about exemption, i would choose malaysia university, why? because u could get exemption for 9 papers. if u choose overseas, even UK degree could not get 9 papers exemption.
so choose wisely.
Business ACCA (v2)
Feb 1 2007, 01:30 AM
36 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
about exemption, i would choose malaysia university, why? because u could get exemption for 9 papers. if u choose overseas, even UK degree could not get 9 papers exemption.
so choose wisely. |
Feb 1 2007, 12:33 PM
53 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: PJ |
QUOTE(coolly @ Jan 31 2007, 10:23 PM) hello...ya...it means exemption as i stated above... yeah....i think i kno....coz i was thinking the same way....but thx for the info that i need to pay for the exemptions....i didn't kno that....hehe~basically in simple,it means this...u have to complete all together 14 papers to get ur acca qualification in total... so acca does recognised certain qualification such as CIMA and other degree to get exemption which in the case u stated exempted 9 papers,so u do not need to sit for the actual acca exam and u jus need to sit for the 5 remained... by the way,even though u don need to pay the exam fees for the 9 papers,u still need to pay the exemptions fees for the 9 papers u exempted which is equivalent to the amount that we paid for the exam fees for that 9 papers... u get wat u mean? Added on February 1, 2007, 12:37 pm QUOTE(faith77 @ Feb 1 2007, 01:30 AM) about exemption, i would choose malaysia university, why? because u could get exemption for 9 papers. if u choose overseas, even UK degree could not get 9 papers exemption. oic....but taylor's business school got partnership with University Of West England (UWE) and they got maximum 9 exemptions from ACCA...i have checked the ACCA global website and it is true that they got the exemptions...so choose wisely. This post has been edited by coffeelover: Feb 1 2007, 12:37 PM |
Feb 1 2007, 09:21 PM
ohh maybe now it has changed, but in 1999, whoever graduated from UK, u could not get up untill 9.
Feb 2 2007, 10:22 PM
121 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
halooo....urgent man...
for audit papers....which reference buk is beta??? margaret boh and william 1....o d 1 written by A.Alens???? im currently taking CAT paper 6 7 8 n 9... for management accounting.....costing paper... which reference buk is d best....got lots of relevant exercises??? n gud explanation... urgent...thank you.... |
Feb 3 2007, 08:44 AM
Validating
263 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
QUOTE(Joel718 @ Feb 2 2007, 10:22 PM) halooo....urgent man... CAT basically is i prefer the bpp revision kitz.. of course, if the best reference will be lecturerz' notez.. CAt actly dun really require that much additional readings.. I only read lects' notez n do pass year questionz, never touch other bookz at all..for audit papers....which reference buk is beta??? margaret boh and william 1....o d 1 written by A.Alens???? im currently taking CAT paper 6 7 8 n 9... for management accounting.....costing paper... which reference buk is d best....got lots of relevant exercises??? n gud explanation... urgent...thank you.... (audit, sorry, no comment.. subject i hate the most..) |
Feb 4 2007, 08:36 PM
580 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Kay_Hell |
QUOTE(Joel718 @ Feb 2 2007, 10:22 PM) halooo....urgent man... I personally thk margaret boh one better than arens...arens more suitable for 2.6 level....BPP is just a supplement....i dun like it anyway for audit papers....which reference buk is beta??? margaret boh and william 1....o d 1 written by A.Alens???? im currently taking CAT paper 6 7 8 n 9... for management accounting.....costing paper... which reference buk is d best....got lots of relevant exercises??? n gud explanation... urgent...thank you.... |
Feb 4 2007, 08:47 PM
1,270 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
u think if i got the Diploma in Banking and Financa can take ACCA???
what the different between ACCA and CIMA??? where is the best part to start learning accounting course? |
Feb 4 2007, 10:26 PM
1,171 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
QUOTE(outsider @ Feb 4 2007, 08:47 PM) u think if i got the Diploma in Banking and Financa can take ACCA??? why not?u can take acca of coz..but i would suggest u check with acca to see whether u got the exemptions by using ur diploma...what the different between ACCA and CIMA??? where is the best part to start learning accounting course? u can check for the exemption thru acca website that i stated at page 1... ACCA more emphasize in financial accounting whereas CIMA is more in management accounting.. for more info...pls feel free to read the below link: CIMA and ACCA http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=351141&hl=CIMA |
Feb 4 2007, 11:49 PM
1,886 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: world above you |
how many acca papers are there? say u start frm lvl 1 itself.. the 2nd lvl right.. thy say u do an essay thn can get degree frm oxford brooks? is tat right/? thanks
Feb 5 2007, 12:17 AM
QUOTE(ruztynail @ Feb 4 2007, 11:49 PM) how many acca papers are there? say u start frm lvl 1 itself.. the 2nd lvl right.. thy say u do an essay thn can get degree frm oxford brooks? is tat right/? thanks under current syllabus...there are 3 parts,therefore in total 14 papers...ya,u are right,after finishing part 2,u can do a thesis to submit to UK and if u pass,u can get a degree from Oxford Brookes Universities... from dec 2007 onwards,ACCA will be using the new syllabus where there are no longer part 1,2 and 3...they are using fundamental and professional level but the papers remained to be 14..however they are some changes on the paper where if u need to know more info... pls feel free to visit the acca website for further info and the links are provided in page 1... |
Feb 5 2007, 10:25 PM
1,067 posts Joined: May 2005 |
yea new syllabus...professional accounting will make me
now working hard to pass the optional paper,then hopefully will be in the first sitting of the new syllabus core subjects but this is my first time sitting for ACCA papers(got exemptions) tried some of the pass year questions,especially the legendary question 1,so long |
Feb 6 2007, 02:47 PM
1,578 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kay El |
QUOTE(ACCA MALAYSIA @ 06 Feb 2007) ACCA will be organising Charity Drive 2007 in aid of relief assistance for victims from the recent flood devastation in Johor. This special event is organised by ACCA Student Ambassadors (SA) in collaboration with the Malaysian Red Crescent Society (MRSC) to organise contributions for the MRSC relief fund. The charity drive also aims to encourage awareness on social responsibility among ACCA members, students as well as the public at large in the hopes of providing financial and relief assistance to people affected by the recent flood. Hey ACCA Students/Members/Affiliates,The event will be held at ACCA Malaysia office as follows: Date : 10 February 2007 (Saturday) Time : 10.00 am - 5.00 pm Venue : Open Carpark of Wisma Denmark, No.86 Jalan Ampang 50450 Kuala Lumpur (next to Dang Wangi LRT station) We welcome donation in cash and kind. Please find example of basic necessity items that would be useful for the victims, which includes the following: Perishable Food rice, instant noodle, milk, Milo, Nescafe, Nestum, Horlicks etc. Canned Food chicken/mutton/beef, sardines, sugar, coffee/tea (dust), biscuits, salt, cooking oil, mineral water etc. Non-perishable Item sanitary pads, diapers, toothpaste, toothbrush, towels, soap, detergent, Dettol, slippers etc. Medicines metronidazole, c.penicillin, ciprofloxacin, anti-emetic - metaclopramide, antidiarrhoeal - lomotil, paracetomol tablets/suppository, voltaran suppository and antibiotic eye drops etc. School & Household Items school bags, uniform, books, stationeries, brooms, mops, stoves, rice-cookers, plates, cups, eating utensils etc. All cash contributions are tax-exempted and are to be made payable to: "Malaysian Red Crescent Society" or Maybank A/C No - 5144 2210 3788 or call Tel: +603 - 4257 8726, Fax: +603 - 4257 3537 (Operations Room) for details. Tax-exemption receipts will be issued on the day of the event. In addition to the ACCA Charity Drive 2007, the organiser will also be hosting, ACCA Charity Ball, which will be held on Saturday, 3 March 2007 at Crowne Plaza Mutiara Kuala Lumpur at 6.30pm. Highlights of the event include a charity auction and dinner performances. Tickets are available at RM109.00 per person. [For Student Members] For further details, please contact me or the following Student Ambassadors: Mr Selvakumaran Selvanathan at 016 971 1244 or email sa.kumaran@gmail.com Ms Shanthini Parama Dorai at 016 936 9317 or email sa.shanthini@gmail.com Ms Candy Moy Hui-Wan at 012 299 9380 or email sa.candymoy@gmail.com Don't forget to spread the word, bring along your family and friends to participate in ACCA Charity Drive 2007. See you there! Im sure most of you have received this email from ACCA Malaysia. Its a great effort by ACCA Malaysia for those in need and i hope that you all could also chip in for charity. As for the charity ball, should you need any further information, you can also PM me. Cheers SheZZaR This post has been edited by Shezzar: Feb 6 2007, 04:25 PM |
Feb 10 2007, 07:43 PM
niu_niu,
have u registered with ftms for june exam? do u think thatthey will accept me if i register at the end of march? i`m gonna take 2.3 and 2.4 |
Feb 11 2007, 10:00 AM
Validating
faith77,
college in malaysia is alwayz more than happie to accept new student regardless when they wanna register.. but, of course if u wanna register end of march, u ll missed out alot of the classes.. FYI, in FTMS (n all other coll in Msia) our class will finish at end of april, month of may would be the revision class.. so u ll only get one month study.. (im currrently in 2.4 FTMS) Dear SheZZar, I did not received/informed about the charity till i saw ur post.. |
Feb 11 2007, 11:30 AM
1,578 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kay El |
G[a]rY
It was sent out tru e-blast to all student/members/affiliates and even registered employers. Anyway, the event was a great success. We have managed to collected tonnes and i littereally mean TONNES of clothes, canned food, rice and all necessities for the Johor flood victims. And not to forget cash donations too. Jus an update on the Charity Ball 2007. The price for STUDENTS (ACCA/Non-ACCA) is now at RM109 so do bring along your friends and help support those in needs. All proceeds will be channeled directly to the MRCS for the Johor flood victims. For more info, please do PM me =) Cheers SheZZaR |
Feb 11 2007, 09:36 PM
580 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Kay_Hell |
QUOTE(faith77 @ Feb 10 2007, 07:43 PM) niu_niu, Nope....ya, as what gary said.....there's no college that will not accept u if u register in march...u can reg anytime!have u registered with ftms for june exam? do u think thatthey will accept me if i register at the end of march? i`m gonna take 2.3 and 2.4 BTW, i thk im repeating the same Q here.....anyone attended Navzar class b or not at FTMS for 2.5 or 3.6? Pls gimme some feedback....i absolutely no idea about this lecturer!! Thx |
Feb 12 2007, 03:20 AM
thanks niu_niu and Gary....
have u looked on the new syllabus? they re-arranged most of the subjects. 2.4 going to be after 2.5, so if i did not do it now, later on u and me have to pass 2.5 first instead of 2.4, so better study well and get pass... |
Feb 12 2007, 11:27 AM
Validating
QUOTE(faith77 @ Feb 12 2007, 03:20 AM) thanks niu_niu and Gary.... Erm, regarding the postition of the papers in new syllabus, anyone can 100% confirm with me..?? It seems that ACCA now says "students can attempt papers within a module in any order".. So, I dun think therz a problem of the arrangement of the paper, as both 2.4&2.5 is in skill module..have u looked on the new syllabus? they re-arranged most of the subjects. 2.4 going to be after 2.5, so if i did not do it now, later on u and me have to pass 2.5 first instead of 2.4, so better study well and get pass... |
Feb 12 2007, 02:41 PM
QUOTE(faith77 @ Feb 12 2007, 03:20 AM) thanks niu_niu and Gary.... have u looked on the new syllabus? they re-arranged most of the subjects. 2.4 going to be after 2.5, so if i did not do it now, later on u and me have to pass 2.5 first instead of 2.4, so better study well and get pass... QUOTE(G[a) rY,Feb 12 2007, 11:27 AM]Erm, regarding the postition of the papers in new syllabus, anyone can 100% confirm with me..?? It seems that ACCA now says "students can attempt papers within a module in any order".. So, I dun think therz a problem of the arrangement of the paper, as both 2.4&2.5 is in skill module.. ya...this is another change under the new syllabus..that is u don't need to sit exam following the order of the paper...quoted below is the info obtained from ACCA website... Students are expected to study each module - Knowledge, Skills, Essentials and Options - in order. Students may attempt a maximum of four exams at any one sitting. Papers may be attempted from different modules at the same sitting as long as the modules are attempted in order. Students may vary the order they attempt exams within each module but they may not vary the order of the modules. However, ACCA strongly recommends that papers within a module are taken in order. This post has been edited by coolly: Feb 12 2007, 02:42 PM |
Feb 12 2007, 08:23 PM
558 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
wanna ask something..i am blur here.
i am doing acca final term as in corepaper. i heard that people say after complete acca need to work as auditor so that after 3 years acca will close u as chartered accountant.. is that true? how if says i work as marketing? or business consultant or business planner? which not related to accounting.. after 3 years can i still get the acca title? and will they just cancel my account not being an acca member? very confusing..cos i need to apply job asap. |
| Change to: | 0.0238sec
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 09:35 AM |