Business ACCA (v2)

andy888
post Aug 24 2007, 05:03 PM

516 posts

QUOTE(HBK @ Aug 24 2007, 12:43 PM)

Added on August 24, 2007, 11:46 am

btw,u 're takin P3 at parmindar is it..well,me also..continue for the 2nd term..tis monday blush.gif
hi, hbk. U taking p3 at ksa, right ?

Just wan to ask u if i join parmindar class, how to catch up the class if i already missed 1st term course?
is it there are a lot to learn in 1st term ? is it P3 is difficult ah ?
pls advise. thanks. thumbup.gif
i'm consider taking p3 at KSA.

This post has been edited by andy888: Aug 24 2007, 05:04 PM
littlediana
post Aug 24 2007, 06:11 PM

498 posts

can i ask taking p1 or p3 or p4, p5, p6, p7
which one is the easiest?
i wanna self study from text books for exams actually which is the most easy to pass???
roy_pck
post Aug 24 2007, 06:40 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone!
552 posts

QUOTE(littlediana @ Aug 24 2007, 06:11 PM)
can i ask taking p1 or p3 or p4, p5, p6, p7
which one is the easiest?
i wanna self study from text books for exams actually which is the most easy to pass???
in my opinion none of them is easy if you do not study. but if you do study...then P5 might be a good paper to attempt provided you are interested in management accounting and understand the concepts behind it. mind you, speed is everything in P5 because this paper is never meant to be completed within 3 hours. sweat.gif

in my case, i was able to do ALL the questions in 3.3 last sitting but yet time did not allow me to do so and eventually i got 44 only. so, consistent practises are needed in order to pass this paper.cry.gif

Added on August 24, 2007, 6:48 pmi've got 6 papers remaining. not too far away from graduation i suppose. so my plan would be:

December 07 - F8, P1, P2

June 08- P3, P5, P6

I hope i can really do it this time. Drag too long already. Keep on failing and failing. Must boost my self to maximum this time round. Guys and girls, bless me...i really damn semangat want to become affiliate within 1 year!!

This post has been edited by roy_pck: Aug 24 2007, 06:48 PM
HBK
post Aug 24 2007, 07:54 PM

Validating
135 posts

QUOTE(andy888 @ Aug 24 2007, 05:03 PM)
hi, hbk. U taking p3 at ksa, right ?

Just wan to ask u if i join parmindar class, how to catch up the class if i already missed 1st term course?
is it there are a lot to learn in 1st term ? is it P3 is difficult ah ?
pls advise. thanks. thumbup.gif
i'm consider taking p3 at KSA.
well,P3 all i can say is HUGE..ENORMOUS subject..just imagine u are learning the combination of 3.4+3.5 at the same time..if have the time,just browse through BPP/FTC text..very indeed thick..so this paper not only bout theory but the application from case and also how u approach the answer..using what strategies, person responsible or individual theorist(of coz the name are important coz we are referring people's work not ours).. conclusion your memory must be strong coz at the end of the day u have to consolidate all knowledge coz each topics are link to one another..to be exact also,this paper needs more than 24 session in ksa..coz i dun think we can finish the whole syllabus given the session thats why parmindar try to make an extra class..well,to catch up i think can,provided u have to get notes from the 1st term learn all of it..do questions (3.5) a lot..i think in new syllabus P3 might be the tough and challenging paper compare to previous (3.7)

Added on August 24, 2007, 8:08 pm
QUOTE(roy_pck @ Aug 24 2007, 06:40 PM)

Added on August 24, 2007, 6:48 pmi've got 6 papers remaining. not too far away from graduation i suppose. so my plan would be:

December 07 - F8, P1, P2

June 08- P3, P5, P6

I hope i can really do it this time. Drag too long already. Keep on failing and failing. Must boost my self to maximum this time round. Guys and girls, bless me...i really damn semangat want to become affiliate within 1 year!!
same as you are!!tis Dec F8,P1,P3..and the next yr is P2&P4... icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by HBK: Aug 24 2007, 08:08 PM
andy888
post Aug 24 2007, 09:22 PM

516 posts

[quote=HBK,Aug 24 2007, 08:54 PM]
well,P3 all i can say is HUGE..ENORMOUS subject..just imagine u are learning the combination of 3.4+3.5 at the same time..if have the time,just browse through BPP/FTC text..very indeed thick..so this paper not only bout theory but the application from case and also how u approach the answer..using what strategies, person responsible or individual theorist(of coz the name are important coz we are referring people's work not ours).. conclusion your memory must be strong coz at the end of the day u have to consolidate all knowledge coz each topics are link to one another..to be exact also,this paper needs more than 24 session in ksa..coz i dun think we can finish the whole syllabus given the session thats why parmindar try to make an extra class..well,to catch up i think can,provided u have to get notes from the 1st term learn all of it..do questions (3.5) a lot..i think in new syllabus P3 might be the tough and challenging paper compare to previous (3.7)

.......................................................................................................................................................................

ya thank u very much. but rclxub.gif doh.gif , don know wan to choose P1 or P3 first . HBK, how about paper P1. is it HUGE compare to paper P3 ? Sorry to ask so many questions.

This post has been edited by andy888: Aug 24 2007, 09:23 PM
candyjens
post Aug 24 2007, 10:45 PM

hi..

i've heard that accounting graduates from some public universities were accredited by ACCA. one uni that i know is universiti malaysia sabah. these students were exempted from taking the early stages. meaning, they only require them to do the final stage papers.is there such things? or a friend of mine just pull an August Fool on me? hmm.gif Attached Image
roy_pck
post Aug 24 2007, 11:10 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone!
552 posts

QUOTE(candyjens @ Aug 24 2007, 10:45 PM)
hi..

i've heard that accounting graduates from some public universities were accredited by ACCA. one uni that i know is universiti malaysia sabah. these students were exempted from taking the early stages. meaning, they only require them to do the final stage papers.is there such things? or a friend of mine just pull an August Fool on me? hmm.gif Attached Image
it might be possible that graduates from university are awarded exemption for Part 1 and Part 2. but there is definitely no exemption for Part 3 itself. smile.gif
lemontea1014
post Aug 24 2007, 11:26 PM

QUOTE(HBK @ Aug 24 2007, 09:20 AM)

im with you..first attempt where i completely dont know at all the basic of audit,last minute revision class,didnt finish all the question in exam got 49...second attempt well..didnt attend class at all,drop hugely..and last sitting where confident steers all...i answered every question though..managed 34..i think its about the quality of the answer,no matter how long,many answer booklet u wrote..at the end of the day,maybe examiner will ask "DO YOU REALLY UNDERSTAND WHAT I QUESTIONED YOU in the exam?or just writing nonsense" unsure.gif
QUOTE(G[a]rY @ Aug 24 2007, 10:55 AM)
thanks.. i belief each ppl have their own way/method of studying.. building a good strong foundation since my CAT helps alot in my papers such as 2.4 n 2.5.. i attended:
2.4 --- chow kim tai (ftms)
2.5 --- haneef (segi, currently in mco)
2.6 --- sheila (mco)
3.1 --- sheila (mco)
For me, a good lecturer contributes alot to me, as im a one who focussing on understanding.. of course the best ingredient would be good lecturers plus self-spirit..
thanx.. Erm, dun really has any good tips for 3.1.. i did the passyear papers, realising it neva will repeating the same thing.. it can be same question, yet the way of answering ll be different from one sitting to another.. therz a great meaning when haneef said, "ther is no good learning a question, learn the knowledge in the question".. wat u should know is not the answer, but examiner's way of aspectation in answer.. this is a war of mind, win her (used to be katherine) or u ll loss this paper..
[therz a change of examiner P7, not too sure of his/her new style]
thanx.. yea, all in first attempt.. this is the paper i struggled the most n i think sheila did play a great role to me, especially in her revision class giving me clear guidance n explaination of whole audit process.. haha, such a dedicated lecturer to go all the way to get allan's books (those with her will know wat im saying) n gave us good answering technique for 2.6..

one of the ways that i could suggest to u, not sure have u being tried this.. try to attempt the passyear with the time contraint (3hrs).. im meaning 'attempt' as writing it out in FULL sentence as u would in exam, rather than just reading n simply jot down few answer points as most will do.. It helps to handle ur time contraint, n train urself to be well-planned in exam.. hope it helps.. cheerz..  smile.gif
Thanks for ur golden advice guys...... wink.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
rachelmay1402
post Aug 25 2007, 12:25 AM

140 posts

hey wanna ask you all one thing, why my advanced taxation rite look like that :

INT MYS FEE
P6 Advanced Taxation [] _ _ 61

then this mean i cannot choose variant is it? no box for me to tick oso ..HOW???

This post has been edited by rachelmay1402: Aug 25 2007, 12:27 AM
King_sToN
post Aug 25 2007, 12:43 AM

59 posts

Anyone here attend the seminar held at KSA on next tuesday?
Is it recommended? hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif

HBK
post Aug 25 2007, 01:01 AM

Validating
135 posts

[quote=andy888,Aug 24 2007, 09:22 PM]
[quote=HBK,Aug 24 2007, 08:54 PM]
.......................................................................................................................................................................

ya thank u very much. but rclxub.gif doh.gif , don know wan to choose P1 or P3 first . HBK, how about paper P1. is it HUGE compare to paper P3 ? Sorry to ask so many questions.

[/quote]

well,for me P1 is a doable paper compare to P3..coz im takin P1 self study nod.gif using FTC,bpp kit,passcards,currently i managed to focus on it..
most important that u follow the study guide carefully..try to answer each of the study guide questions/approach.. and please do focus on the major part of the paper...

Added on August 25, 2007, 1:03 am[quote=King_sToN,Aug 25 2007, 12:43 AM]
Anyone here attend the seminar held at KSA on next tuesday?
Is it recommended? hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif

[/quote]

seminar??is it bout the interview..hoho,that is adviseable if u r looking forward to handle interview pressures..

This post has been edited by HBK: Aug 25 2007, 01:03 AM
soul_project
post Aug 25 2007, 11:01 PM

Stars for sell. Pls PM !
4,358 posts

Hi guys, I have something to ask about the OBU Applied Accounting Degree.

On Thursday I joined an OBU seminar held at my college by the OBU Undergraduate Programme Director from UK on a seminar about the changes on the new scheme of the OBU starting next year August.

Under the new scheme, the previous ACCA Part 1 marks are no longer included into the calculation of the average marks for different classes. Only the Part 2 marks will be included in the calculation which is the 2.1-2.6 paper of the old scheme (as I don't know the numbering of the new scheme). As we all know the average mark for a 1st class degree is 66 marks and above.

I have yet to take my paper 2.5 and 2.6 which is now the F7 and F8.

I'm sad to know that as my part 1 marks are quite high which will bring me to an average of 67 marks which is of 1st class degree. But under the new scheme my average marks at the moment from 2.1-2.4 would be 65 marks which is below the 66 marks required.

Fortunately there are still 1 last sitting for the current old scheme which is to be submitted at April 2008.

But I have a doubt in my mind that is unclear and I hope there's someone to help me clear my doubts.

Is it true that if I did my OBU at this last sitting and unfortunately failed either the F7 or F8 paper, I will have to redo the OBU once again and waste the fees paid for it ?
Slowpoke
post Aug 26 2007, 05:11 AM

179 posts

QUOTE(soul_project @ Aug 25 2007, 11:01 PM)
Is it true that if I did my OBU at this last sitting and unfortunately failed either the F7 or F8 paper, I will have to redo the OBU once again and waste the fees paid for it ?
What exactly do you mean by 'did' the OBU? If you finished typing up and assembling the various parts of the project, you'll have to include a draft (or other payment methods) for the assessment fee, no? And if I'm not mistaken, you can only mail in the project after you've passed everything required...

You're probably asking about the fees paid to the college pertaining to the project mentoring and whatnot. The mentor's job is to oversee and sign the finished project. After that, his job is finished. You can choose to submit it anytime you wish after you've passed part 2. In other words, you can do it now and submit it after you've passed.

EDIT: Of course, if the 'new scheme' OBU has new requirements for passing, you will have to modify your project to meet them. I don't know if you took CBE or not for part 1, but CBE marks don't count towards the average for the old OBU either.

This post has been edited by Slowpoke: Aug 26 2007, 05:14 AM
soul_project
post Aug 27 2007, 12:59 AM

Stars for sell. Pls PM !
4,358 posts

QUOTE(Slowpoke @ Aug 26 2007, 05:11 AM)
What exactly do you mean by 'did' the OBU? If you finished typing up and assembling the various parts of the project, you'll have to include a draft (or other payment methods) for the assessment fee, no? And if I'm not mistaken, you can only mail in the project after you've passed everything required...

You're probably asking about the fees paid to the college pertaining to the project mentoring and whatnot. The mentor's job is to oversee and sign the finished project. After that, his job is finished. You can choose to submit it anytime you wish after you've passed part 2. In other words, you can do it now and submit it after you've passed.

EDIT: Of course, if the 'new scheme' OBU has new requirements for passing, you will have to modify your project to meet them. I don't know if you took CBE or not for part 1, but CBE marks don't count towards the average for the old OBU either.
I can only mail it once I passed everything ? That's odd because I have a friend who is currently doing his OBU now but he haven't even sit for the P7 and P8 paper yet so I don't think that is so.

No no, I'm didn't took any CBE.
littlediana
post Aug 27 2007, 01:01 AM

498 posts

wat is the difference betweek p1 and p3?
blur here dunno what the paper /topics they are talking about?
plan to take p1 or p3 for self study but blur on both papers
really need some help over here blush.gif

thanks alot
littlediana
post Aug 27 2007, 01:03 AM

498 posts

QUOTE(roy_pck @ Aug 24 2007, 06:40 PM)
in my opinion none of them is easy if you do not study. but if you do study...then P5 might be a good paper to attempt provided you are interested in management accounting and understand the concepts behind it. mind you, speed is everything in P5 because this paper is never meant to be completed within 3 hours. sweat.gif

in my case, i was able to do ALL the questions in 3.3 last sitting but yet time did not allow me to do so and eventually i got 44 only. so, consistent practises are needed in order to pass this paper.cry.gif

December 07 - F8, P1, P2

June 08- P3, P5, P6

me too plan to take similar as u
now i am only take f7 last paper of the fundamentals
hmm.... still deciding on the self study p1 or p3? hai....
wat is the p1 or p3 about anyways i am so blur i dunno about it
btw where are u studying acca at? blush.gif
HBK
post Aug 27 2007, 01:27 AM

Validating
135 posts

QUOTE(littlediana @ Aug 27 2007, 01:03 AM)
btw where are u studying acca at?  blush.gif
well..the element of P1 is consists of corporate governance and u have to know a lot of characteristics within it including the BOD,CSR,all the committee,role of Non exec. director, all of the scope (i.e what each reports discuss on eg. cadbury, higgs,trunbull,greenbury,etc)reports on code of governance.then u have Internal control &audit in an organisation,Identify and control,risk assessment, and lastly on Ethics.(this is where lots of confusion coming in like mostly the languange they use noteably i.e "maxim",classic wording lor...all u know is about reading and how to tackle case study question especially understand the question wants (define,analyse,explain,etc) P3 is all about strategy and management which quite bulky..and lots,lots,lots of reading rclxub.gif
donfailagain
post Aug 27 2007, 11:38 AM

I join the Mr. Haneef P2 bridging class in McOrange ...
Anyone studying there? may i know roughly what have he taught and where did he stop? I wish to do some revision on my 2.5 related topic within these 2 days before attend his class

Thanks a lot !!!!!!!

This post has been edited by donfailagain: Aug 27 2007, 11:43 AM
utopian86
post Aug 27 2007, 01:43 PM

1,239 posts

Anyone know what should i do for OBU?
I'm totally blur about it.
currently taking f7-9.
Do i have to do my OBU this year?
I heard some of them said that after i pass part 2, i'm not allow to take OBU anymore.
I'm really confused now.
Can anyone pls give me advise?

This post has been edited by utopian86: Aug 27 2007, 01:44 PM
schuen
post Aug 27 2007, 01:46 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(littlediana @ Aug 27 2007, 01:03 AM)
btw where are u studying acca at?  blush.gif
Jst my personal view, not recommend to self study unless u attend the classes b4 for any ACCA subject. I got some frens self study for paper 3.4 n pass at 1st setting las time but now no more 3.4 liao.

However, if really wanna self study n choose btwn P1 & P3, I wil choose P3. P1 more on memorising Corp Govt matters and apply into case study. For P3, more on management models / approaches and apply into case study + use lots of general knowledge & sometime include ratios analysis as well. Shd attend the revision classes at least for any self study subject.

Remember tat one female auditor told me b4 las time, ACCA is very easy to study, everyone can pass unless u really stupid. I doubt her stmt, or maybe I really stupid lor... blush.gif

Anyway, someone told me that ACCA means "Again Come Come Again". That's why many ppl keep on repeatin the same subjects again n again including myself rclxub.gif .

126 Pages « < 97 98 99 100 101 > » Top

0.0282sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 06:56 PM