voncrane
post Feb 28 2016, 04:06 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(Longshot @ Feb 28 2016, 12:36 PM)
May I know why?
His response earlier...

QUOTE(DannyOP @ Feb 12 2016, 07:42 AM)
I do like the picture quality but wish to have a bigger unit due to viewing distance. My sofa is around 15-16 feet away. I've temporarily pushed the sofa nearer to compensate.
voncrane
post Feb 28 2016, 05:09 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(t1231 @ Feb 28 2016, 04:40 PM)
I'm not concerned art all about their share issues,i only care about warranty and future technical support.
Understood.. Well, that depends on what happens or is decided within the next few months. For most, it's not much of an issue, especially since most TVs come with either 1 or 2 years manufacturer warranty. I'm no expert but, a full scale down won't be happening in 2 years. So to be safe, get an extended warranty.. Most are backed by the stores themselves.. I.e. H.N.

QUOTE(t1231 @ Feb 28 2016, 04:48 PM)
Wow,5 Sharp tv's and not a single problem, that's very remarkable, and reassuring! So if my Toshiba 40 inch is now having display problem, does it reflect Toshiba's norm? Or is it just my bad luck?

A side question. How about power consumption moving from a 40 " to 50"+? On a 6-hour per day basis (my mother is hooked on it). We never do any extra power meter tweak (you should know what I mean), so this is a concern for me also.

Tqvm
Probably just bad luck.. In every production batch, there'll be a few "lemons". For example, I have a 21" Samsung 1080p TV that has been in use for over 6 years. Currently using it as a monitor & it's had zero issues. Same with the living room TV that's just over a year old.. (knocks on wood). Fairly certain that there are Samsung TV users out there, that have sworn off Samsung TVs due to manufacturing defects.. Big brands like Samsung, Sharp, LG, Sony, Dell, etc are okay, as they have decent QC.

As for power consumption, TVs of today even while on standby mode, are quite energy efficient, particularly when compared with Plasma or the much older CRT tech. So no worries there.
voncrane
post Mar 4 2016, 03:26 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 4 2016, 02:19 PM)
i have been thru this, mentioned that in an earlier post - the usb playback function is not very good. while the codecs are fine in that it can play many formats incl m2ts and able to arc dts/dd, the usb player is not well developed for connectivity and navigation. not surprising as sharp is a tv maker and not a media player maker.

the usb cannot handle usb plug ins and outs repeatedly; it will show empty folder. u need to do it slowly, give it time. often, u need to switch off the tv or even cut off power completely to reset it. once u get it, it will work fine. no diff with tumbdrives or powered hdd.
the tv can stream, but again, it does it clumsily unlike an android box.

the simplest way is to install es file explorer in the tv, set up the LAN function to access yr PC. at yr PC end, you must first allow "share with". this is basically SAMBA.
Sounds like Sharp really screwed up there huh.. On the older Samsung Smart hub here, it handles USB drives & media playback beautifully. Upon plug in, a popup appears on screen asking how to view the plugged in device: As Files (regular explorer style), Pictures (gallery) or Videos (Thumbnails with scrolling images from within each media file). No lag, also HDMI-ARC, DTS/DD detection just works. After playback or if one simply wants to disconnect, simply press the Source button repeatedly till the drive is selected, hold down on the enter button to dismount the drive safely, a confirmation notice appears to that effect, the drive can now be unplugged safely.. Alternatively, it also performs a safe eject when the TV is placed in standby mode.. I've performed either method, hundreds of times, with multiple drives & never had any issues.. Hopefully, it's incorporated & performs better in the newer Tizen OS. The Android TV OS is supposed to be smarter.

This post has been edited by voncrane: Mar 4 2016, 03:57 PM
voncrane
post Mar 4 2016, 04:02 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 4 2016, 03:53 PM)
yes, they did with this range.

even on my older non-smart sharp but with usb playback, it is better, much like other players. mad.gif
hmm.gif hmm.gif Perhaps, they were in a hurry to pump out 4K TVs running Android TV and didn't bother much or didn't have enough time to squash bugs like those.. Good thing is, as long as it's not hardware limited, such issues might be rectified with an OTA firmware update.

This post has been edited by voncrane: Mar 4 2016, 04:12 PM
voncrane
post Mar 4 2016, 11:15 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(DannyOP @ Mar 4 2016, 10:14 PM)
I feel Android Tv is still at the early stage, still many things can be improved. For my usage to access files, Plex is a good option instead of plugging and unplugging devices.
Sure the Android TV OS is still in its early stages, however, that's not an excuse for Sharp shipping out a defective firmware. Especially since other devices like the Nvidia Shield TV box or Nexus player running Android TV, handle such issues properly.. As for Plex, it's nice and all, basically I prefer getting the full HD video and audio experience. Don't care much for network latency, transcoding, audio downmixing, PCM and extra decoding.
voncrane
post Mar 5 2016, 12:04 AM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(susu_capbadak @ Mar 4 2016, 11:38 PM)
If like that I choose wrong tv liao haha, should have get samsung. When I started to research I was looking for lcd to do 3 main things, watch astro, watch youtube and play files from pendrive on that order
Haha, it's still a good choice as future firmware updates can fix the current usb playback issues.. Still have 4K + Android TV.. tongue.gif
voncrane
post Mar 5 2016, 09:31 AM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(DannyOP @ Mar 5 2016, 03:41 AM)
You can't get full HD video and audio with Plex?
Nope, tried it a couple of times and wasn't satisfied with the performance.. File had 7.1 DTS-HD MA audio & I got PCM on the TV instead. I thought perhaps, Plex would have done some improvements so far, but some light reading around their forum still suggests passthrough issues.. A compatibility thing I guess.. I'll try it again.

QUOTE(jdgobio @ Mar 5 2016, 08:23 AM)
Depending on your media server, plex will be limited. My nas can't handle transcoding. So I only use it to stream. It's still quite slow to use plex on tv. It's a good option but limited by server/nas capability and the tv's own processor.

The interface and meta file download is awesome though.
The UI & simplicity of how everything should work is all well and good.. For simple low bitrate videos with AC3, etc.. Media server is a gaming rig, wireless ac with full signal connection , core i7 HQ CPU, more than sufficient RAM, GPU's capable of driving at least two 4K monitors, etc.. So I don't think it's the PC... Maybe as you suggested, it's the TV (quad-core processor) or the HT.. Doesn't like what Plex's sending, tries to keep it simple instead. Forcing me to keep it simple thru USB smile.gif

I've been looking at getting a dedicated NAS unit for awhile, still can't justify the price to rewards ratio. Besides, instant streaming is the rage. Price of a 12TB NAS unit with Raid 1 setup. rclxub.gif
voncrane
post Mar 5 2016, 11:00 AM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 5 2016, 10:45 AM)
i pretty much came to that conclusion as well.

pls yell if u come across something viable!

meanwhile, i continue to make full use of existing boxes, tv's and the numerous hdd's. laugh.gif
Will do.... You too... biggrin.gif
voncrane
post Mar 8 2016, 01:01 AM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 7 2016, 07:15 PM)
tested this... no good.

kodi 16.0 jarvis struggles with 4k over wifi on this tv. buffers a lot.

kodi can playback 4k files on tv's usb, no problem.
the fact that the tv can do netflix 4k over wifi and my other android box's native player can do 4k over wifi says kodi 16.0 jarvis is not ready for 4k wifi.
Not really, for one, Netflix doesn't push anything close to true 4K. Jarvis can handle true 4K content streaming over Wifi.. So it's more like, either the TV can't handle it or at minimum the Wifi adapter can't handle it.. You can try the RC1. Plus, should be using Ethernet for the TV for optimal results.
voncrane
post Mar 8 2016, 05:50 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(ericlai @ Mar 8 2016, 03:27 PM)
Thanks guys! i always use the tv as a monitor in the living room, so i use PC mode. Hence, some of the settings like 'sharpness' is not available.

As for movies, i'm using Kodi from my pc to my pioneer AVR. Tested full hd Avatar yesterday, 20GB file. Picture quality is awesome. However, if u play those full hd video file around 1.4GB size, it will not look as sharp as my previous Sony full hd tv. Maybe the Sharp's 4K up scale engine is not working in PC mode? =D

Im using eco 1 now, i still find it bright at times. Eco 2 is too dim.

Besides, i also find 'red' color is more punchy than the other color with 630X.
Full length movies of that size are geared towards smaller screens like laptops and cell phones... IMO, i don't consider them "full HD" and playing such on the big screen TV, a 4k TV is considered (in my books) an abomination.. tongue.gif . Nothing wrong with the TV's upscaler per say.. Just that movie files of that size have very low video bitrates; there's only so much extra processing and filling in, the upscaling engine can do. Bet you, there are 1280 x 720p files that look much better.
voncrane
post Mar 9 2016, 12:06 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 9 2016, 10:33 AM)
the hdmi arc will not give dd/dts with kodi online streams.

neither will optical output.

same if playback hdd via kodi.

same if playing with any other player - mx, vlc...
as far as my testing goes, the dd/dts arc only works if u playback with tv native player.
Well that sucks.. So even Netflix's DD isn't passed through HDMI-ARC or Toslink? shocking.gif
voncrane
post Mar 9 2016, 12:34 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(ericlai @ Mar 9 2016, 11:02 AM)
@AVFAN Thanks for the reply, that is abit of a let down... Hopefully the marshmallow update will solve this problem =D i have yet to try the tv native player, will try tonight. Btw, i have switched to movie mode and play with the colour temperature settings, i was able to find my spot there.. haha, now watching movie is brighter now.. i have also turn on the advance contrast to standard, looks better, can see more details in dark scene.

Do you turn on film mode while watching movie? It looks nice for fast motion, at the same time it also make the movie looks fake =D Besides, i have tried 24p for movies, this tv can see judder quite clearly.
Soap Opera Motion? I'm not a fan.. Had extra motion processing disabled on a Samsung.. Don't need the fluidity..
voncrane
post Mar 10 2016, 07:10 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(sivanathan04 @ Mar 10 2016, 02:02 PM)
Hi friends I'm looking for 50-55inch led tv below 3k price tag..few days ago i saw Toshiba 50l5550 in senheng quite impressive for the price RM2800 after member discount...but they didn't have l9450 model...im looking for credit card 0% interest ezy payment...so any suggestion the price looks ok or high..any other shop recommendation...in other post i see l9450 price is rm2900 still the promotion on and got 0% interest ezy payment...tq 😊
Hi.. Buddy.. Not being rude or anything, however, might want to recheck the title of this thread... Thy current budget is err... shakehead.gif

voncrane
post Mar 11 2016, 10:12 AM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(otromen77 @ Mar 11 2016, 09:59 AM)
Currently using my pc. Mbp and also raspberry pi 2 running kodi steaming content my 8TB NAS
Since you could figure out how to setup & maintain an RPI, you'll get the hang of the Android TV OS as well..

Heres my take about major decisions like the living room TV.... Either buy the best 1080p TV you can afford or grab a more decent 4k TV. An entry-level 4K TV can be satisfactory, but you could do better. I've heard many horror stories about Courts Mammoth's installment plans, so be careful there as the final figures may not tally with the promo price.
voncrane
post Mar 11 2016, 12:24 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(yeo2007 @ Mar 11 2016, 10:41 AM)
laugh.gif  that's the perils of All TVs.
Fixed tongue.gif
voncrane
post Mar 16 2016, 12:58 AM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(DannyOP @ Mar 16 2016, 12:06 AM)
A revisit to Harvey Norman today looking at various full HD and 4k tvs make me realise once you get used to 4k you will find 1080p look like SD. Looking at 65" Sony W850 again suddenly make me realise how big the pixels are. Glad I got the 4k instead of 1080p TV.
One of the reasons why I'm giving the 4K industry a couple more years to gain traction before jumping in.. We'll see in, say 5 years...Tech can only get better.. smile.gif
voncrane
post Mar 16 2016, 02:54 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 16 2016, 10:04 AM)
actually, that also depends on when yr TV kaput! biggrin.gif
Hey.. Don't give the TV any ideas.. shakehead.gif .. Knocks on wood. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

QUOTE(jdgobio @ Mar 16 2016, 11:22 AM)
Yup, what has been seen cannot be unseen.
Yup.. I have to force myself to look away, if I have to walk past the display units.. smile.gif

QUOTE(lateboomer @ Mar 16 2016, 02:05 PM)
But I think 4k tv not entirely float my boat. I went to Pavillon Harvey last Fri to catch a glimpse of 4k tv. I saw Samsung SUHD, but the demo vid showed the veges looked so greenish like florescent lit veges, and also the green apples. The red color is the worst, the parrot after enhancement just looked like florescent bird.

It is digital color I would say, very high contrast and bright, but very artificial and not natural. The only good demo is night sky and night scene with good contrast, or documentary type of videos like travelling and building sites, but not for movies to show true human complexion.

I stayed there for some time even to look at new 8k sharp tv, which was slightly better. I think the hardest part for super 4k is to get the human skin tone color right. I saw patches of skin tone here and there. I also felt long term viewing induce eye fatigue. This is just my opinion, I am minority I guess.
What jdgobio says.. That's store mode on the TV in action.. Apparently, the majority like it all bright & sparkly.. Plus, it's in the store and with all the artificial lighting, they need to be able to draw in potential customers.. Once the TV's home, then one can tweak the settings to suit the eyes & viewing environment.

This post has been edited by voncrane: Mar 16 2016, 02:55 PM
voncrane
post Mar 16 2016, 03:16 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(lateboomer @ Mar 16 2016, 03:09 PM)
I guess you are saying the other way, plasma Tv has better motion handling than SUHD tv since it is still LCD tv. Am I right? Then what tv can give very good motion handling? I am using plasma tv actually.
Go big... Go OLED nod.gif
voncrane
post Mar 29 2016, 10:54 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(ericlai @ Mar 29 2016, 10:01 PM)
haha, we can never follow the latest technology unless we're very rich =D

I just went to this webiste below to download 4k samples to play on my tv. The file format is .encm. The tv and my pc also cannot play the file. Did you guys came across this issue before?

http://demo-uhd3d.com/categorie.php?cat=demouhd
This pretty much sums up why...

This trailer is HDR Ultra HD, so ... you need a HDR & UHD TV.

This file can be READ ONLY on a Panasonic TV (HDR + 4K) !!!

voncrane
post Mar 30 2016, 10:06 AM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(jdgobio @ Mar 30 2016, 09:42 AM)
That is so uncool of Panasonic to come up with such proprietary file/encoding formats.  mad.gif
True, but no worries as long as the international community does not adopt it.. It'll either die, remain a niche product or they'll be forced to open it up. Will try it later in the day on the PC, just for the lols.

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0636sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 09:35 PM