132 Pages « < 123 124 125 126 127 > » Bottom

INSURANCE TALK, ok let start

azam_halim
post Sep 26 2013, 05:38 PM

451 posts

is there any family takaful plan? last time i've been receiving this kind of offer from maybank for as low as 100+, which i ignored...now start thinking about the need of it, but due to budget constrain, looking for cheap group plan first..
roystevenung
post Sep 26 2013, 05:44 PM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(azam_halim @ Sep 26 2013, 05:38 PM)
is there any family takaful plan? last time i've been receiving this kind of offer from maybank for as low as 100+, which i ignored...now start thinking about the need of it, but due to budget constrain, looking for cheap group plan first..
PM me yr family details. Recently PruBSN had launched HealthEnrich.

Need details of date of birth, gender, smoking status, occupation, estimated budget and email address. Thanks
oohay1984
post Sep 27 2013, 12:42 AM

34 posts

Does all insurance need GL before admitted?? any1?
roystevenung
post Sep 27 2013, 07:14 AM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(oohay1984 @ Sep 27 2013, 12:42 AM)
Does all insurance need GL before admitted?? any1?
Yes, do note that if its a pre-planned operation, you may also get the agent help to inform the insurance company to issue the GL in advance.

This is particularly useful if the admission was during the holidays.

Also, do note that GL issued can be cancelled at your request. GL issued by the insurer may also be cancelled by the insurer if there is an evidence of miss declaration of the medical condition.

For example, during policy inception, the medical condition was not declared OR the medical condition is found to be of congenital issue, eg sinusitis due to narrow nasal passage.
oohay1984
post Sep 27 2013, 10:01 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(roystevenung @ Sep 27 2013, 07:14 AM)
Yes, do note that if its a pre-planned operation, you may also get the agent help to inform the insurance company to issue the GL in advance.

This is particularly useful if the admission was during the holidays.

Also, do note that GL issued can be cancelled at your request. GL issued by the insurer may also be cancelled by the insurer if there is an evidence of miss declaration of the medical condition.

For example, during policy inception, the medical condition was not declared OR the medical condition is found to be of congenital issue, eg sinusitis due to narrow nasal passage.
i heard now eventho u got medical card u still need to pay admission fees range RM300 to rm1000?
how about if GL is issued still need to pay or no need?
need to clarfiy on this matter

tq
conqu3ror
post Sep 27 2013, 10:23 AM

636 posts

QUOTE(oohay1984 @ Sep 27 2013, 10:01 AM)
i heard now eventho u got medical card u still need to pay admission fees range RM300 to rm1000?

tq
I believe the admission fees are depends on Insurance company & policy. Some insurance company will no need admission fees/co-insurance.

With GL letter, hospital will directly bill to the insurance company. Any exclusion or clause will state in the GL letter.
Of cause GL letter only issued when the hospital is their panel. Else the person will need to pay & claim which are quite troublesome.
roystevenung
post Sep 27 2013, 10:44 AM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(oohay1984 @ Sep 27 2013, 10:01 AM)

tq
Hospital will collect a small deposit (ranging from Rm300-Rm500) depending on the type of insurance plan that you get. Plans that comes with co-insurance or deductibke means the client agrees to share the bill 10% or a min Rm300, maximum Rm1k.

If you dont have a valid medical card, the deposits could be as high as Rm5k for a more serious surgery.

The deposits will be used to offset from the bill upon discharge from the hospital. Plans that comes with co insurance however is EASIER to be maintained especially at older age > 60 because of the LOWER insurance charges.

Unless you go to the hospital for a major operation every year, the co insurance actually saves you the premium. In short plans that is full claim means that you are already paying the co insurance up front with the higher insurance charge.

When it comes to insurance, there is no free lunch, anything that sounds good there will be a catch somewhere. notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by roystevenung: Sep 27 2013, 10:46 AM
oohay1984
post Sep 27 2013, 11:00 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(conqu3ror @ Sep 27 2013, 10:23 AM)
I believe the admission fees are depends on Insurance company & policy. Some insurance company will no need admission fees/co-insurance.

With GL letter, hospital will directly bill to the insurance company. Any exclusion or clause will state in the GL letter.
Of cause GL letter only issued when the hospital is their panel. Else the person will need to pay & claim which are quite troublesome.
i was wondering what's the point taking up the insurance/medical card if u still need to pay admission fee and if you in critical condition have to wait for agent to issued GL?? this is not right

unless im a rich ppl i dont mind spend it...somemore when come to claim part very slow service (need doc this n that and if doc not complete u cant claim)

erm.. sad.gif
roystevenung
post Sep 27 2013, 11:04 AM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(oohay1984 @ Sep 27 2013, 11:00 AM)
i was wondering what's the point taking up the insurance/medical card if u still need to pay admission fee and if you in critical condition have to wait for agent to issued GL?? this is not right

unless im a rich ppl i dont mind spend it...somemore when come to claim part very slow service (need doc this n that and if doc not complete u cant claim)

erm.. sad.gif
Agent does not issue GL but the insurance company. The deposit can also be paid within 24 hours of admission.

Once GL is issued, for example if the hospital bill costs Rm20k, it will be paid from the medical card, the insurance company directly to the hospital. You dont have to standby Rm20k to get admission.
ExpZero
post Sep 27 2013, 02:41 PM

1,522 posts

erm.. sad.gif
The RM300-RM500 is not "admission fees". Most of the hospital require patient to set aside a deposit, it works the same like when we check in into certain hotel where they require us to set aside a few hundred as deposit to be deducted(if any).

The RM300-RM500 is refundable upon discharge after deducted all the necessary charges(if any).

Usually in Great Eastern, a medical card that inforce 2 years and above will be able to get GL almost immediately. Well, at least it never happen to my client who have bought over 2 years and still required investigation.
freewisefly
post Sep 28 2013, 12:53 AM

210 posts

erm.. sad.gif
GL will be issues immediately through any insurance company which had a 24 hours online service regardless weekends or public holiday. You don't have to call agent for this, but some insurance company need to. Medical card shall be same function as your credit card but only use it in hospital.

Any of your medical card insured from insurance company which hire AA and SOS service, do not hassle to go through the claim as they will do it for you. Admission fees need to deposit before admission. one of the reason is to cover those bills which not covered by your medical protection.

Eg. Doctor only allow to visit patient 1 time per day, some 2 times some 3 times depends which medical card you holding.
Lets say yours only allow for 1 time per day, but you keep calling the doctor to visit you let say 4 times per day. Then the extra 3 times will be at your cost.

Eg2. Let say you are staying in a 3 stars private hospital in a single room, and there provided drinks and tit bits in the fridge and you took and have a great meal with it.
Yes, your admission fees you paid will be used to deduct such expenses as medical protection not provide for pleasure and refreshment in hospital.

Note: Do get a medical card to pay for doctor report = rm 100, and also include 6% of government tax as some insurance company wont bear that 6% (mostly happened to those co-insurance )
CyberKewl
post Sep 28 2013, 11:26 PM

2,897 posts

hi roy/sifus,

i've been with my prudential agent (who is an old college mate) since 2005.

I'm on:

Death/TPD: 100K
36 Illnesses: 150K
Major Accident: 50K
MC: 62500/187500

Premium is about 352

On top of the above, I have MLTA:

Death/TPD: 185K
36 Illnesses: 185K
Major Accident: 185K

Premium is about 168

With the above info, I'm wondering if i'm overpaying/overcovering for insurance...

He is now offering me to upgrade/switch my existing PRUAssist card to PRUHealth which has a minimum of 50K annual, max 1M lifetime. I think this is something good and I'm considering to take this.

Another offer he is making is to topup an additional ~ 150 for 100K coverage of ECP for 45 illnesses.

Now. From what I understand my agent / friend is saying, my previous 36 Illnesses coverage is called Crisis Defender / CD for short. The additional 45 is called ECP.

I noticed if you make a claim under ECP (according to the brochure), your CD (meaning your main 36 critical illnesses "account") will also be deducted the same amount - is this true?

if this is the case, that would mean if you didn't get to cure your early stage detection illness, you would then have less amount for the 36 critical ones at a later stage..and that doesn't look good. Do correct me if my understand is wrong here.

This post has been edited by CyberKewl: Sep 28 2013, 11:27 PM
SUSMNet
post Sep 29 2013, 11:07 AM

11,954 posts

Premium is about 168

168 per month?
almeizer
post Sep 29 2013, 12:58 PM

941 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Sep 29 2013, 11:07 AM)
168 per month?
Of course per month. Even MRTA (lower premium than MLTA) won't be 168 per year for 185k coverage.
stephvin
post Sep 29 2013, 05:33 PM

73 posts

<deleted>

This post has been edited by stephvin: Oct 21 2013, 09:50 AM
Bonescythe
post Sep 29 2013, 06:10 PM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Sep 29 2013, 11:07 AM)
168 per month?
Just wondering.. Since you put 168 per month?
Is there any possibilities, there is any kind of insurance for RM 168 per year? Really want to know what is the real minimum that one can be insured for.
CyberKewl
post Sep 29 2013, 08:39 PM

2,897 posts

i noticed something from this brochure (and every other brochure for that matter):

http://www2.prudential.com.my/export/sites...xi_med__ENG.pdf

The expiry age 70 and 80, if u noticed the same entry age for both - the premium / insurance charges are different. take expiry age 70 with entry age 21-25 - it is 677 for annual limit of 100k, deductible 300. For the same entry age of 21-25 for expiry age 80, the premium is 913 ! I'm wondering, why is that? Shouldn't it be the same?
ExpZero
post Sep 29 2013, 11:32 PM

1,522 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Sep 29 2013, 06:10 PM)
Just wondering.. Since you put 168 per month?
Is there any possibilities, there is any kind of insurance for RM 168 per year? Really want to know what is the real minimum that one can be insured for.
Personal Accident, 1 million coverage RM700++/year, 100k about RM100.

QUOTE(CyberKewl @ Sep 29 2013, 08:39 PM)
i noticed something from this brochure (and every other brochure for that matter):

http://www2.prudential.com.my/export/sites...xi_med__ENG.pdf

The expiry age 70 and 80, if u noticed the same entry age for both - the premium / insurance charges are different. take expiry age 70 with entry age 21-25 - it is 677 for annual limit of 100k, deductible 300. For the same entry age of 21-25 for expiry age 80, the premium is 913 ! I'm wondering, why is that? Shouldn't it be the same?
This theory works the same like term insurance.

For example age 20 buy term 30 years, premium RM1000/year, but age 20 buy term 10 years, premium RM500/year.

Mortality risk is different, you are buying the right on 70-80 years old.

This post has been edited by ExpZero: Sep 29 2013, 11:33 PM
financialfreedom
post Sep 30 2013, 12:06 AM

QUOTE(CyberKewl @ Sep 28 2013, 11:26 PM)
hi roy/sifus,

i've been with my prudential agent (who is an old college mate) since 2005.

I'm on:

Death/TPD: 100K
36 Illnesses: 150K
Major Accident: 50K
MC: 62500/187500

Premium is about 352

On top of the above, I have MLTA:

Premium is about 168

First of all, what is your age? Cant really comment without knowing your age.

With the above info, I'm wondering if i'm overpaying/overcovering for insurance...

He is now offering me to upgrade/switch my existing PRUAssist card to PRUHealth which has a minimum of 50K annual, max 1M lifetime. I think this is something good and I'm considering to take this.

It is good to consider upgrading you existing medical card, as the lifetime limit is only 187k. However, 50k annually might not be sufficient as well. However, try not to replace it with a new policy, as the existing illness that you have currently might not be covered and the waiting period will start all over again.

Another offer he is making is to topup an additional ~ 150 for 100K coverage of ECP for 45 illnesses.

Now. From what I understand my agent / friend is saying, my previous 36 Illnesses coverage is called Crisis Defender / CD for short. The additional 45 is called ECP.

I noticed if you make a claim under ECP (according to the brochure), your CD (meaning your main 36 critical illnesses "account") will also be deducted the same amount - is this true?

if this is the case, that would mean if you didn't get to cure your early stage detection illness, you would then have less amount for the 36 critical ones at a later stage..and that doesn't look good. Do correct me if my understand is wrong here.

ECP, Early Crisis Protector is an complementary rider for CD.
It pays out 30% when one is diagnosed with early stage critical illness, on the other hand, if you have only CD, you cant make claim when you diagnosed with early stage
And yes, claiming from ECP will reduce your sum insured for CD as well, it is not really a bad thing, since you getting the $ earlier instead of during the critical stage.

Generally Prudential is more costly than others, so normally I'll recommend client products from other insurer.

This post has been edited by financialfreedom: Sep 30 2013, 12:07 AM
CyberKewl
post Sep 30 2013, 07:52 AM

2,897 posts

QUOTE(ExpZero @ Sep 29 2013, 11:32 PM)
Personal Accident, 1 million coverage RM700++/year, 100k about RM100.
This theory works the same like term insurance.

For example age 20 buy term 30 years, premium RM1000/year, but age 20 buy term 10 years, premium RM500/year.

Mortality risk is different, you are buying the right on 70-80 years old.
Ok that makes sense. Thanks for the explanation smile.gif

132 Pages « < 123 124 125 126 127 > » Top

0.0353sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 01:52 AM