Battle of the +/- rm7k TVs, + Discussion on Sharp UE630X

voncrane
post Oct 24 2016, 11:48 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Oct 24 2016, 06:03 PM)
Cant have it all. Highrise, u pay more for water, asessment rates.

The impt thing is the stability n consistency. I am quite happy to pay <rm200 a month for all entertainment, phone calls, emails, messaging, pc work for a dozen devices. More concerned with tnb bill!
This^^... No matter the promise of "achievable" speeds. I used to be quite happy to pay the current amount, until TIME dropped the news... Naturally, I think I blew a fuse upstairs... smile.gif Oh well, our dear PM & TM has promised (yeah, promises... ehh) that speeds will be doubled and prices slashed.. To which I reply, I'll believe it when I see it. They better not impose a quota.

P.S. Apologies for derailing the thread... Back to TV talk...

This post has been edited by voncrane: Oct 24 2016, 11:49 PM
voncrane
post Nov 1 2016, 11:05 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(hoe117 @ Nov 1 2016, 05:57 PM)
Thanks for your post here, I think mine is different from what the issue described in earlier post.

I manage to find out root cause of the problem after conducted few testing.

1) When ONLY HDMI1 (ARC) is connected to another device (soundbar) which is ARC compatible, it works for sound, control, power on/off.
However, as long as other HDMI port (2, 3 or 4) is connected to other devices (doesn't matter the device is ON or standby mode), the ARC will stop function.
Meaning to say, the HDMI1 (ARC) would work if there is no other HDMI devices plugged into the TV.
ARC works again if I plug out connection for other HDMI port (2, 3 or 4)

2) Since my soundbar has total 3 HDMI ports (1 x HDMI-ARC out, 2 x HDMI in), I tested by connecting the devices to the "HDMI in".
However, similar problem happens.
Meaning to say, the HDMI (ARC) would work if there is no other HDMI devices plugged into the soundbar.

I've also tried google around and found below, posting the same problem as mine. (Post #5)
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/home-the...ad-4654568.html
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/90357616-post5.html

Not sure if this is how ARC work, but it's kind of stupid if this is really true (If you want ARC, then have to sacrifice all other HDMI ports).
Or maybe only Sharp TV has this problem? Or setting/configuration issue?

End up, I decided to let go the HDMI-ARC function and connect via optical output from TV to soundbar.

Hope all sifu here can help.
Nope, that is definitely not how HDMI-ARC works. Probably a hardware incompatibility or an issue with one or both hardware. Samsung Tv + Samsung HT connected via HDMI-ARC. Currently have 3 devices connected to the HDMI-IN ports on the TV and one HDMI-ARC connection to the HT. All sounds are automatically routed from the TV to the HT and out the speakers... Regardless of input source.

P.S. IMO, soundbars.... Never liked em.. biggrin.gif
voncrane
post Nov 3 2016, 05:24 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(hoe117 @ Nov 3 2016, 11:34 AM)
I also think it should be hardware incompatibility issue here.
Conclusion, if you need HDMI-ARC, better get both devices (TV and soundbar) in same brand.
Yes, manufacturers and their proprietary tech... IMO, the best option (at the cost of space & to some, aesthetics) would be having a dedicated AVR + speakers setup. As a decent AVR would have support for the most AV tech.

I can see the TV having issues but the soundbar having trouble with HDMI-IN sources is unusual. Unless it's an unsupported audio format. Does the soundbar work normally with multiple devices plugged in and the ARC feature disabled?

This post has been edited by voncrane: Nov 3 2016, 05:24 PM
voncrane
post Nov 4 2016, 04:48 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(hoe117 @ Nov 4 2016, 04:34 PM)
Yes, it work.
The problem only when those external devices plug into either TV or soundbar HDMI ports, and between TV and soundbar connected using HDMI ARC.  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  confused.gif  confused.gif  confused.gif
I see.. Oh well, hope some firmware update is pushed and fixes the issue.
voncrane
post Jan 12 2017, 03:36 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(katz79 @ Jan 12 2017, 03:29 PM)
poisoning my home minister now... what la pay rm149 for 4mbps streamyx. topup rm30 can get unifi hihihi. now offer rm179 for 30mbps free upgrade to 50mbps right? tongue.gif
Correct.. TM's offer of "free" upgrade was extended from December 31, 2016 to 28th February, 2017.. TIME still rules... Grab that if you can.
voncrane
post Jan 12 2017, 03:48 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(katz79 @ Jan 12 2017, 03:44 PM)
unfortunately can't get TIME coz living in landed house (MIL house). has to rely on unifi only. home minister approved my proposal rclxms.gif
Ah... That feeling of triumph... rclxms.gif .. Come we submit further proposal based on much scientific findings... Make sure to explain with figures, formulas, charts...etc.. that the best bang for buck is actually registering for the 50Mbps package (RM229 only).. Then later get 100Mbps.. brows.gif
voncrane
post Jan 18 2017, 12:17 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(abangmanis @ Jan 18 2017, 01:54 AM)
i took a look at 330x and i really like their PQ
i dont have the opportunity to test 630x and 330x side by side but since people in here said that 630x PQ more good than 330x, i might get 630x
anyone in here ever bought from this seller? seems it more cheaper than others seller sold
are they selling demo unit?
http://www.lazada.com.my/sharp-uhd-4k-andr...x-18662013.html
http://www.gemfive.com/my/sharp-50-lc50ue6...vbt2-mhl-led-tv
Buying from such sites.. There's really no way to know if its a demo unit being sold, until the TV has been delivered. So you would have to risk it..
voncrane
post Jan 18 2017, 03:51 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(Lurker @ Jan 18 2017, 02:57 PM)
Any new TV supports the latest HEVC format?
Typically, the high-end models do support H.265 playback.. Always consult the manual. Most manufacturers allow free and easy download of a TV model's manual.
Source 1
Source 2
Another.

This post has been edited by voncrane: Jan 18 2017, 03:51 PM
voncrane
post Jan 18 2017, 04:13 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 18 2017, 03:59 PM)
is h264 or h265 a coding compression format more relevant to the player or the tv?

say, if a box player can decode h265, it will ok to display on any 1080p tv, right?
Both are compression formats and rely on processing power to get "uncompressed". Why the newer H.265 format is important, is cuz one can get the same amount of video and audio signals in significantly less space (reports says reduction in size by half) than H.264 provides. This is good as 8K is around the corner and 4K is already large enough.

Yes, the primary purpose of a TV is to act as a display for incoming signals (A/V). Today, those signals are mostly digital. Hardware decoding of H.265 files requires much higher processing power than H.264 and most TVs do not ship with such processing power. Else one would simply play via USB and allow the TV to handle everything.. But if a media player that packs adequate processing power, does the hardware processing and simply sends the A/V signals to the TV, the TV reproduces the exact same results....as it would, were the TV equipped with more powerful hardware and compatible firmware.
voncrane
post Jan 19 2017, 06:24 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(ls71 @ Jan 19 2017, 05:34 PM)
Noted LC58UE630x has been discontinued in Malaysia and replaced with LC60UE630X. Noted the key different is new 60 inch backlight system using Edge LED while 58 inch using LED.

May I know what is major  impact of using Edge LED? My understanding using LED would give better contrast while using Edge LED basically is because of cost cutting?

Edge-lit LED have the LEDs surrounding the back of the panel and they use guides to light up the whole backplane. The main advantage is cost reduction, since they use fewer LEDs. Backlit LEDs have the LEDs directly behind the panel. They provide better contrast, but are also more expensive to make.

Summarily, the replaced model uses Edge-lit LEDs. OLED tech is far superior as there is no need for back-lighting, due to the pixels themselves emitting light...resulting in proper blacks, cuz if black is needed, the pixel(s) is shutoff.

This post has been edited by voncrane: Jan 20 2017, 01:13 AM
voncrane
post Jan 20 2017, 01:15 AM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(ls71 @ Jan 19 2017, 11:51 PM)
It's the replaced model using edge-lit OED and not the other way ... anyway just bought an unit of LC58UE630X online... waiting for delivery now ...

Thanks all for feedback.
My bad, it does use edge-lit tech. Seng Heng's online store reported wrongly. Checking on Sharp's website shows true specs... Congrats on the purchase.

This post has been edited by voncrane: Jan 20 2017, 11:05 PM
voncrane
post Jan 20 2017, 11:21 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(ls71 @ Jan 20 2017, 10:50 AM)
So can I say based on the spec, 58" old model with LED is the better buy since it is having better contrast theoretically ?
Theoretically, Yes... View for confirmation. smile.gif

QUOTE(Bliz @ Jan 20 2017, 03:14 PM)
The new generation of OLED TV should be cheaper than the current one, hopefully the price is attractive
New Gen OLED TVs should progressively get cheaper as current manufacturers attempt to squash more bugs and manufacturing costs (R & D included) are reduced. Thanks to early adopters. IMO, price still isn't attractive to the average consumer.. At least, Malaysia... What with our RM.. laugh.gif

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 20 2017, 06:14 PM)
this OLED...

seems everyone gas only great things to say about it.

but, what i read... it's organic, life of the some colors are short... degrades after 1,000 hours... suffers from burn-in like early plasma tv... and very expensive.

and why is LG the only brand selling OELD tv's now?  hmm.gif
OLED offers better image quality (think blacker blacks and brighter whites), reduced power consumption and fast response times over traditional LED TVs. AFAIK, LG & Panasonic have been leading. Sony has very recently (2017) dabbled into it, with the release of the Sony Bravia A1E OLED TV.
voncrane
post Jan 21 2017, 12:03 AM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jan 20 2017, 11:38 PM)
Saw the side by side comparison between oled and uhd. Boy...! The PQ quality difference is huge!

It should.. Deeper blacks and brighter whites. As for the price, a decent 55" 1080P TV cost around that price, just a few years ago.. I would know, I bought one back then..
My home minister holds that over my head today and refuses to approve a new TV set + sound system revamp as a key point in the 2017 budget.. I agree.. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by voncrane: Jan 21 2017, 12:09 AM
voncrane
post Feb 3 2017, 12:44 AM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Feb 2 2017, 07:03 PM)
The native player in the tv CANNOT handle 4k videos.

It can take 4k videos if it is processed by another player, say a 4k capable android box, input to tv with hdmi.

As for the extension, it will be fine.
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Feb 3 2017, 12:24 AM)
i got news for u.

on tv kodi 17, it can't even detect the usb drive, so nothing!

i think this is one of those new rules about kodi17 - the android maker need to comply with new kodi standards.

u may have better luck with kodi 16.1.

i remember it could play most files but i did not test 4k at that time.
Nope.. Kodi V17 does detect USB drives. It's just the TV.. Sharp really screwed up with the firmware. Sure the basics work.. However, It appears half-baked and with no fix in sight.
voncrane
post Feb 3 2017, 01:45 AM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Feb 3 2017, 01:29 AM)
Do u know if other smart tvs can do kodi 17 usb playback?
AFAIK, can't confirm such at the moment as the stable version is only a few days old. Though comments from the video below seems to favour Sony Android TVs.

voncrane
post Feb 3 2017, 03:03 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(katz79 @ Feb 3 2017, 09:53 AM)
last night turn on the tv to play kodi suddenly it auto updated to krypton version. where can i see the video source is 720p or 1080p when streaming? at jarvis it is easier to check at the source title.
Better to ask such in the Kodi dedicated thread.

Quickest way is to press the "I" button on a keyboard will bring up the info overlay. Alternatively, press the "Enter" or "Pause" button, on the bottom right, there's an info icon.. Select it and it'll also display the source info.
voncrane
post Mar 2 2017, 09:45 AM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

Wow... Sharp can't even get an OTA done right..
voncrane
post Mar 2 2017, 11:32 AM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(Vannus @ Mar 2 2017, 11:18 AM)
Haiz.. sweating...if buy sharp must buy basic tv i guess without support or tech dev required.
No la, still can buy if pq and initial firmware is rock solid.. This particular model shipped with a buggy one. Besides very difficult to find a non-smart TV nowadays.. smile.gif
voncrane
post Mar 3 2017, 03:01 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(ericlai @ Mar 2 2017, 04:23 PM)
Hi guys, i just emailed Sharp Malaysia. They are willing to send their service technician over to your house to upgrade the TV. They cant email the software file to us as they said the file size is too big.
QUOTE(SingTime @ Mar 3 2017, 11:07 AM)
Wow, in the age of 100 & 500MB internet speed, if a file is too big, I wondered what's the fix? Can't wait to find out what it is, maybe now can play Platstation game without the console?
Haha.. They haven't heard of cloud storages such as Google Drive or Dropbox? doh.gif. They simply upload to any of them, both are fast enough.. I guess they are scared of people bricking their TVs. Though, select users that are technically capable can download and perform the upgrade themselves.. Win Win for all.. biggrin.gif
voncrane
post Mar 17 2017, 09:52 AM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(Cheeky @ Mar 17 2017, 09:42 AM)
3D is DEAD.
And so is 2015... icon_rolleyes.gif

7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0669sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 02:19 PM