Home Theatre Best HDMI DVD Player, Have you Found it Yet?

SUSgogo2
post Dec 27 2006, 02:02 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

just wondering if 1080p is nice for CRT:
http://www.consumer.philips.com/consumer/c...RESHQVHKFSEKI5P

By the way, is Shinco DVD good? I saw its RM699.

I wonder what is the best up-convert dvd now. is Samsung ok? its around rm400 rite?
SUSgogo2
post Dec 27 2006, 12:35 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(bond @ Dec 27 2006, 09:14 AM)
I got a samsung HD860 and it freeze randomly whenever i play audio, this happen when HDMI is connected. May be Pioneer 490 is a better option.
Oh I see. I guess I better take Pioneer. tongue.gif

QUOTE(sunauto @ Dec 27 2006, 11:05 AM)
CRT tv cannot support 1080P signals leh, even most Plasma or LCD (about 80%) can't support native 1080P, if you happen to have a CRT tv that accepts HDTV signals, like 1080i and 720P respectively, the picture is slightly better but not to say better than a true HDTV panel lah.

Shinco is good but at RM699, you better buy Sony's 76H lah, only RM580 wor and it's a Sony.  rclxms.gif  If Shinco is RM500 or less than can consider lah. Just my 2 cents.  biggrin.gif
I also read a lot of website saying CRT cannot support 1080p. But please click the link I give you. It'll show:
Supported Display Resolution
Video formats : 480p, 60Hz, 720p, 50, 60Hz, 1080i, 60Hz, 1080p, 60Hz

You notice the 1080p there? If cannot, why they put there?

Is HDMI and Component will have same quality? I would assume HDMI is digital and thus better quality. But I do hope that its the same coz my TV dont have HDMI. It only have component that support 1080p.

I think the reason Philips can support 1080p because it is Pixel Plus. It has more pixel than normal CRT. Better than Sony/Panasonic I think.
SUSgogo2
post Dec 27 2006, 04:01 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Dec 27 2006, 03:00 PM)
Even if it accepts 1080P signals, the panel or CRT TV doesn't necessarily have native 1080P resolution, we're more interested in native resolution than supported resolution. A CRT tv that accepts 1080P, probably have only 720X480 resolution if compared to say, Sony Bravia X that accepts 1080P in its native resolution, 1920x1080 (true HD resolution), panels can upscale or downscale the incoming video signals so it's important to see how many pixels do you panels have.

Pixel Plus is just a video processing term used by Philips, same as Bravia engine from Sony. They don't really mean anything to be honest. As for component video vs HDMI, the difference is HDMI carries more than 10 times the bandwidth of a component video and it can support up to 36-bit colour or maybe more in the future, as for component video, it's restricted to 10-bit colour but most sources like dvds are only up to 8-bit colour, upscaled dvd players from Denon 2930, Pioneer 989 can upscale to HDTV resolution with 13-bit colour support, quite noticeable but then, not comparable with HD-DVD or Blu-Ray, when I compared my HD-DVD King Kong with my DVD version, the colour depth is pretty obvious, the HD-DVD wins in this aspect, colours are more lifelike and 3 dimensional as well. Of course, upscaled dvds look a tad better so it's best to get a proper dvd player with good upscaling capabilities if you have a lot of dvds in your collection which I think, most of us do.  tongue.gif
Thanks a lot for the detailed explanation. I guess I'll need to change to LCD in the future. tongue.gif

When they do upscaling, are they doing it with HDMI or component video? I keep on hearing upscaling through HDMI tongue.gif
SUSgogo2
post Dec 29 2006, 02:25 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Dec 27 2006, 05:28 PM)
The upscalling is only done via HDMI and not over component video. Yeah, I know it sucks for those who bought the first generation Plasma tv without DVI or HDMI.  doh.gif  I guess only the XBOX 360 outputs games in HDTV resolution via component video, no such luxury from PS3, component video is restricted to 480P only including games and Blu-Ray movies.  cry.gif
Good news! I found a website that hack Samsung HDMI player to upconvert over component video:
http://forum.ecoustics.com/bbs/messages/2/147226.html

If anyone go to shop, please try this hack! I want to know also smile.gif
SUSgogo2
post Dec 31 2006, 01:02 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(timothyy @ Dec 29 2006, 10:48 PM)
Wah... gila one... 3 units???  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif

Anyway, tested it and its superb on "Cars". It looks flawless. But on other moview, yeah... I still see the noise. Its not because its not good but because basically 720p or 1080i, the details is higher compared to 480... so, you see the shades in grain instead of a patch...

Anyway... will post the pics later. Still testing it...
Actually, movie on DVD is not perfect at all. When DVD comes out, I always think, DVD is perfect. Now I'm totally disappointed with so much noise and pixel. tongue.gif I guess that's why we need HD-DVD/BlueRay coz really, DVD is bad quality tongue.gif
SUSgogo2
post Dec 31 2006, 06:20 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Dec 29 2006, 05:09 PM)
Sorry to spoil the fun but Samsung's HDMI player has the worst upscaling picture quality for standard dvds and it suffers from macroblocking issues. You wouldn't wanna buy that. Honestly, component video can carry up to 1080i hdtv signals (like XBOX 360) but is prone to distortion and interference since it's analog and not digital. But if you're not picky then it's okay lah but the problem is Samsung's HDMI dvd player ain't cheap and with the price you can get better players in the market. Just my 2 cents.
From this thread:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/archive/ind...p/t-603086.html

It seems like Samsung HD841/850/860 is using Zoran chip which does not have macroblocking issue. Only the one with Faroudja chip have macroblocking which I think include Sony 76h. Please advice.

I'm planning to get 1 as soon as possible. I wonder LG does upconvert thru component.
SUSgogo2
post Jan 1 2007, 01:00 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Dec 31 2006, 08:25 PM)
No lah Bro, Sony 76H is not using DCDi solution leh, it's using Mediatek chip like some of the mid ranged Pioneer models.

Those Samsung models are already obsolete, the latest models here are all DCDi ones, you can go to SenQ, HSL or Norman Harvey to have a look, all the latest Samsung HDMI players have the DCDi logo on the front panel. If you don't watch movies like Toy Story then, it's not a problem actually.
I've another big question. Why Samsung is worst in PQ if Samsung have 14 bit Video DAC compare to Sony which has only 12 bit video DAC?

By the way, Happy New Year! biggrin.gif
SUSgogo2
post Jan 1 2007, 01:48 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(AlamakLor @ Jan 1 2007, 01:14 AM)
hehe, the same thing why samsung's TV with samsung's own panels dont neccessarily look better than other tvs with samsung's panels tongue.gif just like why philips make good electronics components but not good consumer products
Ok, I get what u mean tongue.gif tongue.gif

QUOTE(timothyy @ Jan 1 2007, 01:03 PM)
Why you want to choose a brand that have doubts all over? Every other forum is talking about Samsung's problem, especially on the HDMI world.

sunauto... guess what... I have yet to watch a full legth movie using my Sony 76H. Ha! Ha!... laugh.gif

Must test it out today.
Coz its the only brand can hack HDCP free tongue.gif over component. If other can, I will buy too.
SUSgogo2
post Jan 4 2007, 08:46 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(mikelee @ Jan 4 2007, 01:12 AM)
Can I have the link to this particular forum you are talking about?
Anyway is the Sony 76H very sensitive? Sorry to say this but is it hard to read ahem discs? Sony is widely known to have sensitive reading capabilities.
Yes, this is very true for CDROM/DVDROM etc. But in 76H, it has something like precision drive 3. Maybe that's the reason all the disc can read now tongue.gif tongue.gif. But still, I think no one has tried badly scratch disc or badly warped disc with 76h. Maybe Timothy can try tongue.gif
SUSgogo2
post Jan 7 2007, 12:14 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Jan 7 2007, 12:07 PM)
sunauto,

Thanks for all your input on the Sony 76H player. I'm very interested in this one.

1. I'm using a Sony 34" CRT TV, which does not have HDMI input. So is there any point in getting the 76H?

2. Of course I can still use component input. How's the component output of the 76H?

3. My TV can support HD resolutions (1080i/720p/625p/576p/525p/480p/480i capable) but can the 76H upsample to these via component output?

You best bet is to get Samsung HD850 or Oppo. All other cannot upconvert through component because upconvert through component is against the law. So HD850 need to be hacked using remote control while Oppo is china brand, so they dun care about legal issue. Currently all sell Samsung HD860 which no one ever make it up convert through component yet. And Sunauto said Samsung Picture Quality 1080p is worst than 480p of 76h (sunauto, did you test this or u think it is? tongue.gif).

Now, anyone sell Samsung HD850, I'll buy it straightaway. My Philip TV even better than the Sony one. Can play 1080p. But unfortunately, no DVD player support it. sad.gif
SUSgogo2
post Jan 7 2007, 12:52 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(timothyy @ Jan 7 2007, 12:49 PM)
You need both hands to clap.  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
Read your manual where your HD receiver. Some has DVI, some HDMI, some SMART connector (correct spelling?), and now, component video can do the job as well.
Samsung or XBox 360 are using component. But Xbox only for its game.
I think it is SCART RGB. tongue.gif But anyway, you did not answer his question. High definition must use protected mode with HDCP which only with HDMI/DVI etc and not component. Component is not protected. So there's no legal way to output HD signal over component.
SUSgogo2
post Jan 7 2007, 12:55 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(piscesguy @ Jan 7 2007, 12:52 PM)
Buy a HD-DVD or Blue ray player.  drool.gif
I m sure it will support 1080p for your Philip TV.
Haiz, I think you do not understand like Timothy. Our CRT TV just support component. So there's no way HD-DVD and Blueray able to output HD signal to our TV thru component. Thanks for your suggestion anyway wink.gif

This post has been edited by gogo2: Jan 7 2007, 12:56 PM
SUSgogo2
post Jan 7 2007, 01:03 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(piscesguy @ Jan 7 2007, 12:58 PM)
Then how come u said your Philip TV can play 1080p? rclxub.gif
Ok, the whole story is like this:

Philip TV can accept 1080p but only through component.

Legally (means according to law), HD signal must be used through HDMI/DVI with HDCP (protected mode).

Eventhough component can carry 1080p (eventhough noisy), but major DVD player maker cannot make a DVD player that output 1080p through component. If they do, maybe they'll be sued.

So there's no DVD player can output 1080p through component legally. tongue.gif
SUSgogo2
post Jan 7 2007, 04:04 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(piscesguy @ Jan 7 2007, 03:58 PM)
What I meant was Manufacturers should not produce a TV capable of handling 1080p without digital input. I consider 1080p is a HDTV mode. In order to carry HD signal, TV must have pure digital video signal such as HDMI/DVI.
Who said cannot? Here is the proof:
http://www.hdtvsupply.com/coca10te1.html

Faster buy now:
http://www.hdtvsupply.com/coca72tecl.html

RM80 only biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by gogo2: Jan 7 2007, 04:07 PM
SUSgogo2
post Jan 7 2007, 04:32 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(piscesguy @ Jan 7 2007, 04:18 PM)
Yes, you can choose to use component to carry HD signal  but don't forget that component is an analogue video cable.  doh.gif
You will NEVER get TRUE 1080p PQ.
We don't expect 1080p PQ like LCD. We're using CRT. We know the limitation shakehead.gif

We're just asking where to get DVD player that send 1080p/1080i over component. doh.gif is that a hard question? or u dun have the answer and try too hard to answer icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by gogo2: Jan 7 2007, 04:35 PM
SUSgogo2
post Feb 10 2007, 07:28 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

I also bought myself a hdmi dvd player today. It is Samsung HD950. I know Samsung is bad. But I need a upconvert DVD player for my component only DVD. There's really a difference between 1080i and 480i. I'm now very very happy with my purchase. I've defy the convention here to buy 76h. tongue.gif

Added on February 10, 2007, 7:41 pmI just wanna say its very good pic quality. Very 3d like and good sharpness. Some more, got SACD. But no SACD CD tongue.gif Will try to buy some SACD soon. Got 4 years warranty from SenQ after paying rm89 tongue.gif

This post has been edited by gogo2: Feb 10 2007, 07:41 PM
SUSgogo2
post Feb 11 2007, 12:30 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

coz if spoil and cannot fix at 4th year, they'll give me choice to buy a new player at that price. so maybe i can choose hd dvd or blue ray or combo.tongue.gif i'll make it spoil tongue.gif
SUSgogo2
post Feb 22 2007, 11:45 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(piscesguy @ Feb 22 2007, 11:15 PM)
Why buy a sony 76H when u're not using HDMI cable? tongue.gif
that's also the reason I dun buy 76H. I rather buy Samsung HD950 with added SACD/DVD audio functionality with upconvert over component with rm100 price difference tongue.gif
SUSgogo2
post Apr 3 2007, 09:37 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(timothyy @ Apr 2 2007, 05:20 PM)
Aiyo... how to compare with Samsung? Apple and ciku la...
mad.gif ooi....how can u say my RM1000 Samsung HD950 ciku? Please watch your word ok!!! vmad.gif Your Sony 76H also cheaper than my Samsung wanna say my Samsung ciku doh.gif

cry.gif
SUSgogo2
post Apr 3 2007, 10:48 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(timothyy @ Apr 3 2007, 10:11 AM)
Price doesn't mean everything...

Your Samsung 950 is like Pentium III, when first come out, the processor was RM2k+... now, give ppl the whole CPU also many will complain no space...  brows.gif  brows.gif
cry.gif So lousy meh..... make me wanna throw my Samsung only...just bought 2 months ago only nia...where got like Pentium 3? laugh.gif

0.0459sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 04:55 PM