post Dec 4 2015, 07:50 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(eqmal197 @ Dec 4 2015, 04:35 PM)
Yup. Never at all. Thank goodness

Mine is 2012 btw

Im slow driver fella also. Always obey had laju kebangsaan smile.gif
Seriously you are very lucky... blush.gif

QUOTE(carcraze66 @ Dec 4 2015, 04:37 PM)
boss, can you share with us where u service ur gaga? and also what "skills" you have  brows.gif  to manage to claim that much of things lol *or shud i say u are unlucky tho lol*

im servicing my car after 2 yrs at proton SC ive only managed to claim 2 things only if im not mistaken..  doh.gif others all say sudah solve, sudah ok, sudah reset  whistling.gif

- on a side note, im actually thinking whether shud i go back to plotong to service, but what worries me is that mechanic outside doesnt know how to deal with that CVT, ask me to service at those (looks nicer and reputable mechanic with bmw parked there) i rather back protong cause same will kena chopp  laugh.gif
haha, sudah reset, sudah buat clutch adaptation, kita dah test drive dah ok  thumbup.gif *on the way driving home, light comes up again*

anyway same here, i personally do feel 4AT gbox is much much much more nicer to drive on and less noise, even my 22 yrs old wira 3AT gbox feels better wtf
Undeniable. Trust me, I love my Kancil 850 injection with the 3 speed AT damn much. I been driving the car for the past 5 years and it has been excellent. I always redline, i mean very frequently redline, like 1st gear until 6.5k rpm (max can push), second gear same and third gear until 7K rpm (speed is 150km/h) can go faster but already on redline so don't want to push further sebab kesian my baby kancil. Even with so harsh driving, gearbox and engine NEVER had any issues. I change gear oil every 40K KM. Change eng oil every 10K (fully synthetic) and it's still rocking and in fact BETTER than my 5 months old gaga. Duhhhh...

Only if i can convert my kancil to a sedan...

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Dec 4 2015, 04:52 PM)
Kon9lan7fem belt position sensor wonky yawn.gif Now, what left is how you convince SC to open up your gebox and get the sensor replaced liao.

Alternatively, pray harder after oil change the sensor sendiri cure by itself with cleaner oil

OR, the car went totolos before it fully losses its value nod.gif
Mind explaining how do you know and confirm it is the belt position wonky? Any facts to support your claim?

I have an ODBII scanner and Ive been checking each time the CVT light comes up. From the fault codes, it doesn't look like it's the belt position sensor that's wonky.

It will be helpful if you have any facts or maybe your own experience that you can share to support your claim that's it's the belt position sensor that's wonky.

FYI: Ive also emailed Punch regarding this and according to them, from the fault codes that I gave them, they said that it's more to wiring issue that's causing the CVT light to come up. This again directly relates to the SAT button.

icon_rolleyes.gif
davidke20
post Dec 4 2015, 08:35 PM

QUOTE(JamesBotak @ Dec 4 2015, 07:50 PM)
Seriously you are very lucky...  blush.gif
Undeniable. Trust me, I love my Kancil 850 injection with the 3 speed AT damn much. I been driving the car for the past 5 years and it has been excellent. I always redline, i mean very frequently redline, like 1st gear until 6.5k rpm (max can push), second gear same and third gear until 7K rpm (speed is 150km/h) can go faster but already on redline so don't want to push further sebab kesian my baby kancil. Even with so harsh driving, gearbox and engine NEVER had any issues. I change gear oil every 40K KM. Change eng oil every 10K (fully synthetic) and it's still rocking and in fact BETTER than my 5 months old gaga. Duhhhh...

Mind explaining how do you know and confirm it is the belt position wonky? Any facts to support your claim?

I have an ODBII scanner and Ive been checking each time the CVT light comes up. From the fault codes, it doesn't look like it's the belt position sensor that's wonky.

It will be helpful if you have any facts or maybe your own experience that you can share to support your claim that's it's the belt position sensor that's wonky.

FYI: Ive also emailed Punch regarding this and according to them, from the fault codes that I gave them, they said that it's more to wiring issue that's causing the CVT light to come up. This again directly relates to the SAT button.

icon_rolleyes.gif
What does your OBD saids? What sort of OBD reader are you using? The blutut taip or a full scale display scanner?

CVT belt changes it's speed depending very much on the load feedback from the drive shaft. That however, to decide what RATIO be making the ride at optimum, belt position sensor play an important role. Being said the car as a continuous variable transmission, meaning the belt sensor has to work ALL TIME to keep the ratio at optimum. The only time it doesn't require the belt position sensor to decide what ratio to be in, is looking back at the speed and reposition the belt at which particular VIRTUAL SPEED RATIO position, which means when you switch it to SAT it will reset the belt position sensor and shut it down for a while. This is only my side of the theory, I can't prove it. So, it will be better if you can put your car running on SAT for a longer period like a tank or 2 worth of petrol to see whether the CVT check light came up.

The last I own a Wajunk 4AT, it bites. Then, a Wigra 1.6XLi, again it bites. Not to mentioned, I collected a Perdana V6 auto, I had to modify it to manual before I can sell it. An opportunity allows me to buy an ultra cheap Wigra 1.5 3AT, it works pretty fine but the annoying high RPM drove me nuts when travelling long distance. The town driving FC for that piece of iron is astonishingly insane, probably cost more then driving batmobil.

For a short period of time, when my mate went oversea wanted me to take care of his P42 4AT for 2 weeks, since then I fell in lurv with VIOS wub.gif
n3w
post Dec 4 2015, 09:53 PM

350 posts

QUOTE(JamesBotak @ Dec 4 2015, 07:50 PM)
Seriously you are very lucky...  blush.gif

icon_rolleyes.gif
Which email do you refer it to email Punch?

ohcipala
post Dec 5 2015, 12:44 AM

1,338 posts

QUOTE(Aquariusdenz @ Dec 4 2015, 07:30 PM)
No special skills.. I claimed all the items listed at Authorised SC branch except for the fuel pump. Because the car broke down at the place nearest to the HQ SC in Kuching. I got a friend working at the SC as a cashier and the head mechanic is almost my friend due to the fact that i complained too many issues.. hahah..
Your friend is the Malay lady? Few days ago baru service my car and they say they don't have stock for mineral engine oil. Ask me to use semi-synthetic. I was like seriously? no stock? .... yawn.gif
protonstradale
post Dec 5 2015, 07:05 AM

18 posts

Regarding cvt warning lamp, yes my saga also encounter with that when accidentally press sat button . turn off sat n engine. Everything goes fine.
vincent818
post Dec 5 2015, 09:26 AM

Good news !
Just received memo from proton :
THe loyalty program is re-introduced now !

Booking befre 31dec15 and get your car before 15jan16
you will entitle the extra discoun on top of current promo!

What is loyalty program?
To entitle this program , you / parent/spouse/children must have
an old proton car.
Extra rebate will be given based on car age
like : 1985 car will get Rm3000 ( 2015-1985x100 )
2000 car will get Rm1500 (2015-2000x1000 )

welcome to PM me for the promotion of all brand new proton model ~
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
eqmal197
post Dec 5 2015, 10:44 AM

110 posts

Morning smile.gif

Fot your reading pleasure

Should You Buy a Car with a CVT Transmission?

Share(3541)
Tweet
Subscribe
Get AutoGuide.com in your Inbox

Like AutoGuide.com

Looking for a smoother ride and improved fuel economy in your next car? Then you may want to consider a vehicle with a continuously variable transmission (CVT).

Thanks to some crafty engineering, you may never have to experience “Shift Shock” again. Here’s how a CVT delivers that smooth driving experience.

HOW IT WORKS

Imagine the CVT like a bicycle’s gear system. It’s made up of a pulley system, with cones at each pulley, all connected by a chain belt. These cones move closer together or further apart to increase or decrease the diameter at which the belt operates. The ratio here is important, and is selected automatically based on factors like gas pedal position, vehicle speed and engine speed.

What all this means is that a CVT doesn’t shift at all like a traditional gearbox. The ratios are always changing in order to find the perfect combination for speed, fuel efficiency or both. Some CVTs even come with buttons to help shift between pre-set ratios which helps mimic a traditional automatic. 

The first time you drive a car with a CVT, you’ll know.

The feel of a CVT can be odd. The rpm of the engine can fluctuate a lot while driving, especially when accelerating. Or when accelerating hard, they’ll just sit unchanged at a lofty rpm level while the car pulls forward.

Compared to an automatic or manual transmission, a CVT is much smoother. Feeling like one really long gear, in reality its a nearly infinite collection of gears all meshed together.

CLEAR BENEFITS

Many cars nowadays are being sold with CVTs instead of traditional automatics, mainly because of their efficiency. In fact, the new 2013 Nissan Altima (above, read our review here) uses a CVT transmission and is rated as the most fuel efficient mid-size sedan on the market with a 38 mpg highway rating. In addition, almost all hybrids use CVT transmissions, including the Prius, helping maximize fuel economy.

While drawbacks in terms of responsiveness are usually noted by driving “enthusiasts”, Continuously Variable Transmissions have one key advantage over their automatic and manual counterparts. When driving up hills, where traditional automatics can struggle, a CVT can seamlessly provide power without shifting. Even-speed hill driving can prove to be a tough endeavour for novice manual transmission drivers. We actually praised the CVT in the Scion iQ (read our review here) for delivering exactly this sort of responsiveness on the hills in San Francisco, despite a tiny 1.3-liter engine and just 94 hp.

Nissan has been selling cars with CVTs for quite some time now, and has had considerable success introducing the new transmission type into the market.

According to Steve Yaeger, from Nissan North America, “With coming CAFE and CO2 emissions regulations requiring better fuel economy and lower emissions, the CVT gives the Nissan lineup an attractive alternative to conventional automatics that is more efficient on both fronts.”

NOISY, AND WHAT ABOUT RELIABILITY?

Still, CVTs are having a tough time breaking into the market. It turns out that many drivers don’t like the loud and strange noise of their car’s engine revving wildly. Many drivers liken the sound, and the feeling, to that of a slipping clutch. Additionally, CVTs are usually less likely to be paired with higher horsepower, or higher torque engines.

Lastly, not all CVTs are well equipped to deal with towing.

Additionally, the reliability of the modern CVT has yet to be tested. The Nissan Murano (seen above) was the first car Nissan offered with only a CVT, and it had some pretty serious problems. Some were so bad that the whole transmission had to be replaced.

However, since then, Nissan has extended the warranty of the transmission to 10 years/120,000 miles. That should help alleviate any fear buyers may have over the reliability of getting a car with a CVT. 

If you enjoy revving your car to its redline, and feeling the thrust as your car shifts, then maybe a CVT isn’t for you at all. For those types, you may want to try your hand at a Dual Clutch Transmission (DCT) if you want to have a sporty feel and keep an automatic. Otherwise, the CVT is a fine choice in the world of economical cars. Many hybrid vehicles use a form of CVT to get such high mile per gallon numbers. It’s good with fuel, and smooth. Sorry about the noise though, but you might just get used to it.

KNOW WHAT YOU WANT

In summary, there are a few advantages to getting a vehicle with a CVT: It’s good on gas, gives a relatively smooth ride, and is versatile enough for daily driving. It also has a few drawbacks. It’s nowhere near as fun or engaging as a dual clutch automatic or manual transmission. It can also make quite a racket when accelerating hard. Keep these points in mind when looking at your next car. A CVT can help make or break the purchase, so be sure to know what you want, and how the transmission plays a part in it.

Aquariusdenz
post Dec 5 2015, 11:30 AM

1,533 posts

QUOTE(ohcipala @ Dec 5 2015, 12:44 AM)
Your friend is the Malay lady? Few days ago baru service my car and they say they don't have stock for mineral engine oil. Ask me to use semi-synthetic. I was like seriously?  no stock? .... yawn.gif
Ya my friend is a Malay lady at Bintawa branch. blush.gif You can bring your own oil, they will only charge you for labour, oil filter and drain plug. biggrin.gif
davidke20
post Dec 5 2015, 11:54 AM

After our highly respective Ms.Chin visited the TV show, all of a sudden everywhere around the world popped up with hawt female drivers. The irony is, this is a rally car driver, but in a skyline G35 auto tranny yawn.gif wtf max shakehead.gif

Specially dedicated to iskazulka the hamsap gold fish unker
ohcipala
post Dec 5 2015, 12:13 PM

1,338 posts

QUOTE(Aquariusdenz @ Dec 5 2015, 11:30 AM)
Ya my friend is a Malay lady at Bintawa branch.  blush.gif You can bring your own oil, they will only charge you for labour, oil filter and drain plug.  biggrin.gif
I went to Jalan Tun Jugah sc though blush.gif
Aquariusdenz
post Dec 5 2015, 01:07 PM

1,533 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Dec 5 2015, 11:54 AM)

After our highly respective Ms.Chin visited the TV show, all of a sudden everywhere around the world popped up with hawt female drivers. The irony is, this is a rally car driver, but in a skyline G35 auto tranny yawn.gif wtf max shakehead.gif

Specially dedicated to iskazulka the hamsap gold fish unker
Boring.. yawn.gif G35 Skyline with a auto tranny wearing helmet driving on public road. I mean seriously? I think the so called fans like her due to her outlooks only.

This post has been edited by Aquariusdenz: Dec 5 2015, 01:07 PM
hasnulkay
post Dec 5 2015, 01:27 PM

63 posts

hi. got a question. my dad just bought a 1.3 saga plus manual last week. but didnt get the 14 inch sport rim as advertised. i ask they said now only cvt get the sport rim n manual get 13 inch rims. is that true?
Aquariusdenz
post Dec 5 2015, 03:15 PM

1,533 posts

QUOTE(hasnulkay @ Dec 5 2015, 01:27 PM)
hi. got a question. my dad just bought a 1.3 saga plus manual last week. but didnt get the 14 inch sport rim as advertised. i ask they said now only cvt get the sport rim n manual get 13 inch rims. is that true?
I also thought that it was the same? So far all the Saga Plus i saw are with alloy rim.
akmalrosli
post Dec 5 2015, 03:52 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(hasnulkay @ Dec 5 2015, 01:27 PM)
I heard from a facebook group that saga plus manual comes with steel rims. Only cvt comes with alloys
JamesBotak
post Dec 5 2015, 04:04 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Dec 4 2015, 08:35 PM)
What does your OBD saids? What sort of OBD reader are you using? The blutut taip or a full scale display scanner?

CVT belt changes it's speed depending very much on the load feedback from the drive shaft. That however, to decide what RATIO be making the ride at optimum, belt position sensor play an important role. Being said the car as a continuous variable transmission, meaning the belt sensor has to work ALL TIME to keep the ratio at optimum. The only time it doesn't require the belt position sensor to decide what ratio to be in, is looking back at the speed and reposition the belt at which particular VIRTUAL SPEED RATIO position, which means when you switch it to SAT it will reset the belt position sensor and shut it down for a while. This is only my side of the theory, I can't prove it. So, it will be better if you can put your car running on SAT for a longer period like a tank or 2 worth of petrol to see whether the CVT check light came up.

The last I own a Wajunk 4AT, it bites. Then, a Wigra 1.6XLi, again it bites. Not to mentioned, I collected a Perdana V6 auto, I had to modify it to manual before I can sell it. An opportunity allows me to buy an ultra cheap Wigra 1.5 3AT, it works pretty fine but the annoying high RPM drove me nuts when travelling long distance. The town driving FC for that piece of iron is astonishingly insane, probably cost more then driving batmobil.

For a short period of time, when my mate went oversea wanted me to take care of his P42 4AT for 2 weeks, since then I fell in lurv with VIOS wub.gif
I'm using the buntut type. The fault codes are real as it's confirmed by Punch themselves and the fault codes I get using this buntut type is the same as the PADT Proton uses.

Now your point seems valid and logical. If it's true that the CVT belt is wonky, then yeah by pressing SAT button it would reset the belt position sensor and would explain why the CVT light goes off. But over prolonged period of time if this is not repaired, would not this cause a serious problem to the CVT gearbox?

They are quite a no of gaga CVT owner (on FB group which im following) who said they have the same issue and some have been driving for the past 2 - 3 years with the CVT light ON and OFF and still don't have any issues.

QUOTE(n3w @ Dec 4 2015, 09:53 PM)
Which email do you refer it to email Punch?
info@punchpowertrain.com

It went to the Belgium HQ and then they forward the email to our local HQ in Shah Alam. From there they got in touch with me. You can email them if you want to.

QUOTE(protonstradale @ Dec 5 2015, 07:05 AM)
Regarding cvt warning lamp, yes my saga also encounter with that when accidentally press sat button . turn off sat n engine. Everything goes fine.
This increases my doubt on the SAT button. Could it be the culprit to all the CVT issues... hmm.gif
davidke20
post Dec 5 2015, 04:17 PM

QUOTE(JamesBotak @ Dec 5 2015, 04:04 PM)
I'm using the buntut type. The fault codes are real as it's confirmed by Punch themselves and the fault codes I get using this buntut type is the same as the PADT Proton uses.

Now your point seems valid and logical. If it's true that the CVT belt is wonky, then yeah by pressing SAT button it would reset the belt position sensor and would explain why the CVT light goes off. But over prolonged period of time if this is not repaired, would not this cause a serious problem to the CVT gearbox?

They are quite a no of gaga CVT owner (on FB group which im following) who said they have the same issue and some have been driving for the past 2 - 3 years with the CVT light ON and OFF and still don't have any issues.
info@punchpowertrain.com

It went to the Belgium HQ and then they forward the email to our local HQ in Shah Alam. From there they got in touch with me. You can email them if you want to.
This increases my doubt on the SAT button. Could it be the culprit to all the CVT issues...  hmm.gif
Ask your mates with similar CVT check lite issue do the same test, have their SAT kicked in all time for the next 2 weeks and see how often does the check lite came up? If none at all, probably proves the belt position sensor kacau.

Belt position sensor does not really kill your car, but it does jeopardize some performance if not being calibrate carefully. Technically, if Plotong got a built in secondary fail safe routine in the TCU, by right your car can run even without/damaged belt position sensor.
scarlion
post Dec 5 2015, 07:04 PM

102 posts

hi guys want to ask how much does the gasket cost(roughly about)? my blm seems to have some oily surface like leak abit outside the engine(duno how to describe)~ and i heard my fren said could be gasket need to be replaced?
er i check thru google, that thing is called seal cam cover instead of gasket? or they are referring to the same thing? icon_question.gif

tq

This post has been edited by scarlion: Dec 5 2015, 07:15 PM
n3w
post Dec 6 2015, 12:06 PM

350 posts

QUOTE(scarlion @ Dec 5 2015, 07:04 PM)
hi guys want to ask how much does the gasket cost(roughly about)? my blm seems to have some oily surface like leak abit outside the engine(duno how to describe)~ and i heard my fren said could be gasket need to be replaced?
er i check thru google, that thing is called seal cam cover instead of gasket? or they are referring to the same thing? icon_question.gif

tq
Your car makan minyak hitam or not? If tak makan leave it je.
skod
post Dec 6 2015, 07:29 PM

1,038 posts

eh guys, what size you guys using for the wiper?
and what is the standard size? any recommendation? walao now cant really see even during light rain sweat.gif
akmalrosli
post Dec 6 2015, 09:23 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(skod @ Dec 6 2015, 07:29 PM)
eh guys, what size you guys using for the wiper?
and what is the standard size? any recommendation? walao now cant really see even during light rain sweat.gif
22” and 17”

Can also try 22” and 16”

164 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Top

0.0392sec    1.19    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 04:35 PM