5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

> MacBook Pro Retina User Thread V2, All you can feedback here as well

remix2040
post Jan 19 2016, 10:24 PM

Ma! Get the camera!
4,423 posts

I finally jumped the gun and bought myself a fully maxed out MacBook Pro 15" for myself. Reporting in biggrin.gif
remix2040
post Jan 20 2016, 11:01 AM

Ma! Get the camera!
4,423 posts

QUOTE(invisiblelim @ Jan 18 2016, 11:20 AM)
you don't need a thunderbolt thumb drive ba? what for you need a 10gbps transfer rate for a 64GB or 128GB thumb drive..

even with thunderbolt SSD drive, the cost is > 350USD for a 128GB drive, can't imagine you want a thumb drive size..

some sharing for your information smile.gif

http://www.cnet.com/topics/storage/best-ha...derbolt-drives/
But thunderbolt is good for video editing. 😂😂😂
remix2040
post Jan 20 2016, 12:29 PM

Ma! Get the camera!
4,423 posts

QUOTE(ciwi1166 @ Jan 20 2016, 12:21 PM)
prepare to be poorfag..tongue.gif
Already poor 😂😂 maggi mee for the next 10 months 😂😂
remix2040
post Jan 20 2016, 03:27 PM

Ma! Get the camera!
4,423 posts

QUOTE(avengers88 @ Jan 20 2016, 03:13 PM)
Dun wan wait for the skylake version? Haha.
When Skylake version comes out and has a better reason for me to upgrade again, then I'll upgrade again loh. I came from the MacBook 12" and I was very used to the Force Touch trackpad.
remix2040
post Jan 21 2016, 04:34 AM

Ma! Get the camera!
4,423 posts

QUOTE(Nicklly @ Jan 20 2016, 07:29 PM)
I'm user of rmbp13' mid 2014 - spec was 128gb + 8gb ram - lately was feeling to upgrade my laptop - either adding ssd or ram or whatsoever - but after check it's unable to do it -

I was very satisfy with the rmbp - but due to unable to upgrade was thinking to change it to razor, however due to the price is not that cheap will planning to test it - anyone could advise where can I test this razor blade QHD+.

Would like to get more comment on this - whether to change or not.

The reason why want to change is - there isn't any specific reason to change it - maybe is just to try out different product

Another weakness of this razer: doesn't have SD card slot
off topic. but why not wait for the Razer Blade Stealth. Similar form factor to the rMBP 13" i suppose. But it's rated an ultrabook. So im not sure. and it's rather cheap too, if im not mistaken. and top up a little and can buy the Razer Core.

The Razer laptops are basically just a black macbook pro with insane specs and insane price. tongue.gif
remix2040
post Jan 21 2016, 11:44 PM

Ma! Get the camera!
4,423 posts

QUOTE(Nicklly @ Jan 21 2016, 10:43 PM)
just look thru the razer blade stealth - it seem great.. will need this kind of ultrabooks
it's extremely portable as i see from youtube videos from CES 2016. Looks like gonna be the new powerhaus soon haha. Might get one if I have extra cash lying around.
remix2040
post Jan 23 2016, 12:51 AM

Ma! Get the camera!
4,423 posts

QUOTE(netboy @ Jan 23 2016, 12:20 AM)
Dual core i5 broadwell vs quad core i7 haswell, use mainly for video editing. I'm undecided. 13"'s portability is definitely a win, but I don't mind the extra tad bit of weight and screen if the processor power is useful for my work.
I owned the 13" base model for 3 weeks. Initially got it for video editing purposes. scrubbing through 1/4 resolution laggy as f*ck. Then I decided to buy the MacBook 12" for fun to try out the Core M processor. Scrubbing through 1/2 resolution is even better than the 13" base model lol. Edits 1080p fine BUT renders painfully slow. I run out of battery before i finish rendering. But I loved the portability. Used it for almost 6 months. Now i finally settled on the 15" and fully spec-ed out. LOVE the 4K edits, playback is smooth, scrubbing through the timeline was a breeze. No lags and my playback is full resolution in native 4K. However, the render times are marginally better. Not a whole lot but just 30 seconds to 45 seconds better.
remix2040
post Jan 23 2016, 03:27 PM

Ma! Get the camera!
4,423 posts

QUOTE(netboy @ Jan 23 2016, 03:00 PM)
Thanks for the input, not sure it's the dual-core or 8GB ram issue though. Anyway I'm already leaning towards the 15". Would rather ease my work and sacrifice some portability.
The discrete card is supposed to help for the rendering times. But I don't see much of an improvement over the 13" model. But 16GB RAM is definitely something nice to have.
remix2040
post Jan 27 2016, 04:35 PM

Ma! Get the camera!
4,423 posts

QUOTE(ionStorm @ Jan 27 2016, 04:27 PM)
Hang on. When you say BASE MODEL, do you mean the one with the 500GB HDD?
base model refers to the retina MacBook Pro 13" which has the 128GB PCIe SSD. The one i tested was the Mid 2014 model.
remix2040
post Jan 27 2016, 05:36 PM

Ma! Get the camera!
4,423 posts

QUOTE(ionStorm @ Jan 27 2016, 04:50 PM)
Your experience sounds odd. Are you editing with Premiere CC? Maybe OpenCL wasn't fully implemented at the time.
I was on After Effects for years. And now I switched up to Premiere lol. Premiere 4K playback is fine as hell. Haha
remix2040
post Jan 27 2016, 09:39 PM

Ma! Get the camera!
4,423 posts

QUOTE(ionStorm @ Jan 27 2016, 09:19 PM)
I recall building a monster (desktop) for AE early 2014. I remember OpenCL wasn't ready yet because we decided not to go for a Mac Pro and I had to have HW acceleration. I suspect this resulted in your poor experience.

I believe if you were to try a MBP 13 with AE/PP + OpenCL, you might find the RT performance on par with the MB 12 since they have almost the same graphics performance, with the added advantage of faster render times.

The only thing better than the MBP 13 is the MBP 15 with discrete graphics.
case in point.

Perhaps as you pointed out, I was using Ae CC 2014 July Build which probably may or may not have OpenCL enabled. But by right, it should have. However, at the time, I do recall, Ae CC 2014 July Build popping up an error every now and then. But having tested the MacBook Pro 13" and the MacBook 12", the render times of the MacBook 12" did a little better. 30 seconds to 45 seconds faster, rendering a 3 minute 4K edit. I was using the same Ae CC 2014 July Build. I only did a TM backup and restored it on another.

Of course the 15" would do better haha. I haven't rendered anything on my MacBook since I got it. But I already pieced my clips together but haven't done any cc or cg just yet. Too busy to edit now aha.
remix2040
post Jan 29 2016, 02:11 PM

Ma! Get the camera!
4,423 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Jan 29 2016, 01:06 PM)
Skylake Mac Notebooks May See Staggered Launch in 2016, Led by MacBook and 13" MacBook Pro
Thursday January 28, 2016 7:55 am PST by Joe Rossignol
Apple is expected to refresh its MacBook lineup in 2016 with Intel's faster Skylake processors and Thunderbolt 3 with USB-C, and supply chain sources now indicate the updated notebooks may see a staggered launch throughout the year.

The company's manufacturing partners are expected to start producing new 12-inch MacBook and 13-inch MacBook Pro models around late March or early April, followed by 15-inch MacBook Pro models in the third quarter, according to the sometimes-reliable Taiwanese website DigiTimes.

Retina-MacBook-USB-C
If accurate, new 12-inch MacBook and 13-inch MacBook Pro models could debut at Apple's rumored March media event, alongside the new 4-inch iPhone, iPad Air 3, and Apple Watch updates, or at WWDC, likely scheduled for mid-June. Smaller updates could also be announced at any time via press release.

The larger 15-inch MacBook Pro may not be launched until after WWDC, however, as the third quarter translates to between July and September. While that seems questionable, Apple may elect to announce a new 15-inch MacBook Pro at WWDC and begin shipping the notebook later in the year.

Last year, Apple refreshed the 13-inch MacBook Pro in March, but its 15-inch sibling was not updated until May. For this reason, the 13-inch model is classified as Early 2015, and the 15-inch model is Mid 2015. Both notebooks received Force Touch trackpads, faster flash storage, longer battery life, and improved graphics.

The Early 2015 13-inch MacBook Pro is based on Intel's newer Broadwell chip architecture, while the 15-inch model still has older Haswell architecture. Since then, Intel has announced Skylake chips appropriate for the 13-inch MacBook Pro in September and 15-inch MacBook Pro earlier this week.

Given that Skylake chips have been announced for both the 13-inch and 15-inch MacBook Pro, there does not appear to be any reason for Apple to stagger the release of its notebooks this year. But, perhaps in line with its 2015 release cycle, Apple may plan to give the current 15-inch MacBook Pro a longer shelf life before replacing it.

Intel also announced Skylake chips appropriate for the 12-inch MacBook and MacBook Airs throughout 2015, so it is likely we will see Mac updates across the board over the coming months. The report also claims a new iMac will be released in 2016, but an update is unlikely until later in the year.
If the new macbook pro 15 comes with USB type C, I'm getting it in a heartbeat.
remix2040
post Jan 29 2016, 10:24 PM

Ma! Get the camera!
4,423 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Jan 29 2016, 08:40 PM)
5-6 months, Apple's QC has really dropped... i'm considering selling the new replacement off and getting a Surface Pro 4 instead now..
Surface Book seems like a more worthwhile change from a rMBP. Discrete card inside the keyboard. Best Tablet/laptop hybrid. drool.gif drool.gif wub.gif
remix2040
post Jan 29 2016, 11:52 PM

Ma! Get the camera!
4,423 posts

QUOTE(ionStorm @ Jan 29 2016, 11:50 PM)
Only if the damn thing worked as advertised.
Ha. true hahaha. Discrete card so what, can't edit for sh*t. At least that's what technobuffalo said. hahaha
remix2040
post Feb 5 2016, 01:29 AM

Ma! Get the camera!
4,423 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Feb 4 2016, 07:17 PM)
Received my brand new replacement. Ahh.. I like unboxing and unwrapping new stuffs.. But I'll wait a couple more days for offers. If none comes I'll have no choice but to remain with Apple again...
i want your tardisk minidrive sad.gif you selling it separately?
remix2040
post Feb 5 2016, 02:30 PM

Ma! Get the camera!
4,423 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Feb 5 2016, 12:02 PM)
lol sorry comes together with the rMBP  sad.gif
lol interested? but you sold off your rMBP because you wanted the rMB right  tongue.gif
Nooooo. But I want it sad.gif I want extra spaceeee sad.gif is there any way I can convince you sad.gif
remix2040
post Feb 5 2016, 03:56 PM

Ma! Get the camera!
4,423 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Feb 5 2016, 03:39 PM)
Mine is just the adapter for micro sd la lol, you can use any SD card without adapter as well.
You can convince me by buying the whole bundle  biggrin.gif
Lazy to insert my sd card reader la. HAHA extra bulk.

I just bought a fully speced out rMBP 15" lel hahaha
remix2040
post Feb 10 2016, 05:10 PM

Ma! Get the camera!
4,423 posts

QUOTE(gavingoh @ Feb 10 2016, 01:30 PM)
R9 user here, Hello blush.gif
Same here. Haha. I fully spec-ed out mine.
remix2040
post Feb 11 2016, 10:25 PM

Ma! Get the camera!
4,423 posts

QUOTE(ganick5461 @ Feb 11 2016, 10:18 PM)
Let say if a new macbookpro announced in March, how long usually it takes to arrive for sale in Malaysia or Singapore?
Singapore mostly immediately. But Malaysia maybe 1 or 2 months later.
remix2040
post Feb 25 2016, 02:29 PM

Ma! Get the camera!
4,423 posts

Upgrading SSD is possible. Go search on eBay for OEM Mac SSD and followed by the model number of your macbook. They are extracted from laptop from the same model previously and refurbished and resold at a hell of a lot cheaper price. A 1TB PCIe SSD is about 1.1k USD and that translates to about 5k ringgit with shipping. A 256 or 512 ranges from 500 ringgit to 1k.

Try at your own discretion. Voids warranty indefinitely once you open up the bottom plate.

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0251sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 04:53 AM