Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.11, Strictly for FD Discussion Only
Plutoman
Dec 8 2015, 06:14 PM

QUOTE(rainy~days @ Dec 8 2015, 02:35 PM) Affin Bank Year End Fixed Deposit Bonanza 2015 The bank juz added term to split the total fd, 80% total into 15 month remaining 20% into either 1 or 2 month fd Etc, Rm10000 into rm8000 15month / rm2000 into 1 or 2 month. Does this new term applies only to the new placement or it is applicable to all including the one that was placed few weeks ago?
Plutoman
Dec 8 2015, 06:28 PM

QUOTE(rainy~days @ Dec 8 2015, 06:17 PM) new~ only started yesterday.  If it is affecting previous placements too will go back to scold them too. Haha. Thanks for the info, maybe Affin just realized with 4.6% tak lah untung wor~~ With 20% fund in 1 month FD, meaning you still earn 4.6% for the remaining 80% fund, but too much trouble to go back again after 1 month  Salute affin for coming out with such "brilliant" idea
Plutoman
Dec 9 2015, 08:30 AM

Revision_of_Rates_effective_1Jan2016_BI.pdf ( 25.09k )
Number of downloads: 48Found this interesting notice from Affin bank website, they are lowering the interest rate for normal saving account, example: 20K deposit used to give 2.7% pa, going to change to 1.5%pa only. Going to be the same for other banks? Sorry, a bit out of topic as this is normal saving account.
Plutoman
Dec 18 2015, 08:21 PM

QUOTE(matow @ Dec 18 2015, 04:50 PM) After reading the postings here, decided that HLB 4.5% was the FD to get since my SCB 15mth FD matured today. So hurriedly I uplift my SCB FD and proceed to HLB Bkt Tinggi, Klang branch which was near my office. The HLB branch there was quite busy with many people. My turn came and I proceeded to inform the counter girl that I want to place FD on the promotional 4.5% rate for 6 months. The counter girl ask if I have a saving account with the branch, I say no but I do have a a savings account with another branch. She says cannot, I have to open another account with the branch in order for me to place the FD. I need to take another que number to open the account. Got fedup, took my money and proceeded to Affin Bank. There I was greeted like an old friend, attended to immediately by a middle age lady (no leng lui here...sigh) and she proceed to explain to me on the promotional rate of 4.6% where by 20% of it need to be placed in either a 1 month (4.05%), 2 months (4.10%) or 3 months (4.3%) FD while the balance 80% will enjoy the 4.6% pa interest. She advised me to take up the 3 months FD @ 4.3%. After making some rough calculations, the first 3 months interest came out more that than the HLB 4.5% FD (3 months period). After that, I can take the 20% and find other FD to put (hopefully can find a better rate) while the balance 80% can enjoy the 4.6% interest. I find that the customer service experience at Affin bank so much more better, we are really being treated as customers instead of being treated like livestocks at HLB. They dont want to open FD for you using your existing saving account because that saving account is registered under other branch, if they proceed to open for you, the FD placement will be registered under the branch from your saving account, not under their branch. So they dont want to waste their time and energy for you. I encountered the same with public bank. I placed once before at different branch and on the FD slip, its stated that the placement is made under my saving acc's branch, not where the branch i placed. Go back again to place some more after that, they dont let anymore.
Plutoman
Dec 18 2015, 08:54 PM

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Dec 18 2015, 08:40 PM) U are wrong in this. I confirm with the staff when placing the fund woth HLB MV branch. I told the staff that i already got existing FD acc at jalan perak HLB Main, why do you still need me to open a FD acc here ? The staff told me that when they open the FD acc here, the money recorded in the FD acc is counted as this branch (MV branch). So it will be their so called "performance" It is not true that you need to open a saving acc at different branch. Now my ebanking hlb connect show 2 FD acc. 1 from main branch, 1 from MV branch. I might be wrong with HLB, but this is how it works for public bank based on my experience.
Plutoman
Dec 28 2015, 03:18 PM

FYI, GIA 4.5% promo from Maybank no more already, was told by Maybank staff that this promo already reached its quota last week. Was planning to make placement this morning.
Plutoman
Dec 29 2015, 09:53 AM

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Dec 28 2015, 10:11 PM) Sad to hear u miss d boat Anyway, another boat is on d way  Hope the rate will continue to go up and up!!!
Plutoman
Dec 31 2015, 08:59 AM

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 31 2015, 12:39 AM) Should be no problem. You can request for BSA. With BSA, you won't be charged anything as RM8+  What is BSA? Basic saving account? Recently I tried to open saving account with HLB but they do not give passbook for saving account anymore. They only give atm card and ask us to do everything online! Atm card of course comes with rm8/ year.
Plutoman
Dec 31 2015, 02:04 PM

QUOTE(lilacfs12 @ Dec 31 2015, 10:20 AM) go hong leong open saving account, but branch manager insist cannot open without atm card T_T Same with what I encountered with HLB when wanna open saving account. I dont want atm card because I only need saving account just for FD placement. Well.. HLB not the only bank around, I just put else where..