Fundsupermart Singapore, Let's have a separate thread

TSdasecret
post Mar 10 2017, 02:06 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Steven7 @ Mar 10 2017, 02:00 PM)
Well I did read some news on them but I mean..what credibility does it have? What is its USP compared to say, FSM MAPS? A fee of 1% for <10k looks kinda steep for me.
U should read up about robo advisors and ETFs in the US

MAPS buys mainly into unit trust funds which means you pays management fees on those funds; easily 1.5% and above
Whereas Smartly will buy into ETFs which charges much lower fees; so you may pay 0.7% (compare to your investment in MAPS), but you don't pay that 1.5 and above management fees on UT

Credibility - this one I can't answer lor; unfortunately the big boys in the US don't set up shop in this region so if you want robo advisor they will be the first
TSdasecret
post Mar 10 2017, 04:05 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Mar 10 2017, 03:50 PM)
I thought you mentioned MAPS bought funds, stocks ETFs?
But say a fund managed to beat the index, and as we know all the management fees is already included in the NAV, shouldn't the fund be a better choice since a ETF is suppose to replicate the index movement ? Beating index = beating the ETF even with all fees accounted. No? hmm.gif  confused.gif

Out of the 20 funds; only 1 is ETF; 10% allocation. So still mainly UT for MAPS

Well, I don't think you can get funds that beat the index for all markets. And with pokemon style investing that MAPS employs, I think chances are a reasonably good robo advisor would beat MAPS; but that's my gut feel only la, at the moment MAPS beat my own FSM SG UT portfolio; so I stick to MAPS lor

Well it's like MAPS except it's developed by white people. I have more faith with white people  flex.gif
Found it out through EDGE MY. Saw that they want to enter MY too with UT. Things will heat up for FSM MY  thumbup.gif

Why u so blindly believe in mat salleh one... it's because of asians like you that they feel superior living in Asia

TSdasecret
post Mar 10 2017, 06:05 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Steven7 @ Mar 10 2017, 04:19 PM)
Call me skeptical but I will give it some time before even starting say, a 500SGD RSP with them. BTW there is a FSM MAPS seminar coming, anyone going? I think there will be free dinner yo
Not based in Singapore, won't be able to join dinner. Pls share what was presented rclxms.gif

QUOTE(Steven7 @ Mar 10 2017, 05:56 PM)
dasecret I don't understand something about MAPS, for the sake of the question lets assume I bought 20K in MAPS, when I login its showing negative Profit but the "Current Value" is higher than 20K. Do you know why is that?

EDIT: I don't see any dividends/income distribution on my account BTW. But to be fair, I invested another 5K onto the same MAPS but its still on processing is the increased "valuation" come from this 5k?
I'm not 100% sure because I've not done a recomputation; but I think you should look at the profit/loss. The current value is before deducting management fee of 0.5% while the profit/loss already took that into consideration

But I might be wrong. Best to check with live help and share here thumbup.gif
TSdasecret
post Mar 12 2017, 10:35 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Steven7 @ Mar 10 2017, 10:55 PM)
Yeah sure I RSVP'ed and heard there is going to be dinner  rclxms.gif

I seriously don't understand, the current value is ~10% more than what I bought but its posting a 0.15% loss. Anyway, coming from a software engineering background, the FSMOne site is buggy as hell. They messed up my account back then and I have to go to their office to resolve some issue with my password.

Edit: I was hesitant to ask live help as secretly I was hoping its an accounting error, granting me an extra ~10% return in mere ~2 weeks
ohmy.gif That's terrible and unacceptable

I too feel the FSM One site is not as stable as the old plateform. Hope they fix it soon.

10% more than investment cost doesn't seem likely considering you just had it for <1 month; most likely a glitch. Well, u can try to "realise" it by selling off everything and buy in again rclxs0.gif There's no lock in or transaction cost anyway

Most likely by then they would realise the mistake whistling.gif
TSdasecret
post Mar 13 2017, 10:29 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Steven7 @ Mar 13 2017, 10:23 AM)
Yeah I know its not likely as its too good to be true. sad.gif  Well yeah I don't want the hassle of trying to selling them off, then didn't get the "glitched" amount, then I have to purchase them all over again. Well I will just leave it probably.

BTW where do I see my dividends payout, if any?
For FSM One? No clue. I suspect they would just reinvest the distributed amount in units.

For FSM unit trust holdings you can see from the monthly statement and distribution vouchers they email you, and also from the historic transactions
TSdasecret
post Mar 15 2017, 09:12 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Steven7 @ Mar 14 2017, 02:38 PM)
Ahh nvm. Somehow the system "readjust" my current holding and everything is normal now, albeit still at loss.
Eh, you are right, the numbers now gone back to normal

Makes me wonder if the FSM folks also stalks this thread tongue.gif
TSdasecret
post Mar 17 2017, 04:06 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Mar 15 2017, 09:55 AM)
dasecret, AIYH what do you think of the above?
QUOTE(AIYH @ Mar 15 2017, 10:51 AM)
Yes, it can rise after ex dividend date

But it doesn't change the fact that the divvies are from the NAV itself, means when dividend/distribution declare, NAV/share price will drop.

In essence, the dividend itself are not extra money from the company, rather, it is a rebalance of nav/share price, your value in the stock/share will not change pre and post dividend.

So a fund which declare 6% yearly dividend is not better than a fund which do not declare dividend.

Some people use dividend as a factor to determine a share/fund strength instead of their fundamental.

One should focus on the fundamental instead of the dividend because dividend distribution alone doesn't affect your holding value at all

p/s: this does mean the monthly dividend fund is not good. The fund is good because of its fundamental, not the dividend.
QUOTE(Hansel @ Mar 15 2017, 02:43 PM)
Tq AIYH,...

I'll just respond with one of the monthly payout funds that I hold for which I bought when the nav dropped back when oil price dropped. The fund is the Allianz US HY Cl AM-USD, entry price USD7.79 per unit, monthly dividend payout USD0.06 per unit.

Hence, yield for me is at 9.24%.

The price of this fund is now at USD9.13 per unit.

Of course, the dpu payout and the nav can fall, with similar risks to buying stocks and REITs.
There's a reason why I usually keep quiet when bro hansel say something. It's quite impossible to convince him what he has in mind is not necessary right

This fund doesn't look attractive to me for long term play; yes, in the past one year it may have done not bad, 1 yr return of 17.08%. The performance is similar to the other funds in this class

But with the feds raising rates, is this really the asset class you want to be in. If you look at 2 years and more, it's not particularly spectacular either

If you compare it to the US EQ funds, this one really pale in comparison lor
TSdasecret
post Mar 17 2017, 04:11 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Steven7 @ Mar 17 2017, 10:03 AM)
Hi guys, just came back from FSM SG MAPS Seminar yesterday, its a small group closed events (~20 people). Just some sharing, first they talked about MAPS performance since inception. For Balanced, its 3.7% return (Balanced) vs 3.2% (Income), for Moderately Aggressive its 4.4% vs 3.7%, for Aggressive its 4.7% vs 4.0. Pretty good number so far with so follow-up light bashing on jokes on Aderdeen recent years performance.

Then its fund-by-fund analysis by comparing to internal benchmark, nothing I will go into here.

Here comes the main point, there will be the first portfolios rebalancing soon. They will be moving things around by reducing allocation on markets/product they deem unattractive. For instance, they will be fixing ETF due to ETF underperformed, reducing bets on fixed income due to unattractive returns.

Some explanation on upcoming risks, such as upcoming election on German and French and how the new leader going to address immigrants issues is going to play a role, in terms of economic stability.

Okay guys, projected portfolio growth! From Aggressive to Conservative (I may have written down the wrong number for Aggresive). 9.1%, 8.5%, 7.2%, 5.8%, 4.3%.

Funny side note, someone asked about company stability during QNA as iFast were at its all time low yesterday.

P/S. The free dinner is awesome, and I gotta say, the lady who works at iFast is gorgeous af.

Edit: Tagging Ramjade, dasecret
rclxms.gif Thanks for sharing!

Surprised there were only 20 ppl attending. But I think they only open it to ppl who already bought into MAPS, early days I guess.

Did you ask them about the system calculation of your fund value and returns?

What do you mean by 'fixing ETF'? Top up or change to another one?
The projected returns is annualised? 7.2% is good enough for me
TSdasecret
post Mar 17 2017, 05:00 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Steven7 @ Mar 17 2017, 04:30 PM)
Once they reach a quota they closed down registration already. I RSVP'ed earlier.

You mean the mistake they did last time? No I didn't.

By fixing ETF, I mean they are trying to deallocate from ETF soon, probably during the rebalancing, I told you about as they think their allocation on ETF is overweight and ETF as a whole is unattractive.

Yeap its annualized.
Hmm, interesting, everyone loves ETF and FSM SG decided against it
But I don't mind geh. Beats doing it myself anyway
TSdasecret
post Mar 17 2017, 07:10 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Mar 17 2017, 06:36 PM)
Bro/Sis,... appreciated yr comments,....

1) The HY funds are said to have properties closer to equities than to bonds. With a growing economy in the US, if equities do well,...theoretically, the HY funds will do well too.

2) I have reinvested the dividends I've collected over the years INTO other asset classes besides these HY funds themselves. It's not easy to calculate the returns from there, but I hold on to the concept that the faster I get my money in my hands, the faster I can reinvest them into other instruments to generate more returns.

3) The table that you showed are in SGD terms, meaning the returns have been converted into the SGD and then calculated in SGD, hence,... exchange rate effect is there. In their absolute currency terms, my returns are higher.

4) Your performance table was pulled from either Fundsupermart SG or POEMS, and the returns are in SGD terms because their investors normally convert the dividends received into the SGD. I don't, I collect my returns in the foreign currencies that such dividends were generated in,... and,... when the exchange rate is favourable, I may convert over. Otherwise, I my use the same currency cash in hand to invest into instruments of similar currencies.

Egs,... I will use the USD divvies I earned to invest into Manulife US REIT. I may use the AUD divvies I earned to invest into the ASX !

I guessed I don't have specific numerics to illustrate my returns,... but I noticed I keep getting more and more foreign currencies dropping into my different wallets.

What is the average return of a good US Equity fund ?
Sigh, this is why I malas ni

The table i showed is USD denominated funds; the forex gain/loss in SGD is not considered. Your returns may be higher due to the timing you bought in; but since you don't use XIRR to calculate, actually we can't really tell what's your returns in annualised % terms.

All this "I feel my returns is good" is hard to be quantified. No offense but you really do that a lot. Including how much forex gains you made by converting RM to SGD and AUD, without doing the maths, it's just shiok sendiri. Not too different from the property talk folks; "I made RM100k from one project" etc; without quantifying the net returns and time apportion the gains

This is US EQ fund sorted by 3 years annualised returns. All those in the list are >10% per annum over the past 3 years. So if you say HY bond behaves like EQ funds, then the returns definitely is no where near

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Mar 17 2017, 06:45 PM)
Check out Fidelity America/Fidelity Global Tech (this one is in Eur but 70-80% coverage of the US so it's basically a US fund).

For fidelity America, you can choose to pay in SGD or USD (there are 2 funds with different currency). For me I will choose SGD as there's no way to do online transfer from a USD/MCA account into FSM/Phillip. Heck even SG banks does not allow one to transfer USD/HKD/AUD between banks via online which I thought they can. Kind of a let down considering SG is suppose to be "advanced". They only let you transfer SGD  doh.gif
You don't have to buy using USD. You can send SGD into FSM SG and they convert into USD to buy into this fund for you. But rate good or not I didn't compare lor. That's how I bought the Fidelity America USD fund. Haven't sell it so not sure if I can keep the USD in cash account or must convert to SGD. I suspect it's the former as there is USD denominated cash account
TSdasecret
post Mar 17 2017, 10:42 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Mar 17 2017, 09:49 PM)
It's okay, if you feel lazy, do not reply,...

I too feel lazy at times to QUANTIFY things like what you said, and especially after how you said things,.... so,.. no need to read my postings,...yeah,.. I must be 'shiok sendiri' then,... biggrin.gif
Wah... took 3 posts to show how unhappy you were with my reply. Point taken for sure

Feels like a gender switch in this conversation

Anyway, I'm merely pointing out that I try to use facts to convince you but it has not worked since the first time, and hence I don't feel I ever will, no matter how many times I try

And it's the same when you use your argument to try to convince me based on your experience it wouldn't work because I need factual evidence

It really boils down to personality difference; probably you are the feeling type and I'm the thinking type

If you noticed, I do not stop you from commenting or helping really, I just realise we have to agree to disagree on most matters (other than maybe shared perception in distrust in local institutions)

Let's keep it that way ok? You are of course welcomed on this thread, and any other threads... I'm nobody here icon_rolleyes.gif
TSdasecret
post Mar 20 2017, 06:33 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Mar 20 2017, 05:36 PM)
Just wondering - anyone here have FSM investment accounts across countries? i.e. One in Malaysia and one in Hong Kong.

I'm tempted to apply HK FSM since it seems to offer wider ranges of portfolios and doesn't seem to have ridiculous restrictions for foreigners.
We went to Singapore. It's up to you if you prefer FSM HK. Need to find out if it's easy to open a bank account in HK. The good thing with singapore is proximity and SGD strength. If I'm not mistaken, HKD did depreciated over the past 10 years or so that now HKD is weaker than RMB
TSdasecret
post Mar 21 2017, 12:24 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Mar 20 2017, 08:40 PM)
Thanks for the inputs! Looks like I'll be proceeding with FSM HK. I'm in a lucky situation where I have employment (STA) here so I do have valid HK account and IC so guess that'll help.
I think in your case it's a no brainer to go for FSM HK. Feel free to share some of the funds and products available in FSM HK and your progress thumbsup.gif
TSdasecret
post Mar 21 2017, 12:26 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Mar 20 2017, 08:48 PM)
Both poems and fsm don't allow me to start RSP without initial investment

Both poems and fsm RSP can only do via bank acc DDA and their government retirement fund scheme (not like FSM MY where you can RSP via CMF)

I have the initial capital from FSM MY US part which is enough for either platform initial investment.

However, I can only choose FSM over its top up value of SGD 100 vs poems EUR 500 sad.gif

Stuck with platform fee, but oh well sweat.gif
Hmm, I though FSM SG now allows RSP through cash account because that's how I RSP for the MAPS. Previously yes, only through DDA and I'm too lazy to set it up eventhough for RSP sales charge was 0% and lumpsum is 0.35% back then.... sure our uni grad will comment how lazy is costing me precious $$ jor tongue.gif
TSdasecret
post Mar 24 2017, 08:51 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Mar 23 2017, 09:26 PM)
Only MAPS can RSP via cash account, normal UT still require DDA sad.gif

Somehow feel like MY platform is more flexible compared to SG laugh.gif
I feel the same way actually. That's why I'm a lot less active in FSM SG... it's expensive ler. And the exchange rate to SGD sweat.gif
TSdasecret
post Mar 24 2017, 08:54 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Mar 24 2017, 08:52 AM)
I thought you are earning SGD?
U mistaken me with someone else. I wish I'm earning SGD

Anyway, I haven't been actively changing SGD in the past 2 years. The money I have in SGD was from redeeming ASx funds. My last large batch of exchange was done at 2.84 brows.gif
TSdasecret
post Mar 24 2017, 09:34 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Mar 24 2017, 09:03 AM)
Well what to do. As elea88 said. Earning RM and investing in SGD doh.gif
You have the chance to go look for job in Singapore mah. Older ppl like me settled down already hard to move liao
What line are you in?
TSdasecret
post Mar 29 2017, 11:09 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Mar 28 2017, 08:22 PM)
I just sold the First State Dividend Advantage and plan to divest into other HY bond. tongue.gif
So what are you buying with the proceeds?
TSdasecret
post Mar 30 2017, 09:55 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Mar 29 2017, 06:02 PM)
I think I am caught at the moment when USD is weak against MYR and there was a fed rate hike too.

But no, RHB Emerging Market Bond Fund performed better for the same period.
The mother fund also bleeding for 3 months. Actually since about 6 months ago FSM has discouraged buying into Corp HY bonds. Actually their advice is quite sound geh.
I'm not a HY person. but decision to keep or sell is very personal one, depends on what you want lor. The fund size is a bit small to absorb any default

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Mar 29 2017, 05:59 PM)
For me it's still positive. Not as bad as amasia  dry.gif . Amasia hardly move and was close to (-) but this fund have always been (+) to me. But not even one year yet, why fret.
Oh, they also discourage buying into Reits since last month or so
TSdasecret
post Mar 30 2017, 09:58 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Mar 28 2017, 08:22 PM)
I just sold the First State Dividend Advantage and plan to divest into other HY bond. tongue.gif
QUOTE(Hansel @ Mar 29 2017, 05:25 PM)
Bro,.. High Yield Bonds or High Yield Bond Funds ? Why did you not reply him/her ? It's yr money,... even if you wished to throw it into the drain also... it's up to you,...  biggrin.gif

If you believed in High Yield Bond Funds,.. as I have been doing all these years,.. then so be it,... speak yr mind,... no need to be careful of him or her or of anyone,...  biggrin.gif 

This is just a forum,... no need to be overly careful to speak,...  thumbsup.gif
Oh, I misread that, you mean sell Div Adv and buy HY bond. I thought divest HY bond means sell both Div Adv and HY bond

Div Adv been lacklustre in the past 2 years, I also don't understand. Maybe too big to move?

But yeah, speak your mind, that's the whole point of open forum ma

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0699sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 01:41 PM