INSURANCE TALK, ok let start

ExpZero
post Aug 31 2012, 11:45 PM

1,522 posts

QUOTE(december88 @ Aug 31 2012, 01:35 PM)
Can anyone help me out here, I am currently reviewing insurance especially life and accident insurance because I am sure I will need one.

Just a few questions to help me do my research:

1. If my employer have life and accident insurance on my name, will I be able to undertake my own personal life and accident insurance ? Reason I am asking because I will be working offshore at the rig site. I heard if you have 2 policies of the same kind under your name with different insurance companies you can only claim one? It means if my employer claim my life insurance from company A if I am dead or injured does it mean my family will not be able to claim for my life insurance from company B?

2. Any life and accident insurance with overseas coverage? Is it better to go with a global insurance institution due to this overseas coverage?

How much does the typical life insurance cost per-month? I am male, 24 y.o, no prior existing disease and non-smoker, for policy payout value ranging from rm500k to rm1 million.

I am receptive if you could point out to me insurance products online that best meet my needs for my consideration.

Thanks for the help, I really appreciate it.
QUOTE(december88 @ Aug 31 2012, 03:25 PM)
Hey I will be working initially as a field engineer trainee, the company is a reputable MNC and overall OHS is top notch. First 5 years will be intensive because I will be offshore often but as time goes by responsibility will be more towards supervising and managing at each job, then eventually moving towards office based. I give myself 7 -10 years offshore which is more than enough and based on my segment, 4 weeks offshore is the norm although extreme could be 6 months depending on the workload.

Thanks for price quote, if in the future I will be office based will the "risk premium loading" be gone and so how much typically % risk premium loading on the standard premium based on my brief jobscope? Because I am planning to to take the life insurance long term and due to the nature of the industry that I am in, overseas coverage is a must.

Thanks again for the help, I appreciate it heaps.
1. There is no limitation of claim for for all the Life/TPD/36Critical Illness, you are free to claim for all the companies you bought once the event as mentioned above happen.
However, the only limitation is medical card coverage. For some of the medical cards that do have with co-insurance or the bill is over the limit of your medical card, the co-insurance/over limit price could be bear by another medical card(in Great Eastern, I'm not sure do other company allow this).

Example:If you have "Y medical card R&B100, annual limit 50k, co-insurance 20%(no max)", "X medical card R&B200, annual limit 80k, co-insurance 10%(max RM500)"
If the total bill is RM50k and you used room&board RM300 for 3 days, you need to pay RM50,000 x 20% = RM10k(co-insurance), and the room&board of RM300-RM100 x 3 days = RM600. Total RM10,600. However, you may bring this RM10,600 to your "X Medical card", the RM600 extra room&board will be bear by the "X medical card" and the rest RM10,000, you only have to pay RM10,000 x 10%(max RM500), that is only RM500.

2.As Steven mentioned, Life/TPD/36 CI works globally, but you are advise to have your own medical coverage because *touchwood* if major illness happens, your medical card with your company will be terminated, if your service with your company is ended by your company.

For term assurance coverage up to age 60, Death and TPD, quotation from Great Eastern is.
1)RM500k, Life/TPD = RM220.10/month, Life/TPD/36 CI = RM325.10/month
2)RM1m, Life/TPD = RM440.15/month, Life/TPD/36 CI = RM545.15/month

For Whole life assurance coverage up to age 99.
1)RM500k, Life/TPD/36CI = RM1211.90/monthly or RM13,850/yearly
After 10 years, Total Premium paid = RM138,500, Surrender value = RM117,955, Coverage = RM677,470.
After 20 years, Total Premium paid = RM277,000, Surrender value = RM396,783, Coverage = RM1,063,263(double).
After 30 years, Total Premium paid = RM415,500, Surrender value = RM832,146, Coverage = RM1,425,746(almost triple).
After 40 years, Total Premium paid = RM554,000, Surrender value = RM1,536,198, Coverage = RM1,997,198(almost quadruple).
After 50 years, Total Premium paid = RM692,000, Surrender value = RM2,682,588, Coverage = RM3,006,588(almost 6 times).
After 60 years, Total Premium paid = RM831,000, Surrender value = RM4,679,073, Coverage = RM4,840,073(almost 10 times).

What is Surrender value?
It means that when you surrender your policy(terminate your policy), this is the money you will retrieve. For example above, after 20 years, the total premium you paid is RM277,000, but when you terminate your policy, you could take back more than you have paid, ie: RM396,783.

Investment linked.
RM500k coverage, Life/TPD/36CI, medical card R&B200, annual limit RM120,000, lifetime limit RM1,200,000, Waiver of premium. RM400/monthly
RM1million coverage, Life/TPD/36CI, medical card R&B200, annual limit RM120,000, lifetime limit RM1,200,000, Waiver of premium. RM700/monthly

If you need the explaination between term vs Whole life vs investment link, do let me know.

Job changing, smoking status, high risk activity changing and non-disclosure is important to report to the company, especially unintention non-disclosure as this may greatly affect the possibility of claim.
ExpZero
post Sep 11 2012, 08:02 PM

1,522 posts

QUOTE(bereev @ Sep 11 2012, 07:27 PM)
hi, wanna ask about medical card claim, if injured during leisure sport like gym, badminton, basket ball fusal/football, jogging, marathon competition can it consider a accident claim.
Any hospitalization for illness or accident can be claimed under medical card. To make it simple to remember, if the hispitalization happen is not of your wish, it is claimable. Eg:pregnancy, dental etc is not claimable.

To answer your question, yes, it is claimable.
ExpZero
post Sep 11 2012, 09:53 PM

1,522 posts

QUOTE(cwsimonho @ Sep 11 2012, 08:12 PM)
I believe your question is on accidental.
It is claimable as long not those like scuba diving, caving or dangerous sports.
Yes, high risk sport like diving and parachuting is required to declare, a minimal loading is expected to impose. You are required to inform the company if in the future you are no longer involve in those activities to remove the loading.
ExpZero
post Sep 12 2012, 08:01 PM

1,522 posts

QUOTE(darthbaboon @ Sep 12 2012, 01:14 PM)
Hey all, I am currently reviewing my years-old hospitalization plan and pondering upgrade (to the "latest" plan offered by the same company or switching to another.

I came across several items of concern and have several questions with regards to "Co-Insurance" and claims :

1) There is a "Co-Insurance Free" amount per policy year. I understand that if my claim exceeds that amount, the balance will be settled on a 90% Company, 10% Me basis. It is mentioned that I only have to pay up to a maximum of RM3000 per policy year. Is this per claim or total in a year?

2) Assuming my annual Co-Insurance Free amount has been exceeded by the first claim. What would happen during the second claim? Still a 90%-10% basis or do I have to pay the full amount on my own?

3) Related to #2, is there a "Co-Insurance Cap" - meaning a claim amount exceeding the co-insurance annual (but still below the annual limit) that will cause us to pay the full amount without intervention from the insurance company?

Thanks for the advice!
May I know the plan name before I start commenting?
ExpZero
post Sep 13 2012, 07:04 PM

1,522 posts

I believe this question is best answer by AIA agent or your own agent, however, my view is in blue colour font.
QUOTE(darthbaboon @ Sep 12 2012, 01:14 PM)
Hey all, I am currently reviewing my years-old hospitalization plan and pondering upgrade (to the "latest" plan offered by the same company or switching to another.

I came across several items of concern and have several questions with regards to "Co-Insurance" and claims :

1) There is a "Co-Insurance Free" amount per policy year. I understand that if my claim exceeds that amount, the balance will be settled on a 90% Company, 10% Me basis. It is mentioned that I only have to pay up to a maximum of RM3000 per policy year. Is this per claim or total in a year?
As my understanding, yes, if your claim exceeded your co insurance free amount, the bill will be split into 90:10 between you and AIA per YEAR. As stated below "Balance exceeding the co-insurance Free amount up to annual limit is subject to a 90:10 annual limit. The 10% coinsurance borne by policyholder is subjec to a rm3000 per policy year"

2) Assuming my annual Co-Insurance Free amount has been exceeded by the first claim. What would happen during the second claim? Still a 90%-10% basis or do I have to pay the full amount on my own?
As per above comment, if you finished your coinsurance free, you have to pay 10% coinsurance until your annual limit finish.

3) Related to #2, is there a "Co-Insurance Cap" - meaning a claim amount exceeding the co-insurance annual (but still below the annual limit) that will cause us to pay the full amount without intervention from the insurance company?
If there is one, that would be your outpatient cancer treatment and Kidney dialysis, which is quite low IMO.

Thanks for the advice!
QUOTE(darthbaboon @ Sep 12 2012, 09:16 PM)
AAA Care + Major Care vs Excel Care Plus + MediCover Plus

Prior to conversion they'd make you sign a document that shows the differences between conversion and I am not pleased with the amounts payable once the Co-insurance limits are breached.

While I understand that there's no perfect plan in the world, I'd like to understand exactly what my money is buying me before I make a commitment... cause if and when I do need to use the plan, I know I won't be in a condition to argue with anyone.
medical cars is different in every company, do your research is very important, do look at the price, annual, lifetime and inner limit. Especially the outpatient cancer and kidney dialysis.
ExpZero
post Sep 15 2012, 12:39 PM

1,522 posts

QUOTE(NNathan @ Sep 15 2012, 12:16 PM)
Hi all insurance agents,

Can anyone help out this guy with his/her question? The question is about how much annual premium to estimate for 40-something year old lady if she buy insurance and some other insurance stuff.

Thanks!
1) MRTA RM900k 15 years, how much is the premium?
2) If MRTA above rejected, shd we approach another insurance co & imformed the outcome of earlier rejection or silent?
2) 42 female non smoker & want to get insurance coverage RM900k, what is the estimated annual premium for term & whole life?

1) assuming 42 female for question 1, rm25,970
2)yes, it is your obligation to declare as iris one of the question in proposal form.
3)term with CI or without? Whole life with CI or without? Par or non par plan?
ExpZero
post Sep 15 2012, 07:26 PM

1,522 posts

QUOTE(wokmanaf @ Sep 15 2012, 03:22 PM)
hello guys Prudential come out Plan..i think is benefit a lot of people out there...The Plan is Pruclinic care that just bring along your pruclinoc card...Pru have 1900 panel clinic in malaysia...Annually Limit RM 1500...The card as low as Rm 19 based on aged...
Every plan is good if that is suitable for you. nod.gif
ExpZero
post Oct 3 2012, 09:20 PM

1,522 posts

QUOTE(azzudagreat @ Oct 3 2012, 10:29 AM)
hello all

i just bought an GE insurance 3 months ago. overall i satisfy with the coverage. i get R&B RM150 and just realize that co-insurance is no limit if upgrade the room.

check with my agent and he said if i upgrade to R&B RM200 (topup about RM20) there is a capping of RM3000 which i find still a lot of money to pay say need to undergo major surgery.
If you are not over the room&board by more than rm50, that is only 10%(max rm500).

but he mentioned if there is no available room based on my limit and no choice to upgrade can ask the hosp to write in to GE to appeal. is it true?
Yes, I have help my client to do it once and appeal is success.

also there is discount given by hosp for the room rate if use personal medical card. true?
Personal medical card? Mean pay by yourself?

also if the difference of room rate RM30 can ask GE to waive the 20% co-insurance. true?
yes, it is up to rm50.
QUOTE(azzudagreat @ Oct 3 2012, 02:01 PM)
thanks all for the xplaination.
i can upgrade the r&b limit but need to pay more which might exceed my original budget. that is why i also considering to cancel this policy and take new one. but my current one is the insurance+saving thing la.

u know what i mean. with the same amount monthly need to pay and coverage from other company almost the same, why not to change if less hassle on the co-insurance.
QUOTE(azzudagreat @ Oct 3 2012, 05:36 PM)
is there any forum in LYN give testimonial for insurance agent so i can approach them?
I would suggest you to look for third party comment like
http://senseofmoney.blogspot.com/2011/04/c...cards-from.html
In his blog, he do compare all the medical cards in Malaysia and it is very clear that if you want no co-insurance medical card, you are paying at a premium price, means you are already paying your "co-insurance" before you are admitted.

Since great eastern's medical card is comparably cheap to others, I assume that you could upgrade your card to room&board 400 and then you can forget about the 20% co-insurance.

Well, in the end, I dont get any commission, do your own choice nod.gif

ExpZero
post Nov 15 2012, 01:50 PM

1,522 posts

QUOTE(HughieRmX @ Nov 14 2012, 12:06 PM)
Thanks for the prompt respond. I suppose its a good product to go for if one is looking for simple start up insurance coverage right ?
A comprehensive coverage including critical illness is vital if you have the budget. if you are tight in budget, try to get investment link plan. nod.gif
ExpZero
post Mar 31 2013, 03:49 PM

1,522 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Mar 30 2013, 11:07 AM)
Calling Great Eastern agents...

29 yrs old male, non-smoker
RM150K assured for life and TPD
Great Income Rider (RM500 per month)
SmartMedic 150
Premium waiver on TPD/CI
No need for CI cover cos I got another CI policy already

What is the optimal monthly premium I need to pay (minimum required to keep policy from out of cash to pay insurance charges)?

Reply here, don't PM me, thanks.
QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Mar 30 2013, 11:57 AM)
No, because I already got an ILP with GE, a few years already. I wanted to add on a medikad, but my agent keep persuading me to top up my premium. So, I just wanted to check with other agents whether I can maintain my premium. smile.gif
Ask your agent to provide you the illustration from ILP calculator. I'm unable to provide you a good projection because I can't factorize the cash value in your policy.

however, 2000/year is a suitable premium for the above plan.
ExpZero
post Mar 31 2013, 05:58 PM

1,522 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Mar 31 2013, 05:04 PM)
Eat nvm, its expected since i buy for protection. Janji jangan lapse sweat.gif
Projection is still projection since the performance of fund is still unknown. However, your agent is ok la, since he is so prudent.
ExpZero
post Apr 1 2013, 11:05 PM

1,522 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Apr 1 2013, 08:37 PM)
I think something not right with ur GINCR...RM15K a month??? If i tak silap, GINCR pays 10% p.a., so to get RM500 a month, need sum assured of RM60K. I just checked my policy, my GINCR SA=RM120K. I'll keep it untouched.

And I got Waivrr of Premium "Plus", I understand that it also waives on CI/DD, no?

Thanks~
You are right, GINCR pays 10% p.a.
Yes, it waives on CI/DD

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Apr 1 2013, 10:10 PM)
RM15K for GINCR, means Sum Assured RM150K, correct?

My premium waiver plan code is U63 - IL Waiver of Premium Plus.
U sure no waiver on CI/DD? Contrary to my understanding la... hmm.gif

Anyway I don't think got CI/DD waiver or not won't be much impact, I guess I can safely reach a conclusion that RM200+ a month should be fairly comfortable for my coverage.

Thanks ya...for helping even though u know for sure I ain't gonna be a prospect (at least for now) notworthy.gif
nod.gif
ExpZero
post Apr 2 2013, 03:51 PM

1,522 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Apr 1 2013, 11:20 PM)
My policy GINCR's SA = RM120K
Means if I kena TPD, I will get RM120K x 10% = RM12K every year, right? I have the plan document with me icon_rolleyes.gif

Mine is AddVantage Plus, GE now no longer offers it. This plan will increase the Sum Assured on Life/TPD by 5% every year for 20 years, so that on policy year 20 the SA will be at 200% of the initial SA. Probably my agent is worried about my cash value not enough to cover for the insurance charges at later years when the SA is high. I guess I have these 2 options:
(1) manually reducing the SA to override the 5% a year auto increase of SA
(2) if I need the increase of SA, pump in Premium Top Up

Thanks all~ notworthy.gif

I know what to do now smile.gif
Ya you are right, the insurance charges applies in the 5% increase every year. However, for the new product, Smart Protect Essential 2, the increment of 1% yearly in basic sum assured doesn't apply insurance charges. nod.gif
ExpZero
post May 2 2013, 03:26 PM

1,522 posts

QUOTE(HJebat @ May 2 2013, 02:53 PM)
Guys, here's my details:

Type of plan: saving plan
Annual payment: $2017.00
Payment period: 20 years
Cash value at 20th year: $55298

I tried to calculate the rate of return of the cash value at 20th year using free online tools and it turned out to be 2.92%. I'm poor with numbers. So, I would like to check with those regulars here, is my calculation correct?
You are right, 2.92% of the Internal Rate of Return. Is the 55298 is the cash value/surrender value or the maturity benefit?
ExpZero
post May 3 2013, 12:56 PM

1,522 posts

QUOTE(HJebat @ May 3 2013, 08:21 AM)
Oops, missed out on your post!  blush.gif Yea, it's cash value.
Try to compare maturity benefit, usually it yield 3-4% IRR.
ExpZero
post May 17 2013, 12:42 PM

1,522 posts

QUOTE(itsybitsy @ May 17 2013, 12:30 PM)
I'm interested to buy a term-life policy for 1 year, renewable. Is there such a product in the market?
You are advisable to get Investment link with life protection only as the insurance charges in investment link increase every year.

You may reduce or increase according to your needs every year but it will underwrite on your health status on the application time.

It works the same as what you need now as
1)term policy for 1 year. The insurance charges only charge you the current age mortality charges with renewable feature as long as you pay the premium.
2)renewable, If you choose not to pay, it will lapse on its own.
ExpZero
post Jun 1 2013, 10:40 AM

1,522 posts

QUOTE(danlhct @ Jun 1 2013, 09:43 AM)
Can someone please help me to understand how come my prudential medical card PMM3 is so expensive as compared to Great Eastern SmartMedic 200 medical card?

At my age of 35, monthly insurance charges allocated for Prudential PMM3 is RM104.xx. And monthly insurance charges for my GE SM200 (with higher annual and lifetime limits) is only RM43.xx.

Although the monthly premium would not increase. But as I aged, the insurance charges for Prudential PMM3 will be sky-high in my golden years.

I'm thinking to keep only one medical card --- either Prudential PMM3 (cover upto 70 years old) or GE SM200 (cover upto 80 years old). Should I cancel my Prudential PMM3 and keeping my GE SM200? I need a valuable opinion from the sifus here.  Thank you in advance smile.gif

I'm not familiar with PMM3. perhaps can you give me a camera shoot of the benefit included in the PMM3? As I know PMM3 is having the 20% co-insurance if over room&board. So, basically it works almost the same with Smart Medic.

It's not advisable to keep 2 medical cards due to the hassle in claim(if it's different company, you have to chase and follow up with the company) and it's only claimable up to your medical bill, because it doesn't work like lump sum payment insurance(life/TPD/36 CI).

If you have the budget, I'd advise you to call your agents and ask them for a upgrade of medical from both companies. Compare the upgraded version of both company and then cancel the remaining one will save you some money with better benefit.
ExpZero
post Jun 11 2013, 12:00 AM

1,522 posts

QUOTE(netmask8 @ Jun 10 2013, 10:46 PM)
Good Question.. I also got bought PA rm400k many years ago.. PA is very cheap.

U must remember, only got ORIGINAL / GENUINE 1x copy of  Death Certification 1x copy of  Medical Report  and 1x copy of Police Report ..  Can claim 3x different/same insurance companies ?

Can 3x different/same insurance company willing to accept "Certified True Copy" with the CHOP of the above from the insurance agent/family member
to claim ? Any insurance AGENTS help b4 to claimed insurance using "CERTIFIED TRUE COPY"  ?? 

He Posted Good Question to share it here.. Any insurance agents can help to answer this question? If otherwise, public will
stick to ONLY 1x long and royal insurance company/AGENT to serve them.. Have a great day.
QUOTE(Calvin Ong @ Jun 10 2013, 11:43 PM)
Interested to know the answer as well...

How about if the person buy multiple Life Insurance? GENUINE copy for death certificate only got 1...  I think insurance company should be OK with  "CERTIFIED TRUE COPY"...
Certified true copy can be used, please refer to the attachment below.

http://www.greateasternlife.com/en/jsp/pdf...ims/DTH_INT.pdf

We require the Death Certificate to be certified true copy by our Customer Service Staff or the Servicing Life
Planner/ Authorised Life Planner/ Servicing Financial Planner. For death which occured overseas, original Death
Certificate can only be certified by our Customer Service Staff or Notary Public of the Country where Life Insured
passed away.

ExpZero
post Jun 11 2013, 01:55 PM

1,522 posts

QUOTE(Calvin Ong @ Jun 11 2013, 01:32 PM)
If I am not mistaken, TPD table is only applied to Personal Accident Insurance (it pay by percentage). For life insurance, TPD is either defined as:

1) Loss of both eyes or arms or legs,
2) Cannot return to work due to permanent disability AND cannot do any 3 of the Daily Activities

If the policy holder lost 1 arm OR 1 leg due to natural causes, not accident, it is not yet achieve the condition of TPD. Thus, insurance company won't pay any cents. Is it correct???
I know that there are some early pay CI rider which pay 10% or 20% of CI sum insured (depend on company) for amputation of any 1 limb due to Diabetes. However, what I concern is that for amputation of 1 leg due to diabetes, is it cover under normal 36 CI???
Yes, you are right, Losing of one leg OR one hand is not under the definition of TPD for Life policy. Under PA, it's under partial disability which is payable under a certain percentage.

As long as the unfortunate is happen and it falls under the definition as per policy contract, Any insurance company will pay it. nod.gif
ExpZero
post Jun 19 2013, 03:50 PM

1,522 posts

QUOTE(danlhct @ Jun 18 2013, 11:59 PM)
My GE agent sudah lari. Policy auto switch to upline. But the new agent nowhere can be found. Had sent a complaint letter to GE head office and requesting for changing a new agent. Until now almost a month but no news yet despite numerous follow up with email and phone call. I feel regretted buying insurance from this company. I should have listened to my friends that this company is not so good. The reason I sign up GE policy is because back in year 2010. This is the only company in Malaysia offering smart early payout for critical illness. Now thinking to cancel this policy and switch to other insurers but feel sayang coz already served for a few years. Each year the premium is Rm4200. Last 2 days walk-in to customer service counter to enquire about premium reduction if cancel SM200. They cannot offer me an answer coz they don't have the software (how come HLA can do it but GE can't?). Instead, asking me to contact my servicing agent but she is MIA. I don't have an agent to contact for almost 6 months... really pek chek. However, there is some good things about this company. I personally like the e-connect where customer is able to check the detail of the policy via Internet login.
You may pm me the procedure to cancel your SM200. Since I' already in this line for long, it's not a big hassle to provide you this simple service blush.gif

QUOTE(nightzstar @ Jun 19 2013, 07:54 AM)
could not afford to pay, i have house to pay,bills and so on. 300 for Ge and 200 for Prudential. The agent are quite busy and sometimes 2,3 months din collect premium but come at one time lump sum, also the receipt are sometimes there sometimes not there. asked for auto debit till now no news. that why it is hassle for me, better use prudential coz my fren taking care of it.
It's always better to do Credit card auto debit or Bank transfer to prevent any "songlap" or procrastination.

QUOTE(maggi @ Jun 19 2013, 08:44 AM)
i wonder if the case like this and pass to new agent , new agent still earn comm ? or not so they demotivated to deal with you ?  unsure.gif
Nope, need agent's consent to transfer commission. Most of the time, only transfer of servicing agent could be done practically.

0.0656sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 10:41 PM