Working in Australia V2, All About working in Australia

Red_rustyjelly
post Jul 11 2018, 11:38 PM

867 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jul 11 2018, 09:32 PM)
Something wrong with dibp/DHA lately.... processing numbers dropped significantly, way below previous month's.....and processing time very long....in 2016, it only took 3 weeks from invitation to submit for 189 to grant.....now it's 5 months....
they are already cutting down intake numbers. according to sbs news.
Every year the rate of migrants approved to come in is lesser and lesser.
and now they raised to 65 points minimum

those who still want to migrate can do it fast.
India has alot of applicant racing to get this done.

This post has been edited by Red_rustyjelly: Jul 11 2018, 11:39 PM
Red_rustyjelly
post Jul 13 2018, 11:20 AM

867 posts

QUOTE(Sunshine1818 @ Jul 13 2018, 11:17 AM)
hey another question peeps, plan to DIY so quite a number of uncertainties i hope some sifus could guide me..appreciate it!! smile.gif
My husband is applying for subclass 189 (under Medium & Long term list) and i will have to contribute 5points - partner point but my SOL is under short term skill and as per below website, i am eligible for 190,407,489 visa. Will this be a problem when we lodge EOI to add in me as the partner under his 189 as main applicant?
https://www.homeaffairs.gov.au/trav/work/wo...ed-stsol-mltssl
Thanks!
Regards
from my experience, if spouse is the dependent, she/he dont need to apply any visa. just pay the visa fees when your main applicant got approved to the final stage.

I did it with my wife and kids.
Red_rustyjelly
post Aug 7 2018, 05:19 PM

867 posts

guys, correct me about inflation in Aussie

Same restaurant in Aussie:
10 years ago in Aussie $6.50 Aud for chicken katsu curry
today $11.00 Aud for chicken katsu curry
Same portion, same size same time. I know because i always go there makan during my uni time.

Same restaurant in Malaysia:
10 years ago Wantanmee RM 4.50
today RM 6.00

is aussie having inflated price issue faster than Malaysia?
Red_rustyjelly
post Oct 8 2018, 05:39 PM

867 posts

QUOTE(wuoi @ Oct 8 2018, 12:23 PM)
Thank you for your info.

Obtain all pay slip, what i worried as i already more than 15 years of working, how to obtain all the 15 years of payslip is a challenge. plus my current company does not giving pay slip by regular basic, they only issue when there is change with your salary. i basically only receive once per year...

what my agent did was requesting 3 months of payslip for every year, and every month for the most recent one.
Red_rustyjelly
post Oct 18 2018, 01:25 AM

867 posts

is it possible to buy a house without a work in aussie, but with PR status?

What is the requirement?
Red_rustyjelly
post Oct 18 2018, 02:45 AM

867 posts

QUOTE(Garysydney @ Oct 18 2018, 02:30 AM)
You are allowed to buy any residential properties in Aust if you are PR/citizen. Without a job (in Aust), you may find it hard to secure finance with the Aust banks. I think some foreign banks (like HSBC) will still accept income from overseas if you are a PR/citizen.
thing is i do not want to declare my pay in Msia in Aussie, otherwise it may have double tax.
HSBC can valuate my pay in Msia and finance me in Aussie?
Red_rustyjelly
post Oct 18 2018, 01:02 PM

867 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Oct 18 2018, 04:29 AM)
you will only get hit by double taxation if you are a tax resident and working in Australia, if you read up on how they determine you are a tax resident, its very subjective and dependent on your personal circumstances... e.g. you are not a tax resident if you hold a new migrant with PR and not living in Australia

check with some tax accountants, they should be able to advise you
thx for the advice.

actually on and off i am living in aussie. just that i dont move permanently because my company in Msia still doing good.

I also applied ATO to declare my income in aussie which is 0. but there is a line they put taxable income on my FD, lol. but is AUD 0 because is very less amount like few bucks.
Red_rustyjelly
post Nov 8 2018, 06:41 PM

867 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Nov 8 2018, 06:02 PM)
An application for 189 was submitted in April with 75 points, was invited for processing the next round, and just received grant....

7 months....

Fyi
before they increase, i was at 70, required points was 60.

i got grant ITA within 4 months, at the 6-7 months i got the PR.
Red_rustyjelly
post Nov 28 2018, 08:59 PM

867 posts

Apparently, yellow fever is getting more as I know.
I seen the real conversation between a yellow fever guy to a white friend of mine while I was in Japan.
My friend was signalling me, when this weird whiteman start talking sexuality stuff about Japanese girls and pushing himself into the topic while we constantly tried to change the topic.

after we left him, my friend told me few of his female japanese colleagues were getting sex text from the weird dude.

I also had many friends married to Asian women, but still perving on other Asian woman when they walk by.
Red_rustyjelly
post Dec 13 2018, 11:01 PM

867 posts

is cherry season, guys what is the best way to bring back 1-2kgs of cherry back into malaysia? I heard if you pack it too tight the quality will drop and taste will go bad.
Red_rustyjelly
post Dec 14 2018, 05:55 PM

867 posts

QUOTE(jtsl9 @ Dec 14 2018, 08:44 AM)
I just hand carry them on the flight back but I only brought back 1kg. I got it from a farm out of Melbourne and it was packed in those white plastic container and the cherry survived the journey
QUOTE(Garysydney @ Dec 14 2018, 09:12 AM)
Good time for cherries but sadly I am in KL. Hopefully it will be a long season for cherries this year but with the on-going drought that is wishful thinking.
they allow hand carry now?
I remember i got confiscated by taking mangoes on plane.

anyway, is Ice pack allow on board or check in luggage? I am thinking to put it in my bag with cooler.
Red_rustyjelly
post Dec 25 2018, 03:07 PM

867 posts

QUOTE(freshprince @ Dec 21 2018, 01:22 PM)
South Australia (Adelaide)

Need advice on best suburb for couple with 3 kids below 10 yo. Hope to land a job in CBD.
anything to the east. Althelstone etc..
Red_rustyjelly
post Jan 25 2019, 06:22 PM

867 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Jan 25 2019, 06:05 AM)
i guess its more painful moving for people who are earning RM10k and above because of 3 things:
1. they have basic establishments in Malaysia
2. they have higher expectations in life
3. starting all over
compared to someone who's earning half that salary...
might be worse in Aussie as they need 20% downpayment to avoid LMI...
this is so true. it was really hard for me to move to Aussie because i was having very comfortable pay with few side businesses from scratch.
it was hard to start over. When I had my first kid, i do want him to be suppressed from various kind of radical policy. It has already being slowly shown in the society. As much as I love KL more than Aussie, I just don't want to have this uncertainty happen in future for my children. Therefore this was the urge and push for me to move.

During my first move I had many part time work and able to at least earn enough to live. life was so painful when you leave parents behind.
But I personally wanted this betterment for my next generation.
Red_rustyjelly
post Jan 28 2019, 12:59 AM

867 posts

QUOTE(odin88 @ Jan 28 2019, 12:31 AM)
quick question guys .. if let say i land a job that can pay 120k annually in Sydney .. is it relatively comparable if i earn 120k in Malaysia and live in KL ?

I already visit Australia Migration agency .. and calculated the points that I need to have plus all the payments that I have to pay before land any job which is around 35k MYR.

Assuming I manage to get PR .. Can I save more money to pay some of my commitment in MY while living and working in Sydney ?
you wont get rich is sydney just by 120k unless you have very good saving plan. like eat cheap. live cheap.

but u get government benefit better than in Malaysia. of course you pay high tax in aussie for that.

Red_rustyjelly
post Feb 25 2019, 02:18 PM

867 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 25 2019, 11:10 AM)
Everybody knows there is a housing bubble in Sydney and Melbourne.....and everybody knows housing bubbles will inevitably burst, with a lot of pain....

It's like a non fundamental bull runs in the stock market....or bitcoin.....someone's gonna get hurt....like Peter Russell says....
It could go down to 30% to 40% drop.
Red_rustyjelly
post Feb 26 2019, 10:38 PM

867 posts

Sorry to break the property conversation.

I know this is foolish.
But i was trying to do some property investment under a 190 visa, not yet have a full time job there.

If I send AUD 2k thousand a month to my personal Aussie bank, treating it as freelance marketing job myself in Aussie under a business ABN. Can I still pass the pre-requisite for bank loan?

i know it may be foolish to get double taxed (local income tax and tax from ATO), but as far as I know, under new bracket first 20k aud will be tax free.
Red_rustyjelly
post Feb 27 2019, 05:59 PM

867 posts

QUOTE(kagenn @ Feb 27 2019, 02:26 PM)
All good, that's what forums are meant for anyway.

The company I work has a really high turnover rate, so they're always hiring. Not a great start, but it's a good foot into the permanent job role. Big, but plenty of messy processes we're working on fixing right now. Not sure if they have marketing roles though.

what do u do btw? are they still hiring?
Red_rustyjelly
post Jun 24 2019, 08:23 PM

867 posts

QUOTE(strategist @ Jun 24 2019, 02:14 PM)
hi all,

after a quick check, my occupation is on the Skilled Occupation List and qualifies for all the eligible visa through this route.

The wide range of visas available is confusing confused.gif

So to make matters simple, what is the correct approach to seek employment in Australia?

Route 1: receive a job offer from Australian companies > apply for a work visa > approved and commence work

or

Route 2: apply for an immigration/work visa > approved > seek employment while in Australia

thanks for the help.
Route 1 unless you have a skills that they needing it badly, they would hire you.

usually, people would go to Route 2.

Red_rustyjelly
post Jun 24 2019, 09:41 PM

867 posts

QUOTE(strategist @ Jun 24 2019, 09:29 PM)
thanks for the replies.

In my case, I took the point test, and got 80 points. That means I should aim for visa 189 , is that correct ?

are there other visas I should be aiming for instead?
189 is your best option since it can use to work anywhere in Aussie. I am on a 190. only for SA

This post has been edited by Red_rustyjelly: Jun 24 2019, 09:41 PM
Red_rustyjelly
post Jun 25 2019, 08:03 PM

867 posts

QUOTE(hairypotter9394 @ Mar 3 2019, 01:30 AM)
Hi....just asking....I am too old to be sponsored or even quality for a work visa...but have employer keen to take me ( am hair stylist)....in short ....come to work with tourist visa....is it possible to work 5 months...fly back to Malaysia.... then go over in a month later.....repeat this cycle again n again..  Is this an option I can take ....will immigration be suspicious..... Thanks for your response
1st, you don't have medical insurance, private one doesn't support tourist. unless you buy travel insurance. but if they found ur cause of injuries are from work, they will void it.

2nd, you don't have a work permit, my friend has a cafe in little collins street, every few months labor body will come to check each businesses standards. They may find you, maybe your friend works in the suburb, they will come less often but still.

3rd, you really don't want to get caught. the Ordeal is not as simple as just sending you back. you will have to face certain charges, time and stress.

4th, Malaysians has become top of the list that contributed to the number of illegal immigrants working there. I know for survival some people really need it. but in the near future, they will reduce the quota intake for Malaysians, your kids, your children will be harder to get the PR because of this.

9 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0280sec    1.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 06:49 AM