> MacBook Pro Retina User Thread V2, All you can feedback here as well
ciwi1166
Nov 1 2016, 10:30 PM
QUOTE(Dentarg @ Nov 1 2016, 10:20 PM) Apple introduces the iPhone 7 and removes - headphone jack And that took 'courage' Later Apple introduces the new MacBook Pro Retina with Touch Bar and removes - MagSafe 2 charging port type - HDMI port - SD card slot - Thunderbolt 2 ports - standard USB port It replaces with four Thunderbolt 3/USB-C ports. Surprisingly the headphone jack still remains. I think Apple have more 'courage' on the new MacBook Pro Retina 2016 then on the iPhone 7. courage or leap of faith aka gamble ?
kietto
Nov 1 2016, 11:56 PM

QUOTE(Yougene_Boy @ Nov 1 2016, 02:45 PM) Those with 8gb decent spec or all were high spec? decent spec
Yougene_Boy
Nov 2 2016, 01:06 AM
westlife
Nov 2 2016, 01:56 AM
QUOTE(Dentarg @ Nov 1 2016, 10:20 PM) Apple introduces the iPhone 7 and removes - headphone jack And that took 'courage' Later Apple introduces the new MacBook Pro Retina with Touch Bar and removes - MagSafe 2 charging port type - HDMI port - SD card slot - Thunderbolt 2 ports - standard USB port It replaces with four Thunderbolt 3/USB-C ports. Surprisingly the headphone jack still remains. I think Apple have more 'courage' on the new MacBook Pro Retina 2016 then on the iPhone 7. Apple is good at taking the 'lead' to force users to change their usage behavior. Over time, ppl will change due to this. Based on past records, u can see people are complaining about it but over time it becomes natural.
jumpstat
Nov 2 2016, 07:57 AM
If I were to upgrade, the most sensible would be for a 16Gb ram and 512Gb SSD. And that would be an upgrade to my existing 2014 8/256. Due to the price difference and the minimal processor vram upgrade, it would be silly to get the lebih kurang specs....and also need to consider the higher cost of living...
cHaRsIeWpAu^^
Nov 2 2016, 09:18 AM
QUOTE(westlife @ Nov 1 2016, 07:19 PM) Besides, between 256gb and 512gb which one will u guys go for? not worth to go for 256gb if you aim for future proof, especially apple removed its sd card slot. add a bit for 512gb ssd and 16gb ram for future proof 5years better, since we decided to spend so much money on this. in chinese we say you can buy a cow then you should able to buy the rope too. This post has been edited by cHaRsIeWpAu^^: Nov 2 2016, 09:25 AM
calvincty
Nov 2 2016, 09:44 AM

QUOTE(westlife @ Nov 1 2016, 07:19 PM) Besides, between 256gb and 512gb which one will u guys go for? I'll still stick to 256GB as I don't consumed that much of media in my computer (mostly do streaming on Minix & Smart TV when I'm at home, and youtube while I'm outside), I have never use more than 100GB over 4 years. My laptop mainly for works including web development & data engineering works which mostly will be rely on a lightweight VM linux server and a high spec cloud linux server. For large size archived files (which I don't actively used in daily task) are all uploaded to the cloud and only download when it is necessary. This post has been edited by calvincty: Nov 2 2016, 09:45 AM
ciwi1166
Nov 2 2016, 10:28 AM
QUOTE(westlife @ Nov 2 2016, 01:56 AM) Apple is good at taking the 'lead' to force users to change their usage behavior. Over time, ppl will change due to this. Based on past records, u can see people are complaining about it but over time it becomes natural. i hv nothing againt Apple, been using mbp for years, but imo some of the changes are too fast, and quite against the trend. It's more like u are forced to adapt, rather than accepting. of course overtime u have to live with it. Apple hv to thanks their brand loyalty for this.
Yougene_Boy
Nov 2 2016, 03:42 PM
So siapa ordered d? Which model?
JohnDiew0107
Nov 3 2016, 02:55 PM
QUOTE(domcobb @ Nov 1 2016, 01:43 PM) Dunno why this writer hate the base model MBP so much
dino89
Nov 3 2016, 05:59 PM
QUOTE(westlife @ Nov 2 2016, 01:56 AM) Apple is good at taking the 'lead' to force users to change their usage behavior. Over time, ppl will change due to this. Based on past records, u can see people are complaining about it but over time it becomes natural. Apple has yet to release any lightning cable to USB C cable? Or is there an adaptor for it? How to plug in iPhone to the new Macbooks?
westlife
Nov 3 2016, 06:05 PM
QUOTE(dino89 @ Nov 3 2016, 05:59 PM) Apple has yet to release any lightning cable to USB C cable? Or is there an adaptor for it? How to plug in iPhone to the new Macbooks? There is lighting to use-c cable available already.
doinkz_gaara
Nov 3 2016, 11:04 PM
Do you think it's wise for me to buy the 2015 MBP to upgrade from my 15inch 2012 model? Don't think the 2016 one is worth it.
Tomokitsu
Nov 4 2016, 12:43 AM

Hello guys recently just joined macbook family mind if i ask what protection you guys use? i got a transparent hardcase and currently looking for a sleeve for travel been eyeing on the Thule..what sleeve you guys use?
Where can i pay a visit to look for sleeves?
This post has been edited by Tomokitsu: Nov 4 2016, 12:49 AM
Yougene_Boy
Nov 4 2016, 08:14 AM
QUOTE(doinkz_gaara @ Nov 3 2016, 11:04 PM) Do you think it's wise for me to buy the 2015 MBP to upgrade from my 15inch 2012 model? Don't think the 2016 one is worth it.  Would advise you buying it within your budget
westlife
Nov 4 2016, 08:52 AM
QUOTE(doinkz_gaara @ Nov 3 2016, 11:04 PM) Do you think it's wise for me to buy the 2015 MBP to upgrade from my 15inch 2012 model? Don't think the 2016 one is worth it.  Only different is force touch and speed. If change to 2016 models, it is drastically changed.
dino89
Nov 4 2016, 10:28 AM
QUOTE(doinkz_gaara @ Nov 3 2016, 11:04 PM) Do you think it's wise for me to buy the 2015 MBP to upgrade from my 15inch 2012 model? Don't think the 2016 one is worth it.  Depend on your budget lor. The 2015 rMBP is dated already but still a capable laptop
Yougene_Boy
Nov 4 2016, 10:42 AM
QUOTE(dino89 @ Nov 4 2016, 10:28 AM) Depend on your budget lor. The 2015 rMBP is dated already but still a capable laptop  It is hard to get a cheap 2015 model with 16gb unless order from Apple. If push up the spec, $ would be almost on par with new model. Better buy new one d
K-LY
Nov 4 2016, 11:03 AM
QUOTE(Yougene_Boy @ Nov 4 2016, 11:42 AM) It is hard to get a cheap 2015 model with 16gb unless order from Apple. If push up the spec, $ would be almost on par with new model. Better buy new one d Yup i do agree on this, if you buy from mudah also around 9k-10k, just top up a bit can get the new one. Unless you can get macbook pro 2015 model way cheaper, then its ok, and pls share it here too
Yougene_Boy
Nov 4 2016, 11:50 AM
QUOTE(doinkz_gaara @ Nov 3 2016, 11:04 PM) Do you think it's wise for me to buy the 2015 MBP to upgrade from my 15inch 2012 model? Don't think the 2016 one is worth it.  https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&hl=MacBook+ProCheck this, his $ are cheap enough but not sure fishy not. He has shop in Lowyat Plaza and claimed his mbp from US