6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Credit Cards Credit Card v19, Post/Ask general questions here, Please read post 1-3 before posting, tq

laymank
post Feb 23 2016, 12:13 PM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(DarReNz @ Feb 23 2016, 11:59 AM)
i mean if you give the details of your cc they will auto debit every month so let's say insurance, the insurance provider when they process your card, i am guessing their payment gateway would be put as insurance so is that how the credit card companies know which categories it belongs to ?
You may referthis link this link to find your auto debit billing MCC code to determine the category.

laymank
post Feb 25 2016, 12:13 AM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Feb 24 2016, 11:41 PM)
I just booked normally using booking.com

Aih, have to raise a dispute if they really charged
my recent booking with booking.com also book now, pay at the hotel.
there was no charge notification at all.
laymank
post Feb 25 2016, 01:15 PM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Feb 25 2016, 10:48 AM)
Any particular reason you want to do this?
Old card cannot be used anymore and new card hasn't activated yet, do you plan to cancel this card?
Then, just call and cancel.

No need to cancel old card, it cannot be used anymore. For safety reason, you may destroy it from your end.
never leave the new card not activated just like that. you are still liable for any card that is NOT cancelled.
laymank
post Mar 3 2016, 08:54 AM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(DarkAeon @ Mar 2 2016, 11:45 PM)
can you really swipe more than your credit limit if you debit your credit card with cash beforehand?

for example:
limit 1k, debit 500 cash. the max you can swipe is it still 1k or 1.5k now?

someone argue this is possible but i have doubts
Can work.

Last time i travel for business, had to use my own credit card that only have CL of 5k when the hotel rental itself is more than that.
I also deposited a few Ks to allow me to use the card for more than 5K without problem.
laymank
post Mar 4 2016, 10:52 AM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(Bendan520 @ Mar 4 2016, 10:35 AM)
Hi, Im a fresh grad, if I wanna apply for a credit card, how many months of bank statement/payment slip/EPF statement I need to provide? Given that I wanna apply for the RM24k per annum card.

Do I have to only provide 1 of the above 3 mentioned statement?
According to some card sales agent, EPF of 6 months or above is adequate. However, if you supply 3 months latest payslips, it will strengthen your application. Bank statement is not required.
laymank
post Mar 7 2016, 11:47 AM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(omgimahero @ Mar 7 2016, 11:45 AM)
hey everyone,

i just applied for my first CC with Maybank for their 2 card gold.. apparently my application got rejected... because im still new in this I wanna find out what can i do next

1) can i call maybank and verify why my application got rejected?

2) maybank 2 card gold require a minimum annual salary of RM30k meanwhile my annual net income is RM29,500 after deducting epf and etc. Is this the reason why my application got rejected?

3) is it advisable to try to apply for other cards with other bank straight away after my application got rejected with maybank?

thanks all senpai for their assistance! cheers.gif
1) standard bank practice won't tell you the reason.

2) should be based on before deduction, not after.

3) no harm trying.
laymank
post Mar 7 2016, 11:57 AM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(omgimahero @ Mar 7 2016, 11:51 AM)
1) yeah i tot so.  cry.gif

2) okay, so do u think my application got rejected because my anuual income is RM500 lesser than RM30k requirement?

3) any entry level credit card can u recommend me to apply? i just scared if i spam apply cc then it shows bad credit score next time in the future cause alot of rejected cc application.

i applied on my own through mb2u website. do u think i have a better chance if i apply through maybank credit card sales person?
(2) Can't say. Only the card approval dept knows.

(3) If you have access to card center, try walk in to apply.
laymank
post Mar 7 2016, 01:17 PM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(omgimahero @ Mar 7 2016, 01:09 PM)
Thank you for your recommendations. Will find out more info and apply accordingly. Yes, i am fresh grad but i've been working for 2 years freelance for my company.

Now i'm permanent full time staff confirmed on January 2016.
That explains why your application was rejected - cause there is not enough credit record histories to look at.
You may still try to apply, but without a consistent EPF contributions for past 1 year (since you said you work freelance), it's hard to approve.
laymank
post Mar 9 2016, 10:08 AM

4,232 posts

Maybank has started 'Visa Checkout', an online payment convenience similar to PayPal, except that it's by Visa.
laymank
post Mar 9 2016, 12:15 PM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(DarReNz @ Mar 9 2016, 12:13 PM)
visa checkout will be popular can use wearables, mobile app, built in car application etc to pay
Also expecting it to be cheaper than PayPal, in term of fees and charges if any.

I know that daigou65 charges 4% for using PayPal. But Visa Checkout is still new in this region.
laymank
post Mar 17 2016, 08:38 AM

4,232 posts

Pin and Pay has been deferred to 1st July 2017, an extra 6 months.

https://pinandpay.com.my/en/cardholder.html
laymank
post Mar 17 2016, 09:28 AM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Mar 17 2016, 08:55 AM)
laugh.gif Malaysia really boleh, like this also got delayed.
I think partly could be due to the card vendors could not catch up with such a surge in fortune to produce millions of cards for all the banks.
laymank
post Mar 21 2016, 12:28 PM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(alvinfks78 @ Mar 21 2016, 12:24 PM)
Guys got any knowledge of VISA CHECKOUT. Just implementing.

How do they do TAC security?
similar to PayPal - registered for an account and add credit card(s) to it.
laymank
post Mar 24 2016, 11:42 AM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Mar 24 2016, 11:37 AM)
It will auto transfer to the new card, after all your card will be still the same no. No issue for you to make any payment.
The only thing changed are probably expiry date and CVC number at the back.
laymank
post Mar 27 2016, 12:59 PM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(YoNGkw90 @ Mar 27 2016, 12:34 PM)
Hi, got a question here. Can i use tenancy agreement together with my payslips to apply for credit card? Do they accept tenancy agreement rental as income?
Never heard of it.
laymank
post Apr 21 2016, 02:36 PM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Apr 21 2016, 01:54 PM)
dont have to pay. if i'm not mistaken, uob is not too strict on this.

same happen to my Vox. wrongly-charged amount is in current statement, but the refund amount is in unbilled.
i just pay whatever outstanding. so far, no finance charge.
CIMB however must die-die pay statement balance, else kena charge.
I'm not so sure about that.

I have been paying the difference rather than the statement amount but never got penalized for underpayment. Was I lucky or what?

laymank
post Apr 21 2016, 02:43 PM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Apr 21 2016, 02:38 PM)
my idea is the same. that's why i only paid the difference. just be mindful on cimb smile.gif
but the stmt I posted above IS CIMB
laymank
post Apr 21 2016, 04:19 PM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Apr 21 2016, 04:15 PM)
should've stated it earlier, right? lol

well, some users got slapped with finance charge due to this smile.gif perhaps due to specific condition only it's charged  hmm.gif
I thought the picture is self explanatory... it has 'CIMB REBATE...' in there mah. doh.gif
laymank
post Apr 26 2016, 09:06 PM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(xphr3ak @ Apr 26 2016, 08:50 PM)
Guys,

I need your advise.

I have m2c about 2months. suddenly, I realize this card not interesting anymore.

If i terminate this card, do i have big chance to get the new card/application approved?

Applied, CIMB Cash Rebate, rejected.

Thinking to apply UOB Vox & HL Wise.

Please advise.

Are you new to credit cards?
If yes, then you probably want to keep these cards and build up your credit histories for a year or so before apply other credit cards.
laymank
post Apr 27 2016, 08:53 AM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(xphr3ak @ Apr 27 2016, 12:08 AM)
No.
Before m2c, i used Citibank, MBF, Aeon, Cimb, Bank Islam, and Rhb.

What happened to your existing CIMB card? Technically, applying new card from the same bank usually sharing the same CL and should not affect your application.

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0784sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:16 PM