Fundsupermart Singapore, Let's have a separate thread

Ramjade
post Feb 20 2017, 08:46 PM

24,336 posts

QUOTE(Steven7 @ Feb 20 2017, 08:40 PM)
Haha I will bug you all for advice once I got a draft of my portfolio. BTW, FSM SG website is far more "user friendly" than Phillip UT website (I mean POEMS SG website is good but once I go into POEMS UT specific website, its so ugly)  wink.gif
Yup. Agreed. But when you consider they are some of the most establish broker in SG plus with the savings, I don't mind. Like I said use FSM SG platform for info, buy from POEMS. biggrin.gif

For info wise, I use Bloomberg and FSM SG.

I just got my POEMS account so I have not bought anything but I have already did my research on what to buy. Took me a while as they have lots of fund compare to MY blink.gif shocking.gif sweat.gif

Ramjade
post Feb 20 2017, 09:02 PM

24,336 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Feb 20 2017, 08:55 PM)
Depending on your portfolio construction, how much money you have for investment and how are you going to invest.

You might want to start to plan one before attempting to find the funds

for US/global exposure, you may consider fidelity america (diversified) or fidelity global tech (technology only)

they also have some good asia pac small cap (like HGIF asia pac small cap) and also some good europe and japan fund, I have not much research on that, but once you do, do share with us smile.gif

for bond fund, united asian high yield fund offer decent return for its risk smile.gif
I am buying both. Lol.

Really? The 3 years volatility is not like affin hwang select bond fund. It's more like a balanced fund volatility.

QUOTE(Steven7 @ Feb 20 2017, 08:51 PM)
Yeah in fact right now I am looking at FSM SG recommendation then go to POEMS to check whether it exists there. Mind to share some highlights fund on your research?
Some of FSM SG recommendation cannot pakai one.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Feb 20 2017, 09:07 PM
Ramjade
post Feb 20 2017, 10:11 PM

24,336 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Feb 20 2017, 09:51 PM)
Welcome to the semi hibernating club
I must admit I've not been a very good TS

If you read a few pages back, I talked about MAPS offered by FSM SG which is a quasi-roboadvisor product. I went for that for its simplicity and no research needed. But of course, not everyone like the idea of 0.5% fees per annum. But since I started on FSM SG, I've not done very  well managing the portfolio myself. Like you say, there's less peer support here compared to FSM MY. And I also spend relatively less time studying the super extensive list of funds available on FSM SG.

First state div advantage is the most popular fund on FSM Sg but it didn't do very well since I bought it, I think at last count my IRR is still <5%. My best performing fund is Fidelity US fund.

Anyway, my FSM SG investment is smaller than FSM My portfolio and unlikely to grow much. So the time taken to monitor really does not commensurate the effort needed. Hence I went for MAPS and so far it's doing well.

In your case, it's up to you to decide which is the way to go. I'll list down the pros n cons of MAPS

Pro
- no brainer, auto pilot
- might save you some tuition fees when starting out

Con
- minimum lump sum sgd5k which can be a bit high for some
- comes with a fee of 0.5% per annum. But I'm fussy that even free also I won't go for POEMS. So 0.4% vs 0.5% is really immaterial for the convenience
Care to share how this MAPS do? Can you see what fund they use for you?

Aha I expect that from you tongue.gif I aren't paying them anything if I can help it.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Feb 20 2017, 10:12 PM
Ramjade
post Feb 20 2017, 10:23 PM

24,336 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Feb 20 2017, 10:19 PM)
I know, not a very good accountant. Free still want to nitpick and rather pay

Basically you just need to determine your risk profile using a questionnaire and pay the lump sum or RSP amount and they will determine a portfolio within your risk profile, do all the buying for you and periodically switch for you. You get to see the amount invested in each fund or ETF and its current market value. They will also produce a fact sheet periodically for you. Not sure how frequent but I don't think it's monthly.

They allocated my investment into 20 funds which I thought is a bit overkill. But it's something I won't be able to do on my own with just sgd5k. Most funds have higher minimum initial investment than what was in my MAPS. So I supposed that can be another pro

This kind of method won't give u the highest returns. But hopefully won't be the lowest as well
20 funds. shocking.gif blink.gif My god... sweat.gif

Since First State not so good, maybe will try Ponzi 2 SGD version devil.gif

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Feb 20 2017, 10:23 PM
Ramjade
post Feb 21 2017, 12:04 AM

24,336 posts

QUOTE(Steven7 @ Feb 20 2017, 11:50 PM)
Woah I looked at MAPS and it seemed..."simple" and effortless for people like me.

Correct me if I am wrong, so for FSM SG I will be charged 0.1% per quarter for equity/bond fund plus 0.5% per annum if I use their MAPS service. POEMS 0% charge. FSM MY charge an extra 2% SC, this is where I got confused, why is FSM SG worse than FSM MY then since SG don't even incur SC?
1) I think it meant FSM SG platform fees is higher than FSM MY
2) FSM MY have lesser funds than FSM SG. Majority of funds on FSM MY are malaysian focused with limited overseas fund
3) No SC but 0.4% platform fees. Over time it eats into your return. 1st year lose 0.4%, 2nd year 0.4% (total 0.8%). by 5th year you would have lose 2%.
Ramjade
post Feb 21 2017, 09:39 AM

24,336 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Feb 21 2017, 09:25 AM)
thumbup.gif By 5th year ONLY 2%...ever wonder what is the initial "% of lost" for each Eq Ut purchased?
Do you buy any EQ UTs?
Of course. Bought some from FSM MY. My best equity to date in less than 6 months = 7.xx% returns. Haven't buy UT from SG yet.

Care to share the % of lost? I dont get you. What alternative to you propose? hmm.gif I am all ears.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Feb 21 2017, 09:56 AM
Ramjade
post Feb 21 2017, 10:03 AM

24,336 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Feb 21 2017, 10:00 AM)
I think he/she is hinting that......5 yrs only lost 2% whereelse for Eq fund one would lost min 2% already during each initial purchase....
If one is concern of 2% in 5 yrs......why one can buy eq uts.
If buying from SG, we are not losing the 2% upfront (no service charge) when compare with buying from FSM MY where we lose 2%+ upfront.
Ramjade
post Feb 21 2017, 10:26 AM

24,336 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Feb 21 2017, 10:21 AM)
You had mentioned before....direct stock or etf will reduce the losses...no need to pay for the mgmt fees n other fees
1. Stock. Need high capital plus where you got accesss to all market?
2. ETF, only viable ETF is STI. Rest of the ETF beyond ordinary investor reach (cost of buying world ETF is crazy when some broker charge you SGD2/month for buying it. If use IB, kena charge USD10/month for inactivity fees)
3. For Asia pacific, funds still outperform benchmark (MSCI) so why settle for MSCI when the fund beats it easily?
4. For US maybe. But buying anything US related will kena 30% witho holding tax.
Ramjade
post Feb 21 2017, 10:49 AM

24,336 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Feb 21 2017, 10:36 AM)
Does one need to hv access to all mkts to invest diversily?
Sgd2/mth can be saved by not using the car on 1 trip
Look at Ponzi 2. Do a normal investor have access to all the country market? Theoretically can but it's going to be expensive.
For me, if a fund can beat the benchmark (most ETF track an index which is usually the benchmark) over 3 years, buy the fund instead of the ETF. Also, SGD2/month = SGD24/year. If buying a fund which can beat the index/match the index, it will incur no cost (management fees is already priced in with the NAV) so why incur extra cost?

Of course if you are in the US/UK/EU citizen than it's different.
Ramjade
post Feb 21 2017, 10:42 PM

24,336 posts

AIYH I just realised that Phillip does not have Ponzi 2.
Ramjade
post Feb 25 2017, 08:34 PM

24,336 posts

AIYH, POEMS SG platform really rclxub.gif So much info blink.gif shocking.gif until rclxub.gif rclxub.gif Not like FSM MY.
Ramjade
post Feb 25 2017, 10:16 PM

24,336 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Feb 25 2017, 10:13 PM)
Is that suppose to be a compliment or sarcasm? laugh.gif
Criticism. I asked for UT account and they gave me everything in one account.
Ramjade
post Feb 25 2017, 10:40 PM

24,336 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Feb 25 2017, 10:23 PM)
Yes, in fact it feels like you buy UT like you buy stocks sweat.gif

I can't buy anything yet it seems, need call to activate account
Btw, need 2 FA with Phillip UT? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Feb 25 2017, 10:53 PM
Ramjade
post Feb 28 2017, 08:38 PM

24,336 posts

QUOTE(john123x @ Feb 28 2017, 08:28 PM)
from what you said, FSM SG is real terrible. platform fee of 0.4%p.a converted to RM, big amount already.

Do POEMS needs Singapore Bank Account too?
Initially they told me need SG account. But then told me need. But I did provided them with one after manage to get it.

If you want certain funds, no choice need to open FSM SG. If you don't need certain funds, then POEMS is good enough. There's also another provider. DollarDex. DollarDex will mail everything to Malaysia if you tell them that you want to open account unlike POEM sad.gif

FSM SG can apply online.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Feb 28 2017, 08:43 PM
Ramjade
post Mar 1 2017, 07:48 PM

24,336 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Mar 1 2017, 07:36 PM)
I also put some in RHB AIF as suggested by bro Xuzen. can sleep well every night. tongue.gif
You can buy the mother fund from FSM SG
https://www.fundsupermart.com/main/fundinfo...olnumber=SCD030

Or you can save on platform fees. POEMS also sell the same fund tongue.gif

Ramjade
post Mar 1 2017, 08:08 PM

24,336 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Mar 1 2017, 08:00 PM)

for my Sg dollar, I would invest in Sg or ASX markets.
For me, I will skip FSM MY and pump my FSM portion into POEM. My ASX FP part for SGX.
FSM MY charge 2% SC vs POEM at 0%. Besides, there are much better fund over in SG.
Eg 1
TA Global Tech for FSM MY which invest into Henderson Global Tech (found in FSM SG/POEM) vs Fidlility Global Tech (a better fund than Henderson Global Tech)

Eg 2
Schroder Asian Income SGD vs First State Bridge (the better fund)

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Mar 1 2017, 08:09 PM
Ramjade
post Mar 7 2017, 11:17 PM

24,336 posts

AIYH, dasecret which fund you think is better?
FTIF Templeton Asian Smaller Companies
or

Fidelity Asian Smaller Companies
Nevermind. Found my answer sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Mar 7 2017, 11:21 PM
Ramjade
post Mar 8 2017, 08:04 AM

24,336 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Mar 8 2017, 07:40 AM)
Had you considered this before?

HSBC Global Investment Funds – Asia ex Japan Equity Smaller Companies
I did. It's too high risk vs the other 2.
Ramjade
post Mar 8 2017, 08:08 AM

24,336 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Mar 8 2017, 08:07 AM)
Can share the data? tongue.gif

Lazy to dig out as limited internet here tongue.gif
Morningstar. Now on phone. Hard Later share.
Ramjade
post Mar 8 2017, 06:28 PM

24,336 posts

prince_mk Of course if you are investing in eg RHB Income Fund, best to buy directly the mother fund so that won't kena 2x management fees.

12 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0467sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 08:24 PM