Working in Australia V2, All About working in Australia

lilfire
post Nov 19 2015, 09:28 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(eric00701 @ Nov 16 2015, 05:52 PM)
Hi all,

I am currently applying for GSM in Australia, most probably subclass 189, as a chef. According to DIBP website, https://www.border.gov.au/Trav/Visa-1/189-, I am short of 5 points to reach 60 points. As far as i'm concerned, I have 2 options to increase the points. the first option would be to retake the IELTS and score 7.0 on all modules for 10 points (i've got 5.5 listening (hearing impairment), 8.0 reading, 6.5 writing and 6.0 for speaking. I took the IELTS in University of Canberra in August 2015.)
The second option would be to get the Certificate 4 in Cookery ( under SOL) (10 points) and get the cert recognized by TRA (10 points) (cost about AUD$300.). That would be 20 points total.

FYI, last 2013, I planned to get PR under cook SOL. so, I had studied Commercial Cookery and lived in Canberra for about 2 1/2 years under student visa.  however, they have changed and updated the SOL last July this year (Cook was no longer in the SOL list), hence I'm in a bit of predicament at the moment. That is why I consider applying for Chef instead. Unfortunately, I have to return to Malaysia as my student visa had expired.
I am still keeping in touch with migration agent based in Sydney (recommended by my College Principal and Employer from National Gallery of Australia) to look at my case.
I have sent all of my document to the agent last week (including IELTS, work experience, qualification, blah blah). So, I am expecting something from them this week.
Just wondering, what is the chance of me getting PR? rclxub.gif Any idea?
Hey Eric, you might want to consider to apply for state sponsorship for that.
pro: additional 5 marks if apply visa 190
con: u have to stay 2 years in the state who sponsor you

Alternatively, get a partner/dependent which is also on the SOL list and she can give you additional 5 points too.

But you might want to try IELTS in Malaysia again which i personally think that it is easier compared to aussy one.

lilfire
post Nov 20 2015, 10:22 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(daylight_dancer @ Nov 19 2015, 11:24 PM)
Yes it counts, as long as you spend a cumulative 2 years there. Doesn't have to be consecutive.

Border is not bothered about where you live. I've asked people, asked the agents who handled my visa. No issues whatsoever. Once you get a PR, as long as you've spent 2 out of the 5 years, you'll be eligible for an RRV. Anyway after 4 years of residence you're eligible for Citizenship.
If you dont mind me asking which state 190 you applied for?

i'm currently applying 190 for WA. We actually need to sign a form stating you agree to stay 2 year in WA, agree for home visit and survey from the states at least once every 6 months and whatsoever...
So i always thought we have to oblige and stay 2 years T.T
lilfire
post Nov 20 2015, 10:35 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(daylight_dancer @ Nov 20 2015, 10:27 PM)
SA.

Sign a form? Didn't know there's such a thing. Have heard of the surveys, but those can be easily ignored as they're via email.
Anyway WA is not bad lah, I lived there for 2 years. It's warmer than Vic/ NSW, so that's a plus. And if you ever want to fly back to KL for a holiday, flights are cheaper.
Yes, the State Nomination Agreement thingy!!
It state that you agree to remain living and working in WA for the first 2 years and agree to register your address with the WA govt and keep them informed your contact details. Somemore got registration survey, settlement survey etc. Then proof of funds also...
I guess every state have different requirement then.

Yea WA is quite good in a sense that it is nearer to Msia. But summer in WA is killing...41 celcius in the day and 16 at night...

lilfire
post Nov 20 2015, 10:48 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(daylight_dancer @ Nov 20 2015, 10:39 PM)
That not bad lah, it's not 41 every day. Some days 44,  and Once in a while it'll drop to 28, 25. Nights are nice and cool. 16 is lovely.

Yea SA not so annoying. Not at all. I know ACT also ask for proof of funds. Thank god SA never asked. NSW application is complex.
Yes need to show you have 20k in your account if you are single applicant.
Anyway, as long as PR granted, i will be good and stay in WA as long as they want. lol...
Applying PR under accountant is really tough now as they have halved accountant to half and now only limited 70 pointers get invitation.
i'm lucky enough to get invitation as a 65 pointer.
finger crossed for the result!
lilfire
post Nov 21 2015, 10:19 AM

114 posts

QUOTE(daylight_dancer @ Nov 20 2015, 11:00 PM)
Best of luck. Tough for accountants and engineers, but keep you fingers & toes crossed  icon_rolleyes.gif
Thanks mate!!

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Nov 21 2015, 12:46 AM)
Not all the time.

Depends alot on the Antarctica belt weather. This year confirm its going to be scorching heat.
Best of luck!
Yea it is getting hotter nowadays!!!
Thanks so much mate smile.gif

This post has been edited by lilfire: Nov 21 2015, 10:20 AM
lilfire
post Nov 21 2015, 10:23 AM

114 posts

QUOTE(jianh @ Nov 21 2015, 07:31 AM)
Hey when are you planning to head to WA for good? Or are you already in WA? I aim to be in WA as well after my 189 is granted, which I think is about, mid or 3Q 2016.
Hi Jianh,
I'm still in the middle of my 190.
Still waiting for the stupid certificate of good conduct from Msia which they advise me will take around of 2 months?!?!?!
My Aust PCC already out despite applying on the same day!!!

My agent said it might take 3 months to know whether PR granted.
So might be expected to leave around Feb/March i would say if everything come out positive.

Which part in WA you staying?

This post has been edited by lilfire: Nov 21 2015, 10:25 AM
lilfire
post Nov 21 2015, 11:04 AM

114 posts

QUOTE(jianh @ Nov 21 2015, 10:59 AM)
Not sure yet, to be honest I have no idea at the moment. Cant be choosy when I get there so I'm quite open to options. You?
I would most probably still stay in SOR area around canning vale or thornlie.
More Asian...lol...
Coz i used to work in Perth before i apply my PR for about 3 years.
Familiar with that area already and rental is also cheaper.

lilfire
post Nov 21 2015, 11:27 AM

114 posts

QUOTE(jianh @ Nov 21 2015, 11:10 AM)
Oh I see. Nice.

Well for one, I'm definitely gonna avoid Bentley. Had bad experience once in that area. Got mugged, didn't get hurt though.

Wait, Canning Vale and Thornlie have cheaper rental? Now this I didn't know, noted.
Avoid Bentley.expensive rental due to Curtin and not safe due to too many international student. Can say many robber n thief also them...

Thornlie is cheap coz near gosnell. But canning vale depends which part.

Gosnell n armadale is cheaper but is a really dodgy area according to the local. Many abo...

Let me know when u going...!
lilfire
post Nov 21 2015, 01:24 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(daylight_dancer @ Nov 21 2015, 01:02 PM)
Agreed, but avoid Gosnells. Lots of trailer park types. Opposing suburbs like Maddington & Thornlie are great, all under the City of Gosnells, but much nicer suburbs.
Yea ikr!
Arghh, houses in Gosnells are so cheap compared to Maddington and Thornlie.
But everyone say no no to that area.
But then i always think that since i'm from Msia, these areas might be small cases...lol tongue.gif

lilfire
post Nov 21 2015, 07:57 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(selvenz @ Nov 21 2015, 01:46 PM)
You can get it in two weeks from kln website, then get Aussie embassy here to issue a printout. Two months ? Unheard off.
Yeap, 2 months!
They said might be earlier but the standard processing time is max 2 months.
So u might lucky and get it fast or unlucky then 2 months sharp.
Is stated in their website, so i call them unbelievably and they just said this to me...

QUOTE(daylight_dancer @ Nov 21 2015, 02:55 PM)
Eh no, it's damn dodgy k. Seriously. I lived in Maddignton for a while, and it felt quite different everytime we had to stop at Gosnells for some reason.

You can even see it in the houses- the Maddington ones are nicer. And if you've cul de sac, it's even better. Kids will be cycling outside during the warmer evenings. Very nice.

Gosnells ah a lot of Aboriginals, and most are quite crude.
Lol thats what my sis said also.
Yea the houses in Maddington and Canning Vale is really nice.
Gosnells one mostly quite old and look very messy in term of housing distribution etc.

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Nov 21 2015, 06:03 PM)
ehy are you in WA? sweat.gif finally got someone here. rclxm9.gif

which metro area are you? i`m right at SOR.
I just come back from WA la...applying PR offshore.
But was at Thornlie last time.
you?

This post has been edited by lilfire: Nov 21 2015, 07:59 PM
lilfire
post Nov 21 2015, 08:19 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(jianh @ Nov 21 2015, 08:09 PM)
Same here too applying PR offshore in KL.

Came back after graduate to get some work exp first, in order to grab some pointers.
fresh grad can apply graduate visa for 2 years then can convert PR straight. not meh?

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Nov 21 2015, 08:00 PM)
one of the place you mentioned above.
smile.gif Como. smile.gif

why did you applied offshore? unsure.gif
oooo...como...rich ppl area a~lol

Why did i applied offshore...
Its such a long story...
I prev go Aussy on a work n holiday visa and was lucky that boss then sponsor me on a 457.
Boss attitude changed once 457 granted and was mean by reducing the office staff into halve and i have to take up all workloads.
(take up 3 persons work yet still have to cover temp staff work, ot till late night, ot sat,i ot no double but aussy staff have TT)
But i sabar for the sake of employer sponsor PR la...
However everything turn sour when i asked my boss if he would like to sponsor me since i've been there 2 years.
He said ok at first and then i engaged agent and get everything rolling.
Then he said he is willing to sponsor me only with the condition of bonding me 6 more years to be fair for him.
I actually agreed at first (cant believe i'm so dumb...shakehead.gif) thinking that it is good at least i secured a job in current bad market.
But then he keep on scolding and shouting at me for nothing and blaming me for mistake either done by him or other staff.
At the same time he keep on giving excuses and not providing documents that agent needed for the visa.
He shouted at my agent and hang up on him without any reason.
My colleague actually eavesdropped that the boss said he dont want to sponsor me PR as he scare i'll resigned.

Since the boss have no intention to do this,so i decided to apply myself.
But then my 457 cancel once i resigned so i can only apply offshore lo sweat.gif

This post has been edited by lilfire: Nov 21 2015, 08:25 PM
lilfire
post Nov 21 2015, 09:06 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Nov 21 2015, 08:27 PM)
shakehead.gif that`s verbal abuse in work place under 457 visa. Did you know you can sue the company for not keeping promises? smile.gif It is Australia; so law is for you to interpret and if you had record basis. You can bring down the company; all you need is a lawyer.

mad.gif

Usually; they blow bubble and buy your loyalty with fake carrot in your eyes. I knew this story all this while. Alot such; but venue for "such" cases are ignored until you bring it to court and challenge the company.

I hope your 190 works well. smile.gif  flex.gif
Yea i actually complaint it to the workfair.
However as i've resigned, the max they can do is warn the company and file a record. And they also make sure the company pay me everything accordingly.

My colleagues have been really supportive by telling me that they would become my witness if i wanted to raise it to higher authority.
But then thinking of the fees and hassle, i then just leave as i desperately need to get some fresh air...

Thanks so much mate! finger crossed my 190 works well too smile.gif

This post has been edited by lilfire: Nov 21 2015, 09:07 PM
lilfire
post Nov 21 2015, 09:16 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Nov 21 2015, 09:08 PM)
some lawyers do approach pro-bono case.

i hope you got some fresh air. smile.gif
But then as i didnt managed to record anything, i'll need my colleagues to bcome witness if i wanted to sue the company.
Then it will be very harsh for my colleagues as i dont really want to put them in troubles.

Yea, my sister also keep scolding me for such chicken act...
She is like i'll pay for everything if you want to sue your boss.
To be honest, i myself is quite disappointing towards myself. i just cant imagine how can i tolerate all this while. So not me... sweat.gif
Guess i'm too desperate to get the PR sad.gif

Anyway, now i'm all up and positive again!
fresh haze in malaysia definitely make me tougher now,lol tongue.gif
And i've gain A LOT of weight to make me stronger...hahaha!
damn msia food...!!!

QUOTE(jianh @ Nov 21 2015, 09:15 PM)
Thanks! Expecting Lots of tough road up ahead.
mate, mind to share which progress you currently in your 189 application?

This post has been edited by lilfire: Nov 21 2015, 09:18 PM
lilfire
post Nov 21 2015, 09:25 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Nov 21 2015, 09:22 PM)
you poor chap.  sad.gif Could have share your story earlier when you are here.
u get fitter.
lol...trying to be strong and dont want my family to worry about me.
Thats why i sucked it up and didnt tell anyone...
Until i resigned sad.gif
lilfire
post Nov 25 2015, 08:58 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Nov 25 2015, 02:03 PM)
anyone requested for certification of good conduct from KLN recently? how long does the process take?
Hi Kenji,
I uploaded everything and submitted application online last Thursday 19 Nov 2015.
Get email from Pentadbir e-Konsular on Monday 23 Nov 2015 said is ready to pick up.

This post has been edited by lilfire: Nov 25 2015, 08:59 PM
lilfire
post Dec 6 2015, 09:45 PM

114 posts

To be honest, whether ppl want to migrate anot, i believe ppl will do what they think is best for them.
KVReninem just trying to provide information related to the topic here.
Even become a dishwasher if they are happier then i dont see a reason why its not ok.
Every job is respectful and i think if you have nothing better to say then just keep quiet!
lilfire
post Dec 6 2015, 09:52 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(daylight_dancer @ Dec 6 2015, 09:48 PM)
rclxms.gif +100000
Dont understand! lol...
Got my PR on the 1st Dec after all the hardwork!
Cant wait to go over and become a dishwasher...lol tongue.gif
lilfire
post Dec 7 2015, 12:00 AM

114 posts

QUOTE(Soony @ Dec 6 2015, 10:34 PM)
Congrats! Which state are You heading to?
Thank you so much...
I'm heading to WA smile.gif

QUOTE(daylight_dancer @ Dec 6 2015, 11:25 PM)
smile.gif means am in agreement with everything you said earlier.

Congrats, which state you headed to?
Thank you so much pretty!
I mean i dont understand why ppl who didnt keen to migrate keep spreading negative thread here tongue.gif
I'm heading to Perth!!!

lilfire
post Dec 7 2015, 12:04 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(jianh @ Dec 7 2015, 12:08 AM)
Easy:
1. Red eyes (or green eyed)
2. The ability to shame/bash people for no reason, while hiding behind the anonymity of their username/avatar

Anyway I hope to head to Perth as well when I get mine...still waiting!
I know right...
Migrate is not that easy and cheap.
If one chose to go ahead definitely he/she have already taken into consideration of everything and ready for the challenges there.
Good luck to u! Don't worry it's coming soon!
I lodge my eoi on the 6th nov,get invite on 11th,submit everything by 26th,pr approve in 1st dec! Everything just went super fast n smooth.
So while waiting u might want to fill up form 80. Vy troublesome form ;p

QUOTE(Soony @ Dec 7 2015, 06:19 AM)
+1 for another perthians! I'm also from Perth currently working there! Welcome!
Soony which area are u?!
Good to know ppl in Perth as most of my friend in eastern state. No friends in Perth ;(
So happy...maybe we can meet up for lunch wink.gif

lilfire
post Dec 7 2015, 01:09 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(jianh @ Dec 7 2015, 12:52 PM)
Eh I lodged my EOI on 10 Nov and I'm still waiting. Wow, nice for you to get invited quick!

Thank but where do I see the Form 80 ?

Have you arrived in Aussie?
Hm...I'm not sure coz my agent actually send me mine.
But if u want i can email u.
I'll only head to Perth next year after new year...

0.0254sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th November 2025 - 11:20 PM