Fundsupermart Singapore, Let's have a separate thread

Ramjade
post Sep 8 2017, 12:56 AM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(hurtedheart @ Sep 8 2017, 12:50 AM)
I beg your pardon, why do you need a good phone for KYC? When I register online, info needed are like name, address, dob, phone number, employer name and address, salary etc, need a good phone for these?

I don't seem able to download the app on an iPhone. I am also impressed with your quick reply at this wee hour smile.gif
We will require pictures of your IC for via the app and would need you to schedule for a video conference E-KYC call for verification. (taken from their email reply)
And my phone only have VGA camera sad.gif

No iphone app yet. I am still awake. biggrin.gif
Ramjade
post Sep 8 2017, 01:12 AM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(hurtedheart @ Sep 8 2017, 01:10 AM)
Hehe, after replying you, I just want to reconfirm my statement that I can't get the app on iPhone (tried last week after reading your post in other thread). Just now, I tried search on AppStore and to my surprise it's available for download! I have downloaded it, the verification can be online as you mentioned or offline @ their representative will contact you for a date n time for verification at their office.
They told me make an appointment with them so that they can arrange a video conference or something like that. Better double check with them. Don't simply download.
Ramjade
post Sep 16 2017, 03:32 PM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Sep 16 2017, 02:48 PM)
Schroder Asian Income Cl A Dis SGD
6% annual
monthly div payout.
higher allocation in Finance.

https://api.fundinfo.com/document/9a63bb271...d7b68b2299a10df
whats difference AUD hedge, USD hedge.. return also different.

pros & cons betweendistribution funds or accumulation  funds?
That is the mother fund for RHB Asian Income (with RHB being a better performer). This is a balanced fund which means semua ada. Reit, Stocks, Bonds. You can buy that or you can DIY. Of cause a balanced fund will never beat a full equity fund but a balanced fund can beat an equity fund in a bear market.

AUD, USD hedge means the returns are hedge with the currency. Makes it more stable. You won't gain more, you won't lose more. Eg. A 5% return hedge in USD means the return give exactly 5% in USD vs 5% in THB which can mean the return may actually be 10% or even -5% when converted back to your buying currency. If you want to buy those hedge funds, you need that currency. If the fund is in USD, you need to pay in USD. If the fund is in AUD, you pay in AUD.

How do you pay?
1) Convert your SGD and buy at Phillip exchange rate.
2) Do a TT to Phillip using RM in that required currency (eg USD, AUD)

For me, I avoid those foreign currency denominated funds as it will incur more cost for me.

You should know by now that dividend in unit trust does nothing.
Accu
- Means no dividend/distribution will be given out (like that makes any difference)

Dis
- Means give you dividend/distribution but will be reinvested back unless you give them instructions that the dividend will be credited into your MMF account (which you should not be doing)

The only good thing I can see is sometimes there's a slight difference in returns and volatility (but very much negligible)

Personally, if you ask me, I will avoid this Schroder Asian Income Cl A Dis SGD fund. Reasons:
1) At about 5%+ return (based on FSM SG website), this fund is not attractive at all. I can get better returns with s-reits.
2) There are other better performing balanced fund.

But the choice is yours. You can search for funds using FSM fund Selector

Hope this helps.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Sep 16 2017, 03:57 PM
Ramjade
post Sep 16 2017, 06:03 PM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Sep 16 2017, 05:31 PM)
Hmm. now i need ask my Philip Agent if can tt Aud into the ac from Msia.

My ac open. I shortlisting basket of UT to start.
Q: How do I pay via Telegraphic Transfer?

A: You can also make payment by Telegraphic Transfer (TT) if your funds are currently deposited with an overseas bank. TT fund transfers are allowed for SGD, USD, HKD, JPY, MYR, AUD, GBP, EUR, CAD & CNY.

Do note that the banks may levy bank charges for each TT fund transfer made, please check with your bank for the respective charges. Phillip Securities does not charge any fees for incoming TT fund transfers.

You will need to provide your bank with our bank account details for Telegraphic Transfer. Please click here for TT details.

Please also indicate your trading account number and account holders' name(s) on your TT payment details to ensure that funds received will be correctly credited into your Trading account.

As TT fund transfer may take up to a week to be successfully transferred, do check that the funds are already credited into your account or speak to your trading representative for enquires on status of transfer.

In the event that PSPL is unable to identify the account for the amount to be credited, PSPL may reject the amount transmitted after reasonable endeavours have been made to trace the source of the deposit.

Any bank charges incurred during the course of event will be borne by the client. If you are topping up account to pick up your outstanding shares, please ensure that we received your funds before/on due + 1 day.

Please note that we will not be held responsible for any loss, charge or damage arising from the rejected fund or delay in crediting the amount into the account.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Sep 16 2017, 06:04 PM
Ramjade
post Sep 16 2017, 07:28 PM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Sep 16 2017, 06:22 PM)
haha yeah. my servicing guy already send me the instructions.

Weekend homework.

now reading about:
Healthcare health science funds
I have already glance through, not appealing at all sad.gif Better I stick with traditional funds (region based). Traditional funds have higher returns for more or less the same volatility as health care.
Ramjade
post Sep 17 2017, 12:43 AM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Sep 16 2017, 09:50 PM)
UOB United Japan Small And Mid Cap Fd SGD Hedged

UOB United Japan Small And Mid Cap Fd SGD

other than return% difference..

whats other pros & cons?

cannot fund suitable Euro Small Cap.. u shortlisted any?

i only got :
BNP Paribas - Parvest Eqty Europe Small Cap Classic C SGD RH
at this point, will start small with SGD. than to be converting to EURO or USD.
I would take UOB United Japan Small And Mid Cap Fd SGD. Sacrifice the higher return for less volatile fund. If you take 3 years record, difference only 2%.

Volatility.
UOB United Japan Small And Mid Cap Fd SGD = 15.44
UOB United Japan Small And Mid Cap Fd SGD Hedged = 18.86

Your call.

For Europe
Can consider (arrange based on lowest volatility first)
Eastspring Inv UT Pan European
Parvest Eqty Europe Small Cap Classic C SGD RH
NATIXIS IF Europe Smaller Cos R/A SGD

If based on performance wise, all more or less the same. (average 3 years)
NATXIS 12.52
EASTs 12.07333333333333
PARV 12.49333333333333

Best choice would be Threadneedle (Lux) Pan Euro Sm Cap Opp ASH SGD but only available via FSM SG sad.gif

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Sep 17 2017, 01:00 AM
Ramjade
post Sep 19 2017, 09:55 PM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Sep 19 2017, 09:53 PM)
where to find the rating?
its not in the Fund Fact Sheet.
What fund are you looking at?
Ramjade
post Sep 19 2017, 10:45 PM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Sep 19 2017, 10:09 PM)
just wondering about the rating...

Msia - Affin Hwang Select Bond Fund.

so, where to get rating.?
United Asian High Yield Bond Fund - Class SGD - which part of POEMS Website can find the rating?

https://api.fundinfo.com/document/18a829031...d7b68b2299a10df
Here you go. For Affin
Info from fundfactshett

For United
Info from
- Product highlights
- Prospectus

To pour cold water on United,
Blue - Original P fund unhedge in USD
Green - United
Red- P fund SGD-H

1 Year results

Of course if you take 3 years, united win. But at volatility of 6.81 is just too high the risk of a bond fund.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Sep 19 2017, 10:48 PM
Ramjade
post Sep 20 2017, 08:54 AM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Sep 20 2017, 07:47 AM)
i hv never buy BOND before. so really new to me.
as between BOND and FD. i will just choose FD 4%.

got so many types of BOND ... Emerging market bond, US bond, Rojak Bond.

which website u use to do the comparison table?
Buying bond and bond fund different ok. I don't know anything about picking bond but picking bond fund is just like picking unit trust.

1) It must beat a target. In this case the target/benchmark should be FD as what for you out in bond fund when FD can also give you 3-4% right?
2) It must be able to beat it's second benchmark (usually an index on bonds)
3) Volatility must be low (remember bond is so that portfolio is stable and won't swing? unless you are going Hansel way) so even if Feds increase rate or there's another Trump tantrum incident (where reits and bonds get sold off) your bond won't become negative or worst case scenario is just lose 1% (don't wipe out your entire year gain just for one event)

Use this to screen for normal UT/bond funds.
https://secure.fundsupermart.com/fsm/funds/fund-selector
- Bond funds come under Fixed income while normal UT is equities.
- Input in your criteria
- Click green button "Generate Funds Table"
- Select the fund you want, click "Performance table"

The other way is you must know your fund name.
https://secure.fundsupermart.com/fsm/chart-centre-fund/

Ramjade
post Sep 21 2017, 09:25 AM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Sep 21 2017, 09:10 AM)
Open Ceremony my POEMS with:

PIMCO GIS Inc E SGD H Inc (IE00B9HH6X13)
and
first state infrastructure
Congratulations. You did your homework. How did you know it was Pimco?

I am going to add
Schroder asian growth
United japan small
First state india

Cannot seat on the sideline. Will try to keep invested for 6 months to a year then decide next cause of action.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Sep 21 2017, 09:26 AM
Ramjade
post Sep 21 2017, 10:05 AM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Sep 21 2017, 09:49 AM)
FSM tools very useful..

i use PIMCO to balance off my other volatile stocks.
but i might add a HIGH YIELD Bond too later. see 1 yr later.. whats performance.

Schroder asian growth - yes
United japan small - yes still choosing between 2.

i am going for  EURO SMALL CAP. weekend homework to shortlist. between 3 funds.

my India i hv with FSM M'sia . not adding this unless i liquidate from FSM M'sia.
That's why I said use FSM tool and buy from POEMS.

Schroder asian total would be a better choice but available only in USD (FSM does sell the SGD version). Lower risk, more or less same returns.

For united japan, I am picking the non hedge.

Euro don't know leh.
Nextsis - fund holding is small (which means won't be slow down by too much money)
Eastsping - lower cost ratio + more or less general europe
Parvest - is a very big fund (opposite of nextsis - too much money can slow it down)

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Sep 21 2017, 10:06 AM
Ramjade
post Sep 21 2017, 11:32 AM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 21 2017, 11:20 AM)
What have you targetted for your HY Bond Fund ??
HY bond funds haven't been doing well. Just look at one year result. 4%+ at 6-7 volatility. Risk reward ratio is not there.

At 6-7 volatility, I can use a balanced fund to achieve higher returns.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Sep 21 2017, 11:45 AM
Ramjade
post Sep 21 2017, 12:15 PM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 21 2017, 12:09 PM)
Which bond fund are you referring to ? Let me have a look,...

The ones that I am still holding-on to are still giving me the desired divdiend returns,... monthly dividends with no loss in nav,... perhaps what you are showing are Acc funds ? We are going after different targets ?
See this

See in year, United only give 4%. Not nice at all.

Calculate again. Monthly dividends price will drop. Price is delayed by 2 days. is a known fact Dividend/distribution does nothing. Could be the drop is small so you cannot see it

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Sep 21 2017, 12:15 PM
Ramjade
post Sep 21 2017, 01:46 PM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 21 2017, 01:16 PM)
Tq,... how abt the two below ?

1) Fidelity Euro HY Bond FUnd AMDIST

2) Fidelity Asian HY Bond Fund AMDIST SGD
For Fidelity Euro HY Bond FUnd AMDIST, again risk reward ratio is not there. At 7.31 and returns of only 12.57 %, Compare that to PineBridge Acorns of Asia Balanced Fund.

For Fidelity Asian HY AMDIST SGD Hedged, still cannot beat P fund. tongue.gif

Of course this is one year but I believed this one year results speaks louder than 3 years as during the past 1 year, Feds have start tightening faster vs 3 years before.
Ramjade
post Sep 21 2017, 02:03 PM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 21 2017, 01:54 PM)
Okay bro,... tq for the charts, will study carefully later,... you are really pro, man,... can pullout charts so fast.

Need to do some work now,... and do my taxation asap.
You can DIY yourself here too
https://secure.fundsupermart.com/fsm/chart-centre-fund/
Ramjade
post Sep 21 2017, 02:13 PM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 21 2017, 02:04 PM)
That Pinebridge got consistent monthly dvd payouts or not ??
I told you dividends/distribution doesn't matter. Whether the fund got payout or not payout, not important to me. biggrin.gif In case you have doubts,

When a fund distributes dividend payments to its shareholders, the NAV declines. Shareholders must keep this in mind when attempting to determine how well their investments are performing.
A significant number of investors choose to reinvent fund distributions automatically instead of receiving them in cash. When dividend payments are reinvested, the shareholder receives either additional shares or a fraction of an additional share in place of the cash payment. The NAV still declines by the amount that is distributed, but the total value of the fund investment for the investor stays the same.
http://www.investopedia.com/ask/answers/09...utual-funds.asp
If you keep harping about dividends/distribution of unit trust, some day you will get conned (like most folks in Malaysia gets conned by PM returns even though the real return is nothing to shout about). Basically they give you RM1 worth of units, and the price also drop by RM1.

I think you need another lesson from dasecret regarding distribution/dividends?

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Sep 21 2017, 02:16 PM
Ramjade
post Sep 21 2017, 11:21 PM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Sep 21 2017, 11:02 PM)
this is one interesting fund.
new fund

LION DISTRUPTIVE INNOVATION FUND
https://api.fundinfo.com/document/332bb91d4...d7b68b2299a10df
You do realise that majority of them are tech stocks right? Btw how did you screen that? I am looking at climate change and returns are so-so (acceptable).
Ramjade
post Sep 23 2017, 12:01 PM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 23 2017, 11:20 AM)
Okay,... tell me then,...what if I bought the following funds at the following prices and am still getting dividends today,... or wait,.. perhaps you guys are comparing me against the best funds out there,...

Surely, if yuo always compare me with the best performing funds out there,.. mine cannot win-lar,... you keep comparing me with that Pine fund,..

Bros, what,.. hang-on, I think dasecret is a young lady, sorry honey.... what I needed is cashflow,.. it's not accumulated capital gain over a longer period. So, it's not fair to compare me with the accumulation funds-mar,... isn't it ??
Get your concept right first. All unit trust/mutual funds distribution/dividends are useless. You can search article written by govt link blogs to financial blogs all mentioned the same thing whether it's india, hong kong, malaysia, Singapore.

I give you few examples
Fund 1
A fund which give you 3% dividend every quarter without fail with returns of average 5%p.a over 3 years

Fund 2
A fund which give only 1% dividend once per year with returns of average 5%p.a over 3 years.

Fund 3
A fund which give only 1% dividend once per year with returns of average 7%p.a over 3 years.

Which would be the better choice?

She's an auntie who major in accounting.

Ramjade
post Sep 23 2017, 02:02 PM

24,335 posts

xuzen somebody by the name of Hansel said distribution/dividend in unit trust very important. Told him don't know how many times, he keep saying dividend/distribution is very important. Need your maggi help since Auntie dasecret also give up.

Now Hansel, pay attention to get to what xuzen have to say.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Sep 23 2017, 02:08 PM
Ramjade
post Sep 25 2017, 12:54 AM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 24 2017, 11:52 PM)
I don't like your tone of voice,... your bullshit,.. go learn all your theories the hard way,... if you never made money money,... you can carry your theory with you till the grave and never get to invest big,...

Haha,... and I thought I'd like to target you to teach you everything abt investing overseas, opening accts, etc,...

Guessed I'll find someone else,...
You can private message him (xuzen) to get clarification he's very experienced. Because you are not believing what people who have decades of experience in UT are saying. (I only have 1 year of exp and so far what they say are true) so don't look at me. tongue.gif

You need to accept that your thinking about unit trust distribution all this time is flawed. Time to be "flexible". If you don't accept this fact, like I said you will be conned by "juicy dividends". That's why you see all agents in Malaysia are harping about "unit trust dividends". Nicely print out big poster/take out full page ad in the newspaper to "announced" 8-10% dividends when in actual fact they are not making money.

Reason they are doing that:
- Dividends/distribution sells even though the fund is lousy. People will buy into that and they make more money.

Read this: (it's old and from India but it's fact) I got a little time to dig these articles up.
To appreciate the point about dividends being a misleading indicator, it's important to understand how mutual funds offer a return. Mutual funds give a return by way of appreciation in the net asset value. Being market-linked, its NAV fluctuates on a daily basis; when at any point its NAV is higher than the level at which it was bought the investor has made a profit (generated a return) on his mutual fund investment.

In reality, this is the only way in which mutual funds give a return i.e. NAV appreciation. How about the dividends, doesn't that also count as a return? Not really, because the dividend can be declared only if there is an NAV appreciation.

Confused with all this? An illustration should do the trick for you. Observe what happens to the NAV of a mutual fund after it declares a dividend.

From one hand to another
Cum-dividend NAV (Rs) 15.0
Dividend (%) 20.0
Dividend (Rs) 2.0
Ex-dividend NAV (Rs) 13.0
Notice in the illustration that the cum-dividend NAV is Rs 15.0 (this is the NAV before the dividend declaration). The mutual fund declares a 20 per cent dividend. It is obvious from the illustration that the mutual fund does not declare this dividend from its own pocket; it is drawn from the NAV. So an investor who invests in the fund anticipating a dividend declaration should consider this point before hitting the invest button. After all the money for the dividend will only be deducted from his NAV; he will be richer by Rs 2 per unit (going by our illustration), and poorer by the same amount (since the ex-NAV will also fall by Rs 2). At the end of the day, the dividend-seeking investor has no doubt pocketed the dividend, only to see an erosion in his capital by a similar margin.

In our view, investing in a mutual fund for the sole purpose of pocketing easy money (by way of dividend) can be a recipe for a disaster. This is no way to invest in a mutual fund.

http://www.rediff.com/money/2008/jan/30nav.htm

But it is not necessarily something investors should get too excited about. What the dividend is worth? These dividends come from the funds' NAV (net asset value) and, therefore, can be likened to redemptions. Suppose you hold 1,000 mutual fund units with an NAV of Rs 20 and the fund house declares a dividend of Rs 2 per share. Since the dividend is coming directly from the NAV, the NAV will fall by Rs 2 to Rs 18.

Even as you pocket Rs 2,000 as dividend, the value of your holding comes down to Rs 18,000. Had you redeemed 10% of your holding, the results would have been same— you would have got Rs 2,000 in your hand and your mutual fund holding would stand at Rs 18,000.

While regular dividend from a company shows that its prospects are good, regular dividend from mutual funds means nothing. Given that dividend payouts do not result in any net gain to the investor, why do mutual funds declare dividend? One reason is that funds do it to create a positive perception among investors. Indian investors often confuse mutual fund dividends with company dividends and treat them as a net gain.
http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/wealth...ow/50052578.cms

Who better to hear than from horse mouth?
However, it is utterly important for investors to understand that this is unlike the dividend earned through equity shares investment, where a listed corporate distribute its profits earned with shareholders. The income distribution process of a mutual fund is merely a function of portfolio movement (usually upward), resulting in profit taking (returning money to investors) with an impact on the NAV.

For instance, an investor has invested RM 10,000 into Fund A (growth-oriented fund) and Fund B (dividend-oriented fund) respectively. Assuming each fund delivers 10% return after a year, and only Fund B declares income distribution of 10%, the investor has opted to receive his income distribution via reinvestment in units of Fund B. The table below depicts the investor’s portfolio after a year.

Table

With reference to the table above, should the investor opt for cash payment, he should receive RM 1,100.00 (RM0.99/unit * 1111.11units), and the investment value should decline subsequently by the same amount accordingly (RM 11,000.00 – RM 1,100.00 = RM 9,900.00). Thus, in effect, mutual funds’ dividend declaration or income distribution is merely returning investors’ money back to them. In fact, it is possible for unit trust to declare income distribution, even if it doesn’t deliver any return over that particular period.

In the race to garner more asset under management (AUM), some fund houses have resorted to tactics of declaring dividends frequently, as this may lead to misinterpretation that the funds are doing well and investors may be inclined to invest more into the “good dividend” funds. Investors who fell prey to this may be left with empty baskets in the long run.
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...June-2017--8510

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Sep 25 2017, 02:02 AM

12 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0453sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:06 AM