired. She got it in mid2014 😂
jumpstat
post Aug 10 2016, 10:53 AM

1,352 posts

QUOTE(0501024 @ Aug 10 2016, 09:12 AM)
Hi bro thanks for reply.
I think my sis told me it's expired. She got it in mid2014 😂
I meant 'apple care' that is extra on top the standard warranty. IIRC it was for arround RM900, that goes for 3 years no questions. I think it is wort it to have.

Anyway, at Imbi look at the 1st floor somewhere at the side. Its a used equipment shop so to speak, something like a kedai potong but for IT products. All the best bro.
post Aug 10 2016, 11:18 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(jumpstat @ Aug 10 2016, 10:53 AM)
I meant 'apple care' that is extra on top the standard warranty. IIRC it was for arround RM900, that goes for 3 years no questions. I think it is wort it to have.

Anyway, at Imbi look at the 1st floor somewhere at the side. Its a used equipment shop so to speak, something like a kedai potong but for IT products. All the best bro.

oh i see. sorry im more a windows guy so no idea about it haha ill ask again.

thanks for your feedback!
BRY7
post Aug 10 2016, 12:37 PM

Siri: I'm your humble personal assistant
7,924 posts

QUOTE(jumpstat @ Aug 10 2016, 10:53 AM)

Apple Care does not cover accidental
post Aug 10 2016, 01:23 PM

346 posts

does anyone know if i can franken-monitor the retina screen with a normal macbook pro 13" screen?
joe_pwr
post Aug 11 2016, 11:50 PM

71 posts

Hi, would like to know you'z macbook pro retina 13" avg cpu temp? Mine is kinda high when idling araoud 60c-70c. Plus when scanning for malware or gaming it will easily hit 100c. Any thoughts?
akimi
post Aug 12 2016, 03:38 AM

21 posts

Anyone knows how much does it cost to repair the speaker?

My MBP Retina Mid 2015 is making a buzzing noise at the left speaker all of a sudden, like blown bass. I wasn't playing loud music actually, the problem suddenly occurs.
jumpstat
post Aug 12 2016, 07:58 AM

1,352 posts

QUOTE(akimi @ Aug 12 2016, 03:38 AM)
Anyone knows how much does it cost to repair the speaker?

My MBP Retina Mid 2015 is making a buzzing noise at the left speaker all of a sudden, like blown bass. I wasn't playing loud music actually, the problem suddenly occurs.
If still got warranty, send to SC bro.
jumpstat
post Aug 12 2016, 08:00 AM

1,352 posts

QUOTE(joe_pwr @ Aug 11 2016, 11:50 PM)
Hi, would like to know you'z macbook pro retina 13" avg cpu temp? Mine is kinda high when idling araoud 60c-70c. Plus when scanning for malware or gaming it will easily hit 100c. Any thoughts?
Using fan controls, its averaging around 58 -60 degrees. CPU1 and CPU2 having higher side.
jumpstat
post Aug 12 2016, 08:02 AM

1,352 posts

QUOTE(0501024 @ Aug 10 2016, 01:23 PM)
does anyone know if i can franken-monitor the retina screen with a normal macbook pro 13" screen?
You could try if there is someone willing to do it, but I am sure it would be difficult as I am sure the ribbon cables differs between the two since both having different resolutions etc etc.
akimi
post Aug 12 2016, 08:36 AM

21 posts

QUOTE(jumpstat @ Aug 12 2016, 07:58 AM)
If still got warranty, send to SC bro.
Warranty just expired on June. And I too bad I didn't purchase the AppleCare plan.
alister88
post Aug 12 2016, 04:22 PM

1,367 posts

Hi All,
Can I buy SSD for MBP here locally? Im currently using 256, planning to get 512.

Thanks!
Mavik
post Aug 12 2016, 07:17 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(alister88 @ Aug 12 2016, 04:22 PM)
Hi All,
Can I buy SSD for MBP here locally? Im currently using 256, planning to get 512.

Thanks!
Depends on your MBP model and which year it is. The older ones you can get it here but the newer ones requires purchasing the SSD overseas.
joe_pwr
post Aug 12 2016, 08:00 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(jumpstat @ Aug 12 2016, 08:00 AM)
Using fan controls, its averaging around 58 -60 degrees. CPU1 and CPU2 having higher side.
I guess the thermal paste used in manufacturing isn't that good. Currently using smcfancontrol to increase fan rpm when temp increase.
jumpstat
post Aug 13 2016, 03:08 PM

1,352 posts

Hi All,

Thanks!
It gets bloody expensive when upgrading after purchase mbp.... those who bought 128Gb many got issues, but 256 should be manageable. I am on 256gb and I opted for a cloud storage rather than gettign and upgrade.
jumpstat
post Aug 13 2016, 03:10 PM

1,352 posts

QUOTE(joe_pwr @ Aug 12 2016, 08:00 PM)
I guess the thermal paste used in manufacturing isn't that good. Currently using smcfancontrol to increase fan rpm when temp increase.
What sort of temperatures your mbp experiencing? Mine do get really hot whilst playing simulation games, can relly hear the fans at max speed but its about 2 years still ok .
remix2040
post Aug 13 2016, 07:41 PM

Ma! Get the camera!
4,423 posts

Hi All,

Thanks!
QUOTE(jumpstat @ Aug 13 2016, 03:08 PM)
It gets bloody expensive when upgrading after purchase mbp.... those who bought 128Gb many got issues, but 256 should be manageable. I am on 256gb and I opted for a cloud storage  rather than gettign and upgrade.
especially when there's only a few sellers on eBay right now. Im gonna buy the 1TB SSD from eBay the moment when i have the extra cash laying around. As of now it stands at a price of 1699 USD lol.

101 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Top

0.0400sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 01:43 PM