127 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Home Theatre Best HDMI DVD Player, Have you Found it Yet?

TStimothyy
post Jan 4 2007, 08:21 PM

Do Not Underestimate the "Pawa" of the Dark Side
4,504 posts

Oppo? Can't find in M'sia. Only in Singapore through reseller called SLT Technologies Ltd. But paying Sing$400+ for a good player without warranty or after sales service... hmmm... I opted Sony... Ha! HA!...
SiriuslyCold
post Jan 4 2007, 08:47 PM

1,976 posts

LG first off the blocks
TStimothyy
post Jan 4 2007, 10:07 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(SiriuslyCold @ Jan 4 2007, 08:47 PM)
Why the LG HD DVD player looks like samsung one?

user posted imageuser posted imageuser posted image The last 2 are Samsung

This post has been edited by timothyy: Jan 4 2007, 10:11 PM
SiriuslyCold
post Jan 4 2007, 10:34 PM

1,976 posts

the LG's designer's brother works in Samsung and they accidentally swapped briefcases early in the design phase.
TStimothyy
post Jan 4 2007, 11:21 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(SiriuslyCold @ Jan 4 2007, 10:34 PM)
the LG's designer's brother works in Samsung and they accidentally swapped briefcases early in the design phase.
Didn't know you know the story so well... laugh.gif laugh.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

sunauto
post Jan 5 2007, 12:21 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

It's either that or the designer has an evil twin brother. hmm.gif

QUOTE(timothyy @ Jan 4 2007, 11:21 PM)
Didn't know you know the story so well...  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
AlamakLor
post Jan 5 2007, 01:35 AM

9,856 posts

my money to neither:
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/389469

TStimothyy
post Jan 5 2007, 03:20 PM

4,504 posts

So, the Star says LG player can play both but this link here says different laser? So how? Or issit I got the wrong idea?
sunauto
post Jan 5 2007, 10:34 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

I guess it's probably using a dual laser technology like my old junk Sony LD player, it has two lens, one for LDs, the other for VCDs and CDs. Just a wild guess. I might be wrong but as long as it plays both formats, I wouldn't mind. icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(timothyy @ Jan 5 2007, 03:20 PM)
So, the Star says LG player can play both but this link here says different laser? So how? Or issit I got the wrong idea?
htkaki
post Jan 5 2007, 10:50 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

dual lense as both using diff pickup; one is red the other is blue. But, it has to be the price of 1or a lil more. Else, I wld rather buy HD-DVD and Blu-Ray separately
SiriuslyCold
post Jan 5 2007, 11:17 PM

1,976 posts

true.

at USD$4k the Vidabox is not a universal solution.

I just hope they maintain SACD and DVD-A capability and be truly truly universal.
sunauto
post Jan 6 2007, 12:33 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

I beg to differ, I prefer an all in one player, it would be messy to have a few players connected via HDMI and there's only two available for my LCD and nope, my amp doesn't have HDMI, future amp maybe but not now. My argument is if I buy two players seperately so that will be QED HDMI cables X 2 & another QED HDMI cable from the amp to the LCD so altogether three cables. doh.gif I mean just as an example. Well, since both formats are using blue laser, all they need is a dual focal pickup lens and shouldn't cost more, even players playing both SACDs or DVD Audios are still cheaper than buying them seperately, the sound quality wise is the same. If the picture quality is compromised for dual format players, then I'll probably consider getting them seperately but I seriously doubt it.

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jan 5 2007, 10:50 PM)
dual lense as both using diff pickup; one is red the other is blue. But, it has to be the price of 1or a lil more. Else, I wld rather buy HD-DVD and Blu-Ray separately
TStimothyy
post Jan 7 2007, 11:29 AM

4,504 posts

Well, there will not be 2 different format in the future. Most probably it will end up with 1 only and the other one goes bankurpt or something. Or they join venture.

Last time, there was this MVD, Another type of format/player. Some ppl even advertise the player in Astro magazine years back. But heck... I believe only few of us heard of it. The technology supposed to be better than DVD but where it is now?

BD or HDDVD... soon, only 1 will emerge. What you think? OK... lets vote...

Alamak... this forum cannot vote one... kakaka...

This post has been edited by timothyy: Jan 7 2007, 11:30 AM
jchong
post Jan 7 2007, 12:07 PM

5,989 posts

sunauto,

Thanks for all your input on the Sony 76H player. I'm very interested in this one.

1. I'm using a Sony 34" CRT TV, which does not have HDMI input. So is there any point in getting the 76H?

2. Of course I can still use component input. How's the component output of the 76H?

3. My TV can support HD resolutions (1080i/720p/625p/576p/525p/480p/480i capable) but can the 76H upsample to these via component output?

SUSgogo2
post Jan 7 2007, 12:14 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Jan 7 2007, 12:07 PM)
sunauto,

Thanks for all your input on the Sony 76H player. I'm very interested in this one.

1. I'm using a Sony 34" CRT TV, which does not have HDMI input. So is there any point in getting the 76H?

2. Of course I can still use component input. How's the component output of the 76H?

3. My TV can support HD resolutions (1080i/720p/625p/576p/525p/480p/480i capable) but can the 76H upsample to these via component output?

You best bet is to get Samsung HD850 or Oppo. All other cannot upconvert through component because upconvert through component is against the law. So HD850 need to be hacked using remote control while Oppo is china brand, so they dun care about legal issue. Currently all sell Samsung HD860 which no one ever make it up convert through component yet. And Sunauto said Samsung Picture Quality 1080p is worst than 480p of 76h (sunauto, did you test this or u think it is? tongue.gif).

Now, anyone sell Samsung HD850, I'll buy it straightaway. My Philip TV even better than the Sony one. Can play 1080p. But unfortunately, no DVD player support it. sad.gif
TStimothyy
post Jan 7 2007, 12:49 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Jan 7 2007, 12:07 PM)
sunauto,

You need both hands to clap. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
Read your manual where your HD receiver. Some has DVI, some HDMI, some SMART connector (correct spelling?), and now, component video can do the job as well.
Samsung or XBox 360 are using component. But Xbox only for its game.
SUSgogo2
post Jan 7 2007, 12:52 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(timothyy @ Jan 7 2007, 12:49 PM)
You need both hands to clap.  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
Read your manual where your HD receiver. Some has DVI, some HDMI, some SMART connector (correct spelling?), and now, component video can do the job as well.
Samsung or XBox 360 are using component. But Xbox only for its game.
I think it is SCART RGB. tongue.gif But anyway, you did not answer his question. High definition must use protected mode with HDCP which only with HDMI/DVI etc and not component. Component is not protected. So there's no legal way to output HD signal over component.
piscesguy
post Jan 7 2007, 12:52 PM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,963 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Jan 7 2007, 12:14 PM)
Now, anyone sell Samsung HD850, I'll buy it straightaway. My Philip TV even better than the Sony one. Can play 1080p. But unfortunately, no DVD player support it. sad.gif
Buy a HD-DVD or Blue ray player. drool.gif
I m sure it will support 1080p for your Philip TV.
SUSgogo2
post Jan 7 2007, 12:55 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(piscesguy @ Jan 7 2007, 12:52 PM)
Buy a HD-DVD or Blue ray player. drool.gif
I m sure it will support 1080p for your Philip TV.
Haiz, I think you do not understand like Timothy. Our CRT TV just support component. So there's no way HD-DVD and Blueray able to output HD signal to our TV thru component. Thanks for your suggestion anyway wink.gif

This post has been edited by gogo2: Jan 7 2007, 12:56 PM
piscesguy
post Jan 7 2007, 12:58 PM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,963 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Jan 7 2007, 12:55 PM)
Haiz, I think you do not understand like Timothy. Our CRT TV just support component. So there's no way HD-DVD and Blueray able to output HD signal to our TV thru component. Thanks for your suggestion anyway wink.gif
Then how come u said your Philip TV can play 1080p? rclxub.gif

127 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0291sec    1.00    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 09:52 AM