JonYeap
post Apr 14 2007, 10:18 AM

ADMIN ELITE
4,538 posts

QUOTE(rumizu @ Apr 13 2007, 02:06 PM)
jon..
i live in melaka.. working @ KUTKM..
yup, king kong.. wanna mention this name at the first place but tot dat nobody knew..
no, haven't got mine yet.. will take him maybe on early may...
i'll name him Sheimi, after a legendary flower hedgehog pokemon..

user posted image <- dis is sheimi

btw, very sad when i saw da hedgies there yesterday.. pity for them.. have u n hao went to da shop before?..  at first, juz wanna ask the owner whether they got any s&p.. he said no then knocked at the aquarium wall which written RM 280.. when i asked how old were these hedgies, he looked at me then say: i don't know.. if u want to buy, i can give u discount, and u know what, very hard to get dis animal lo..
just talked to myself, if very hard then u should take a very good care of them..
been there many times, got my crickets and worms from there. know the boss as well. he ask me for tarantula stock as well. hmmm... the pets there are really... u know...
well, good luck in getting sheimi.
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Apr 14 2007, 09:26 PM

4,457 posts

Hi there. I recently got a hedgehog it has a big container, wood shavings, bowl with food and water and everything but i wanted to know is it ok to keep the light on all night or should i turn it off ?

Do hedgehogs mind ?
crazymouse_yyh
post Apr 14 2007, 09:31 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

Turn off your light. Hedgehogs enjoy darkness.... they are nocturnal.
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Apr 14 2007, 09:34 PM

4,457 posts

Ops will do.
crazymouse_yyh
post Apr 14 2007, 09:41 PM

12,047 posts

What food are you feeding your hedgies?
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Apr 14 2007, 09:43 PM

4,457 posts

Uh cat food. I bought 2 hedgys from JasonMole doh.gif just arrived today. Not sure what brand cat food but i'm sure their not those whiskies doh.gif read about them. Anyway Mole said to dump in the food and they would be enough for a week icon_question.gif

Here is the picture of their enclosure and everything

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...0#entry11170082

Also is it true i should never feed them fruits etc or they will not want to eat cat food anymore ? shocking.gif

Anyway i'm pretty happy since this is my first official pet ! I like cats but i thought i would go for something interesting and fun. cool.gif

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Apr 14 2007, 09:54 PM
crazymouse_yyh
post Apr 14 2007, 09:55 PM

12,047 posts

Well.... you must find out what brand... IAMS is dangerous, causes fatty liver disease....

Anyway, hedgehogs can take fruits lah.... but not all will eat them since they do prefer to eat insects and catfood more.
TShao
post Apr 14 2007, 10:00 PM

Quills™
5,469 posts

Moogle Stiltzkin, welcome to hedgehog corner. Hedgehogs prefer darkness than light. If possible, get wheels for them to play, they love it!
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Apr 14 2007, 10:59 PM

4,457 posts

Hao - Yep i got one set of wheels. They will have to share ^^ thx.

Crazy - What catfood brand would you recommend ? Is the hedgehog specific food worth to look at ? I hear most hedgys don't like it...

icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Apr 14 2007, 11:00 PM
TShao
post Apr 14 2007, 11:13 PM

Quills™
5,469 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Apr 14 2007, 10:59 PM)
Hao - Yep i got one set of wheels. They will have to share ^^ thx.

Crazy - What catfood brand would you recommend ? Is the hedgehog specific food worth to look at ? I hear most hedgys don't like it...

icon_question.gif
Recommended cat food brand for hedgehog:
Evolve
Canidae
Carlifornia Natural
Royal Canin
Chicken Soup for Cat Lover's Soul
Innova
Go Natural

Avoid Friskies, Whiskas, IAMS, Purina or Eukanuba.

Hedgehog specific food? Care to explain more?
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Apr 14 2007, 11:19 PM

4,457 posts

Donno just i vaguely heard an alternative to cat food was similar food just more nutritious for hedgies.

http://www.exclusivelyhedgehogs.com/hedgehog_%20foods.htm
crazymouse_yyh
post Apr 14 2007, 11:21 PM

12,047 posts

I guess it's those like Spike's Delight that's in the US market. Well, getting those is good but only certain brands are considered high quality since many of the "hedgehog food" available for sale in the US did not go through much research and testings.... so some will have a bland taste while some are too high in corn or gluten. So a number of keepers in the US suggest feeding high quality catfood as it is safer and provides a good source of protein and fats essential for a hedgehog.
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Apr 15 2007, 11:58 AM

4,457 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Apr 14 2007, 11:21 PM)
I guess it's those like Spike's Delight that's in the US market. Well, getting those is good but only certain brands are considered high quality since many of the "hedgehog food" available for sale in the US did not go through much research and testings.... so some will have a bland taste while some are too high in corn or gluten. So a number of keepers in the US suggest feeding high quality catfood as it is safer and provides a good source of protein and fats essential for a hedgehog.
Hm i'm scared to treat it fruits etc or it won't eat the catfood i give it. Should i be worried ?

Also since their new to me how do i get them to warm up to me ? So far they've been huddling in a round ball. The youngun keeps turning around a bit and looking at me, and then turns into a tigther ball ! I'm not sure whether it's afraid or it's trying to get some sleep doh.gif It keeps doing that every 20 minutes or so .... I saw it anointing itself once o_O; Very cute notworthy.gif

I was looking at some ideas here

http://exoticpets.about.com/cs/hedgehogs/ht/handlehh.htm

http://www.hedgehogvalley.com/hhome.html

Also is dumping a weeks worth of food in the bowl ok ? Or should i give a days worth of food everyday so they don't get over weight doh.gif ?

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Apr 15 2007, 12:13 PM
Mr. Z
post Apr 15 2007, 01:00 PM

601 posts

I think its more appropriate to put in foods daily, u wouldnt wanna eat a week old biscuit left out on ur table dun u? wink.gif

plus, it might attract ants etc if left out there too long... same thing with my dog food... but let the pros decide on that, i m not too sure as well...

Hehe, found some source of hedgehog.. but not sure whether its a good breeder or not... sigh...
babymoli
post Apr 15 2007, 01:11 PM

nendo addict
1,845 posts

QUOTE(Mr. Z @ Apr 15 2007, 01:00 PM)
I think its more appropriate to put in foods daily, u wouldnt wanna eat a week old biscuit left out on ur table dun u?  wink.gif

plus, it might attract ants etc if left out there too long... same thing with my dog food... but let the pros decide on that, i m not too sure as well...

Hehe, found some source of hedgehog.. but not sure whether its a good breeder or not... sigh...
If good breeder, sure he/she will ask you a lot of question regarding on hedgies. You can view the hoglets before getting them. See how's the environment they are in.
Mr. Z
post Apr 15 2007, 01:39 PM

601 posts

These particular person very lanC, say i shudnt be suspicious when i ask him about the date of birth and ask why he posted this date at 4 months and after 4 months u tell me its 5months (i made a mistake on the date actually after a double check).

buy animal must check one ma... if not how i know leh?

It was born in end Nov 2006. Why so suspicious? I do not cheat people. So, if you calculate from November 2006 to April 2007 issit 8 months?

I do not think there are any date of birth stated in the ad post. I posted the advert on 12 of April 2007. I think it is good not to be so suspicious and make unnecessary assumptions.

This hedgehog is 1 out of 6 that I handpicked and kept. So are you really interested? If you are not, pls do let me know and let us not waste each other's time.

rclxub.gif
TShao
post Apr 15 2007, 03:09 PM

Quills™
5,469 posts

QUOTE(babymoli @ Apr 15 2007, 01:11 PM)
If good breeder, sure he/she will ask you a lot of question regarding on hedgies. You can view the hoglets before getting them. See how's the environment they are in.
babymoli, a seller that ask you a lot of question ragarding on hedgies (or any other animals) doesn't mean he/she is a good breeder. Some just ask to show that they're "concern" about the hedgie which of course, the thing he/she concerns is not the animal but the money. Buyer have to do some research before getting any pets, not only hedgehogs to determine whether the pets he/she is going to get are in good shape or not.
TShao
post Apr 15 2007, 03:14 PM

Quills™
5,469 posts

QUOTE(Mr. Z @ Apr 15 2007, 01:39 PM)
These particular person very lanC, say i shudnt be suspicious when i ask him about the date of birth and ask why he posted this date at 4 months and after 4 months u tell me its 5months (i made a mistake on the date actually after a double check).

buy animal must check one ma... if not how i know leh?
rclxub.gif
When it comes to pet, you have the right to be susipicious. Ask him (the seller) everything that you're not comfortable with and it's the responsibility of the seller to clear your doubts. If the seller is trying to avoid the questions, avoid getting from him/her. Remember, you are in charge before you hand him the money. The decision is still in your hand.

This post has been edited by hao: Apr 15 2007, 03:15 PM
Mr. Z
post Apr 15 2007, 03:20 PM

601 posts

QUOTE(hao @ Apr 15 2007, 04:14 PM)
When it comes to pet, you have the right to be susipicious. Ask him (the seller) everything that you're not comfortable with and it's the responsibility of the seller to clear your doubts. If the seller is trying to avoid the questions, avoid getting from him/her. Remember, you are in charge before you hand him the money. The decision is still in your hand.
yeah i ll take note of that and see if he is willing to answer more questions from me.. if he still comes to me with that kinda attitude, i shall do him a favor by not buying from him...
Reanne
post Apr 15 2007, 04:28 PM

Elite is only a tag. So don't PM me to delete ur post.
2,903 posts

Get from someone that is more willing to share information about your future hedgie. If they're not willing to put up with someone that actually wants to know more about their future hedgie, then it's time to look for another seller.

124 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Top

0.0174sec    0.82    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:54 AM