125 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.11, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

Plutoman
post Dec 8 2015, 06:28 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(rainy~days @ Dec 8 2015, 06:17 PM)
new~ only started yesterday.
thumbup.gif If it is affecting previous placements too will go back to scold them too. Haha. Thanks for the info, maybe Affin just realized with 4.6% tak lah untung wor~~

With 20% fund in 1 month FD, meaning you still earn 4.6% for the remaining 80% fund, but too much trouble to go back again after 1 month rclxub.gif Salute affin for coming out with such "brilliant" idea doh.gif
aeiou228
post Dec 8 2015, 06:29 PM

5,867 posts

To those who has OCBC premier save gold SA.
Not sure how it works though.
yygo
post Dec 8 2015, 07:19 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(Plutoman @ Dec 8 2015, 06:28 PM)
thumbup.gif  If it is affecting previous placements too will go back to scold them too. Haha. Thanks for the info, maybe Affin just realized with 4.6% tak lah untung wor~~

With 20% fund in 1 month FD, meaning you still earn 4.6% for the remaining 80% fund, but too much trouble to go back again after 1 month  rclxub.gif Salute affin for coming out with such "brilliant" idea  doh.gif
me too will scold them! tongue.gif
not putting anymore $$ there. whistling.gif
cklimm
post Dec 8 2015, 10:28 PM

2,337 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Dec 8 2015, 06:29 PM)
To those who has OCBC premier save gold SA.
Not sure how it works though.
This is a bundled one, the effective rate sure lower than 4.55%
cherroy
post Dec 8 2015, 10:45 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Plutoman @ Dec 8 2015, 06:14 PM)
Does this new term applies only to the new placement or it is applicable to all including the one that was placed few weeks ago?
Once you placed it, then it is done and dusted.

Only newer placement is affected after the newer term introduced.

wil-i-am
post Dec 8 2015, 11:48 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(yygo @ Dec 8 2015, 02:55 PM)
but what is the rate offered? hmm.gif

or the one who loves affin already found out? tongue.gif
Very bz today

QUOTE(yygo @ Dec 8 2015, 06:16 PM)
i placed mine recently. tis has to be for new placement. cannot ask us to go and change ours.

@wiliam, who loves affin, rite? thumbup.gif
U have answer on my behalf
Plutoman
post Dec 9 2015, 08:30 AM

145 posts

Attached File  Revision_of_Rates_effective_1Jan2016_BI.pdf ( 25.09k ) Number of downloads: 48

Found this interesting notice from Affin bank website, they are lowering the interest rate for normal saving account, example: 20K deposit used to give 2.7% pa, going to change to 1.5%pa only. Going to be the same for other banks?

Sorry, a bit out of topic as this is normal saving account.
bbgoat
post Dec 9 2015, 08:57 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(rainy~days @ Dec 8 2015, 02:35 PM)
Affin Bank Year End Fixed Deposit Bonanza 2015

The bank juz added term to split the total fd, 80% total into 15 month remaining 20% into either 1 or 2 month fd

Etc, Rm10000 into rm8000 15month / rm2000 into 1 or 2 month.
QUOTE(rainy~days @ Dec 8 2015, 03:16 PM)
Refer 1st post
1 month - 4.05% pa
2 months - 4.10% pa
15 months - 4.60% pa

Few aunties angry scold them for the sudden term change
80% = 4.60% for 15 month then remaining 20% 4.05 for 1 month
Thanks for info. thumbup.gif

Have been thinking of putting more eggs in Affin. With this change will just move to OCBC 4.5%. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Dec 9 2015, 08:57 AM
familyfirst
post Dec 9 2015, 10:00 AM

1,311 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Dec 9 2015, 08:57 AM)
Thanks for info.  thumbup.gif

Have been thinking of putting more eggs in Affin. With this change will just move to OCBC 4.5%.  biggrin.gif
Ya agreed. I have one maturing besok from MBB. Must run to OCBC lor.
harmonics3
post Dec 9 2015, 10:06 AM

636 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Dec 9 2015, 08:57 AM)
Thanks for info.  thumbup.gif

Have been thinking of putting more eggs in Affin. With this change will just move to OCBC 4.5%.  biggrin.gif
managed to open 4.6% 15-month in Affin yesterday.. wasn't informed about the change in 80:20 requirements.
bbgoat
post Dec 9 2015, 10:23 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(harmonics3 @ Dec 9 2015, 10:06 AM)
managed to open 4.6% 15-month in Affin yesterday.. wasn't informed about the change in 80:20 requirements.
Interesting, you have "escaped" Affin's new T & C ? thumbup.gif

Another issue of banks implementation of T & C ? hmm.gif I found the branch that I was in with people nothing to do but play their smart phones. biggrin.gif
Ramjade
post Dec 9 2015, 10:31 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Dec 9 2015, 10:23 AM)
Another issue of banks implementation of T & C ?  hmm.gif I found the branch that I was in with people nothing to do but play their smart phones.  biggrin.gif
Now you know why I am loyal customer of affin bank. biggrin.gif No customer, high FD rates. Everything done quickly. Feel like VIP customer cause no need to queue up without actually being a vip customer. laugh.gif rclxms.gif
yygo
post Dec 9 2015, 10:47 AM

895 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 9 2015, 10:31 AM)
Now you know why I am loyal customer of affin bank.  biggrin.gif No customer, high FD rates. Everything done quickly. Feel like VIP customer cause no need to queue up without actually being a vip customer. laugh.gif  rclxms.gif
suitable for hnws & young punks like u & me? brows.gif tongue.gif

still loyal with affin? hmm.gif now their sa rates also going down. you are fans of ambank alr'dy! brows.gif
??!!
post Dec 9 2015, 11:07 AM

2,548 posts

Below is what defined by Alliance whether with BC or otherwise:

Please be informed that “new funds” will be measured based on incremental growth of Total Deposit compared against Previous Monthly Average Balance (MAB). New funds are funds that are not derived from any existing accounts with Alliance Bank or its subsidiaries which is calculated as follows:

New Funds = Today’s Total Deposits – Previous MAB – This Month’s Total eFD
I tested the system before and got round it this way..works if you have few accounts in Alliance

I have several accounts with Alliance, each with different combination of account holder/s- some single name, some joint account with different family members.

Withdraw FD into account A. I saja try transfer $ online from say account A to account B, both account in Alliance. I tried placing eFD promo from account B..Voila dapat brows.gif ie...funds from account A to account B seen as 'fresh funds' in account B. Actually I asked kat counter if I can do the above..the cashier said "tak Boleh"

This post has been edited by ??!!: Dec 9 2015, 11:12 AM
Ramjade
post Dec 9 2015, 11:08 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(yygo @ Dec 9 2015, 10:47 AM)
suitable for hnws & young punks like u & me? brows.gif  tongue.gif

still loyal with affin? hmm.gif now their sa rates also going down. you are fans of ambank alr'dy! brows.gif
Suitable for those who want a feel of VIP banking without the money involved. (comfortable chairs, cold aircon, fast service) tongue.gif I never placed any money in their SA except for the minimum amount required to keep it active (for principal and interest crediting purpose only . Their SA rates sucks but their FD promo rates are usually excellent (except for what they just did). rclxms.gif

Yup. Still loyal. Still got some FDs there which will mature some where next year. Heck all my leftovers FDs are in affin bank. biggrin.gif Didn't place any FDs this year except eFDs at 1 month tenure eFD rates still not attractive sad.gif

Just waiting for some banks to come out and topped ambank and I will make the switch. drool.gif Is possible since banks are hungry for our money. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Dec 9 2015, 11:09 AM
Ramjade
post Dec 9 2015, 11:11 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(??!! @ Dec 9 2015, 11:07 AM)
I tested the system before and got round it this way..works if you have few accounts in Alliance

I have several accounts with Alliance, each with different combination of account holder/s- some single name, some joint account with different family members.

Withdraw FD into account A. I saja try transfer $ online from say account A to account B, both account in Alliance. I tried placing eFD promo from account B..Voila dapat  brows.gif ie...funds from account A to account B seen as 'fresh funds' in account B. Actually I asked kat counter if I can do the above..the cashier say "tak Boleh"
Any idea if alliance offer interesting 1 month eFD? So how long can you play this? (After every few months or until you run out of account?) hmm.gif
harmonics3
post Dec 9 2015, 11:31 AM

636 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Dec 9 2015, 10:23 AM)
Interesting, you have "escaped" Affin's new T & C ?  thumbup.gif

Another issue of banks implementation of T & C ?  hmm.gif I found the branch that I was in with people nothing to do but play their smart phones.  biggrin.gif
Affin is always quite empty.. but their processing is a bit slow compared to other banks (comparable to Ambank/stand chart)
??!!
post Dec 9 2015, 11:56 AM

2,548 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 9 2015, 11:11 AM)
Any idea if alliance offer interesting 1 month eFD? So how long can you play this? (After every few months or until you run out of account?)  hmm.gif
Think no eFD promo for 1 month term.

Don't know how many times can do this with the average monthly bal rule..too lazy to calculate and I don't have so much to put in Alliance FD anyway
Bonescythe
post Dec 9 2015, 12:22 PM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(??!! @ Dec 9 2015, 11:56 AM)

Don't know how many times can do this with the average monthly bal rule..too lazy to calculate and I don't have so much to put in Alliance FD anyway
1 mth efd = Mach 10k
ikanbilis
post Dec 9 2015, 12:25 PM

Trusted member since 2003
2,538 posts

QUOTE(??!! @ Dec 9 2015, 11:56 AM)

I want to park my funds in the Alliance 9 months eFD 4.35%. Is it beneficial to join the PB as well? I saw the website says need to put 10k in CASA, is this 10k being earmark for some time or can withdraw immediately?

125 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0163sec    0.88    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 12:28 PM