207 Pages « < 202 203 204 205 206 > » Bottom

Choosing The Right PSU, Discussions about power supply units.

Edifier
post Aug 25 2011, 12:16 PM

Store Representative
9,147 posts

QUOTE(faizal87 @ Aug 24 2011, 01:58 AM)
sifu..which one is the best?

Mushkin Enhanced Volta 500W PSU-rm129
FSP HEXA 500 Watts *SAGA II *12cm Fan= RM169

both 2 years waranty..
For 500w, don't forget to try out SilverStone ST500-es.
faizal87
post Aug 25 2011, 04:58 PM

piko piko pong pong
1,384 posts

QUOTE(Edifier @ Aug 25 2011, 12:16 PM)
For 500w, don't forget to try out SilverStone ST500-es.
thanks thumbup.gif ,btw,its for backup purpose while waiting my seasonic psu which already send for waranty.. shocking.gif shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by faizal87: Aug 25 2011, 05:02 PM
kip2212
post Aug 25 2011, 08:07 PM

93 posts

Can anyone give me an opinion about these two PSUs as compared to Corsair's?

Acbel IPOWER 85H 650W PCA010 80Plus Bronze
Enermax Naxn ENP600AWT 600W 80plus
TechnoG
post Aug 26 2011, 03:18 PM

9,337 posts

^

Which Corsair PSU are you referring? if is AX then answer is obvious tongue.gif

what is your budget? and mind stating the GPU you are using?
dlwl
post Aug 27 2011, 03:24 PM

4,789 posts

anyone tried this PSU by mushkin before?

Mushkin Enhanced Volta 650W PSU
http://www.mushkin.com/Power-Supplies/Volta/MKNPSVT650.aspx

The price seems kinda cheap, wonder what's the quality like.

TDUEnthusiast
post Aug 27 2011, 04:21 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(dlwl @ Aug 27 2011, 10:24 AM)
anyone tried this PSU by mushkin before?

Mushkin Enhanced Volta 650W PSU
http://www.mushkin.com/Power-Supplies/Volta/MKNPSVT650.aspx

The price seems kinda cheap, wonder what's the quality like.
Its specification doesn't look impressive to be honest. 516W on its 12V rail on a 650W power supply and only a single PCI-E 6 pin cable? That's rather weak. Aesthetic wise it also doesn't look good. I'd suggest that you give this power supply a pass.
lingloong
post Aug 29 2011, 06:34 PM

# Noob In Trading #
1,256 posts

QUOTE(TDUEnthusiast @ Aug 27 2011, 04:21 PM)
Its specification doesn't look impressive to be honest. 516W on its 12V rail on a 650W power supply and only a single PCI-E 6 pin cable? That's rather weak. Aesthetic wise it also doesn't look good. I'd suggest that you give this power supply a pass.
Well, Mushkin does make good PSU in the age of Enhanced model. I'm using the "HP-580AP 580W" model. It serve me well till now (age more than 4 years already) and still kicking in my rig

For Joule 650W @ RM179 (SRP) price-tag, I would say it's a value buy = better than the CM Extreme Series smile.gif

Savor_Savvy
post Aug 29 2011, 07:11 PM

2,776 posts

Which psu to go for hd 6950 or gtx560 ti?
TDUEnthusiast
post Aug 29 2011, 07:58 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Aug 29 2011, 07:11 PM)
Which psu to go for hd 6950 or gtx560 ti?
A 500W power supply will suffice but a 600W power supply is recommended for long term usage.
kip2212
post Aug 31 2011, 12:32 AM

93 posts

QUOTE(TechnoG @ Aug 26 2011, 03:18 PM)
^

Which Corsair PSU are you referring? if is AX then answer is obvious tongue.gif

what is your budget? and mind stating the GPU you are using?
The Corsair GS600. I currently have a dead Cooler Master GX 650W, which I was told was more than enough. But that piece has died on me twice, and I think I should be looking for an alternative. My budget is somewhere around RM300 max. The GPU I'm using is the HD5770.

This post has been edited by kip2212: Aug 31 2011, 12:33 AM
TDUEnthusiast
post Aug 31 2011, 12:42 AM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(kip2212 @ Aug 31 2011, 12:32 AM)
The Corsair GS600. I currently have a dead Cooler Master GX 650W, which I was told was more than enough. But that piece has died on me twice, and I think I should be looking for an alternative. My budget is somewhere around RM300 max. The GPU I'm using is the HD5770.
A 500W power supply will do fine for a HD5770. You can even go with a 400W power supply as that will support a HD5770 too without any problems but to be on the safe side a 500W power supply is recommended.
joefbi
post Aug 31 2011, 10:20 AM

joefbi a.k.a roketx
2,558 posts

my rig using cooler master 750w (rs750 acaa-a1 with actice PFC)
last night a loud 'pop' sound came out and my rig suddenly goes off...

i notice motherboard's LED is not lite up anymore(normally LED is lite on even not in powered ON state)

i try to powered my rig but nothing happen. from visual check, no sign
of burning IC's or blown caps on my motherboard..so i guess it would be my PSU die ady...because i check the 24pin connector with multimeter, no sign of power from PSU at any pin.

just wanna ask, what is the item damage usually when 'pop' sound happen on PSU? is it power IC's? or Caps? and it will cost how much to repair? my PSU dont have warranty anymore...TQ in advance
TDUEnthusiast
post Aug 31 2011, 10:24 AM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(joefbi @ Aug 31 2011, 10:20 AM)

i notice motherboard's LED is not lite up anymore(normally LED is lite on even not in powered ON state)

of burning IC's or blown caps on my motherboard..so i guess it would be my PSU die ady...because i check the 24pin connector with multimeter, no sign of power from PSU at any pin.

just wanna ask, what is the item damage usually when 'pop' sound happen on PSU? is it power IC's? or Caps? and it will cost how much to repair? my PSU dont have warranty anymore...TQ in advance
Have you tried jump starting the power supply?

You can test the power supply by taking it out from your system, plugging some fans to it via the molex connector, and then jump-start it by connecting a piece of metal wire from a green wire to a black on the 24 Pin. If it's unable to start, its LED light beside the power switch should light up, indicating that there's something wrong with the power supply. But if the LED doesn't light up and the fans do not run when you try jump starting the power supply, then it looks like your power supply is indeed dead.
lingloong
post Aug 31 2011, 03:53 PM

# Noob In Trading #
1,256 posts

QUOTE(joefbi @ Aug 31 2011, 10:20 AM)

"Pop" sound sure the PSU is gg.com edi

Mobo affected or not, depend ur luck

RMA it or get new one, don't bother repair. Stay away from CM GX Series smile.gif

joefbi
post Sep 2 2011, 12:16 AM

joefbi a.k.a roketx
2,558 posts

oh dang...need to get new psu loh...huhu
ok...tq for the opinion...
plan to get the modular one...
Savor_Savvy
post Sep 2 2011, 08:06 PM

2,776 posts

this one ok or not?

SEASONIC S12II 620W 80+ Bronze
Clem1982
post Sep 3 2011, 06:58 AM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Sep 2 2011, 08:06 PM)
this one ok or not?

SEASONIC S12II 620W 80+ Bronze
That is a good one wink.gif just to remind u that there is a modular version as well smile.gif M12II 620W if budget permits, maybe this one is a better option??
TechnoG
post Sep 3 2011, 01:42 PM

9,337 posts

err. I thought that one is the old one? new model is Silence Pro.
or you intend to buy a used unit? hmm.gif
lonelystarz
post Sep 3 2011, 03:58 PM

112 posts

considering to buy either seasonic x560 gold or corsair hx650 bronze psu, which one do you guys suggest me to buy? or is there any better psu around the price range(rm400-450)..thanks
TDUEnthusiast
post Sep 3 2011, 04:00 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(lonelystarz @ Sep 3 2011, 03:58 PM)
considering to buy either seasonic x560 gold or corsair hx650 bronze psu, which one do you guys suggest me to buy? or is there any better psu around the price range(rm400-450)..thanks
The Seasonic X-560 is the power supply you should get if you do not need a 650W power supply. The X-series power supply from Seasonic is a premium series, and has received excellent ratings before.

207 Pages « < 202 203 204 205 206 > » Top

0.0376sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 02:46 AM