125 Pages « < 82 83 84 85 86 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.11, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

TSAh SiAnG
post Jan 24 2016, 10:45 AM

278 posts

Hey TOMEI-R & supersound this thread is strictly for FD discussion only.

Stop being off-topic.
TOMEI-R
post Jan 24 2016, 11:02 AM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(Ah SiAnG @ Jan 24 2016, 10:45 AM)
Hey TOMEI-R & supersound this thread is strictly for FD discussion only.

Stop being off-topic.
Sorry TS. Noted.
ikanbilis
post Jan 24 2016, 11:23 AM

Trusted member since 2003
2,543 posts

If anyone expects the FD rate not going up beyond 4.5%, then the BSN 4.75% for 5 years would be a good choice! tongue.gif

My view is the FD rate is still going up this year. Reason being 1) RM is still weakening, and 2) local banks need to prop up their liquidity coverage ratio.

This post has been edited by ikanbilis: Jan 24 2016, 11:26 AM
Ramjade
post Jan 24 2016, 11:53 AM

24,387 posts

Look at the FD rates. End of last year, all banks come out with 4.5+% FD. Then in January, suddenly all the 4.5+% FD drop (not as good as last 3 months of 2015). I ma guessing is FD rates will continue to drop.
SUSintrepidity85
post Jan 24 2016, 01:00 PM

HOORAY!
843 posts

QUOTE(ikanbilis @ Jan 24 2016, 11:23 AM)
If anyone expects the FD rate not going up beyond 4.5%, then the BSN 4.75% for 5 years would be a good choice! tongue.gif

My view is the FD rate is still going up this year. Reason being 1) RM is still weakening, and 2) local banks need to prop up their liquidity coverage ratio.
5 years is too long.. the most i will lock in perhaps for 6 months if i have extra money
SUSintrepidity85
post Jan 24 2016, 01:01 PM

HOORAY!
843 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 24 2016, 11:53 AM)
Look at the FD rates. End of last year, all banks come out with 4.5+% FD. Then in January, suddenly all the 4.5+% FD drop (not as good as last 3 months of 2015). I ma guessing is FD rates will continue to drop.
end of year they have many money lock in already ma.. so this is the beginning year.. after have many money of course they relax a bit now..
wil-i-am
post Jan 24 2016, 07:16 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(intrepidity85 @ Jan 24 2016, 01:00 PM)
5 years is too long.. the most i will lock in perhaps for 6 months if i have extra money
It depends on the objective of your extra money
If u look out for opportunity, go for monthly basis
Otherwise, split into multiple duration namely 1m, 3m, 6m, 9m, 12m n > 15m
wu ming
post Jan 24 2016, 07:33 PM

1,143 posts

QUOTE(rilakuma_lee @ Jan 24 2016, 08:25 AM)
hello, I need some professional advice from forumers here.

I wan to open a FD account with HLB under their promotion with 4.5% p.a., 6 months, but also considering Foreign current account in maybank which min deposit is USD 1k.

Was thinking since MYR is depreciating, perhaps foreign current account can help to keep the cash as long term.

what is the best to go to? I can only go for one ><

thank you very muchieee ~~
Deposits must be in Ringgit denomination when you place a foreign deposit within banks in Malaysia.

Banks would then convert your Ringgit according to the exchange rate + their premium before placing the deposits in your preferred currency.

Their premiums are usually very high so you loose out instantaneously.
yygo
post Jan 24 2016, 08:04 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Jan 24 2016, 07:16 PM)
seldom see king of short reply with long sentence, let alone 3 lines! nod.gif notworthy.gif

if go for monthly, if no change in rate, will lose out. some amount to 1 m is fine. my opinion.
SUSintrepidity85
post Jan 24 2016, 08:28 PM

HOORAY!
843 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Jan 24 2016, 07:16 PM)
agree with you . i shall use this idea once i have got my bonus haha
gsc
post Jan 24 2016, 10:10 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(wu ming @ Jan 24 2016, 07:33 PM)
Deposits must be in Ringgit denomination when you place a foreign deposit within banks in Malaysia.

Banks would then convert your Ringgit according to the exchange rate + their premium before placing the deposits in your preferred currency.

Their premiums are usually very high so you loose out instantaneously.
It is wrong info. to state that bank will charge premium on top of exchange rate for foreign currency FD. I have both foreign currency FD account and also foreign currency account. One member already mentioned it is a wrong thread but I could not resist to answer because it is misleading to give people wrong advice.
hcolin
post Jan 24 2016, 10:16 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(yygo @ Jan 23 2016, 06:19 PM)
no admin fees for uob and rhb. onli fees for banker's cheque, ibg/rentas. if take out cash, 0 fees.
Yah sorry you are right about RHB...I double checked and it was Hong Leong that wanted to charge me to withdraw my FD. At the end, I said just transferred in to my HLB account.

This post has been edited by hcolin: Jan 24 2016, 10:16 PM
SUSsupersound
post Jan 25 2016, 08:13 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(hcolin @ Jan 24 2016, 10:16 PM)
Yah sorry you are right about RHB...I double checked and it was Hong Leong that wanted to charge me to withdraw my FD. At the end, I said just transferred in to my HLB account.
What? HLB will charge fees when withdraw paper FD? If yes, how much it is hmm.gif
yygo
post Jan 25 2016, 10:08 AM

895 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Jan 25 2016, 08:13 AM)
What? HLB will charge fees when withdraw paper FD? If yes, how much it is hmm.gif
i think he is referring to cheque or ibg fees.
SUSsupersound
post Jan 25 2016, 10:20 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(yygo @ Jan 25 2016, 10:08 AM)
Ok, just wait and see his reply icon_question.gif
SUSintrepidity85
post Jan 25 2016, 10:45 AM

HOORAY!
843 posts

QUOTE(yygo @ Jan 25 2016, 10:08 AM)
definitely.. no charges for placement or withdrawal FD
cklimm
post Jan 25 2016, 01:07 PM

2,338 posts

What will happen if i place a one month fd on 30 Jan? As theres no 30th on Feb.
??!!
post Jan 25 2016, 01:16 PM

2,548 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Jan 25 2016, 01:07 PM)
2 experience from 2 different bank. Can't remember which banks tho.

1) FD expired on 28 Feb (last day of month)
2) FD expired 30 days from 30th Jan

yygo
post Jan 25 2016, 01:26 PM

895 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Jan 25 2016, 01:07 PM)
strange question from someone with 1 mil eggs in 1 cert. laugh.gif

fd mature on 29/2 (tis year leap year)
TOMEI-R
post Jan 25 2016, 01:49 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 24 2016, 11:53 AM)
QUOTE(intrepidity85 @ Jan 24 2016, 01:01 PM)
end of year they have many money lock in already ma.. so this is the beginning year.. after have many money of course they relax a bit now..
I'd say this will depend on their collection for all loans, credit cards etc. If NPL keeps going up this year, Im sure they will come up with better rates for fd. But do bear in mind, when banks give out higher rates for FD, so do they charge more interests for loans. nod.gif

125 Pages « < 82 83 84 85 86 > » Top

0.0297sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 04:24 AM