LCD Thread Ver 3.1, Everything about LCD monitor
z3r0717
Mar 16 2007, 12:58 PM
QUOTE(Matrix @ Mar 16 2007, 11:09 AM) Definitely wide screen. It's the future. RM900 can get 20" widescreen already...any brands. A lot of games support widescreen, in the event it doesn't, i still can live with 2 black bars at the side.  hmm... wide screen eh?? 900 for 20" is cheap man.. argh... decisions decisions..... i'm afraid of the 2 black bars but when watching movies, it'll be great. dam.. now there's a guy selling 20" normal LCD for 600. Do u guys think i shud get?
zedetach
Mar 16 2007, 10:14 PM
just purchased the benq fp241w.. wat do i think of it? flawless.. much better than wat i had anticipated.. i must admit i wasnt 2 happy 2 cash out rm2899 for it bt nw tat is the least of my concern.. tis is definately one of my most valueable purchases
Mar 18 2007, 06:56 PM
I want to know is the Dell 2407WFP 24" LCD support 1080p? I heard some ppl said it support but some said it does not, so does this LCD support it or not?
Hyde`fK
Mar 19 2007, 12:51 PM
QUOTE(300078 @ Mar 18 2007, 06:56 PM) I want to know is the Dell 2407WFP 24" LCD support 1080p? I heard some ppl said it support but some said it does not, so does this LCD support it or not? Yes, the LCD is made to support 1080p using DVI. Using PS3 running at 1080p is possible. When comes to movies, its the HD player that set the limitation. Have a good read in here. http://vissione.wordpress.com/2006/10/23/1...p-dell-2407wfp/
Merlin_of_light
Mar 19 2007, 05:59 PM

Will there be no more 17/19" lcd monitor launched to meet budget gamers needs? 20"WS is a little big to play Oblivion on my measely 7900GT, but cant find a high-performance 17/19" to buy. The 740BF going extinct, not surprising given the price of 20"WS lcd.
SUSMatrix
Mar 19 2007, 06:56 PM
Just want to ask. What is the dead-pixel warranty policy for most brands? I've asked at ALL IT hypermarket at Digital Mall yesterday and the fella told me 7 dead pixels!!! I'm not quite sure i trust the guy though....he doesn't seems to know what he is talking....ask him TN panels also dunno!!!
Is there any zero dead pixels warranty for any brands?
cherroy
Mar 20 2007, 02:24 PM
QUOTE(Matrix @ Mar 19 2007, 06:56 PM) Just want to ask. What is the dead-pixel warranty policy for most brands? I've asked at ALL IT hypermarket at Digital Mall yesterday and the fella told me 7 dead pixels!!! I'm not quite sure i trust the guy though....he doesn't seems to know what he is talking....ask him TN panels also dunno!!! Is there any zero dead pixels warranty for any brands? As far as I know, only Sony offers zero dead pixel. Others like Samsung, LG, Dell, Viewsonic etc are at around 3-7 dead pixels. Nowadays, dead pixel problem is not as severe as last time, (when first bought) although occasionally still got, not many as last time, may be the technology is more mature now, but you can't complain much if dead pixel come out after several years of using.
Mar 20 2007, 07:41 PM
QUOTE es, the LCD is made to support 1080p using DVI. Using PS3 running at 1080p is possible. When comes to movies, its the HD player that set the limitation. Have a good read in here. http://vissione.wordpress.com/2006/10/23/1...p-dell-2407wfp/Thx for the info! Another question, is they any other LCD monitor out there that support up to 1080p beside the one i mention earlier? This post has been edited by 300078: Mar 20 2007, 07:41 PM
ryanso85
Mar 21 2007, 12:28 AM
bro here i plan to get myself a LCD screen i prefer dell 19" ultrasharp but i don know much bout LCD i like the dell 19" bcoz the design is classy erm botu the spec??i don knwo how to compare it price ofcoz i can easily get 19" LCD cheaper than dell 1.. so i nid ur advice very much btw, wats ultrasharp?
PingPong
Mar 21 2007, 01:53 AM
Ask a noob question here... as i have really no LCD panels to try out laa....
If my notebook can output max of 1280 x 1024, but if buying Dell 2407WFP that has native reso of 1920 x 1200, what is going to be like??
Will it creating blur blur (not that sharp) images? Becoz when i trying to set lower reso on my notebook like 800x600, the screen will turn out to be not sharp when compared to putting 1280x768...
Pls help..
OlgaC4
Mar 21 2007, 10:26 AM
QUOTE(cherroy @ Mar 20 2007, 02:24 PM) As far as I know, only Sony offers zero dead pixel. Others like Samsung, LG, Dell, Viewsonic etc are at around 3-7 dead pixels. Nowadays, dead pixel problem is not as severe as last time, (when first bought) although occasionally still got, not many as last time, may be the technology is more mature now, but you can't complain much if dead pixel come out after several years of using. Before you buy the LCD ask them to hook up first. Then check for dead pixel lah. Like samsung u are not happy with it after u purchased it can 1 to 1 exhange for 7 workings day. I just pure bad luck if you got dead pixel after serveral years using it.
SUSMatrix
Mar 21 2007, 10:41 AM
QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Mar 21 2007, 10:26 AM) Before you buy the LCD ask them to hook up first. Then check for dead pixel lah. Like samsung u are not happy with it after u purchased it can 1 to 1 exhange for 7 workings day. I just pure bad luck if you got dead pixel after serveral years using it. 1 to 1 exchange within 7 working days for Samsung? Not bad wor. Thanks for the info, but do all the dealers pratice this or they just pretend dunno? I'm afraid if some of this dealer refuse to entertain. If after several years, then cannot complain-ler of course.
cherroy
Mar 21 2007, 11:54 AM
QUOTE(Matrix @ Mar 21 2007, 10:41 AM) 1 to 1 exchange within 7 working days for Samsung? Not bad wor. Thanks for the info, but do all the dealers pratice this or they just pretend dunno? I'm afraid if some of this dealer refuse to entertain. If after several years, then cannot complain-ler of course.  I am sure about the 7 working day, but a handful of shop can give next day 1-1 exchange if found dead pixel or defects, so better fast checking after brought home.
ryanso85
Mar 21 2007, 07:09 PM
QUOTE(ryanso85 @ Mar 21 2007, 12:28 AM) bro here i plan to get myself a LCD screen i prefer dell 19" ultrasharp but i don know much bout LCD i like the dell 19" bcoz the design is classy erm botu the spec??i don knwo how to compare it price ofcoz i can easily get 19" LCD cheaper than dell 1.. so i nid ur advice very much btw, wats ultrasharp? can any1 here help me out??
cherroy
Mar 22 2007, 11:24 AM
QUOTE(ryanso85 @ Mar 21 2007, 07:09 PM) can any1 here help me out?? Ultrasharp is just mean got DVI input, that's all, it is just some marketing term to make it sounds good. DVI and VGA input got slightly different, DVI is slightly more sharper than VGA due to digital input but for ordinary users whom are not selective, some even can't distinguish between both if I put one VGA and one DVI side by side.
ryanso85
Mar 22 2007, 12:03 PM
QUOTE(cherroy @ Mar 22 2007, 11:24 AM) Ultrasharp is just mean got DVI input, that's all, it is just some marketing term to make it sounds good. DVI and VGA input got slightly different, DVI is slightly more sharper than VGA due to digital input but for ordinary users whom are not selective, some even can't distinguish between both if I put one VGA and one DVI side by side. wat u mean is dell 19" ultrasharp not worth??
Kit II
Mar 22 2007, 03:41 PM

QUOTE(cherroy @ Mar 22 2007, 11:24 AM) Ultrasharp is just mean got DVI input, that's all, it is just some marketing term to make it sounds good. DVI and VGA input got slightly different, DVI is slightly more sharper than VGA due to digital input but for ordinary users whom are not selective, some even can't distinguish between both if I put one VGA and one DVI side by side. i think you are right .. computers are digital devices while monitor + analog is not digital devices so it will have conversion from digital to analog signal that will make the quality down. just like u convert music or video. just a marketing thingy This post has been edited by Kit II: Mar 22 2007, 03:42 PM
cherroy
Mar 22 2007, 03:52 PM
QUOTE(ryanso85 @ Mar 22 2007, 12:03 PM) wat u mean is dell 19" ultrasharp not worth?? I am not saying it is not worth or worth, I just said 'ultrasharp' is just a marketing term, a good marketing term If I am a seller of Lcd, I said to you 'A' lcd is 'ultrasharp' while B has DVI input, which one you choose?
atomica
Mar 23 2007, 02:05 PM
QUOTE(cherroy @ Mar 22 2007, 03:52 PM) I am not saying it is not worth or worth, I just said 'ultrasharp' is just a marketing term, a good marketing term If I am a seller of Lcd, I said to you 'A' lcd is 'ultrasharp' while B has DVI input, which one you choose? IMHO< if you gonna use LCD, it is time to switch to DVI la ...
ryanso85
Mar 23 2007, 04:59 PM
thx for the advice n info...