I am very happy with mine. 2014 version, so far so good...
1.3 years old, 205 cycles and counting.
> MacBook Pro Retina User Thread V2, All you can feedback here as well
Jan 5 2016, 09:55 AM
1,352 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
Hello all MacBook Pro users!
I am very happy with mine. 2014 version, so far so good... 1.3 years old, 205 cycles and counting. |
Jan 6 2016, 12:44 PM
QUOTE(carpathia @ Jan 5 2016, 11:24 AM) Well if the unit is being used in a harzadous environment, factory etc, then some sort of body skin would be useful. For heat dissipation, the unibody as designed by apple acts as medium to transfer the heat from the electronics. Obviously a naked body will dissipate heat more efficiently than with a covered body. I myself wouldnt use any coverings and would rather go naked. |
Jan 6 2016, 01:03 PM
Jan 6 2016, 04:29 PM
QUOTE(wwoosy @ Jan 6 2016, 01:36 PM) I am using Western Digital Personal Cloud. It comes in 1Te, 3Te and 6Te. I opted for the 3Te. I have been using it for the past 6 months and so foar it is running fine. i can back up automatically and can also keep all my photos, videos, docs on it and hooked up to my home network. Of course if you have fast internet then it would be very good as streamming is also possible without any glitching. FYI my home is using 2Mbps and it is still no issues. |
Jan 6 2016, 10:42 PM
QUOTE(westlife @ Jan 6 2016, 07:28 PM) Data transfer from laptop to wd personal cloud storage is slow. and it can only be done via network (wired or wireless). So the transfer speed relies a lot a lot on your LAN speed, such as your wireless router maximum transfer speed and worst part is no USB connection can be used to transfer the data from PC into the cloud storage and it takes super long time to download data out from the storage. It will be a disaster if u need to transfer a huge amount of data onto it. Yes indeed, the lan must be a speedy one in order to get the faster upload/download to/fro rmbp and personal cloud. As reference, 5gb of data takes roughly 3 minutes wirelessly. When wired, ie rmbp hooked up to router will half its time. I think for my setup, it is exceptable. But I do remember when I first got the cloud, it took alot of time to backup all the files for the first time. Its considerably faster on subsequent backups though.I have one 2TB, it is good to use as a steaming server for video etc but it is bad when it needs to transfer data in and out from it, |
Feb 10 2016, 09:29 AM
QUOTE(dino89 @ Feb 7 2016, 01:21 PM) Does the rMBP screen has some sort of coating layer? I noticed there are like "scratches" on the screen, which I think it looks more like the coating wearing off. Any of you guys face this issue? Apple's anti reflection coating wore off. Anyway mine got some here and there but it does not effect whilst using, also using outside. |
Feb 10 2016, 09:32 AM
QUOTE(andylim22 @ Feb 9 2016, 06:00 PM) anyone knows where i can buy the c7 power cord? I got mine from US and it has the 2 pin instead of the UK 3 pin one =D Dont't know whether that piece u r looking for comes seperate with the adapter. These accessories are quite pricey. Anyway you can always get a dedicated adapter for your 2 pin to 3 pin, it would be cheaper. |
Feb 10 2016, 09:35 AM
QUOTE(dino89 @ Feb 8 2016, 09:39 PM) Mine just finished warranty already I have some minor marks on mine too, looking a it, it may due to the screen touching the keyboard. Anyway its not effecting the usage of the notebook. I have also tested using the nbook outside in the open, so far like normal.I googled the problem and I saw their cases all so much worse compared to mine "small spots" only. Will wait fir it to bcom worse then only contact Apple Care |
Feb 10 2016, 12:42 PM
Feb 11 2016, 03:54 PM
QUOTE(andylim22 @ Feb 11 2016, 12:58 PM) thanks bro but it would be hard to plug in an international adaptor to those wall areas which has limited space True.. I get what you meant. Might I suggest hunting around Imbi plaza. I know there is a coupple of shops there that deals in notebook accessories. U might get lucky and score a 2nd hand which would suffice. |
Feb 17 2016, 03:51 PM
QUOTE(blstz @ Feb 17 2016, 03:00 PM) just wondering those WD external hdd, some models are stated "for Mac" which are slightly more expensive. any difference besides having it able to be used right out of the box? I wanted to get an external drive for my mac and also noticed this with WD products, in the end I got the WD cloud storage and it has worked well since. Even installation was quite easy for a non-it person as myself. |
Feb 24 2016, 01:20 PM
QUOTE(carpathia @ Feb 24 2016, 11:30 AM) Actually WD hdd has the lowest failure rate among all hdd brands if im not mistaken. Yup, I do agree with this. I too had very bad experince with seagate drives previously. I had 2 x 2.5" external drives and 1x3.5" that went kaput on me few years back. Now I have WD cloud drive and an external, which so far is running fine.Seagate has the highest so i avoid them like the plague , based on personal experience and overall data on the internet |
Feb 25 2016, 10:02 AM
QUOTE(00king00 @ Feb 25 2016, 09:44 AM) Hi everyone, I'm about to get a Macbook Pro w/ retina, I googled and saw many negative feedback of the screen flickering. Is there anyone facing flickering problem in Malaysia? There are lemons as this is a product. However issues do crop up but you must appreciate that those without issues are in many numbers. I for one is very happy with it (mine is the 2014 model) although there is some issue with the screen anti reflective coating. But for me it does not affect the operation so I'm good. But everything else is tip top.Just a note, ensure you go for the min hard of 256Gb or more. and 16Gb ram is best for best experience. All the best in your choices. |
Feb 25 2016, 10:31 AM
QUOTE(00king00 @ Feb 25 2016, 10:09 AM) I'm still thinking either to get the non-retina or the retina. But due to budget limit, I only able to get the 128gb with education discount at most. Any comment about the non-retina? Quite frankly, the 128Gb version will not be enough for you. Furthermore the mac run better on the 256Gb version (faster) than the 128Gb. Alot of owners who bought the 128Gb version is having regrets. It is unfortunate that the prices now is very high compared to the last years pricing mainly due to our falling ringgit. Maybe if you are lucky to secure a 2nd hand unit, at least the will be a lot of savings there.As for retina display, having used it i dont think I can revert back to non retina. Even using a PC with a much larger LCD display also couldnt match the colours and clarity that a retina display can provide. So my advise is to save up and then get it. And be aware that there is noway to upgrade the ssd or ram. |
Feb 28 2016, 06:00 PM
QUOTE(00king00 @ Feb 28 2016, 04:35 PM) hi, I just got my rmbp 13 today. R u facing the screen anti reflective coating issue? Is there any way to prevent it or is apple malaysia got free replacement? scaryyyy... >< my first 6k device. Yup, got a few spots on the screen but it does not effect usage, so i am not bothered. Can only see it when the screen is off. If the damage effects the quality, then I am going to claim warranty. So far I am still good. |
Feb 28 2016, 06:01 PM
Feb 29 2016, 12:02 PM
Mar 7 2016, 08:39 AM
QUOTE(Nicklly @ Mar 5 2016, 11:39 PM) anyone face the issue - the left side usb 3.0 plug is not sensitive - whenever i plug in thing it couldn't detect - small thing like wireless mouse usb stick or 8gb pendrive.. I remember this issue when I first received my rMBP. It is very awkward at first as both the left and right USB sometimes ok sometimes not ok (reading). Then I restarted the rMBP. Its woud then be able to detect it. This issue was intermittent but after a few restarts, the USB works well. Same goes with external drives etc. At first it cannot detect. Do a restart its ok after that. Try that. |
Mar 8 2016, 08:41 AM
QUOTE(Nicklly @ Mar 7 2016, 10:00 AM) I would imagine, the notebook requires to load the drivers for each type of hardware that is connected to it. Once all the drivers loaded, there wont be any issues. Only earlier days got issue on mine, now no issues. But on the other hand if it still persist, then might as well send it in for diagnosis. |
Mar 9 2016, 07:55 AM
| Change to: | 0.0626sec