-Mount Fuji
-Edo-Tokyo Museum
-Tokyo Tower
-Shinjuku Gyoen National Garden

Day 9_Tokyo
-National Emerging Science and Innovation
-Ginza
-Akihabara

Will this itinerary abit too rush? And any other recommendation for this?? I've planned to fly direct into KIX then fly back to KUL from HND. Will try to travel domestically using the train.

This post has been edited by hjh87: Jun 29 2016, 07:34 AM
hjh87
post Jun 28 2016, 11:41 PM

794 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jun 28 2016, 11:36 PM)
Osaka you only cover 12% , Kyoto cover only 8%  , Nagoya only cover 25% , Tokyo 8%
You think izzit worth or not?  Up to you.
With the percentage stated, what have I missed out for each of the city?? Do you mind to share abit more.

This post has been edited by hjh87: Jun 28 2016, 11:41 PM
hjh87
post Jun 29 2016, 09:21 AM

794 posts

QUOTE(_ChAoS_ @ Jun 29 2016, 09:15 AM)
I may still be doing my homework for japan atm and have never been there. But from my homework, it seems like your Day 8 will be a very tiring one...

Day 8_Tokyo
-Mount Fuji
-Edo-Tokyo Museum
-Tokyo Tower
-Shinjuku Gyoen National Garden
If time is an issue, then I might scrap out Nagoya for the time being. Currently any iconic places which I have missed out? Like the old saying if u dint visit the Great Wall of china mean u never been to China.
hjh87
post Jun 29 2016, 09:39 AM

794 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jun 29 2016, 09:23 AM)
I been Japan more than 500 times. Example Osaka City. I know this City sure more than anyone else. If you want cover 100% Osaka City like me, It need took you 3 months. If you want cover 45% of Osaka like most of Forumers here, It need takes you 7 days minimum just at Osaka City.

9 Days want cover 4 city means will be very packed. No point I give you more info, because you won't enough time cover it also.  September are Japan hottest season summore and Typoon season. Typoon comes , everything will be closed, train service will be shut down.

Get ready to face raining all days long.
I won't say to cover 100%, just that if Osaka what the most worth place to visit that all. Yea I know if want cover onc city definitely need to take longer. Just that this trip will be good if can covered the iconic places that all(again not all). There will be a second visit to Japan for sure. Even the forumer here sure have visited more than once.
hjh87
post Jun 29 2016, 09:51 AM

794 posts

QUOTE(tohff7 @ Jun 29 2016, 09:34 AM)
You and your bro are backpacking?

From Kyoto to Nagoya to Tokyo, I feel is a bit too rush for 1 day in Nagoya.

From Tokyo to Mount Fuji area, travelling time is close to 2hr one-way. Even if depart early and rush, will at least take you half a day for it
Erm, will not consider as backpacking but will be more like flexible traveling. If time permit then will visit more places, if not then will need to improvised abit.
hjh87
post Jun 29 2016, 10:52 AM

794 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jun 29 2016, 10:01 AM)
Please Quote All the message you want to Reply and reply at one like this way.

Most forumer here been Japan more than once but most of them are going part by part. 7 - 9 days just at Osaka + Kyoto + Nara + Kobe. Another trip will be 7 days at Tokyo it self.
Noted on the quoting for reply.

That the case, I'll replan my trip and focus more to one place. As u mentioned previously September will be hot and it typhoon season it's advisable to travel Tokyo (middle side) first or Osaka (downward side) for first timer?
hjh87
post Jun 29 2016, 02:25 PM

794 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jun 29 2016, 01:59 PM)
Airline Route , Meal , Seat Comfort Question Ok. As long not Promo , Ticket pricing. 
Fly ANA. The Best. 2nd Choice SIA, 3rd Choice JAL.

ANA Service are always top of top and meal they serve are delicious.

But if you can do 1 transit at Seoul. Then Fly Asiana. The Best Airline Meal I ever had.
If you haven't buy air ticket yet.
I Suggest you 9 Days just Focus at Osaka , Kyoto , Nara , Kobe.
You won't regret it. 100% trust me.
Not yet, it always good to hear from others first. Haha, will check with my bro places he love to visit then only update my itinerary. Thanks for your head up.
hjh87
post Aug 1 2016, 08:22 PM

794 posts

Hi guy,

In the end, my bro wanted travel to Tokyo instead of the recommended route. Will be flying in Tokyo on early September, and we plan to climb the Mt. Fuji. Currently, the route we choose is Subashiri Trail. There are two (2) option to reach Subashiri Fifth Station, Gotemba or Shi-matsuda. We will do a one day climb, so I'm looking at Gotemba option. Due to the climber's bus from fifth station to Gotemba station which have the later time.
Apart from that, I found the transport to Gotemba will be by limited express "Romancecar" from Shinjuku to Gotemba. Is this the fastest way to Gotemba??
hjh87
post Aug 3 2016, 08:28 AM

794 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Aug 1 2016, 09:58 PM)
Do you have any mountain climbing experience (Those above 3500m) ?  such as KK mountain?
Please bring very very thick jacket for overnight and few bottle of oxygen bottle.  At night, it will be extremely cold and high altitude sickness will kill you.

Damm nightmare experience. Once in lifetime, I will never go climb Mt Fuji 2nd time.

Most important must have Travel Insurance before climb.  If any happen, the medical bill will make you bankrupt.  We taking about Rm100k above medical bill (due to you are not Japan Citizen)
There are no ''romance car'' to Gotemba.  Romance Car only reach Hakone Yumoto Station.
Gotemba Area don't have any rail line. 
fastest way from Shinjuku to Gotemba are Highway Bus
Hi RegentCid,

biggrin.gif no climbing experience but will try it out anyway laugh.gif .

Yup, only highway express bus to Gotemba. Tried to find a good onsen place nearby Gotemba to stay once we came down from Fuji but can't find any.

Only found all those nice onsen located at Kawaguchiko area.
hjh87
post Aug 4 2016, 09:07 AM

794 posts

Current plan.

1st Sep > Reach Tokyo (head down to Shinkuju)
2nd Sep > To Gotemba Station (reach around afternoon by Odakyu Hakone Highway Bus)
2nd Sep > Start Climbing Mt Fuji (stay at hut for the night)
3rd Sep > Descend from Mt Fuji (head down to Kawaguchiko area)
4th Sep > back to Shinjuku (fujikyuko bus / train)
5th Sep > Tokyo
6th Sep > Tokyo
7th Sep > Outside of Tokyo (still planning-any suggestion?)
8th Sep > Outside of Tokyo (still planning-any suggestion?)
9th Sep > Tokyo
10th Sep > Tokyo

Have a question, is there any luggage storage facility at Gotemba? Can't find any, and is't the storage at Shinjuku station can be use for continuously in several day?

This post has been edited by hjh87: Aug 7 2016, 08:33 AM
hjh87
post Aug 4 2016, 08:55 PM

794 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Aug 4 2016, 11:34 AM)
Yes. There are luggage storage at Gotemba Station.
Best way was used "Black Cat" Service once you check out from Shinjuku Hotel. Ask them sent to your next Kawaguchi Hotel.
http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e2278.html
It will save you alot of time, because you no need waste time go back to Station reclaim your bag.
Mid of October are Hokkaido best timing for autumn view. It also Hokkaido most expensive time.
Seafood at Hokkaido also high season from Sept - Jan. 

1st class King Crab price are most expensive at this period.
2nd Class Ekizen Crab price are higher than normal due to high tourist season.
3rd class Hairy Crab will be cheap because high season...alot of catch.
Thanks RegentCid for the tips, it really help us in saving time. Or else need to back to the Gotemba and pick up the bag and reroute to Kawaguchiko again.

QUOTE(TzeThon @ Aug 4 2016, 01:42 PM)
day trips from Tokyo?
personally i really enjoyed Kamakura and Nikko.
but there are others around Tokyo too. Yokohama. Kawagoe (i liked it too).
Disney Resort?  wub.gif
Yea, Kamakura is on my list and maybe can include Disney world as well biggrin.gif .

For Kawagoe, possible to cycle around it?? Haha, Yokohama dint caught my attention.
hjh87
post Aug 5 2016, 08:09 PM

794 posts

QUOTE(TzeThon @ Aug 5 2016, 01:46 PM)
Disneyland and Disneysea will take at least one day each. so you need to choose one of them if you're only allocating one day for the trip.
Kawagoe I think no problem cycling around.
Yokohama nothing much actually. don't think it's a must unless you really have nothing to do hahaha.
have you put Odaiba into your list? can easily spend one day there as well.
Haha, Disney still in consideration.

Yup, Odaiba is already in my list.

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Aug 5 2016, 04:28 PM)
i took 4hrs for dinner, gundam, rainbow, dinner...
6pm to 10+pm

i would like to advise u, dont go too late...
coz i missed the gundam light show  bangwall.gif

and dont dont dont forget... must go to 7-11 beside the gundam
there u can buy special edition gundam (not sold anywhere) at 7-11 price thumbsup.gif

if u wish to shop, odaiba is also a good shopping place...
Nice and thanks for the info, can get some stuff before heading back. thumbup.gif

Guy, beside Kawaguchiko area any other place nearby fuji lake have nice Ryokan?? Found few in Kawaguchiko but all fully booked blink.gif
hjh87
post Aug 7 2016, 08:46 AM

794 posts

In maps:-
Early Schedule
1. Mt Fuji
2. Kawaguchiko

Mid Schedule
3. Shinjuku
4. Asakusa
5. Tokyo

End Schedule
6. Kamakura
7. Odaiba
8. Shibuya

Will visit the attraction nearby to the above mentioned main stop. May I ask what the best way to travel within Tokyo? Is't sufficient to have just Suica or Pasmo??
And should I alter any of the route planned in the maps?
Plus I got a question, whether or not worth to separate the stay for 2 different places (Shinjuku-mid schedule then Tokyo-End schedule)? Or just stay at Shinjuku is good enough?

This post has been edited by hjh87: Aug 7 2016, 12:01 PM

0.0586sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:32 PM