170 Pages « < 64 65 66 67 68 > » Bottom

Business MBA, Where's best to study MBA in Malaysia?

eric84cool
post Jan 20 2010, 11:35 AM

I'm BACK!!!
4,540 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ Jan 20 2010, 10:32 AM)
Checked out with HELPs and I... really sweat of their coordination management. They said the schedule will always fluctuate from time to time, depend on lectures' availability. I asked them how often this can happen, he is not sure...

I think.... I really sweat lah......  sweat.gif
seriously so bad ar?! sweat.gif

then how bout Victoria University by Sunway???I see their schedule also sweat.gif doh.gif .....

each module only take 6 weeks then exam already.... sweat.gif
POYOZER
post Jan 20 2010, 12:50 PM

Traveler
3,653 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ Jan 20 2010, 10:23 AM)
I have not known that LKW also offers MBA in Finance and Banking.. LOL

But I know LKW's got common problems other campuses have... rclxms.gif

So, if you want to go for private institution, check out the facilities, lecturers' quality is no longer under your considerations 'cos how much you learn still depend on you yourselves.
A ha. Mind to share what are the common problems they have?

Why you never heard about this course in LKW? Most probably it is because LKW is not a well-known for business courses. My house is in between Sunway College and LKW. That's why I choose either one. I don’t like MBA in Sunway because most of the classes held on weekends. I don’t think I can make it.

Actually I believe in myself than the university. From my previous university (the best IPTS during my time) experience, 95% of the knowledge I found it by my own. I only go there just to get the ‘certificate’.

This post has been edited by POYOZER: Jan 20 2010, 12:51 PM
debbieyss
post Jan 20 2010, 01:37 PM

Look at all my stars! I want to be a SUPERSTAR!
4,458 posts

QUOTE(POYOZER @ Jan 20 2010, 12:50 PM)
A ha. Mind to share what are the common problems they have?

Why you never heard about this course in LKW? Most probably it is because LKW is not a well-known for business courses. My house is in between Sunway College and LKW. That's why I choose either one. I don’t like MBA in Sunway because most of the classes held on weekends. I don’t think I can make it.

Actually I believe in myself than the university. From my previous university (the best IPTS during my time) experience, 95% of the knowledge I found it by my own. I only go there just to get the ‘certificate’.

One of the common problems is that "money-sucking". Second is the course consultants are not as professional as other Uni such as Sunway. I don't know how other view course consultants' ethical quality but for me, if a course consultants could not give suitable advice and guidance to someone who's looking for enrollment matters, what can one expects the course quality and reliability has?

Yes agreed. Take initiative to pursue knowledge and not depending on UNI or lecturers. For me, I go for UNI besides for certificate, also because there are lecturers for me to consult with, and I will always make sure the library facilities are good with updated reference books.

This post has been edited by debbieyss: Jan 20 2010, 01:39 PM
Mayomythical
post Jan 20 2010, 02:06 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(purple_tulip @ Dec 22 2009, 11:09 PM)
Does that mean if we're currently in a different field, with basic degree in science, it will be very difficult?
Not really. I started with a degree in law, so it's not impossible. However, it is still a pretty demanding course, especially Levels II and III.
Gary1981
post Jan 20 2010, 02:18 PM

1,610 posts

You get a management certificate from a well-known design university. Whats the POINT getting it? What kind of knowledge your perceive you able to get from them?

A phrase, "Rubbish in Rubbish Out". If the Lecturer cant even speak a proper English, but the lecturer is designated to teach English. WHat is the purpose for your to seek knowledge from them?

MBA is different because this course is a general subjects. Ask yourself, are you well-versed in all areas such like Finance, Accounts, HR, Marketing, Law, Statistics, Information system. If your answer is NO then
experience LEcturer (industry driven) is very important to drive you.

Lastly, what is your budget afford for your MBA? If weekends class that borther you, you can always choose not to attend the class since you claim 95% knowledge you gain on your own.
Also, the people networking that enroll for that course is also very important.
DO you wish your MBA classmate all is from corporate working world or vice-verse?

You have to put your commitment and consume sacrifice. How would you confront yourself with unbalance decision to make with a non-driven university to your convenience transportation and ur lifestyle?

Besides, can i offer you to buy the book at MPH which tittle 24 hours MBA? Thats is much cheaper & convenient and the rest you can learn from your own knowledge.????

I guess you definitely would not get any consultant to explain all this to you which neither to myself get it which truly only after my MBA.

I have classmate comes from seremban every weekends.

Hope you make a right choice for your future.

Just my opinion.
eric84cool
post Jan 20 2010, 04:02 PM

I'm BACK!!!
4,540 posts

QUOTE(Gary1981 @ Jan 20 2010, 02:18 PM)
You get a management certificate from a well-known design university. Whats the POINT getting it? What kind of knowledge your perceive you able to get from them?

A phrase, "Rubbish in Rubbish Out". If the Lecturer cant even speak a proper English, but the lecturer is designated to teach English. WHat is the purpose for your to seek knowledge from them?

MBA is different because this course is a general subjects. Ask yourself, are you well-versed in all areas such like Finance, Accounts, HR, Marketing, Law, Statistics, Information system. If your answer is NO then
experience LEcturer (industry driven) is very important to drive you.

Lastly, what is your budget afford for your MBA? If weekends class that borther you, you can always choose not to attend the class since you claim 95% knowledge you gain on your own.
Also, the people networking that enroll for that course is also very important.
DO you wish your MBA classmate all is from corporate working world or vice-verse?

You have to put your commitment and consume sacrifice. How would you confront yourself with unbalance decision to make with a non-driven university to your convenience transportation and ur lifestyle?

Besides, can i offer you to buy the book at MPH which tittle 24 hours MBA? Thats is much cheaper & convenient and the rest you can learn from your own knowledge.????

I guess you definitely would not get any consultant to explain all this to you which neither to myself get it which truly only after my MBA.

I have classmate comes from seremban every weekends.

Hope you make a right choice for your future.

Just my opinion.
Hi Gary, u currently taking MBA from which university?How's it?
Gary1981
post Jan 20 2010, 04:33 PM

1,610 posts

I've completed. Its USQ(Segi).
POYOZER
post Jan 20 2010, 06:55 PM

Traveler
3,653 posts

If just want to take the CFA/CFP exam only how much? Is it possible without attending the class? And where can I register?
Mayomythical
post Jan 21 2010, 04:08 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(POYOZER @ Jan 20 2010, 06:55 PM)
If just want to take the CFA/CFP exam only how much? Is it possible without attending the class? And where can I register?
There are three exams for CFA. First time registrants have to pay a registration fee on top of the exam fee for Level I. Subsequent exams, you just have to pay the exam fee. I can't remember the exact amount, but it's definitely more than 1k per exam, but exact amount depend on when you register.. the earlier the cheaper. Level 1 fee (including registration) might be more like 3k++.

You can look it up here. You can register at the links provided as well.

Also, the course is meant for self-study, and the course fees already include the books required. You may want to invest in additional books from Schweser for another 1k+ per level, which make studying a lot easier (the CFA curriculum books are very, very, very long-winded).

Good luck!
debbieyss
post Jan 21 2010, 04:18 PM

4,458 posts

I heard someone said CFA is not easy to pass, furthermore you got to study like no tomorrow.
xuzen
post Jan 21 2010, 04:38 PM

4,436 posts

Hello all,

I just want to add my two pennies to this thread.

I have just attended a biz seminar and got a chance to meet a KDU course facilitator/counselor.

I asked him the exact question; e.g. what is the major diff btw CFP, CFA, MFinance/MBA in Finance

He said the Master type programs are generally a generalist program with heavier element of management studies (e.g. HR, Management etc). He said those are good programs for corporate climbers (ambition to be CEO/CFO) or people interested to go into the academics (read: teaching/lecturing).

I told him my ambition, i.e., to own/partner a Financial Advisory Business and I am currently pursuing the CFP program.

He said that for business owner, there is less urgency to get a Master's program.

He said if one wishes to be in the Financial Advisory Business, then getting the qualification to obtain the License is most important. He said a better option is for me to get the IFP (Islamic Financial Planning) certification, to cover the whole spectrum of the business.

Having said the above, of all the different discipline in Financial Advisory I found Investment Planning/Advisory to be most exciting for me.

That is why after completing my CFP/IFP, I hope to continue CFA to enhance my role as a Investment Specialist in my own practice.

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Jan 21 2010, 05:00 PM
debbieyss
post Jan 21 2010, 04:41 PM

4,458 posts

Xuzen, is it really really very hard to pass CFA? Objective questions or subjective questions?
Mayomythical
post Jan 21 2010, 04:51 PM

48 posts

Totally objective for Levels I & II.

Structured response and short essay for Level III, I think.
xuzen
post Jan 21 2010, 04:52 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ Jan 21 2010, 04:41 PM)
Xuzen, is it really really very hard to pass CFA? Objective questions or subjective questions?
I asked the counselor the same thing; I told him CFA has an infamous reputation of having very low passing rate (read: tough paper to pass)

He replied, "Many candidates do it on self study method. That is why there exist a low passing rate. Having a good lecturer/environment can actually improve the passing rate. With good lecturer, it is not that difficult especially for someone like you who is in the personal financial advisory business. Module 4 of CFP will cover some of the material in Lvl 1 of CFA".

I would like to add that KDU do not have a CFA program and I believe he is not trying to be a sales person on that day.

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Jan 21 2010, 05:35 PM
debbieyss
post Jan 21 2010, 04:53 PM

4,458 posts

Oh thanks...

What's the passing mark?
xuzen
post Jan 21 2010, 04:55 PM

4,436 posts

Debbie,

You seem very interested wrt CFA as well. Which industry/work are you doing at the moment? Bank? Other Financial Institution?

Xuzen

Added on January 21, 2010, 4:56 pm
QUOTE(Mayomythical @ Jan 21 2010, 04:51 PM)
Totally objective for Levels I & II.

Structured response and short essay for Level III, I think.
Apparently there are 6 papers to complete in the CFP program. Paper 1-5 are objective, whilst Paper 6 is essay/case study.

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Jan 21 2010, 04:56 PM
debbieyss
post Jan 21 2010, 05:03 PM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jan 21 2010, 04:55 PM)
Debbie,

You seem very interested wrt CFA as well. Which industry/work are you doing at the moment? Bank? Other Financial Institution?

Xuzen
Ya, I'm pretty interested in finance, but I'm not working in banking industry. My MBA in Finance will commence in July and I'm enquiring CFA just for pleasure knowledge.

What are you currently working as?
Mayomythical
post Jan 21 2010, 05:03 PM

48 posts

Xuzen, in a way, there is a significant overlap for CFA and CFP, especially on the portfolio managent and wealth advisory parts for CFA (which I guess would make up part of the CFP curriculum).

The difference with CFA is that there are additional materials more relevant to a financial analyst e.g. financial statement analysis, derivatives and alternative investments, stock and fixed income valuation, quants, etc.

debbieyss
post Jan 21 2010, 05:08 PM

4,458 posts

Ha.. I think CFA is quite interesting to me...Initially I'm looking for courses which related to derivatives and alternative investments, stock and fixed income valuation... Haha...
xuzen
post Jan 21 2010, 05:17 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ Jan 21 2010, 05:03 PM)
Ya, I'm pretty interested in finance, but I'm not working in banking industry. My MBA in Finance will commence in July and I'm enquiring CFA just for pleasure knowledge.

What are you currently working as?
Ha! Debbie study MBA (Finance), Mayomythical is doing CFA (I assume) and I do CFP, maybe we can start a little club here and check our progress 6 months later. Some sort of knowledge sharing.

Currently I run my family Kedai Runcit business but I am interested to move into the Financial Advisory Business. Taking CFP is my first step. I hope to see myself as an established Licensed Investment Advisor/Specialist in my community in 5 -10 years time.

Xuzen

170 Pages « < 64 65 66 67 68 > » Top

0.0395sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 03:10 AM