127 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Bottom

LYN Proton INSPIRA Owners and Fans Thread V70!, Saja no 69 look kao look kao look engkao

kickent
post Feb 10 2016, 11:57 AM

477 posts

suddenly this morning there is rattling noise from my car's engine bay. the noise is sounds like 4wd diesel engine car.

do anyone experience this before and what is possibilities that cause it? i just serviced my car last week at proton service center.
Quazacolt
post Feb 10 2016, 12:27 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(youliang @ Feb 10 2016, 11:27 AM)
my cheapjing problematic car having these sounds during cold startup...tak tai tai tai tak then like car cannot breathe properly lol.  after 3-4 mins seems to be normal back..

any sifu here know some magic to fix this?

QUOTE(kickent @ Feb 10 2016, 11:57 AM)
suddenly this morning there is rattling noise from my car's engine bay. the noise is sounds like 4wd diesel engine car.

do anyone experience this before and what is possibilities that cause it? i just serviced my car last week at proton service center.
i've posted youtube about that sound as well, apparently common "non-issue"

consider using better/thinner viscosity engine oil so that the oil doesn't take as long to warm up

remember, our service manual/owner manual states 0w20 wink.gif
kickent
post Feb 10 2016, 12:31 PM

477 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Feb 10 2016, 12:27 PM)

consider using better/thinner viscosity engine oil so that the oil doesn't take as long to warm up

i remember the recent services i used semi-synthetic oil instead of fully sync which could be the causing the issue.

i guess its normal, thanks Quazacolt
youliang
post Feb 10 2016, 03:18 PM

Aficionado
1,178 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Feb 10 2016, 12:27 PM)

But I thought the viscosity for 0w-20 and 0w-40 is the same during cold startup? I'm using the mobil 0w-40 fully syn, now reaching about 7-8k km..

This post has been edited by youliang: Feb 10 2016, 05:29 PM
Quazacolt
post Feb 10 2016, 03:31 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(youliang @ Feb 10 2016, 03:18 PM)
But I thought the viscosity for 0-20w and 0-40w is the same during cold startup? I'm using the mobil 0w-40 fully syn, now reaching about 7-8k km..
overall viscosity properties.

don't bother the winter viscosity part (0w, and the w is before 40, btw.) as we do not startup in -40c
s@ni
post Feb 11 2016, 12:15 PM

Gambar Di Lesen Kereta Saya
2,842 posts

QUOTE(kickent @ Feb 10 2016, 12:31 PM)
i remember the recent services i used semi-synthetic oil instead of fully sync which could be the causing the issue.

i guess its normal, thanks Quazacolt
another point is that perhaps they didnt secure the air intake filter.. sweat.gif sweat.gif kena so many times edi

go and check as well for peace of mind laugh.gif
WilliamHoo
post Feb 12 2016, 12:47 AM

QUOTE(kickent @ Feb 10 2016, 11:57 AM)

Gong Hei Fatt Choy!!!

The last time i heard a buddy of mine NA inspira sounds like diesel = Engine Powcha

Check your engine oil level
Faris97
post Feb 12 2016, 11:03 AM

25 posts

ahh damn!... balik kampong recently then I realized...

my fog lamp glass pecah ='(.

sighhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh... I wonder.. can we change the glass or the whole set of the fog lamp???..
tony.tony
post Feb 12 2016, 07:12 PM

Engine bay ticking noise:
I have some experience on this with my prior mazda b8 turbo
Noise comes from hydraulic lash adjusters (mitsu have a diff name) - not receiving sufficient oil to 'pump up' and stiffen hence the 'play' and hitting against valves creating ticking noise - oil enters HLA via a tiny hole which allows the HLA to be pumped up
Function of HLA is an auto adjuster to assist the cam shaft rotation cycle and given that its hydraulitically operated, produces almost quiet operation of cam shaft cycle (when all is working as normal) - other makes like Honda employ static adjusters, which requires manual adjustments over time (using aluminium flat ice cream sticks)
Many have said the ticking is not an issue, believe mitsu has even previously issued technical guidelines on this before. However, given the function of HLA, u will notice that timing would be off when there is ticking (loss if power)
HLAs almost never fail (ie get broken) given the construction of the item (ive dismantled before, and its basically controlled by a tiny spring mechanism) - as its so small and located within the bullet shaped casing of HLA, the chances of the spring being broken is almost 0% - spring breaking would of course mean the HLA can never be 'stiffened up'
Some propose to use a thinner oil viscosity, how this can help is the thinner oil would get into the holes of HLA easier - as opposed to thicker oil (mineral or semi-syn)
From my experience, this method does not solve the problem (ive already used all the way to esther based full syn oils)
Whilst its true that thinner oil can get into the HLA easier, the main culprit is the oil itself is not staying at top end of engine block LONG ENUF to allow sufficient time for oil to enter HLA (imagine a splash vs a soak scenario)
The component that manages oil from pan to block is Oil Pump.
Its not oil pressure that we are after, becoz pressure merely tells us the pump has torque and the gears are working fine to drive oil from pan to block (ie power is there)
Its FLOW which is the culprit - specifically how fast the pump is allowing oil to flow back from block to pan - the faster the flow, the less time oil is staying at engine block and less time to get into HLA
And the item within the oil pump controlling flow is Oil Pump Relieve Valve - its located next to the gear mechanism
More specific within the Relieve Valve is a spring which contracts and expands to open/close the relieve valve for oil to flow back into the pan
The spring has lost its power and cant close the valve fast enuf, hence oil is constantly flowing back, hence HLA starved, hence not pumped up, hence the ticking noise (some hear a diesel sounding engine)
Solution: The oil pump is working fine if pressure is within manufac specs. Dismantle oil pump to locate relieve valve. Dismantle relieve valve to locate spring and its cappings. Add 1-2 thin washers into cap resulting in spring being slightly compressed hence re-obtaining spring force. This would solve Flow issue and HLAs would receive sufficient oil to be pumped up - doesnt matter what oil is used.
Ive done the above on a 20yr old B8 engine and it solved the issue (no need to change the whole oil pump, there is no spare part sold for relieve valve also). The issue with hydraulic lash adjusters was also common for mitsu engines when I was researching then) and I was pretty sure I had needed to do the above in due time on my inspira when I bought the car

Hope the above helps

Kirie
post Feb 13 2016, 12:46 PM

QUOTE(Faris97 @ Feb 12 2016, 11:03 AM)
ahh damn!... balik kampong recently then I realized...

my fog lamp glass pecah ='(.

sighhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh... I wonder.. can we change the glass or the whole set of the fog lamp???..
Buy aftermarket glass type one..cheap2 only..search fb Raymond car accessories
Kirie
post Feb 13 2016, 12:48 PM

4B engine using hydraulic lash like Campro & Perdana V6 engine?
K3nnYkl82
post Feb 13 2016, 01:46 PM

2,479 posts

QUOTE(Kirie @ Feb 13 2016, 12:48 PM)
4B engine using hydraulic lash like Campro & Perdana V6 engine?
Yup
kulitdurian
post Feb 13 2016, 03:33 PM

21 posts

hi guys,
i just bought used Inspira 1.8 CVT made 2010..
price 38k with 74k of mileage..
can u guys share what should i service as i didn't have the service record and manual book with this purchase?

the engine sound smooth..no whinning or any weird sound..
XCInspire
post Feb 13 2016, 11:44 PM

Congrats on getting a lala... See if u can goto any Proton centres, the bigger ones like Mutiara or Kesas.. may have service records if previous owner serviced in proton sc. Else if in doubt, go and do a service, at that mileage, nothing major to change... yet. Do stick to full sync oil if possible.

kulitdurian
post Feb 14 2016, 12:07 AM

21 posts

Thanks mate..
i've prepared full sync oil,oil filter,and cvt oil for the service..
do u think i'd better change the cvt cooler filter too?

i've read so many comment regarding the cvt issues..make me a lil worried since i live in Perlis and will travel long distance frequently..

Kirie
post Feb 14 2016, 12:22 AM

QUOTE(K3nnYkl82 @ Feb 13 2016, 01:46 PM)
Yup
This is new to me..Then can use liqui moly hydraulic lash additive or whatever its name..maybe can reduce the noise
archonixm
post Feb 15 2016, 02:08 AM

774 posts

QUOTE(tony.tony @ Feb 12 2016, 07:12 PM)
Engine bay ticking noise:
I have some experience on this with my prior mazda b8 turbo
Noise comes from hydraulic lash adjusters (mitsu have a diff name) - not receiving sufficient oil to 'pump up' and stiffen hence the 'play' and hitting against valves creating ticking noise - oil enters HLA via a tiny hole which allows the HLA to be pumped up
Function of HLA is an auto adjuster to assist the cam shaft rotation cycle and given that its hydraulitically operated, produces almost quiet operation of cam shaft cycle (when all is working as normal) - other makes like Honda employ static adjusters, which requires manual adjustments over time (using aluminium flat ice cream sticks)
Many have said the ticking is not an issue, believe mitsu has even previously issued technical guidelines on this before. However, given the function of HLA, u will notice that timing would be off when there is ticking (loss if power)
HLAs almost never fail (ie get broken) given the construction of the item (ive dismantled before, and its basically controlled by a tiny spring mechanism) - as its so small and located within the bullet shaped casing of HLA, the chances of the spring being broken is almost 0% - spring breaking would of course mean the HLA can never be 'stiffened up'
Some propose to use a thinner oil viscosity, how this can help is the thinner oil would get into the holes of HLA easier - as opposed to thicker oil (mineral or semi-syn)
From my experience, this method does not solve the problem (ive already used all the way to esther based full syn oils)
Whilst its true that thinner oil can get into the HLA easier, the main culprit is the oil itself is not staying at top end of engine block LONG ENUF to allow sufficient time for oil to enter HLA (imagine a splash vs a soak scenario)
The component that manages oil from pan to block is Oil Pump.
Its not oil pressure that we are after, becoz pressure merely tells us the pump has torque and the gears are working fine to drive oil from pan to block (ie power is there)
Its FLOW which is the culprit - specifically how fast the pump is allowing oil to flow back from block to pan - the faster the flow, the less time oil is staying at engine block and less time to get into HLA
And the item within the oil pump controlling flow is Oil Pump Relieve Valve - its located next to the gear mechanism
More specific within the Relieve Valve is a spring which contracts and expands to open/close the relieve valve for oil to flow back into the pan
The spring has lost its power and cant close the valve fast enuf, hence oil is constantly flowing back, hence HLA starved, hence not pumped up, hence the ticking noise (some hear a diesel sounding engine)
Solution: The oil pump is working fine if pressure is within manufac specs. Dismantle oil pump to locate relieve valve. Dismantle relieve valve to locate spring and its cappings. Add 1-2 thin washers into cap resulting in spring being slightly compressed hence re-obtaining spring force. This would solve Flow issue and HLAs would receive sufficient oil to be pumped up - doesnt matter what oil is used.
Ive done the above on a 20yr old B8 engine and it solved the issue (no need to change the whole oil pump, there is no spare part sold for relieve valve also). The issue with hydraulic lash adjusters was also common for mitsu engines when I was researching then) and I was pretty sure I had needed to do the above in due time on my inspira when I bought the car

Hope the above helps
n1 n1

T630
post Feb 15 2016, 10:57 AM

572 posts

QUOTE(kulitdurian @ Feb 13 2016, 03:33 PM)
hi guys,
i just bought used Inspira 1.8 CVT made 2010..
price 38k with 74k of mileage..
can u guys share what should i service as i didn't have the service record and manual book with this purchase?

the engine sound smooth..no whinning or any weird sound..
all the best... whistling.gif
miuk
post Feb 15 2016, 01:18 PM

768 posts

chilaka, proton brake pads more expensive than mitsu brake pads....

Nasi lemak more expensive than sashimi, mi ye sai kai lei yeh
iguana_tan
post Feb 15 2016, 04:57 PM

the nasi lemak sambah came form sushi country ma... tongue.gif
QUOTE(miuk @ Feb 15 2016, 01:18 PM)
chilaka, proton brake pads more expensive than mitsu brake pads....

Nasi lemak more expensive than sashimi, mi ye sai kai lei yeh

127 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Top

0.0240sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 05:39 PM