140 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Bottom

Credit Cards Maybank Islamic MasterCard Ikhwan Platinum/Gold V2, Another Fantastic 5% Cash Back Card

panda-man
post Nov 26 2015, 09:43 AM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(alexanderclz @ Nov 26 2015, 07:09 AM)
what is blah blah blah?
in my case was to reduce the CL of my cancelled credit card rclxub.gif
silver311
post Nov 26 2015, 01:38 PM

191 posts

Hi guys, I am currently using maybank 2 cards. I've just applied for conversion to Al-ikhwan. Now waiting for approval.

However, I took the balance transfer plan to transfer my outstanding balance. May I know if the balance transfer amount is the amount upon approval of my card? e.g. I have rm1k outstanding upon approval application. 2 days before card was approved, I paid another rm200 making current outstanding rm800. The balance transfer will be the rm800?

Sorry for the long message and thank you
Khoo Chun Shean
post Nov 26 2015, 02:24 PM

85 posts

just obtained my ikhwan master. welcome back my cash rebate card!
HJebat
post Nov 26 2015, 03:34 PM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(panda-man @ Nov 26 2015, 03:06 AM)
good luck. its quite hard to get ikhwan. i had to call the bank actually. and then they said reject. but can approve if i blah blah blah.
Thanks. Hope everything goes smoothly smile.gif

However, I did face a minor mishap when I apply for the card that day. I submitted my latest one month salary slip to the MBB staff based on the PDF form that I've downloaded from MBB website. Despite that, the staff told me that for CC application, MBB needs latest 3 months' salary slip. The staff even showed to me that particular requirement from MBB's website.

I pun rclxub.gif Website stated 3 months' salary slip but PDF form needs only 1 month shakehead.gif I stood firm in my choice & insisted that the staff help to submit my application with one month salary slip. Let's see how it goes smile.gif
panda-man
post Nov 26 2015, 03:50 PM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(HJebat @ Nov 26 2015, 03:34 PM)
Thanks. Hope everything goes smoothly smile.gif

However, I did face a minor mishap when I apply for the card that day. I submitted my latest one month salary slip to the MBB staff based on the PDF form that I've downloaded from MBB website. Despite that, the staff told me that for CC application, MBB needs latest 3 months' salary slip. The staff even showed to me that particular requirement from MBB's website.

I pun rclxub.gif Website stated 3 months' salary slip but PDF form needs only 1 month shakehead.gif I stood firm in my choice & insisted that the staff help to submit my application with one month salary slip. Let's see how it goes smile.gif
i didnt give any salary slip. because started a new job and later sent my offer letter to the agent. haha. anyways they will check your EPF statement. i gave them that and they can see always got money coming in.
chiahau
post Nov 26 2015, 05:10 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(silver311 @ Nov 26 2015, 01:38 PM)
Hi guys, I am currently using maybank 2 cards. I've just applied for conversion  to Al-ikhwan. Now waiting for approval.

However, I took the balance transfer plan to transfer my outstanding balance. May I know if the balance transfer amount is the amount upon approval of my card? e.g. I have rm1k outstanding upon approval application. 2 days before card was approved, I paid another rm200 making current outstanding rm800. The balance transfer will be the rm800?

Sorry for the long message and thank you
It's Ikhwan. laugh.gif

You will transfer the RM 800 to your new card.

You can either

A - Settle it lump sum.

B - Convert to installment under Ikhwan.
bitcomet79
post Nov 27 2015, 03:40 PM

356 posts

Had anyone encounter ths scenario b4:

Swipe card for buying some thing and received sms notification but when received monthly statement, isn't posted in the statement....hmmmm
victorywp
post Nov 27 2015, 03:46 PM

V.I.P
11,741 posts

QUOTE(bitcomet79 @ Nov 27 2015, 03:40 PM)
Had anyone encounter ths scenario b4:

Swipe card for buying some thing and received sms notification but when received monthly statement, isn't posted in the statement....hmmmm
yes, it's due to the merchant late in claiming it. some will claim 1 month later, some few months, some even took 1-2 years later.

This post has been edited by victorywp: Nov 27 2015, 03:48 PM
bitcomet79
post Nov 27 2015, 04:56 PM

356 posts

QUOTE(victorywp @ Nov 27 2015, 03:46 PM)
yes, it's due to the merchant late in claiming it. some will claim 1 month later, some few months, some even took 1-2 years later.
Damn....if 1-2 years later, how to remember!!
Do we need to inform the bank?
eddievh
post Nov 27 2015, 07:04 PM

3,219 posts

QUOTE(bitcomet79 @ Nov 27 2015, 04:56 PM)
No need to inform bank. Just keep that transaction slip and use permanent ball pen and write something like date and amout because thermal paper won't last long the ink. I encounter this before 8 months later only appear on statement.
SUScall me random
post Nov 27 2015, 11:27 PM

300 posts

QUOTE(HJebat @ Nov 26 2015, 02:19 AM)
Decided to apply through Maybank office. The staff told me that I will know the status of my application in a week's time. Totally forgot to ask for free stuff...will request for it the next time I pay that staff a visit biggrin.gif
Thanks for the feedback nod.gif
i also applied tru maybank the bank.. didnt applied for any free gift also sad.gif

can we just pretend apply btw if got promo booth? haha
bitcomet79
post Nov 28 2015, 01:33 AM

356 posts

QUOTE(eddievh @ Nov 27 2015, 07:04 PM)
No need to inform bank. Just keep that transaction slip and use permanent ball pen and write something like date and amout because thermal paper won't last long the ink. I encounter this before 8 months later only appear on statement.
Ok...noted
Thanks for sharing.
kart
post Nov 28 2015, 06:18 AM

1,603 posts

Deleted.

This post has been edited by kart: Nov 28 2015, 06:19 AM
victorywp
post Nov 28 2015, 07:14 AM

V.I.P
11,741 posts

QUOTE(bitcomet79 @ Nov 27 2015, 04:56 PM)
they don't claim is their lost... especially if you already cancelled your card before they claim. biggrin.gif
Mr.Docter
post Nov 28 2015, 08:19 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

Wah, reading through the comments in this thread. Kinda hard to get this card?

How can Maybank is the one whom offering this card to me?

Is it due to my ASB loan?
Mr.Docter
post Nov 28 2015, 08:23 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(wjleong15 @ Nov 24 2015, 08:32 AM)
if you don't settle min payment, you will kene late payment charges + interest

if you settle only min payment and above but not whole payment will kene interest only

How much is the late payment charges?

And how much is the interest only?

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 24 2015, 09:51 AM)
Pay full, you will get money from banks (cash back) and they can't earn a single cent from you.
If you have started to pay minimum or not paying in full, I suggest to suspend the card until you are well disciplined.
Credit cards are for convenience not to add burden to your financial.

Most of us in this section pay in full and maximize our credit cards' benefits.

Anyway, just my friendly advice and humble two cents.
Thanks for the advice!

I don't even have the chance to swipe around this card. Just my wife asking me the question and I don't know the answer lol.

Talking about convenience, practically speaking, what the different I swiping around my debit card compare to my credit card (putting aside credit card's benefits)? Because my debit card always have excess at the end of month.
fruitie
post Nov 28 2015, 09:53 PM

Rise and Shine
72,846 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Nov 28 2015, 08:23 PM)
Talking about convenience, practically speaking, what the different I swiping around my debit card compare to my credit card (putting aside credit card's benefits)? Because my debit card always have excess at the end of month.
You swipe now and you don't need to pay immediately. Can save the money elsewhere.
I don't use debit card unless in China using my Union Pay debit card, so I don't need to bring so much of cash as everywhere accepts debit cards unlike Malaysia.
LostAndFound
post Nov 29 2015, 04:12 AM

6,266 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Nov 28 2015, 08:19 PM)
Wah, reading through the comments in this thread. Kinda hard to get this card?

How can Maybank is the one whom offering this card to me?

Is it due to my ASB loan?
Actually only from LYN I hear this card is hard to apply, and for me it was very easy (also for my family member).

Unfortunately bank's approval processes are opaque so hard to say. Just apply is the easiest way. If they offer then even better, this is a good card for petrol/groceries.

How much is the late payment charges?

And how much is the interest only?
Thanks for the advice!
Never ever take the late payment charges. Banks are legalized loan sharks. The rates are never worth it.

General case for Malaysian credit cards - AT LEAST 18% interest rate. On total amount outstanding, and applied daily (that means if you swipe after you're already late, they charge for that amount each day too). And backdated to your statement date if you've passed to 20 day period (meaning after 1 month, instead of paying for 10 days interest you're paying 30 days).

I don't even have the chance to swipe around this card. Just my wife asking me the question and I don't know the answer lol.

Credit cards give better benefits. No debit card gives 5% cash back for petrol/groceries, for example. Here in these topics (this sub-forum) always got people discussing how to maximize that.

But those benefits are no use if you fork out the late payment charges. Bank sure untung then.

Also, time value of money. If I swipe debit card RM1000, I 'lose' the money instantly. But with credit card I get an average of 15+20 days (more than a month) of interest free period to pay it back. Earning interest on the money too.

So in the case of RM1k monthly spending, you 'push back' your payment by about a month every month, after a year you could have accumulated RM30-RM40 (FD interest rate) in interest compared to using debit card.
solsekuin44
post Nov 29 2015, 07:14 AM

❤ Going Mirrorless ❤
4,228 posts

QUOTE(wjleong15 @ Oct 20 2015, 08:50 AM)
auto or you requested?
I requested for the increment wink.gif

QUOTE(panda-man @ Oct 20 2015, 09:22 AM)
if you really wanna credit increase, just keep calling and ask for temporary credit increase, say you are going on business trip, might need the extra money. and they will up the credit for a week or month, i forgot. then reduce balik. after a while, just write in and say, 'i dont like to keep calling to increase credit, can just permanently increase?' and hopefully they will just up the CL. last time i had salary of 2k, got CL of 12K. hahaha.
Thanks, will keep this in mind and share with others. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 20 2015, 03:36 PM)
Received an update from Maybank, my CL is reduced to 2k already but still pulled out from my existing limit. sleep.gif Checked in M2U already reflected today. biggrin.gif My M2Cards Plat's limit has increased by RM 1k.

They even sent me the Poslaju consignment no. and already reached KL Sentral today, looks like I will get a call from them to pick it up. biggrin.gif

Edit: Just checked my Ikhwan limit is RM12,000.00. laugh.gif laugh.gif I'll keep quiet. laugh.gif

Same CL la sis..
Wow, you even got 16k for the other card? Kaya.. kaya..
Mr.Docter
post Nov 29 2015, 07:24 AM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Nov 29 2015, 04:12 AM)
Actually only from LYN I hear this card is hard to apply, and for me it was very easy (also for my family member).

Unfortunately bank's approval processes are opaque so hard to say. Just apply is the easiest way. If they offer then even better, this is a good card for petrol/groceries.
Never ever take the late payment charges. Banks are legalized loan sharks. The rates are never worth it.

General case for Malaysian credit cards - AT LEAST 18% interest rate. On total amount outstanding, and applied daily (that means if you swipe after you're already late, they charge for that amount each day too). And backdated to your statement date if you've passed to 20 day period (meaning after 1 month, instead of paying for 10 days interest you're paying 30 days).
Credit cards give better benefits. No debit card gives 5% cash back for petrol/groceries, for example. Here in these topics (this sub-forum) always got people discussing how to maximize that.

But those benefits are no use if you fork out the late payment charges. Bank sure untung then.

Also, time value of money. If I swipe debit card RM1000, I 'lose' the money instantly. But with credit card I get an average of 15+20 days (more than a month) of interest free period to pay it back. Earning interest on the money too.

So in the case of RM1k monthly spending, you 'push back' your payment by about a month every month, after a year you could have accumulated RM30-RM40 (FD interest rate) in interest compared to using debit card.
Great info bro, thanks!

140 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0306sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 05:01 AM