262 Pages « < 68 69 70 71 72 > » Bottom

Working in Australia V2, All About working in Australia

lilfire
post Aug 19 2016, 06:53 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(underGr0und_8 @ Aug 19 2016, 12:21 PM)
Gents, any experience converting visa 457 to PR?

my visa 457 are already 2 years plus and plan to apply for PR.
457 to PR is ENS (employer nomiation scheme).
the process is roughly the same with 457 but more details.
Your boss will have to nominate you again. They have to provide financial statement of the company and also fullful the training benchmark thingy.

Soony
post Aug 19 2016, 10:34 PM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

QUOTE(underGr0und_8 @ Aug 19 2016, 12:21 PM)
Gents, any experience converting visa 457 to PR?

my visa 457 are already 2 years plus and plan to apply for PR.
Does your skillset qualify for either visa 189/190? For me as an example, I was 457 for a year which then I went to apply for 190 by myself then reimbursed by the company.
Y-shapedTwig
post Aug 20 2016, 07:59 AM

50 posts

I'm currently on 485 visa, and I've been working as a software developer since day 1. My employer explicitly said they won't sponsor anyone for visa 457. My visa is expiring in February 2017.

I'm currently based in Melbourne;

I submitted my EOI in April 2016 for visa 189 (60 points), 190 (65 points), and 489 (70 points).

The breakdown of my points is as follows:
English: 10 points (min 7 in IELTS)
Degree: 15 points
Australian study requirements: 5 points
Working experience: 5 points
============================
60 points
============================

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1Wpx.../htmlview#gid=0

Looking at the current trend, it seems like it's impossible for me to get an invite. I regret not doing PY. Anyway, I can't do it anymore.

1) Has anyone done PTE and achieved 79 in each? I couldn't even reach 65 in PTE speaking.
2) Is it possible to apply for visa 189 after visa 190 is granted? My family and partner are all in Melbourne. My family is pretty important to me. Visa 190 also means two years long distance relationship, he did agree to move with me, but his family + university are in Melbourne, it's just too selfish to steal him away.
3) Should I go back to Malaysia and work until I turn 25 to wait for visa 189's invitation so that I can stay in Melbourne? I've previously received offers from very good companies in Malaysia like famous semiconductor MNC, big four, and a GLC in Malaysia. Is it thick-faced to re-apply to those companies again?

Thanks for your input.

This post has been edited by Y-shapedTwig: Aug 20 2016, 08:32 AM
Nemesis1980
post Aug 21 2016, 06:36 PM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(lilfire @ Aug 19 2016, 06:48 PM)
I'm in Perth and looking for accounts related job...
But was told that Perth is kinda quiet at the moment.
So just apply for everything...even apply for cleaner but they still have better candidates...lolx...
Resume should be fine.
Engaging with recruitment agencies too and they said Perth is kinda quiet.
Might consider relocate if still couldnt get any i guess tongue.gif
Seen your cv. Looks ok but seems lack of something though. Just need some touch up to look great say your goals?

I recommend u to apply to asian company 1st. See how's it going. Hope this helps. My company not employing so far.
lilfire
post Aug 21 2016, 07:26 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Aug 21 2016, 06:36 PM)
Seen your cv. Looks ok but seems lack of something though. Just need some touch up to look great say your goals?

I recommend u to apply to asian company 1st. See how's it going.  Hope this helps. My company not employing so far.
No problem tongue.gif
Thanks for your help anyway! Appreciate it!

My ex coll said her friend who work in the recruitment line tends to favour ang moh applicants and firstly filtered resume by name.
Duno how true is that XD
But wonder should i put some english name to make the application smoother lol... rclxms.gif
innsean
post Aug 21 2016, 08:21 PM

555 posts

Lol if you ain't white you ain't right
lilfire
post Aug 21 2016, 08:32 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(innsean @ Aug 21 2016, 08:21 PM)
Lol if you ain't white you ain't right
Hahahaha...tell them i just accidentally over tan myself...hahahah
innsean
post Aug 22 2016, 08:35 AM

555 posts

QUOTE(lilfire @ Aug 21 2016, 08:32 PM)
Hahahaha...tell them i just accidentally over tan myself...hahahah
Hahahah
DarReNz
post Aug 23 2016, 07:54 AM

7,496 posts

Australia judge fines Malaysian chain Mamak A$292,672 for underpaying workers

KUALA LUMPUR, Aug 22 — Mamak, a Malaysian street food restaurant in Sydney, and its three directors have been fined A$292,672 (RM898,610) for underpaying its employees and using false records to disguise the payments, according to Business Insider Australia.

Mamak, lauded as one of Sydney’s best value eatery, has long queues outside its Chinatown branch in the evenings, but the Australian Federal Court found that the workers are paying the price for the cheap meals.

The case went to court after the Fair Work Ombudsman took legal action against the restaurant and its owners after discovering that six employees — five of whom are visa holders from non-English speaking backgrounds — were collectively underpaid more than A$87,000.

http://www.themalaymailonline.com/malaysia...rpaying-workers
kenji1903
post Aug 23 2016, 10:41 AM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(z21j @ Aug 18 2016, 11:07 AM)
Hi. Thanks for sharing. Based on your ability and from what you shared, it is undeniable fact that you could have done better and climbed up the corporate ladders even faster if u were to choose settle down in Malaysia or Singapore. Apparently Aus is for retirement (for elderly) and for children who pursue secondary/tertiary education. Many Malaysians or Singaporeans who studied here prefer to go back their home country for career growth.

One example - My aunt was a Singaporean (now Australian) migrated to Sydney in 1993, gave birth to my cousin in 1994. 21 years later in 2015 - my cousin decided to leave Sydney and go back to Singapore cause he said Aus is too slow pace and not good for career progression. What my aunt thought it was good for family and future, it doesn't mean her future generations would like it. How would one define work-life balance? If you can accept that work in Aus is just a JOB then here is very suitable for you. If you wish to have CAREER and thereafter good life - think twice. Chinese saying - "Xian ku hou tian, or Xian tian hou ku". Well- not that bad, in Aus, you wont be "ku", probably you may just end up a boring/meaningless life (unless you are super family oriented, i.e all your family members - parents, sisters, children are here)

Conclusion is that, choose the place that you feel happy the most and you wont regret, don't think about future generations. Everyone dream of going overseas, but not everyone suitable for migration. If my dad were to migrate to Singapore/Australia when he was young, I would probably blame him for why brought me up in such a high cost of living country and eventually I will look for my own alternative.

No offend to you my dear friend, I'm sure you are a good husband and a father, and inspired most of the people here.
children won't complain if the parents are doing well, true story tongue.gif

anyway, i'm always skeptical when it comes to retirement... can't really depend on anyone but yourself... that's why migration is a tough decision for me and my family... continue where we are, we will be able to retire, not luxurious but should be ok...
but if migrate... asset value will be divided by 3 (forex), and maybe start over... but migration to us is and will always be the best thing for the kid(s)... as they will make out the most out of it...

depends... everyone has different definition of life...
i personally would love to spend more time with my family... everyday i get home, my boy is already asleep... cook simple dinner with my wife, watch some tv and off to bed, we have so much to talk about but there's too little time...
wake up early every morning, prepare this prepare that and i only help 15-30mins with him then have to send him off to the nanny...

innsean
post Aug 23 2016, 03:51 PM

555 posts

Anyone knows which visa route to take if your targeted job industry differs from your bachelor's degree which happened to be part of the SOL. Say you have a mechanical engineering degree but apply for a job in the real estate industry.
DarReNz
post Aug 24 2016, 07:24 AM

7,496 posts

QUOTE(innsean @ Aug 23 2016, 03:51 PM)
Anyone knows which visa route to take if your targeted job industry differs from your bachelor's degree which happened to be part of the SOL. Say you have a mechanical engineering degree but apply for a job in the real estate industry.
real estate is easy a lot of china ppl doing
witchx
post Aug 24 2016, 02:50 PM

121 posts

anyone interested in playing futsal on Sunday 28th Aug in UNSW? from 10am - 12pm. The regular players there are aged between 25 - 32, sub par amateurs. 12 bux per person
DarReNz
post Aug 25 2016, 11:53 AM

7,496 posts

QUOTE(witchx @ Aug 24 2016, 02:50 PM)
anyone interested in playing futsal on Sunday 28th Aug in UNSW? from 10am - 12pm. The regular players there are aged between 25 - 32, sub par amateurs. 12 bux per person
why don't you advertise in the meetup application ?
jtsl9
post Aug 25 2016, 12:24 PM

276 posts

QUOTE(innsean @ Aug 23 2016, 03:51 PM)
I apply for visa 190 because my current profession is Marketing Specialist which is in tier 2 of SOL. My degree is in Medical Bioscience. If you want to apply visa based on your profession which differs from your bachelor, you need at least 3 years work experience compared to 1 year if you are working within your bachelor's profession.
shazam7
post Aug 25 2016, 12:29 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(DarReNz @ Aug 24 2016, 10:24 AM)
real estate is easy a lot of china ppl doing
I can't tell whether this is sarcasm or not.
Realestate, esp off the plan, is not easy at all.
DarReNz
post Aug 25 2016, 07:56 PM

7,496 posts

QUOTE(shazam7 @ Aug 25 2016, 12:29 PM)
I can't tell whether this is sarcasm or not.
Realestate, esp off the plan, is not easy at all.
i have few msian friends who went into real estate and they doing well cos most of their clients are from china as well nod.gif
innsean
post Aug 25 2016, 11:03 PM

555 posts

QUOTE(DarReNz @ Aug 25 2016, 07:56 PM)
i have few msian friends who went into real estate and they doing well cos most of their clients are from china as well  nod.gif
Did they study a different field? Is a real estate career in demand there?
shazam7
post Aug 26 2016, 06:30 AM

263 posts

QUOTE(innsean @ Aug 26 2016, 02:03 AM)
Did they study a different field? Is a real estate career in demand there?
U must get a license before going into this career.
At the moment there are plenty of new developments, not sure how this can be sustained.
Knowing Mandarin is a huge advantage now as the PRC ppl are still investing.
It takes a certain mindset to succeed. A majority are commission based only, n the pressure is to keep selling.
jianh
post Aug 26 2016, 09:40 AM

What custom title???
920 posts

QUOTE(daylight_dancer @ Aug 13 2016, 09:13 PM)
Not really. Sometimes it takes 3 months or more. YOu'll likely hear by September.

I was in the same boat last year (waiting game) but mine came through end of Sept. Everything was submitted by end June.
Got an email from agent yesterday saying my subclass 189 approved, hurray!
From March 2015 to Aug 2016... took me close to 1.5 years in whole process.

262 Pages « < 68 69 70 71 72 > » Top

0.0353sec    1.13    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 10:30 AM