INSURANCE TALK, ok let start

freewisefly
post Oct 3 2012, 01:17 PM

210 posts

QUOTE(azzudagreat @ Oct 3 2012, 10:29 AM)
hello all

i just bought an GE insurance 3 months ago. overall i satisfy with the coverage. i get R&B RM150 and just realize that co-insurance is no limit if upgrade the room.

check with my agent and he said if i upgrade to R&B RM200 (topup about RM20) there is a capping of RM3000 which i find still a lot of money to pay say need to undergo major surgery.

but he mentioned if there is no available room based on my limit and no choice to upgrade can ask the hosp to write in to GE to appeal. is it true?

also there is discount given by hosp for the room rate if use personal medical card. true?

also if the difference of room rate RM30 can ask GE to waive the 20% co-insurance. true?
I was thinking of :-
1. co insurance and no limits - basic or standard insurance policy always highlighted there is a limit per year. Lots of term insurance out there with no co insurance. pacific, pru, allianze, msig n others.

2. bare in mind those private hospitals which in your list, do check for their current room rate and increasing yearly. If admitted to hospital and no room need to appeal or write in to get upgraded. This is very risky. Think that those who admitting to hospital, is that emergency or not and how long it takes to appeal and during the waiting period how long could a patient wait. This is life factor. dont play play with those words from irresponsible agents.

3. Discount by hospital might be true but where is the prove? if difference of roomrate not much, do you think they will waive it? I am not saying it is impossible but I wont be easily sweet talked by agents.Remember that insurance company also doing business same like banks.

Why need a medical card? how much will a severe injury or sickness cost today? what kind of hospital i am entitle for or panel of hospital.

I know when I sick, I must have a medical card which really can rescue me without trouble others. i am holding a rm350 r&band 450k annual limits with no co insurance and rm300 cash allowance per day regardless of general or private hospitals. panel hospitals currently up to 104 hospitals and free body checkup yearly.
monthly only paying rm168 at my age of 37
freewisefly
post Oct 11 2012, 07:02 PM

210 posts

QUOTE(rekamaju @ Oct 10 2012, 08:06 PM)
Most people seem to not realise something important regarding medical card
comparing stand alone vs tiedup with a life policy

Look at this scenario:- Assuming you have a very serious medical problem
like cancer or heart disease, your medical card SUDDENLY becomes very, very, very important.
In fact it can become more valuable than all your credit cards put together

The following can happen:-

For a stand alone, you MUST continue to service the premiums to
continue enjoying the cover. Even if you are sitting in the hospital very, very sick, you cannot afford to
miss your payment... otherwise the insurance company will happily tell you that they will not
reinstate your lapsed medical policy.

For a medical card attached to a life policy, if you attach a waiver of premium upon Dreaded Disease,
your policy premium payments are taken over by the insurance company and your medical card can
become FREE FOR LIFE. That is, until you exhaust your lifetime limit

So think about it, if it is a stand alone medical card, you got nothing to lose
by migrating to a life policy with medical card

If YOU HAVE NOT MADE CLAIMS FOR ANY SERIOUS MEDICAL PROBLEM, ask for a TAKE-OVER where you have
no waiting period or exclusion. Also your medical premium on that attached to a life policy would probably be cheaper than a stand alone premium

for Zurich Insurance Malaysia
I thought nobody will be covered for protection if lapse of payment to any insurance company regardless either stand alone or ILP/saving.
freewisefly
post Oct 11 2012, 07:27 PM

210 posts

QUOTE(rekamaju @ Oct 11 2012, 07:21 PM)
With an IL plan, as long as you have surplus fund, it will pay your premium for all riders include medical, even if you are on " premium holiday" ( never pay premium). Generally speaking, the older the plan, the longer the plan can sustain without premium payment. Of course there are exceptions
That means whatever fund or premium holiday emptied (used but might need to pay back) also no longer cover by any insurance company. I try to reinstate that no premium pay means no coverage regardless what type of protection plan.
freewisefly
post Oct 12 2012, 05:54 PM

210 posts

QUOTE(john123x @ Oct 12 2012, 11:00 AM)
but u say the investment linked medical card can pay 30 years and stop paying.

thats why i request to ignore my earlier request of no investment linked.
There is no such thing as free lunch in today world. If your age is 30 now, pay for 30 years, how much con you accumulated? with this amount then how long can it sustain of years to cover your protection? what if only cover about 5 years only. If that case, you have to pay it onward at the age of 66. How much can you save for this 30 years as you dont have another 30 years to waste. I think it would be helpful if you pay high premium high percentage on investment.
freewisefly
post May 31 2013, 10:23 AM

210 posts

QUOTE(throwaway-acc @ May 31 2013, 12:33 AM)
I need quotation on basic personal insurance plan that cover dead, tpd and the 36 illnesses. Med card is a huge plus.

Name: Ron
Job: Engineer, IT. Office work only.
Marital status: Single
Health status: Non-smoker, non-drinker, no prescription, no existing condition
Budget: ~RM100/month. I don't really care about investment/saving feature, I just need the protection. I'm ready for long term commitment.

Please include your email address, I will contact you through email if I decided to follow through. Feel free to give me other quotation for relevant product for my budget, and attach any brochure in your quotation.

Thank you in advance smile.gif
This post has been edited by freewisefly: May 31 2013, 10:26 AM
freewisefly
post Jun 1 2013, 07:36 PM

210 posts

QUOTE(danlhct @ Jun 1 2013, 09:43 AM)
Can someone please help me to understand how come my prudential medical card PMM3 is so expensive as compared to Great Eastern SmartMedic 200 medical card?

At my age of 35, monthly insurance charges allocated for Prudential PMM3 is RM104.xx. And monthly insurance charges for my GE SM200 (with higher annual and lifetime limits) is only RM43.xx.

Although the monthly premium would not increase. But as I aged, the insurance charges for Prudential PMM3 will be sky-high in my golden years.

I'm thinking to keep only one medical card --- either Prudential PMM3 (cover upto 70 years old) or GE SM200 (cover upto 80 years old). Should I cancel my Prudential PMM3 and keeping my GE SM200? I need a valuable opinion from the sifus here.  Thank you in advance smile.gif
For any type of insurance, it is recommended to get a term insurance or some called stand alone insurance. Why? Because you need to review your insurance plan every 6 - 8 years so it can really protects you in that moment.

All insurance charges are based on age group. If any agents tell you it is not, then I advise you to change your agent as it is clearly stated all the charges in your policy.

You have done a great job to steady through your protection plan, and it is good to have a knowledge of insurance. Since you have touched on medical card, I would advise compare about few important things about it.
1. Room on board and days coverage - Room rate increasing yearly, that's why need to revise your plan every 6-8 yrs. why I need to get a medi card and yet still need to pay for the rate differences.
2. Annual limit - Make sure it is enough to cover. The more the better. Don't think of lifetime limit as nobody will thinking of lifetime limit when they are admitted to hospital. If your annual limit is not enough, definitely you will end up in government hospital then why buy medi card.
3. Panel hospital - make sure your insurance company do provide the highest panel hospital. I dont want when I use it then that hospital says we are not your panel, you need pay first then you claim it from your insurance company.
4. Charges on age 60 - 80 years old. Make sure you can pay it monthly at that moment as some of us are retiree.
5. It is recommended to get medi card cover up to 80 yrs old. don't think of 100 years old for the moment, cause it is not advisible.
6. No co-insurance and guarantee renewal.
7. Cover internationally
8. Emergency evacuation per case is big enough.
9. I found my policy stated that insurance company had no right to amend or change the contents of my policy. I found this is very important to me.

Just drop 1, if you feel it is burden you. And make sure you do body checkup yearly to know your health condition then using the card. =)

This post has been edited by freewisefly: Jun 1 2013, 07:37 PM
freewisefly
post Jun 2 2013, 10:55 PM

210 posts

For information only.
All insurance agents do not allow in requesting any clients to cancel any insurance plan. If any insurance agents asked any of you to cancel it and buy a new plan from them. The commission also won't credited to the agent. That's why any agents approach you only advise you to upgrade your existing plan, then only they can get the fruit to their mouth. This is nothing to do with professional issue.

freewisefly
post Jun 3 2013, 05:15 PM

210 posts

QUOTE(Colaboy @ Jun 3 2013, 12:00 PM)
icon_idea.gif  icon_idea.gif  icon_idea.gif  haha  . . . . . what you are refering only happens if the policy holder is canceling from the same company & repurchase a new policy, only the agent have no commission payout. Most of the case they cancel other insurer company policy, which will NOT effect. Upgrading a policy
definately will get additional commission, else all the agent out there how to survive friend. Please get your facts right.
Are you sure that cancel company A policy and purchase company B policy, the commission will go to Agent of company B?
freewisefly
post Jun 22 2013, 10:20 PM

210 posts

Some basic knowledge of medical card in Malaysia.

Most insurance company outsource or hire a service agent company to run their clients' admission process and claims. It means no insurance agent will be handling admission for their clients anymore except some insurance agent still doing such due to their insurance company not charged any 3rd party handling agent. Any agents who do so eventhough handling by service agent company it is out of their courtesy.

Have you thought of why only medical insurance come with card and others insurance protection not?

In Malaysia, there are 2 big company handling such service. There are SOS and AAN. Most private hospital don't deal with insurance company but these 2 company.

If you can claim it easily for medical card it simply because of these 2 reliable company which alliance with private hospital world wide.

If you not sure which one yours belongs to or charted to, simply have a closer look on your medical card. If you want find out more, you can googling it.

All private hospital wont bother which insurance company you get your medical card. They more concern of who is the handling agent (SOS & AAN).

Why some insurance company have less panel hospital and some have more? It is strictly how much your insurance company pays for their services. Up till today if I am not mistaken, AAN had 106 panel hospitals in Malaysia. These companies ganrantee your bills. If you wanta know more about the process, you may PM me.

freewisefly
post Jun 23 2013, 05:18 PM

210 posts

Many have ask what is SOS and AAN. Attached website for your reference.

http://www.internationalsos.com/en/asia-pacific_malaysia.htm
http://asia-assistance.com/index.php?mid=4
freewisefly
post Jul 13 2013, 12:42 AM

210 posts

QUOTE(mcfeemo @ Jul 12 2013, 11:52 PM)
so... from what i understand from your explanation is.... the insurance company will still accept the certified true copy by lawyer?  hmm.gif
I would like to find out about this as well but as to my understanding that medical claim definitely only can use 1 which is the original bills.
freewisefly
post Jul 14 2013, 05:56 PM

210 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jul 13 2013, 11:12 AM)
Use common sense

If u buy RM100K and RM150K medical limit

Of course u would claim from B if u got a claim of RM120K for example
How would anyone know beforehand which medical card to use when admitted to hospital? In common sense, human will choose medical card with highest annual credit limits as nobody know how much will it cost.

2nd is why having 2 medical card? I would choose to have a 450k annual credit limits for my medical card to avoid all those troubles. Of course everyone want that but it's too expensive. I would say yes if you buy with investment link or saving plan. I bought a standalone and I have no problems of the discussed issue above. It only cause me rm112 per month. 3 yrs back i was paying rm300 per month with room and board rate = rm150. As I noticed it is not even enough to cover basic sharing room rate at hospital. I switched to pacific insurance medical card with my room and board rate at rm 350 much higher than my previous 1 and i only pay rm112 per month. I have saved 188 monthly and i put in to investment and it's more than what i saved in insurance link fund and the most best part is i can withdrawn anytime without any interest compare with insurance company. Be wise all of you.
freewisefly
post Jul 15 2013, 11:48 PM

210 posts

QUOTE(ExpZero @ Jul 15 2013, 07:04 PM)
No offence bro, a good friend of mine is doing Pacific, it's cheap but please read the T&C.
Understand pretty well of the T&C as I persoanlly met Pacific GM to explain 1 by 1 to me.
freewisefly
post Jul 27 2013, 11:58 PM

210 posts

QUOTE(AskChong @ Jul 26 2013, 07:45 PM)
Wise for short term and fool in a longer term?

There is a reason for ILP/UL doing well now...
Don't get to personal as you might be the one.
freewisefly
post Jul 29 2013, 09:25 PM

210 posts

QUOTE(roystevenung @ Jul 29 2013, 01:22 PM)
Bos, mind if i ask, your term medical covers till age 70 or age 80?
I don't recommend anyone get up till age 70, but none of them afford to get cover up to age 80. I do consider this as one of the fact need to consider. So my answer is covers up to age of 80. How much would your insurance charges for this coverage at this age, if you don't mind sharing with me. Thanks.
freewisefly
post Jul 29 2013, 10:07 PM

210 posts

QUOTE(roystevenung @ Jul 29 2013, 09:55 PM)
freewisefly, at older age, most of us had fulfilled our responsibility as a parent, whereby the children are all grown up. Hence having a high coverage on life/critical illness after retirement (> age 60) would be a burden.

However, this is also when we lose our company coverage for medical benefits and the chances of us contracting illnesses (diabetes / blood pressure) at older age are much high as compared to when we are young.

Most of the people I had as my client is having one or the other issue at age > 50, which complicates getting a medical insurance.

You could take a look at our PRUsenior med plan, a plan designed for taking care of the huge burst of medical bill. A plan medical card, with possibly the lowest insurance charges around.

<< PRUsenior med >>

The benefit of the plan includes:-
1. Medical Claim up to Rm225K per plan
2. Death benefit (RM5K)
3. The premium is locked and it is based on ENTRY AGE and it will not go up by age.
4. Guaranteed renewal up to age 80 (next birthday)
5. High entry age (up to age 70 next birthday)
6. More relaxed underwriting, for example if someone is with hypertension, under control with meds it is also able to be accepted without loading.

The only catch is it is for in-patient it is subjected to RM3K (Plan 1) & RM 6K (Plan 2) co-insurance and 10% thereafter. For out-patient, there is a 10% co-insurance.
Thanks bro, I had few question need to be clarify. Pls assist me. Thanks
Is there any bigger room and board such as rm300-500?
Is there any limit per disability?
Is it cover internationally?
Any cash allowance during admission?

Thanks. smile.gif
freewisefly
post Jul 29 2013, 10:26 PM

210 posts

QUOTE(roystevenung @ Jul 29 2013, 10:20 PM)
1. Is there any bigger room and board such as rm300-500?
No, and at the moment, we have no plans to make any increase or upgrade the plan. The tagline for this product is AFFORDABLE premium at older age. If we add this and that, the insurance charges will of course be higher :-)

However, if the client want to get admitted to a higher room, the client is required to pay the differences of the room rate. No penalty for staying in higher room.

2. Is there any limit per disability?
Once anyone had claim up to RM225K the policy will end. For example if the total bill per disability is RM 225k (one shot due to serious illness or accident), the client is required to pay

a. Rm3K minimum co-insurance
b. 10% thereafter for RM 222K = RM 22,200

Total paid by client = RM 25,200, Total paid by Prudential = RM 199,800

3. Is it cover internationally?
For medical card in Malaysia, if you stay more than 90days overseas, then it is not covered.

4. Any cash allowance during admission?
Not on PRUsenior med and the concept of getting cash during admission is seriously wrong.  laugh.gif You end up paying for it with higher insurance charges.
How much would it be at the age of 45? 65? 75?
freewisefly
post Jul 30 2013, 12:00 AM

210 posts

QUOTE(roystevenung @ Jul 29 2013, 10:55 PM)
1. Age 45
a. Plan 1 - RM 3K co-insurance
- Male RM 1,753, Female RM 1,742

b. Plan 2 - RM 6K co-insurance
- Male RM 1,357, Female RM 1,338

2. Age 65
- Male RM 3,897, Female RM 4,825

- Male RM 2,840, Female RM 3,407

3. Age > 70-80
- Male RM 4,778 , Female RM 6,008

- Male RM 3,514, Female RM 4,227

The full brochure on PRUsenior med can be downloaded from:-
http://www2.prudential.com.my/corp/prudent...useniormed.html

The price is very attractive. One last question. If let's say all lifetime limits being used up at the age of 50. Do I still need to continue paying for up to age 80?
freewisefly
post Jul 30 2013, 11:39 AM

210 posts

QUOTE(roystevenung @ Jul 30 2013, 12:44 AM)
Once used up the plan stops. So the answer is no to the above question. By the way since this is a standalone plan, you cant add in any rider, like waiver of premium.

This means if the client kena stroke, the premium will still need to be paid or risk having the policy lapse and lose the medical cover. I normally have PRUsenior med coupled with CI term, if affordable by client. blush.gif
Thanks for the information, and for the time being, I still prefer my existing plan. I will do my review every 5 years due to inflation and medical cost increase annually. To my surprise from bank negara AKPK report stated that Major number 1 credit card debts are from medication and it holding 26% from the statistic. Another report showed that whole malaysia only 14% of the population have medical coverage. That's why we see lots of asking donation and funds from the public. From time to time, I always bring this message across to anyone. That's why I don't look for low coverage on room and board, annual limits and cash allowance (This is very important indeed if you are major income of household and lying on hospital's bed for a month, and your boss won't give you any salary on that) This cash really can help lots of people to settle their monthly commitment. And no co-insurance because it is burden to the customer. International coverage is important not just for international but domestic. It's stated any range above 100km will be cover. I am more concern of this as they are many staying at places which doesnt not have private or government hospital within 100km. As this benefits won't cause any deduction from the said protection limits.

Thanks Bro.. thumbup.gif
freewisefly
post Aug 12 2013, 11:48 PM

210 posts

QUOTE(maggi @ Aug 12 2013, 11:07 AM)
i m helping my friend to ask a group insurance . he is dealing with heavy machine industries.

but i wonder should he buy 1 to 1 for each workers or he can one shot buy a big premium and cover the whole group of employee ?

thx if someone able to give details on this ...or whether which is better and cover what ?
There is good and bad about individual and group.

Since your friend is dealing with heavy machine industries, if your finance allows, it is suggest to get PA for all workers and 2nd is medical protection.

If by group, it means all workers shared a sum of amount, it is cheap because it's only cover till the retired age (either 50 or 60). it might either beneficial to the family or the company. It might be bad for workers who is retired/resigned /sacked because they can't have coverage once they leave the company due to group insurance.

If your friend is genuine to workers, it is wise to provide them individual plan as they can have full benefits of it and can be renewed once they sacked/resigned/retired up to age of 80.

It is advise company to get insurance protection for employees as it will reduce the cost and problems if anything happened to the employee. Risk control. smile.gif

If you need more information or any inquiry, you can pm me.

0.0537sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 10:42 PM