281 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Bottom

Investors Club V9, Previously known as Traders Kopitiam

gark
post Mar 23 2016, 04:16 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Mar 23 2016, 03:30 PM)
Look deeper into the financials whistling.gif
What this mean mr accountant.. lazy to search .. tongue.gif

Share of loss of equity accounted investees

looks like this..

mainly due  to share  of  loss of  jointly  controlled  entity  of  RM50.21millionin  the  reporting quarter. The jointly  controlled  entity’s  losses  were  due  to  unrealised  foreign exchange  loss  arising  from  USD  denominated  shareholders’ loan and the higher costs associated with trial production. To minimise its losses, the jointly controlled entity has temporarily suspended its trial production in October 2015.

The highlighted part does not sound too favorable. hmm.gif

If exclude this, ok lah the performance $14 mil before tax.

But I see although NAV is high, but most in fixed assets and stocks. Debt is quite high compared to cash holding too.

A lot of steel factories already lingkup in Indonesia, it is cheaper to buy from china rather than manufacture themselves. Maybe malaysian got protection lah.. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Mar 23 2016, 04:19 PM
gark
post Mar 23 2016, 04:17 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(TC-Titan @ Mar 23 2016, 04:08 PM)
But... if u believe u are right... then shouldn't u buy MOARRRR??  biggrin.gif  brows.gif

What's the % for O&G for your overall investment portfolio?
Always need to balance the portfolio mar.. cannot all dump into 1 basket.

OnG about 20% lar.. devil.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Mar 23 2016, 04:21 PM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Mar 23 2016, 04:16 PM)
What this mean mr accountant.. lazy to search ..  tongue.gif
looks like this..
The highlighted part does not sound too favorable.  hmm.gif

But I see although NAV is high, but most in fixed assets and stocks. Debt is quite high compared to cash holding too.

A lot of steel factories already lingkup in Indonesia, it is cheaper to buy from china rather than manufacture themselves. Maybe malaysian got protection lah..  sweat.gif
This is what my stocks partner shared with me...

global steel prices =/= china steel prices
china prices are USUALLY more forward-looking
and bear in mind, china is the biggest consumer of such materials

china commodities prices are rallying

consumption is on the upward trend too
so, china exports of materials gonna slow down
so, local players gonna have bigger share of the pie going forward

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Mar 23 2016, 04:22 PM
TC-Titan
post Mar 23 2016, 04:23 PM

My Life for Aiur~!
820 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Mar 23 2016, 04:12 PM)
Diversifikasi...diversifikasi...jangan taruk semua telur anda dalam katil yang sama cool2.gif
Ya betul~!

Tetapi, I know some Unkers super ganas wan with their investment plan...

Let's say they identified a "situational" stock with an interesting story behind it and thinks that the stock is a "compelling buy". As long as they are convinced the stock is undervalued and should be at X price instead of current market price, they don't mind topping up and averaging down/up further until they have a massive amount. This strategy can go on for say a few months to a few years.

When the price reverses and heads towards or close to their TP, they make a massive killing from this strategy.

But, yeah , not everyone has the bullets and the discipline to do this.

gark
post Mar 23 2016, 04:27 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(TC-Titan @ Mar 23 2016, 04:23 PM)
Ya betul~!

Tetapi, I know some Unkers super ganas wan with their investment plan...

Let's say they identified a "situational" stock with an interesting story behind it and thinks that the stock is a "compelling buy". As long as they are convinced the stock is undervalued and should be at X price instead of current market price, they don't mind topping up and averaging down/up further until they have a massive amount. This strategy can go on for say a few months to a few years.

When the price reverses and heads towards or close to their TP, they make a massive killing from this strategy.

But, yeah , not everyone has the bullets and the discipline to do this.
I have a set rule.. ANY 1 stock must not exceed 10% of TOTAL holdings. No matter how good the story, how good the potential profits.

This is a protection against, IF you are wrong, a concentrated bet will destroy your portfolio.

Of course, many time got 'sam yuk yuk' damm why did not buy more when price shoot up. But I have see the opposite as well, 'lucky did not buy more, whew'. So it has served me well over the years. nod.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Mar 23 2016, 04:30 PM
TC-Titan
post Mar 23 2016, 04:30 PM

My Life for Aiur~!
820 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Mar 23 2016, 04:16 PM)
What this mean mr accountant.. lazy to search ..  tongue.gif
looks like this..
The highlighted part does not sound too favorable.  hmm.gif

A lot of steel factories already lingkup in Indonesia, it is cheaper to buy from china rather than manufacture themselves. Maybe malaysian got protection lah..  sweat.gif
The Comp is also operating at a super negative cash flow too. Their current cash and bank balances can almost say its 100% from the drawdown from borrowings. Susah ni. But I'm sure Pinky must have more lubang somewhere coz he won't simply change strategy unless the rewards way outweigh the risk.
gark
post Mar 23 2016, 04:34 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Mar 23 2016, 04:21 PM)
This is what my stocks partner shared with me...

global steel prices =/= china steel prices
china prices are USUALLY more forward-looking
and bear in mind, china is the biggest consumer of such materials

china commodities prices are rallying

consumption is on the upward trend too
so, china exports of materials gonna slow down
so, local players gonna have bigger share of the pie going forward
Sure kah.. last i heard china is still dumping steel... sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

As Yuan devalue more, the dumping will be even more ganas..

Steel price chart.. no rebound yet..

http://www.tradingeconomics.com/commodity/steel

Iron ore chart, some rebound since Jan.. which means higher demand. But you look at 2015.. is still range bound

http://www.tradingeconomics.com/commodity/steel

More info on china steel..

http://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/201...n-steel-exports

This post has been edited by gark: Mar 23 2016, 04:40 PM
SUSPink Spider
post Mar 23 2016, 04:46 PM

16,872 posts

Who was the one who told me queued for UOADEV at 2.10? Dapat ka hari ni? unsure.gif
zDarkForceSz
post Mar 23 2016, 05:23 PM

1,938 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Mar 23 2016, 01:49 PM)
still faithful to Mr Ho hmm.gif
forget update sudah jual devil.gif
river.sand
post Mar 23 2016, 05:40 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Mar 23 2016, 03:16 PM)
Gonna hold til after the next results announcement

Generally my required rate of return (paper gain) is 30-33% before considering to exit
Mr Accountant,
Required rate of return not usually annualized meh?
30% very high wor...
SUSPink Spider
post Mar 23 2016, 05:42 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(river.sand @ Mar 23 2016, 05:40 PM)
Mr Accountant,
Required rate of return not usually annualized meh?
30% very high wor...
This is simple/absolute paper gain return required before I consider to exit.
river.sand
post Mar 23 2016, 06:47 PM

3,806 posts

Another view on steel...

It is an extraordinary fact that in just three years, 2011, 2012 and 2013, China used more cement than the United States did in the 20th century, 6.6 billion tonnes compared with 4.4 billion, according to figures from the US Geological Survey.

And a whole lot of iron ore, steel, copper and just about every other industrial commodity you can think of.

Too much property was built too quickly, particularly in smaller, new cities. Too much capacity was built to feed what was an unsustainable rate of construction in industries such as steel. And too much debt, often of dubious quality, was accumulated in the credit binge.

http://www.smh.com.au/business/mining-and-...l#ixzz43iocyYNt

gark
post Mar 23 2016, 06:51 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(river.sand @ Mar 23 2016, 06:47 PM)

Sustainable kah? devil.gif

Further reading..

http://www.scmp.com/business/article/19246...teel-production

This post has been edited by gark: Mar 23 2016, 07:00 PM
river.sand
post Mar 23 2016, 07:08 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Mar 23 2016, 06:51 PM)
Short term trading ok. Medium term investment possibly not.
But... our Mr Accountant has transformed from a dividend investor to a trader tongue.gif

gark
post Mar 23 2016, 07:12 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(river.sand @ Mar 23 2016, 07:08 PM)
But... our Mr Accountant has transformed from a dividend investor to a trader  tongue.gif
Psst.. watch the video series at link below.. Ultra rich girls of China.. brows.gif

That is where all the money their parents made from the 'china miracle' is spent... innocent.gif

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BI56XotU8OQ

Got 8 episode. devil.gif devil.gif devil.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Mar 23 2016, 07:15 PM
SUSPink Spider
post Mar 24 2016, 09:17 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(river.sand @ Mar 23 2016, 07:08 PM)
But... our Mr Accountant has transformed from a dividend investor to a trader  tongue.gif
Opportunity mar tongue.gif
TC-Titan
post Mar 24 2016, 10:42 AM

My Life for Aiur~!
820 posts

Hmmmm...
Carlsberg tukar MD - Angmoh
Bumi Armada tukar CEO - Angmoh

TIME changed their broadband levels to insane levels. First market mover. This makes me think what the others, especially Telekom's Unifi are planning.

1MDB's Arul Kanda going to be interviewed @ BFM89.9 tomorrow morning.

Zeti.... still wants to pursue 1MDB matter. Let's see what magic she can conjure with her remaining final days with BNM.

knight
post Mar 24 2016, 11:35 AM

The Truth is Out There..
1,842 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Mar 23 2016, 03:01 PM)
Get M+ cash upfront account.. brokerage only 0.05%, RM 8 min.  devil.gif

Or. Amivest cash upfront .. 0.035%.. but heard got admin fees.

Newbie better play with cash upfront account, less chance of 'mistake' and kena force sell..  innocent.gif
@gark, Thanks for your reply. May I know what it means for Cash Upfront? U mean I have to put money into the account first only can buy?

0.05 % Any value I pay below RM16k I still have to pay minimum RM8 and plus GST if not mistaken? Am I correct?
gark
post Mar 24 2016, 11:41 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(knight @ Mar 24 2016, 11:35 AM)
@gark, Thanks for your reply. May I know what it means for Cash Upfront? U mean I have to put money into the account first only can buy?

0.05 % Any value I pay below RM16k I still have to pay minimum RM8 and plus GST if not mistaken? Am I correct?
Yes got money only can buy, no remaining money cannot buy. Yup value below 16k you will need to pay RM 8. The 0.05% is only if you trade > 30K, otherwise it is 0.08%, but min 8 stays the same so no difference to you.

This post has been edited by gark: Mar 24 2016, 11:41 AM
felixmask
post Mar 24 2016, 11:49 AM

6,356 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Mar 23 2016, 04:17 PM)
Always need to balance the portfolio mar.. cannot all dump into 1 basket.

OnG about 20% lar..  devil.gif
Still hold BUMI Armada ?

lately saw news cancel contract ...their asset will left idle

This post has been edited by felixmask: Mar 24 2016, 11:50 AM

281 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Top

0.0322sec    0.73    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 09:24 AM