Travel Travel to Japan V8, Discovery Japan Start Here

TzeThon
post Aug 4 2016, 01:42 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(hjh87 @ Aug 4 2016, 09:07 AM)
Current plan.

1st Sep > Reach Tokyo (head down to Shinkuju)
2nd Sep > To Gotemba Station (reach around afternoon by Odakyu Hakone Highway Bus)
2nd Sep > Start Climbing Mt Fuji (stay at hut for the night)
3rd Sep > Descend from Mt Fuji (head down to Kawaguchiko area)
4th Sep > back to Shinjuku (fujikyuko bus / train)
5th Sep > Tokyo
6th Sep > Tokyo
7th Sep > Outside of Tokyo (still planning-any suggestion?)
8th Sep > Outside of Tokyo (still planning-any suggestion?)
9th Sep > Tokyo
10th Sep > Tokyo

Have a question, is there any luggage storage facility at Gotemba? Can't find any, and is't the storage at Shinjuku station can be use for continuously in several day?
day trips from Tokyo?
personally i really enjoyed Kamakura and Nikko.
but there are others around Tokyo too. Yokohama. Kawagoe (i liked it too).
Disney Resort? wub.gif
cloudwan0
post Aug 4 2016, 02:10 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(IazHes @ Aug 4 2016, 01:18 PM)
8k~15k/person/night consider cheap ? wow ... I really makan beras tak tau harga beras, just because due to cheap air tickets only buy, without thinking the travel cost there.

sep-jan low yield for those crab ?
what is the price for those 3 crabs normally?
really need to survey first.. else later over budget.
cry.gif  cry.gif  bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif
Try Airbnb to see got cheap house mah
or if u dont mind u can stay at hostel, share room with others backpacker
price from 2k yen to 6k yen

Whole crab price will be 4k to 15k, depend on size, freshness and location
Hairy Crab will be cheaper, due to the size, price about 2k
You still can get cheap one like kani meshi (crab rice, so no whole crab), price around 1k or more

This post has been edited by cloudwan0: Aug 4 2016, 02:11 PM
TSRegentCid
post Aug 4 2016, 02:41 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(IazHes @ Aug 4 2016, 12:18 PM)
8k~15k/person/night consider cheap ? wow ... I really makan beras tak tau harga beras, just because due to cheap air tickets only buy, without thinking the travel cost there.

sep-jan low yield for those crab ?
what is the price for those 3 crabs normally?
really need to survey first.. else later over budget.
cry.gif  cry.gif  bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif
8k Yen = RM320.
Standard Japan 2 & 3 star hotel room price
15k Yen are Standard Ryokan // Hotel with Onsen Price

Sep to Jan are crab Havest season.
Due to Autumn are Peak Season. Price sure increase.
King Crab price are around 15 - 30k Yen
King Crab got sold Leg part.....around 7k Per piece......super delicious!!!! eat raw are best of the best!!!

2nd Class Echizen crab
6k - 12k Yen
Leg part per piece 3k - 4k

3rd Class Hairy Crab
3k - 5k Yen

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Aug 4 2016, 02:43 PM
psiloveu
post Aug 4 2016, 02:51 PM

795 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan0 @ Aug 3 2016, 06:19 PM)
i'm using this
https://www.japan-rail-pass.com/
put it 10k, due to RM is weakening
Onsen hotel/ryoken is very depending, price can be huge different
standard 3 star hotel will be RM300~500
room rate for 8k yen to 15k yen conside cheap in japan
so far the highest i stay was 60k+ per night, and this is consider middle top only.
Thank yo for sharing this info. I did use this website service before, the courier fee will be FOC if delivered to Singapore but not here (with the conditions at least 2 green card pass or 3 ordinary JR pass).
It is really a good deal if bought three or more pass in one order.
cloudwan0
post Aug 4 2016, 03:08 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(psiloveu @ Aug 4 2016, 02:51 PM)
Thank yo for sharing this info.  I did use this website service before, the courier fee will be FOC if delivered to Singapore but not here (with the conditions at least 2 green card pass or 3 ordinary JR pass).
It is really a good deal if bought three or more pass in one order.
ohh, izzit, previously i brought from this website, all free courier fee
this website after conversion rate normally i can save about RM50~150
dont use JPY, use other currency to paid, and u will see the different
lucaswjk
post Aug 4 2016, 03:46 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

i heard crab??

my review
King Crab (grill) super delicious

Hairy Crab ~ waste money... DONT ORDER!!!~
TSRegentCid
post Aug 4 2016, 03:58 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Aug 4 2016, 02:46 PM)
i heard crab??

my review
King Crab (grill) super delicious

Hairy Crab ~ waste money... DONT ORDER!!!~
Hairy Crab can be very delicious also. I know a shop at Sapporo specialist do hairy crab only. best Yo.
Hairy Crab shell as bowl , yoke + fried rice + crab meat. thumbup.gif

Overall still budget. Got money sure can having king crab full meal. Willing to spend then King Crab Leg / Echizen crab. Kiamsiap type then eat Hairy Crab

lucaswjk
post Aug 4 2016, 04:14 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Aug 4 2016, 03:58 PM)
Hairy Crab can be very delicious also. I know a shop at Sapporo specialist do hairy crab only. best Yo.
Hairy Crab shell as bowl , yoke + fried rice + crab meat.   thumbup.gif

Overall still budget. Got money sure can having king crab full meal.  Willing to spend then King Crab Leg / Echizen crab.  Kiamsiap type then eat Hairy Crab
hmm.gif
last time i ate hairy crab with king crab at the same time
mayb i compared it side by side...
coz the king crab taste is too tasty... while hairy feel like from slump
haha

This post has been edited by lucaswjk: Aug 4 2016, 04:15 PM
hjh87
post Aug 4 2016, 08:55 PM

794 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Aug 4 2016, 11:34 AM)
Yes. There are luggage storage at Gotemba Station.
Best way was used "Black Cat" Service once you check out from Shinjuku Hotel. Ask them sent to your next Kawaguchi Hotel.
http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e2278.html
It will save you alot of time, because you no need waste time go back to Station reclaim your bag.
Mid of October are Hokkaido best timing for autumn view. It also Hokkaido most expensive time.
Seafood at Hokkaido also high season from Sept - Jan. 

1st class King Crab price are most expensive at this period.
2nd Class Ekizen Crab price are higher than normal due to high tourist season.
3rd class Hairy Crab will be cheap because high season...alot of catch.
Thanks RegentCid for the tips, it really help us in saving time. Or else need to back to the Gotemba and pick up the bag and reroute to Kawaguchiko again.

QUOTE(TzeThon @ Aug 4 2016, 01:42 PM)
day trips from Tokyo?
personally i really enjoyed Kamakura and Nikko.
but there are others around Tokyo too. Yokohama. Kawagoe (i liked it too).
Disney Resort?  wub.gif
Yea, Kamakura is on my list and maybe can include Disney world as well biggrin.gif .

For Kawagoe, possible to cycle around it?? Haha, Yokohama dint caught my attention.
TzeThon
post Aug 5 2016, 01:46 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(hjh87 @ Aug 4 2016, 08:55 PM)

Yea, Kamakura is on my list and maybe can include Disney world as well  biggrin.gif .

For Kawagoe, possible to cycle around it?? Haha, Yokohama dint caught my attention.
Disneyland and Disneysea will take at least one day each. so you need to choose one of them if you're only allocating one day for the trip.
Kawagoe I think no problem cycling around.
Yokohama nothing much actually. don't think it's a must unless you really have nothing to do hahaha.
have you put Odaiba into your list? can easily spend one day there as well.
MR_alien
post Aug 5 2016, 04:02 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(TzeThon @ Aug 5 2016, 01:46 PM)
Disneyland and Disneysea will take at least one day each. so you need to choose one of them if you're only allocating one day for the trip.
Yokohama nothing much actually. don't think it's a must unless you really have nothing to do hahaha.
odaiba need one day?
i was planning on my itinerary, was slotting in odaiba for few hours for gundam, ramen and rainbow bridge view only
lucaswjk
post Aug 5 2016, 04:28 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Aug 5 2016, 04:02 PM)
odaiba need one day?
i was planning on my itinerary, was slotting in odaiba for few hours for gundam, ramen and rainbow bridge view only
i took 4hrs for dinner, gundam, rainbow, dinner...
6pm to 10+pm

i would like to advise u, dont go too late...
coz i missed the gundam light show bangwall.gif

and dont dont dont forget... must go to 7-11 beside the gundam
there u can buy special edition gundam (not sold anywhere) at 7-11 price thumbsup.gif

if u wish to shop, odaiba is also a good shopping place...
MR_alien
post Aug 5 2016, 04:35 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Aug 5 2016, 04:28 PM)
6pm to 10+pm

coz i missed the gundam light show  bangwall.gif

there u can buy special edition gundam (not sold anywhere) at 7-11 price thumbsup.gif

any particular timing for light show?
lucaswjk
post Aug 5 2016, 04:52 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Aug 5 2016, 04:35 PM)
any particular timing for light show?
forget, if not mistaken i think last is 8pm... not sure
tat day i took my dinner longer than expected bye.gif

the rainbow bridge, u can schedule it last...
i view it at one of the shopping center viewing platform
there is not closing time!!!~ becoz it is outside!~
(u need 18-200 zoom camera here!!)
MR_alien
post Aug 5 2016, 07:19 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Aug 5 2016, 04:52 PM)
forget, if not mistaken i think last is 8pm... not sure
tat day i took my dinner longer than expected  bye.gif

the rainbow bridge, u can schedule it last...
i view it at one of the shopping center viewing platform
there is not closing time!!!~ becoz it is outside!~
(u need 18-200 zoom camera here!!)
i got none of that
kit lens have lag
prolly will buy a 50mm portrait lens
TSRegentCid
post Aug 5 2016, 07:40 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Aug 5 2016, 06:19 PM)
i got none of that
kit lens have lag
Can refer to Page 1 Tips of the months. Best place for shoot Rainbow Bridge picture.
hjh87
post Aug 5 2016, 08:09 PM

794 posts

QUOTE(TzeThon @ Aug 5 2016, 01:46 PM)
Haha, Disney still in consideration.

Yup, Odaiba is already in my list.

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Aug 5 2016, 04:28 PM)
6pm to 10+pm

coz i missed the gundam light show  bangwall.gif

Nice and thanks for the info, can get some stuff before heading back. thumbup.gif

Guy, beside Kawaguchiko area any other place nearby fuji lake have nice Ryokan?? Found few in Kawaguchiko but all fully booked blink.gif
MR_alien
post Aug 5 2016, 08:44 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Aug 5 2016, 07:40 PM)
Can refer to Page 1 Tips of the months. Best place for shoot Rainbow Bridge picture.
yup...saw it
lucaswjk
post Aug 5 2016, 10:56 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Aug 5 2016, 07:19 PM)
i got none of that
kit lens have lag
50mm still in the same length as 18 55 whistling.gif

u need prime lens 35mm f1.4 brows.gif
or 85mm
---
QUOTE(RegentCid @ Aug 5 2016, 07:40 PM)
i saw ur post,
but when i go there... it is very dark...
that y i goto the shopping center behind the park
---
QUOTE(hjh87 @ Aug 5 2016, 08:09 PM)
Haha, Disney still in consideration.

Yup, Odaiba is already in my list.
Nice and thanks for the info, can get some stuff before heading back.  thumbup.gif
Guy, beside Kawaguchiko area any other place nearby fuji lake have nice Ryokan?? Found few in Kawaguchiko but all fully booked  blink.gif
ur last options goto public onsen
hjh87
post Aug 7 2016, 08:46 AM

794 posts

In maps:-
Early Schedule
1. Mt Fuji
2. Kawaguchiko

Mid Schedule
3. Shinjuku
4. Asakusa
5. Tokyo

End Schedule
6. Kamakura
7. Odaiba
8. Shibuya

Will visit the attraction nearby to the above mentioned main stop. May I ask what the best way to travel within Tokyo? Is't sufficient to have just Suica or Pasmo??
And should I alter any of the route planned in the maps?
Plus I got a question, whether or not worth to separate the stay for 2 different places (Shinjuku-mid schedule then Tokyo-End schedule)? Or just stay at Shinjuku is good enough?

This post has been edited by hjh87: Aug 7 2016, 12:01 PM

145 Pages « < 131 132 133 134 135 > » Top

0.0398sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 09:54 AM